DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farkas et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0284011).
Regarding claim 1, Farkas discloses (Figs. 1-4) a creep corrosion sensor (see pars. [0004] and [0010]) comprising:
a central pad electrode 107a (inner path of 107a: see Fig. 2; [0024]-[0026]) disposed on a first surface of a printed circuit board (as shown in Fig. 2);
an outer ring electrode 107a (outer path of 107a: see Fig. 2; [0024]-[0026]) disposed concentrically around the central pad electrode (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4A) on the first surface of the printed circuit board (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4A) with the central pad electrode 107a (inner path) centered within the outer ring electrode 107a (i.e. the center of the inner pattern of the electrode 107a is within and concentric with the outer path of the electrode 107a: see Figs. 2 and 4A);
wherein the central pad electrode 107a (inner) and the outer ring electrode 107a (outer) define a creep corrosion area therebetween (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4A; [0026]) on the first surface of the printed circuit board (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4A) for which resistance is measured as affected by creep corrosion [0010]/[0026] present in the creep corrosion area [0026].
Regarding claim 2, Farkas discloses (Figs. 1-4) a voltage source 120 [0031] electrically coupled to the central pad electrode 107a and the outer ring electrode 107a [0031] (as shown in Fig. 1); and
resistance monitor electronics 122 [0026]/[0030] electrically coupled to the central pad electrode 107a and the outer ring electrode 107a (as shown in Fig. 1) and adapted to measure the resistance of the creep corrosion area [0026]/[0030].
Regarding claim 8, Farkas discloses (Figs. 1-4) the resistance monitor electronics 122 are adapted to or coupled to a system [0051]/[0053] adapted to correlate the resistance of the creep corrosion area as affected by the creep corrosion present in the creep corrosion area [0053] to an estimated time-to-failure of a component or product utilizing the printed circuit board (i.e. corrosion warning/threshold: [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farkas et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0284011).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Farkas discloses the outer ring electrode is disposed concentrically and symmetrically around the central pad electrode.
Farkas does not disclose the central pad electrode and the outer ring electrode have a circular shape.
However, such a modification would be merely a change in shape of the electrodes, which is obvious – see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Farkas’ device so that the central pad electrode and the outer ring electrode have a circular shape.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance. The prior art of record does not show or suggest:
“…the plurality of creep corrosion sensor assemblies utilize a plurality of different gap widths of the creep corrosion areas.”
(as in claims 9 and 17)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05-04-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the outer ring electrode may be circular, octagonal, pentagonal, etc. and the central pad electrode may be a spot or dot contained within the outer ring electrode,” “a creep corrosion area between the central pad electrode and the outer ring electrode that is partially or wholly symmetric with regard to airflows passing over the creep corrosion area from different directions,” and “a symmetric "bullseye"-like creep corrosion study surface on the surface of the printed circuit board”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant also argues that Farkas’ pattern is not concentric with the central pad electrode centered within the outer ring electrode. However, as pointed out in the rejection above, if the inner pattern of the electrode 107a is taken as the central pad electrode, and the outer pattern of the electrode 107a is taken as the outer ring electrode, and the patterns follow each other as shown in Farkas, then they meet the limitations of being concentric with the central pad electrode centered within the outer ring electrode (i.e. the center of the inner pattern of the electrode 107a is within and concentric with the outer path of the electrode 107a: see Figs. 2 and 4A).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852