DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission dated 04/08/2026 has been entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 contains a typographical error. In the 4th line of the claim, “the first slate first end” should be “the first slat first end”.
Claim 9 contains a typographical error. In the 16th line of the claim, “the second slate second end” should be “the second slat second end”.
Claim 17 contains a typographical error. In the 4th line of the claim, “the first slate first end” should be “the first slat first end”.
Claim 17 contains a typographical error. In the 18th line of the claim, “the second slate second end” should be “the second slat second end”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. 11,453,281 – Voetmann et al., hereinafter Voetmann.
Regarding claim 1.
Voetmann discloses a slat connection system for a roller shutter (2, fig 5) comprising:
a plurality of slats (1, fig 5) pivotably hinged together (See fig 5),
wherein each slat of the plurality of slats includes a slat body (at 1, fig 5) having a first edge (5, fig 5) and a second edge (7, fig 5) opposing each other (See fig 5), an inner hinge (17, fig 5) provided at the first edge (See fig 5), and an outer hinge (6, fig 5) provided at the second edge (See fig 5),
wherein the inner hinge (17, fig 5) of a first slat of the plurality of slats is pivotably received (See figs 9 and 10) in a hinge groove (24, fig 5) of the outer hinge of a second slat of the plurality of slats (See figs 9 and 10) with a sealing member (3, fig 5) interposed between the first and second slats (See fig 5), and
wherein the inner hinge (17, fig 5) and the sealing member (3, fig 5) are each positioned in parallel (at least along the direction of the axis of rotation of the hinge) to a slat flat outer slat surface (11, fig 5), and
wherein the sealing member (3, fig 5) has a sealing member exterior surface (36, fig 1) coplanar with the slat flat outer surface (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 2.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Voetmann further discloses each slat (1, fig 5) of the plurality of slats further includes a sealing receiving portion (12, fig 1) provided at the first edge (5, fig 5),
wherein the sealing receiving portion (12, fig 1) has a sealing member groove (see at 12, fig 1), and
wherein the sealing member (3, fig 5) includes an insert (28, fig 5) fitted into the sealing member groove of the sealing receiving portion (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 3.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 2.
Voetmann further discloses the inner hinge (17, fig 5) is connected to the sealing receiving portion (12, fig 1) via a connection neck (See between 16 and 19 in fig 7), and
wherein the connection neck is parallel (at least along the direction of the axis of rotation of the hinge) to the slat flat outer slat surface (11, fig 5).
Regarding claim 4.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 2.
Voetmann further discloses the hinge groove (24, fig 5) is open in a direction perpendicular (See fig 7) to the slat flat outer slat surface (11, fig 5).
Regarding claim 5.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 4.
Voetmann further discloses the outer hinge (6, fig 5) includes a first hinge guide (See annotated fig 7) and a second hinge guide (See annotated fig 7) protruding from an interior slat surface (See annotated fig 7), and
wherein the hinge groove (at 24 in fig 5) is at least partially defined by the first hinge guide and the second hinge guide (See annotated fig 7).
Regarding claim 6.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 5.
Voetmann further discloses the outer hinge protrudes from the interior slat surface by a first thickness (See annotated fig 7),
wherein the sealing receiving portion protrudes from the interior slat surface by a second thickness (See annotated fig 7), and
wherein the first thickness of the outer hinge is less than the second thickness of the sealing receiving portion (See annotated fig 7).
Regarding claim 7.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 6.
Voetmann further discloses an inner hinge interior edge of the inner hinge is closer to the interior slat surface than a sealing receiving interior edge of the sealing receiving portion (See annotated fig 7).
Regarding claim 8.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 6.
Voetmann further discloses a first hinge guide interior edge of the first hinge guide (See annotated fig 7) and a second hinge guide interior edge of the second hinge guide (See annotated fig 7) are closer to the interior slat surface (See annotated fig 7) than a sealing receiving interior edge of the sealing receiving portion (See annotated fig 7).
Regarding claim 9.
Voetmann discloses a slat system (2, fig 5) comprising:
a first slat (1, fig 5) having a first slat first end (5, fig 5), a first slat second end (7, fig 5) opposite to the first slat first end with respect to a first direction (See fig 5), a first slat flat outer surface (11, fig 5) extending along a first plane in the first direction from the first slat second end to the first slate first end (See fig 5), and a first slat interior surface (See annotated fig 7) opposite to the first slat flat outer surface (See fig 5);
a first slat sealing receiving portion (12, fig 1) protruding from the first slat interior surface at the first slat first end (See fig 5);
a first slat connection neck (See annotated fig 7) protruding from the first slat sealing receiving portion in the first direction (See annotated fig 7);
a first slat inner hinge (17, fig 5) protruding from the first slat connection neck in the first direction (See fig 5), the first slat inner hinge having a cylindrical-shaped first slat inner hinge end portion (21, fig 7);
a first slat sealing member (3, fig 1) having a first slat sealing member exterior surface (36, fig 1; see fig 5) and a first slat sealing member insert (28, fig 1), wherein the first slat sealing member exterior surface is coplanar with the first slat flat outer surface (See fig 5);
a second slat (1, fig 5) having a second slat first end (5, fig 5), a second slat second end (7, fig 5), the second slat first end being opposite of to the second slat second end with respect to a second direction (See fig 5), a second slat flat outer surface (11, fig 5) extending along a second plane in the second direction from the second slat first end to the second slate second end (See fig 5), and a second slat interior surface (as in annotated fig 7) opposite of to the second slat flat outer surface (See fig 5); and
a second slat outer hinge (6, fig 5) protruding from second slat interior surface (as in annotated fig 7) at the second slat second end in a third direction (See fig 5), the third direction being perpendicular to the second plane (See fig 5), the second slat outer hinge having a second slat outer hinge groove opening toward the third direction (See fig 7), wherein the first slat sealing receiving portion (12, fig 1) having a first slat sealing member groove (at 12 in fig 1) opening toward the first direction and toward the second slat outer hinge of the second slat (See fig 5), wherein the first slat sealing member insert is fitted in the first slat sealing member groove (See fig 5), such that the first slat sealing member is interposed between the first slat first end and the second slat second end (See fig 5), wherein the cylindrical-shaped first slat inner hinge end portion also protrudes into the second slat outer hinge groove (See fig 5), such that the cylindrical-shaped first slat inner hinge end portion pivotably couples with the second slat outer hinge groove (See figs 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 10.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 9.
Voetmann further discloses the first slat sealing member (3, fig 1) has the first slat sealing member exterior surface (36, fig 1) interposed between the first slat first end and the second slat second end (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 11.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 10.
Voetmann further discloses with the slat system in a closed configuration (as in fig 5), the first plane is aligned with the second plane (See fig 5), and the first slat sealing member exterior surface (36, fig 1) is coplanar (See fig 5) with the first slat flat outer surface (11, fig 5) and the second slat flat outer surface (11, fig 5).
Regarding claim 12.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 9.
Voetmann further discloses the first slat sealing member insert (28, fig 5) and the cylindrical-shaped first slat inner hinge end portion (21, fig 7) have a majority of their portions aligned along the first direction (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 13.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 9.
Voetmann further discloses the first slat sealing member groove (at 12 in fig 1) and the first slat inner hinge (17, fig 5) have a majority of their portions aligned along the first direction (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 14.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 9.
Voetmann further discloses the first slat sealing member groove (at 12 in fig 1), the first slat sealing member insert (28, fig 5), the first slat inner hinge (17, fig 5), and the cylindrical-shaped first slat inner hinge end portion (21, fig 7) have a majority of their portions aligned along the first direction (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 15.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 9.
Voetmann further discloses with the slat system in a closed configuration (as in fig 5), the first plane is aligned with the second plane (See fig 5), and the second slat outer hinge (6, fig 5), the first slat sealing member groove (at 12, fig 1), the first slat sealing member insert (28, fig 5), the first slat inner hinge (17, fig 5), and the cylindrical-shaped first slat inner hinge end portion (21, fig 7) have a majority of their portions aligned along the first direction (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 16.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 9.
Voetmann further discloses the second slat outer hinge (6, fig 5) protrudes from the second slat interior surface (See annotated fig 7) by a first thickness, wherein the first slat sealing receiving portion (12, fig 1) protrudes from the first slat interior surface by a second thickness (See annotated fig 7), and wherein the first thickness is less than the second thickness (See annotated fig 7).
Regarding claim 17.
Voetmann discloses a slat system (2, fig 5) comprising:
a first slat (1, fig 5) having a first slat first end (5, fig 5), a first slat second end (7, fig 5) opposite of to the first slat first end with respect to a first direction (See fig 5), a first slat flat outer surface (11, fig 5) extending along a first plane in the first direction from the first slat second end to the first slate first end (See fig 5), and a first slat interior surface (See annotated fig 7) opposite of to the first slat flat outer surface (See fig 5);
a first slat sealing receiving portion (12, fig 1) protruding from the first slat interior surface (See annotated fig 7) at the first slat first end (See fig 5);
a first slat connection neck (See annotated fig 7) protruding from the first slat sealing receiving portion in the first direction (See annotated fig 7);
a first slat inner hinge (17, fig 5) protruding from the first slat connection neck (See annotated fig 7) in the first direction (See fig 5), the first slat inner hinge having a cylindrical-shaped first slat inner hinge end portion (21, fig 7);
a first slat sealing member (3, fig 5) having a first slat sealing member exterior surface (36, fig 1) and a first slat sealing member insert (28, fig 5), wherein the first slat sealing member exterior surface is coplanar with the first slat flat outer surface (See fig 5);
a second slat (1, fig 5) having a second slat first end (5, fig 5), a second slat second end (7, fig 5), the second slat first end being opposite of to the second slat second end with respect to a second direction (See fig 5), a second slat flat outer surface (11, fig 5) extending along a second plane in the second direction from the second slat first end to the second slate second end (See fig 5), and a second slat interior surface (as in annotated fig 7) opposite of to the second slat flat outer surface (See fig 5); and
a second slat outer hinge (6, fig 5) protruding from second slat interior surface at the second slat second end in a third direction (See fig 5), the third direction being perpendicular to the second plane (See fig 5), the second slat outer hinge having a second slat outer hinge groove opening toward the third direction (See fig 7), wherein the first slat sealing receiving portion (12, fig 1) having a first slat sealing member groove (at 12, fig 1) opening toward the first direction and toward the second slat outer hinge of the second slat (See fig 7), wherein the first slat sealing member insert (28, fig 5) is fitted in the first slat sealing member groove (at 12, fig 1), such that the first slat sealing member is interposed between the first slat first end and the second slat second end (See fig 5), wherein the cylindrical-shaped first slat inner hinge end portion (21, fig 7) also protrudes into the second slat outer hinge groove (See fig 7), such that the cylindrical-shaped first slat inner hinge end portion pivotably couples with the second slat outer hinge groove (See figs 9 and 10), wherein the second slat outer hinge protrudes from the second slat interior surface by a first thickness (See annotated fig 7), wherein the first slat sealing receiving portion protrudes from the first slat interior surface by a second thickness (See annotated fig 7), and wherein the first thickness is less than the second thickness (See annotated fig 7).
Regarding claim 18.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Voetmann further discloses the first slat sealing member insert (28, fig 5) and the cylindrical-shaped first slat inner hinge end portion (21, fig 7) have a majority of their portions aligned along the first direction (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 19.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Voetmann further discloses the first slat sealing member groove (at 12 in fig 1) and the first slat inner hinge (17, fig 5) have a majority of their portions aligned along the first direction (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 20.
Voetmann discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Voetmann further discloses the first slat sealing member groove (at 12 in fig 1), the first slat sealing member insert (28, fig 5), the first slat inner hinge (17, fig 5), and the cylindrical-shaped first slat inner hinge end portion (21, fig 7) have a majority of their portions aligned along the first direction (See fig 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, and 17, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634