DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to the application filed 22 April 2024, claims 1-20 are presented for examination on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following structures must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Claim 1, “manual adjustment mechanism”;
Claim 17, “wherein the bearing system includes a plurality of radially interspaced
beads positioned within a bearing channel”;
Claim 18, “wherein the crown may include one or more decorative elements”;
Claim 19, “wherein the brim may include one or more decorative elements”.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 17 recites the following limitation: “wherein the bearing system includes a plurality of radially interspaced beads positioned within a bearing channel”. After a complete review of Applicant’s instant specification, such limitation lacks antecedent basis from the instant written specification.
Claim 18 recites the following limitation: “wherein the crown may include one or more decorative elements”. After a complete review of Applicant’s instant specification, such limitation lacks antecedent basis from the instant written specification.
Claim 19 recites the following limitation: “wherein the brim may include one or more decorative elements”. After a complete review of Applicant’s instant specification, such limitation lacks antecedent basis from the instant written specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 9: the recitation “A hat with a rotatable brim, comprising: a hat including a crown forming the top porting of the hat” should be amended to read “A hat with a rotatable brim, comprising: a top portion of the hat”;
Claim 9, the recitation “the rotating system including” should be amended to read “the rotating mechanism including”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such limitations are: “bearing system”, “rotating mechanism”, “manual adjustment mechanism”, and “locking mechanism”. Claim 1 line 4 sets forth the term “bearing system”, which invoked 112f, with the corresponding/equivalent structure in para. 26 of the specification disclosing the bearing system as the rotating mechanism 400, and the bearing system includes channel 401 to accept the brim 105. Claim 1 line 5 sets forth the term “rotating mechanism”, which invoked 112f, with the corresponding/equivalent structure in para. 26 of the specification disclosing the rotating mechanism as the bearing system 103, and the bearing system includes channel 401 to accept the brim 105. Claim 1 line 6 sets forth the term “manual adjustment mechanism”, which invoked 112f, with the corresponding/equivalent structure in para. 4 of the specification disclosing the rotating mechanism enables smooth and continuous rotation of the brim, and the manual adjustment mechanism allows the user to manually rotate the brim (Examiner interprets the manual adjustment mechanism as the rotating mechanism). Claim 6 line 1 sets forth the term “locking mechanism”, which invoked 112f, with the corresponding/equivalent structure in para. 24 of the specification disclosing the locking mechanism as one or more clips 201 on the outer side 203 of brim 105.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 17 recites “wherein the bearing system includes a plurality of radially interspaced beads positioned within a bearing channel”. After a full review of applicant’s disclosure, it appears there is no support for such claim limitations. For these reasons, the claim limitation fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the crown may include one or more decorative elements”. After a full review of applicant’s disclosure, it appears there is no support for such claim limitations. For these reasons, the claim limitation fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 19 recites “wherein the brim may include one or more decorative elements”. After a full review of applicant’s disclosure, it appears there is no support for such claim limitations. For these reasons, the claim limitation fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected as being indefinite or failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the meaning(s) and structure(s) of “a bearing system”, “a rotating mechanism”, and “a manual adjustment mechanism”. After a full review of Applicant’s disclosure in para. 26, it appears the bearing system is the rotating mechanism, which includes channel 401 to accept the brim 105. Applicant is respectfully advised to clarify how/if the bearing system is a different structure than the rotating mechanism. Further, para. 4 of Applicant’s disclosure discloses “A rotating mechanism enables smooth and continuous rotation of the brim. A manual adjustment mechanism allows the user to manually rotate the brim”, but it is unclear if the manual adjustment mechanism is the same structure as the rotating mechanism, or if the manual adjustment mechanism is a different structure than the rotating mechanism. Applicant is advised to clarify where the manual adjustment mechanism exists in the claimed invention, and how the manual adjustment mechanism is a different structure than the rotating mechanism. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets the “bearing system” and the “manual adjustment mechanism” as the “rotating mechanism”. Claim 1 is rejected as best understood by Examiner.
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected as being indefinite or failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the meaning(s) of “wherein the rotating mechanism is frictionless”. After a full review of Applicant’s disclosure in para. 4, it is unclear how the rotating mechanism is frictionless, or moves the rotation of the brim about the crown of the hat without the presence of friction. Applicant is respectfully advised to clarify how the rotating mechanism is frictionless because structures on Earth interacting with one another experience friction to some degree. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets the “wherein the rotating mechanism is frictionless” as “wherein the rotating mechanism provides rotation of the brim”. Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected as best understood by Examiner.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 contain an abbreviation, “UV”, which renders the claim scope uncertain since the abbreviation cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. In the present case, the identification/description of the abbreviation is indefinite. Applicant is respectfully advised to clarify/define in the claim limitation which material is abbreviated as UV. For purposes of examination, Examiner interprets UV as ultraviolet. Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected as best understood.
Claim 14 is rejected as being indefinite or failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the structure of “further comprising a locking mechanism”. After a full review of Applicant’s disclosure it is unclear whether there is a second locking mechanism that is different than the locking mechanism claimed in claim 9, from which claim 14 depends upon. Applicant is respectfully advised to the number of locking mechanisms, or if the locking mechanism of claim 14 is the same structure as the locking mechanism claimed in claim 9. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets the locking mechanism of claim 14 as the same locking mechanism as presented in claim 9. Claim 14 is rejected as best understood by Examiner.
Claim 17 is rejected as being indefinite or failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the structure of “wherein the bearing system includes a plurality of radially interspaced beads positioned within a bearing channel”. After a full review of Applicant’s disclosure it is unclear whether the radially interspaced “beads” were intended to be claimed as recesses 409 as shown in Fig. 4. Applicant is respectfully advised clarify where the plurality of radially interspaced beads exist in the claimed invention. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets the radially interspaced beads as the recesses 409 of the bearing system 103, see Fig. 4. Claim 17 is rejected as best understood by Examiner.
Claim 18 is rejected as being indefinite or failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim “wherein the crown may include one or more decorative elements” because the use of “may” renders the recitation unclear. Applicant is respectfully advised to clarify whether the crown includes one or more decorative elements or not. For the purposes of examination, Examiner interprets the crown includes one or more decorative elements. Claim 18 is rejected as best understood by Examiner.
Claim 19 is rejected as being indefinite or failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim “wherein the brim may include one or more decorative elements” because the use of “may” renders the recitation unclear. Applicant is respectfully advised to clarify whether the brim includes one or more decorative elements or not. For the purposes of examination, Examiner interprets the brim includes one or more decorative elements. Claim 19 is rejected as best understood by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mobley (US 5,715,534 A).
Regarding claim 1, insofar as is definite, Mobley teaches a hat (10; Figs. 1-4) with a rotatable brim (12; at least abstract), comprising:
a hat (10) including a crown (11, 13) forming the top porting of the hat (Figs. 1 & 3-4, where a top portion of 11 is above 12), the crown configured to cover and fit a head of a user (Fig. 1; col. 1 lines 58-62);
a bearing system (16, top and bottom 22, and a channel formed by top and bottom 22 and 16 as shown in Figs. 3-4) permitting the rotatable connection between a brim (Figs. 3-4) and the crown (Figs. 3-4; col. 5 lines 39-45);
a rotating mechanism (16, top and bottom 22, and a channel formed by top and bottom 22 and 16 as shown in Figs. 3-4, as best understood) to enable smooth and continuous rotation of the brim (col. 4 lines 19-22; It is noted that “to enable smooth and continuous rotation of the brim” is functional and does not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead requires an ability to so perform and/or function; Mobley discloses the structure as claimed and therefore would have a reasonable expectation of performing such function);
and a manual adjustment mechanism (16, top and bottom 22, and a channel formed by top and bottom 22 and 16 as shown in Figs. 3-4, as best understood) to allow the user to manually rotate the brim (col. 1 lines 5-10; It is noted that “to allow the user to manually rotate the brim” is functional and does not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead requires an ability to so perform and/or function; Mobley discloses the structure as claimed and therefore would have a reasonable expectation of performing such function).
Regarding claim 2, insofar as is definite, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 1, wherein the rotating mechanism is frictionless (col. 4 lines 19-22, as best understood).
Regarding claim 3, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 1, wherein the rotating mechanism provides 360-degree rotation of the brim (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 1, wherein the rotating mechanism provides the user with adjustable shading (col. 2 lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 5, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 1, wherein the rotating mechanism provides the user with adjustable styling (col. 2 lines 1-8, “for self-expression”, and therefore, teaches “provides the user with adjustable styling”).
Regarding claim 6, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 1, further comprising a locking mechanism (17; Fig. 3) to secure the brim in a fixed position (Fig. 3 shows 17 and 16 as engaged/assembled, and therefore, is “a fixed position”).
Regarding claim 9, insofar as is definite, Mobley teaches a hat (10) with a rotatable brim (12; at least abstract), comprising:
a hat (10) including a crown (11, 13) forming the top porting of the hat (Figs. 1 & 3-4, where a top portion of 11 is above 12), the crown configured to cover and fit a head of a user (Fig. 1; col. 1 lines 58-62);
a bearing system (16; Figs. 3-4) permitting the rotatable connection between a brim (Figs. 3-4) and the crown (Figs. 3-4; col. 5 lines 39-45);
a rotating mechanism (16; Figs. 3-4, as best understood) to enable smooth and continuous rotation of the brim (col. 4 lines 19-22; It is noted that “to enable smooth and continuous rotation of the brim” is functional and does not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead requires an ability to so perform and/or function; Mobley discloses the structure as claimed and therefore would have a reasonable expectation of performing such function), the rotating system including a groove (top and bottom 22) to interface with a notch (24) provided on the brim to guide the rotation of the brim (Fig. 3);
a locking mechanism (17) comprised of at least one clip (25) to lockingly engage with the bearing system (Figs. 3-6; col. 5 lines 61-67 and col. 6 lines 1-6);
and a manual adjustment mechanism (16; Figs. 3-4, as best understood) to allow the user to manually rotate the brim and to manually lock the brim (col. 1 lines 5-10; It is noted that “to allow the user to manually rotate the brim and to manually lock the brim” is functional and does not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead requires an ability to so perform and/or function; Mobley discloses the structure as claimed and therefore would have a reasonable expectation of performing such function).
Regarding claim 10, insofar as is definite, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 9, wherein the rotating mechanism is frictionless (col. 4 lines 19-22, as best understood).
Regarding claim 11, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 10, wherein the rotating mechanism provides 360-degree rotation of the brim (abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 11, wherein the rotating mechanism provides the user with adjustable shading (col. 2 lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 13, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 12, wherein the rotating mechanism provides the user with adjustable styling (col. 2 lines 1-8, “for self-expression”, and therefore, teaches “provides the user with adjustable styling”).
Regarding claim 14, insofar as is definite, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 13, further comprising a locking mechanism (17; Fig. 3) to secure the brim in a fixed position (Fig. 3 shows 17 and 16 as engaged/assembled, and therefore, is “a fixed position”).
Regarding claim 17, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 16, wherein the bearing system includes a plurality of radially interspaced beads (recesses of top and bottom 22 as shown in Figs. 3-4 & 6, where the recesses of top and bottom 22 have recesses within 16, as best understood) positioned within a bearing channel (Figs. 3-4 shows “a bearing channel” as the channel formed by top and bottom 22 and 16).
Regarding claim 18, insofar as is definite, Mobley teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 17, wherein the crown may include one or more decorative elements (col. 2 lines 40-44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mobley (US 5,715,534 A), in view of Kelly (US 2018/0146734 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Mobley discloses the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 1. While Mobley discloses the hat is not limited to be made of any conventional materials, Mobley does not directly disclose wherein the hat is constructed of a waterproof material.
However, Kelly teaches wherein the hat is constructed of a waterproof material (para. 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted hat material of Mobley for a waterproof material taught by Kelly, as a simple substitution of one well known apparel material for another, in order to yield the predictable result of providing a comfortable and durable fabric structure for an aesthetically pleasing design. Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07. Further, a change in aesthetic (ornamental) design generally will not support patentability. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 8, Mobley discloses the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 1. While Mobley discloses the hat is not limited to be made of any conventional materials, Mobley does not directly disclose wherein the hat is constructed of a UV- proof material.
However, Kelly teaches wherein the hat is constructed of a UV- proof material (para. 46, “sun protectant”, “SPF use”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted hat material of Mobley for a UV- proof material taught by Kelly, as a simple substitution of one well known apparel material for another, in order to yield the predictable result of providing a comfortable and durable fabric structure for an aesthetically pleasing design. Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07. Further, a change in aesthetic (ornamental) design generally will not support patentability. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 15, Mobley discloses the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 14. While Mobley discloses the hat is not limited to be made of any conventional materials, Mobley does not directly disclose wherein the hat is constructed of a waterproof material.
However, Kelly teaches wherein the hat is constructed of a waterproof material (para. 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted hat material of Mobley for a waterproof material taught by Kelly, as a simple substitution of one well known apparel material for another, in order to yield the predictable result of providing a comfortable and durable fabric structure for an aesthetically pleasing design. Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07. Further, a change in aesthetic (ornamental) design generally will not support patentability. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 16, Kelly further teaches the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 15, wherein the hat is constructed of a UV- proof material (para. 46, “sun protectant”, “SPF use”).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mobley (US 5,715,534 A), in view of Reinhart et al. (US 9,980,528 B2).
Regarding claim 19, insofar as is definite, Mobley discloses the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 18, except for wherein the brim may include one or more decorative elements.
However, Reinhart teaches a brim (130; Fig. 13), wherein the brim may include one or more decorative elements (Fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brim of Mobley to include one or more decorative elements, as taught by Reinhart, in order to provide an aesthetically pleasing design. Further, a change in aesthetic (ornamental) design generally will not support patentability. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 20, Mobley further discloses the hat with a rotatable brim of Claim 19, wherein the brim is removably engaged with the crown (col. 2 lines 21-24).
Conclusion
15 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See similar hats cited on the PTO-892 form attached to this Office Action.
/G.Q.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/KHOA D HUYNH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732