Claims 1, 9, 11, 12, 13, 15-17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ribaudo US 20070030824 in view of Park WO 2006073211 and Hetzel US 20060045135.
Regarding claims 1, 17, Ribaudo teaches communicating, by a wireless device, via a first wireless network using first periodic connection events, wherein the wireless device does not initiate any of the first periodic connection events (piconet, [0066], separate network interfaces for each network, mobile device 12 simultaneously connected to multiple networks, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, [0073]);
communicating, by the wireless device, via a second wireless network using second periodic connection events (piconet, [0066], separate network interfaces for each network, mobile device 12 simultaneously connected to multiple networks, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, [0073]).
Ribaudo is silent on wherein the wireless device initiates each of the second periodic connection events.
Park teaches the wireless device initiates each of the connection events (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ribaudo by the wireless device initiates each of the second periodic connection events, as suggested by Park. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the wireless device to initiate communication.
The combination is silent on in response to determining a time overlap between a first connection event of the first
periodic connection events and a second connection event of the second periodic connection events, determining, by the wireless device, a time shift based on a number of time overlap instances between the first periodic connection events and the second periodic connection events, and performing, by the wireless device, a connection update based on the time shift to shift in
time at least one of the second periodic connection events.
Hetzel teaches in response to determining a time overlap between a first connection event of the first periodic connection events and a second connection event of the second periodic connection events, determining, by the wireless device, a time shift based on a number of time overlap instances between the first periodic connection events and the second periodic connection events, and performing, by the wireless device, a connection update based on the time shift to shift in
time at least one of the second periodic connection events ([0043]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary Skill in the art, to modify the system of the combination by in response to determining a time overlap between a first connection event of the first periodic connection events and a second connection event of the second periodic connection events, determining, by the wireless device, a time shift based on a number of time overlap instances between the first periodic connection events and the second periodic connection events, and performing, by the wireless device, a connection update based on the time shift to shift in time at least one of the second periodic connection events, as shown by Hetzel. This modification would benefit the system by ensuring that collisions between the two networks communicating with the mobile do not occur.
Regarding claim 9, (Ribaldo: Bluetooth, [0073]).
Regarding claim 11, (Ribaldo: Bluetooth, [0073]).
Regarding claim 12, 13, 22, given Zakrzewski teach in a mobile network, the clock offset between devices is determined based upon timestamp of received packets and adjusting the clock offset based upon the relative drift rate, it is obvious the first and second connection intervals are different.
Regarding claim 15, the first wireless network is a Bluetooth network, and the second wireless network is a Bluetooth network (Ribaldo: [0073] A fourth option is using separate network ,interfaces for each network, so that a mobile device 12 can be simultaneously connected to multiple networks, Bluetooth).
Regarding claim 16, the limitation is obvious in view of Ribaldo: ([0073] A fourth option is using separate network ,interfaces for each network, so that a mobile device 12 can be simultaneously connected to multiple networks, Bluetooth).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ribaudo, Park, and Hetzel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of D'Amico US 20090052353.
The combination is silent on determining, by the wireless device, a first time drift of the first periodic connection
events; and
determining that a time overlap between the first connection event and the second connection event exists based on the first time drift.
D'Amico teaches determining, by the wireless device, a first time drift of the first periodic connection events; and
determining that a time overlap between the first connection event and the second connection event exists based on the first time drift (determining an overlap time drift between the first time division duplex time frame and the second time division duplex time frame based upon a change of location within the first time division duplex time frame between the first plurality of timeslots and the second plurality of timeslots, claim 7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by determining, by the wireless device, a first time drift of the first periodic connection events; and determining that a time overlap between the first connection event and the second connection event exists based on the first time drift, as shown by D'Amico. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for determining the time overlap.
Claim(s) 3, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ribaudo, Park, and Hetzel, and D'Amico as applied to claims 2, 17 above, and further in view of Borton US 20220338786.
The combination is silent on determining the first time drift comprises determining the first time drift based on packet arrival timestamps of the first periodic connection events.
Borton teaches determining time drift based upon packet arrival timestamps ([0076]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by determining the first time drift comprises determining the first time drift based on packet arrival timestamps of the first periodic connection events, as suggested by Borton. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for calculating time drift.
Claim(s) 4, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ribaudo, Park, and Hetzel, and D'Amico as applied to claims 2, 18 above, and further in view of Xie US 8836387.
The combination is silent on wherein determining the first time drift comprises using a phase locked loop (PLL).
Xie teaches wherein determining the first time drift comprises using a phase locked loop (PLL) (col. 5 lines 4-17).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by determining the first time drift comprises using a phase locked loop (PLL), as shown by Xie. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for calculating time drift.
Claim(s) 6, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ribaudo, Park, and Hetzel as applied to claims 1, 17 above, and further in view of Amini US 20110164597.
The combination is silent on determining a time shift based on packet arrival timestamps of the first periodic connection events and the second periodic connection events, wherein performing the connection update comprises performing the connection update based on the time shift.
Amini teaches determining a time shift based on packet arrival timestamps of the first periodic connection events and the second periodic connection events, wherein performing the connection update comprises performing the connection update based on the time shift ([0138]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by determining a time shift based on packet arrival timestamps of the first periodic connection events and the second periodic connection events, wherein performing the connection update comprises performing the connection update based on the time shift, as shown by Amini. This modification would benefit the system by performing the connection update based on the time shift.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 10, 14, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476