Double Patenting
Claims 1, 13, 15-17, and 22 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10/028,077 ‘077’ in view of Park WO 2006073211.
Regarding claim 1 and 17, ‘077’ claim 1 claims a method comprising (lines 1-2):
communicating, by a wireless device, via a first wireless network using first periodic connection events, wherein the wireless device does not initiate any of the first periodic connection events (lines 3-8);
communicating, by the wireless device, via a second wireless network using second periodic connection events (lines 9-16); and
in response to determining a time overlap between a first connection event of the first periodic connection events and a second connection event of the second periodic connection events, performing, by the wireless device, a connection update to shift in time at least one of the second periodic connection events (lines 17-30).
‘077’ is silent on wherein the wireless device initiates each of the second periodic connection events.
Park teaches the wireless device initiates each of the connection events (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of ‘077’ by the wireless device initiates each of the second periodic connection events, as suggested by Park. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the wireless device to initiate communication.
Regarding claim 13, 22, given claim 1 claims the first and second reference clocks have a relative drift rate, it is obvious the first and second connection intervals are different.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, incorporating the invention within a first and second Bluetooth network would have been obvious at the time of the instant invention.
Claims 1, 13, 15-17, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10/694,359 ‘359’ in view of Park WO 2006073211.
Regarding claim 1 and 17, ‘359’ claim 1 claims a method comprising (lines 1-2):
communicating, by a wireless device, via a first wireless network using first periodic connection events, wherein the wireless device does not initiate any of the first periodic connection events (lines 3-8);
communicating, by the wireless device, via a second wireless network using second periodic connection events (lines 9-16); and
in response to determining a time overlap between a first connection event of the first periodic connection events and a second connection event of the second periodic connection events, performing, by the wireless device, a connection update to shift in time at least one of the second periodic connection events (lines 17-26).
‘359’ is silent on wherein the wireless device initiates each of the second periodic connection events.
Park teaches the wireless device initiates each of the connection events (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of ‘359’ by the wireless device initiates each of the second periodic connection events, as suggested by Park. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the wireless device to initiate communication.
Regarding claim 13, 22, given claim 1 claims the first and second reference clocks have a relative drift rate, it is obvious the first and second connection intervals are different.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, incorporating the invention within a first and second Bluetooth network would have been obvious at the time of the instant invention.
Claims 1, 13, 15-17, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11/997,575 ‘575’ in view of Park WO 2006073211.
Regarding claim 1 and 17, ‘575’ claim 1 claims a method comprising (line 1):
communicating, by a wireless device, via a first wireless network using first periodic connection events, wherein the wireless device does not initiate any of the first periodic connection events (lines 2-5);
communicating, by the wireless device, via a second wireless network using second periodic connection events (lines 6-11); and
in response to determining a time overlap between a first connection event of the first periodic connection events and a second connection event of the second periodic connection events, performing, by the wireless device, a connection update to shift in time at least one of the second periodic connection events (lines 12-22).
‘575’ is silent on wherein the wireless device initiates each of the second periodic connection events.
Park teaches the wireless device initiates each of the connection events (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of ‘575’ by the wireless device initiates each of the second periodic connection events, as suggested by Park. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the wireless device to initiate communication.
Regarding claim 13, 22, given claim 1 claims the first and second reference clocks have a relative drift rate, it is obvious the first and second connection intervals are different.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, incorporating the invention within a first and second Bluetooth network would have been obvious at the time of the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, 15-17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ribaudo US 20070030824 in view of Park and Zakrzewski US 20110255528.
Regarding claims 1, 17, Ribaudo teaches communicating, by a wireless device, via a first wireless network using first periodic connection events, wherein the wireless device does not initiate any of the first periodic connection events (piconet, [0066], separate network interfaces for each network, mobile device 12 simultaneously connected to multiple networks, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, [0073]);
communicating, by the wireless device, via a second wireless network using second periodic connection events (piconet, [0066], separate network interfaces for each network, mobile device 12 simultaneously connected to multiple networks, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, [0073]).
Ribaudo is silent on wherein the wireless device initiates each of the second periodic connection events.
Park teaches the wireless device initiates each of the connection events (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ribaudo by the wireless device initiates each of the second periodic connection events, as suggested by Park. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the wireless device to initiate communication.
The combination is silent on in response to determining a time overlap between a first connection event of the first periodic connection events and a second connection event of the second periodic connection events, performing, by the wireless device, a connection update to shift in time at least one of the second periodic connection events.
Zakrzewski teaches in a mobile network, the clock offset between devices is determined based upon timestamp of received packets and adjusting the clock offset based upon the relative
drift rate. Specifically Zakrzewski teaches an access point sending a reference message to each of the wireless devices. Each wireless device records a timestamp that the message was received and sends the timestamp to the access point. Access point determines relative clock offsets between each of the wireless devices based on the timestamps. Subsequent reference messages are sent to determine a clock drift rate of each of the plurality of wireless devices in order to obtain accurate relative clock offsets between the wireless devices ([0008, 0092]). Note, both the applicant and Zakrzewski teach in a mobile network, the clock offset between devices is determined based upon timestamp of received packets and adjusting the clock offset based upon the relative drift rate.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary Skill in the art, to modify the system of the combination by in response to determining a time overlap between a first connection event of the first periodic connection events and a second connection event of the second periodic connection events, performing, by the wireless device, a connection update to shift in time at least one of the second periodic connection events, as suggested by Zakrzewski. This modification would benefit the system by ensuring that collisions between the two networks communicating with the mobile do not occur.
Regarding claim 13, 22, given Zakrzewski teach in a mobile network, the clock offset between devices is determined based upon timestamp of received packets and adjusting the clock offset based upon the relative drift rate, it is obvious the first and second connection intervals are different.
Regarding claim 15, the first wireless network is a Bluetooth network, and the second wireless network is a Bluetooth network (Ribaldo: [0073] A fourth option is using separate network ,interfaces for each network, so that a mobile device 12 can be simultaneously connected to multiple networks, Bluetooth).
Regarding claim 16, the limitation is obvious in view of Ribaldo: [0073] A fourth option is using separate network ,interfaces for each network, so that a mobile device 12 can be simultaneously connected to multiple networks, Bluetooth).
Allowable subject matter
Claims 2-12, 14, 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476