Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the gesture of Minami requires physical contact unlike how “gesture” is defined in the Applicant’s Specification. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant’s Specification merely states that it is ‘understood’ that a gesture does not involve physical contact (Specification: 0033). In fact, the Examiner submits that touchscreen inputs such as tapping and dragging are understood as types of gestures (see, https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/4202-touch-gestures-windows-10-a.html). Therefore, the Examiner maintains the position that interacting with a button on a touchscreen such as that of Minami (Minami: 0024) is the equivalent to “the selectively transparent layer being gesture controlled” as presently claimed.
The Examiner suggests, the claim further defining the “gesture” to require no physical contact.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 15, 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minami et al. (PGPUB Document No. US 2017/0277136).
Regarding claim 14, Minami teaches a watch, comprising:
A selectively transparent front layer (display screen 22a (Minami: 0023, FIG.1B). Among the two stacked display screens 22a and 12a, the CPU can control which display to be seen as illustrated in FIG.3A-D (Minami: 0052). This corresponds to the layer being selectively transparent);
A selectively transparent second layer behind the selectively transparent front layer (display screen 12a (Minami: 0023, FIG.1B))
A retention device for temporarily coupling the selectively transparent front layer and the selectively transparent second layer to a wearer’s wrist (“the smart watch 100 is a wrist mounting type electronic device in which a watch body 1 is mounted around user's wrist by using a band 2” (Minami: 0021, FIG.1A));
And a controller in communication with the selectively transparent front layer and the selectively transparent second layer, the controller causing content to be selectively displayed for viewing, the selectively transparent front layer being gesture controlled (microcomputers controlling the selective display of display screens 22a and 12a (Minami: 0052)).
Regarding claim 15, Minami teaches the watch of claim 14, further comprising a watch face behind the selectively transparent second layer (refer to the watch face shown on display screen 12a behind display screen 22a (Minami: FIG.1B).
16. The watch of claim 14, wherein:
The selectively transparent front layer includes a first item selected from the group consisting of an LCD panel, an OLED panel, an LCOS panel, and a smart glass panel (segment type monochrome liquid crystal display (Minami: 0025));
The selectively transparent second layer includes a second item selected from the group consisting of an LCD panel, an OLED panel, an LCOS panel, and a smart glass panel (LCD screen (Minami: 0025));
And the first item is different from the second item (refer to the different display screens stated in the rejection above).
Regarding claim 18, Minami teaches the watch of claim 14, further comprising a sensor, and wherein the controller alters at least one item selected from the group consisting of the selectively transparent front layer and the selectively transparent second layer based on at least one input from the sensor (second display unit 22 comprising a touch sensor that receives user operation).
Regarding claim 21, Minami teaches the watch of claim 20, further comprising a watch face behind the selectively transparent second layer (refer to the watch face shown behind second display unit 22a as shown in FIG.1B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minami as applied to the claim(s) above, and further in view of Olwal et al. (PGPUB Document No. US 2019/0324404).
Regarding claim 19, Minami does not expressly teach but Olwal teaches the watch of claim 18, wherein the sensor comprises a biometric sensor (Olwal teaches a smart watch comprising a skin temperature sensor, a heart rate monitor, an oximetry sensor to measure blood oxygen levels, and a galvanic skin response sensor to determine exertion levels (Olwal: 0038)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to modify the smart watch of Minami such as to include the sensors taught by Olwal, because this enables an added number of functionalities to the smart watch.
Regarding claim 20, Minami does not expressly teach but Olwal teaches the watch of claim 18, wherein the sensor is selected from the group consisting of a camera, an infrared sensor, an acoustic sensor, a biometric sensor (skin temperature sensor, a heart rate monitor, an oximetry sensor to measure blood oxygen levels, and a galvanic skin response sensor to determine exertion levels (Olwal: 0038)), an environmental sensor (barometric pressure sensor, an ambient temperature sensor (Olwal: 0038)), and a GPS device (GPS (Olwal: 0040)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to modify the smart watch of Minami such as to include the sensors taught by Olwal, because this enables an added number of functionalities to the smart watch.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are allowed. Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616