DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 29 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 29 May 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vacuum subsystem of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 9, the comma should be removed after the phrase “the drilling subsystem”.
In claim 2, line 1, the comma should be removed after the word “wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a drill" in line 3. However, there is already antecedent basis for this limitation in parent claim 1, making it unclear whether this refers to the same drill or a different drill. For the purposes of examination, it has been assumed that this limitation refers to the same drill.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the bulkhead removal robot" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 and 5-7 depend from rejected claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (CN 110280801 A).
Regarding claim 1, Xu et al. discloses a turbine blade element removal system comprising: a turbine blade removal device (see figure 1) comprising: a drilling subsystem 1/2/5 comprising a drill 2/5 for drilling at least one element 22 within a wind turbine blade; an extension subsystem 3/4/6/7/8/9/10/11/12/13/14, physically connected to the drilling subsystem and releasably securable to the wind turbine blade (using bolt element 13 and vacuum element 14), for moving the drilling subsystem toward a tip end of the wind turbine blade and moving the drilling subsystem away from the tip end of the wind turbine blade; and a control subsystem (numerical control module, also labeled “1”) for controlling movement of the drilling subsystem and operation of the drill.
Regarding the intended use limitation “bulkhead removal system” in the preamble of the claim, it is noted that the prior art used in the rejection is capable of being used for this function. During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim. See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2112 - § 2112.02.
Regarding the intended use limitations “bulkhead removal device” and “for drilling at least one bulkhead”, it is noted that the prior art used in the rejection is capable of being used for this function. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al.
Regarding claim 4, Xu et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Xu et al. does not distinctly disclose further comprising a connection subsystem to receive power cables from the drilling subsystem and the extension subsystem and connect the drilling subsystem and the extension subsystem to a power source, and to receive control cables from the drilling subsystem and the extension subsystem and connect the drilling subsystem and extension subsystem to the control subsystem. However, as the control module is used to control both the movement and rotation of the drill and the movement of the lifting mechanism, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art of machine tools to use a connection subsystem with power cables and control cables for the purpose of controlling the power and movement of power tools and connection systems.
Regarding claim 9, Xu et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Xu et al. does not disclose further comprising a vacuum subsystem for removing drilled pieces of bulkhead. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art of machine tools to use a vacuum subsystem for the purpose of removing chips and dust from a drilled workpiece.
Regarding claim 10, Xu et al. discloses wherein the connection subsystem includes at least one connection box 1 connected to the drilling subsystem 1/2/5 and the extension subsystem 3/4/6/7/8/9/10/11/12/13/14 and connected to the control subsystem 1. Xu et al. does not distinctly disclose using a first plurality of cables and a second plurality of cables wherein the first plurality of cables is greater in number than the second plurality of cables and the cables in the second plurality of cables are stronger than the cables in the first plurality of cables. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the amount of first cables to be greater in number that the second plurality of cables and for the cables in the second plurality of cables to be stronger than the cables in the first plurality of cables for the purpose of meeting the operational requirements of the subsystems, because it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, involves only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 538, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 5-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 30 June 2026