DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04-22-2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,2,6,7,9,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmqvist (US PG PUB 20240039348 hereinafter “Holmqvist”) in view of Kouda (US Patent 12653473 hereinafter “Kouda”).
Re-claim 1, Holmqvist discloses a motor (100) comprising: a rotor (102) rotatable about a central axis (axis of shaft 104) extending in an axial direction (113); a stator (134, with 110) including a stator core (134) of a magnetic body () in which a electromagnets portion (110) is located; a bracket (210, housing holds stator) including a stator holder (108) in a tubular shape (108 is tubular) extending in the axial direction and surrounding the central axis (surrounding 113), the stator holder (108) holding the stator core (110,134); and a heat dissipation portion (128) extending in one axial direction from the coil [electromagnet portion] portion (110), being separate from the bracket (separate from housing 210), and held by the stator holder (108); wherein the heat dissipation portion (108)includes: an annular portion (128 is annular, around 108, see fig.1) that has an annular shape surrounding the stator holder (108) and is located on a radially outer surface of the stator holder (see fig.1);
Holmqvist fails to explicitly show the magnetic body in which a coil portion is located, the annular portion is that has an annular shape; and an extension extending radially outward from the annular portion.
However, Kouda teaches the magnetic body in which a coil portion (70) is located, the annular portion is that has an annular shape (412a is annular, see fig.10); and an extension (43,44) extending radially outward (see fig.2) from the annular portion (from 412a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Holmqvist wherein the magnetic body in which a coil portion is located, the annular portion is that has an annular shape; and an extension extending radially outward from the annular portion as suggested by Kouda to provide cooling for heating electromagnetics and provide more efficient device (Kouda, P[0091]).
Re-claim 2, Holmqvist as modified discloses the motor according to claim 1.
However, Holmqvist fails to explicitly teachoH wherein the extension includes a plurality of extensions arranged side by side in the circumferential direction.
However, Kouda teaches wherein the extension (44) includes a plurality of extensions (442) arranged side by side (see fig.2, 44 next to each other circumferentially) in the circumferential direction (around shaft, or around axis ax).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Holmqvist wherein the extension includes a plurality of extensions arranged side by side in the circumferential direction as suggested by Kouda to provide cooling for heating electromagnetics and provide more efficient device (Kouda, P[0091]).
Re-claim 6, Holmqvist as modified discloses the motor according to claim 1.
Holmqvist fails to explicitly teach wherein a material of at least the annular portion of the heat dissipation portion is aluminum or an aluminum alloy.
However, Kouda teaches teach wherein a material of at least the annular portion of the heat dissipation portion is aluminum or an aluminum alloy (P[0140],40 includes 44 which are made of aluminum, and all of stator base see P[0081], heat dissipation member made of aluminum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Holmqvist wherein a material of at least the annular portion of the heat dissipation portion is as suggested by Kouda to provide better heat dissipation and cooling for heating electromagnetics and provide more efficient device having good thermal conductivity stator (Kouda, P[0091,0081,0107]).
Re-claim 7, Holmqvist as modified discloses the motor according to claim 1.
Holmqvist fails to explicitly teach the extension includes: a distal end portion expanding in a direction perpendicular to a radial direction at a radially outer end portion of the extension; and a connector that extends in the radial direction and connects the distal end portion to the annular portion.
However, Kouda teaches teach the extension (44) includes: a distal end portion (442) expanding in a direction perpendicular to a radial direction at a radially outer end portion of the extension (44); and a connector (43) that extends in the radial direction and connects the distal end portion4342) to the annular portion (see fig.2 from Kouda).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Holmqvist wherein the extension includes: a distal end portion expanding in a direction perpendicular to a radial direction at a radially outer end portion of the extension; and a connector that extends in the radial direction and connects the distal end portion to the annular portion as suggested by Kouda to provide better heat dissipation and cooling for heating electromagnetics and provide more efficient device having good thermal conductivity stator (Kouda, P[0091,0081,0107]).
Re-claim 9, Holmqvist as modified discloses the motor according to claim 1.
Holmqvist fails to explicitly teach wherein the extension has a minimum axial width larger than a width of the extension in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction and the radial direction.
However, Kouda teaches wherein the extension has a minimum axial width (annotated fig.2) larger than a width of the extension (annotated fig.2) in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction and the radial direction (annotated fig.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Holmqvist wherein the extension has a minimum axial width larger than a width of the extension in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction and the radial direction as suggested by Kouda to provide better heat dissipation and cooling for heating electromagnetics and provide more efficient device having good thermal conductivity stator (Kouda, P[0091,0081,0107]).
Re-claim 14, Holmqvist as modified discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the rotor includes a magnet (111) opposing the stator (108) in the radial direction; and the stator is located radially inward of the magnet (111).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3,4,5,8,10-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re-claim 3, recites “inter alia”, “ 1. A motor comprising: a rotor rotatable about a central axis extending in an axial direction; a stator including a stator core of a magnetic body in which a coil portion is located; a bracket including a stator holder in a tubular shape extending in the axial direction and surrounding the central axis, the stator holder holding the stator core; and a heat dissipation portion extending in one axial direction from the coil portion, being separate from the bracket, and held by the stator holder; wherein the heat dissipation portion includes: an annular portion that has an annular shape surrounding the stator holder and is located on a radially outer surface of the stator holder; and an extension extending radially outward from the annular portion. 2. The motor according to claim 1, wherein the extension includes a plurality of extensions arranged side by side in the circumferential direction. 3. The motor according to claim 2, wherein the bracket further includes an attachment portion to attach the motor to an external predetermined portion; and the extension extends in another axial direction from the attachment portion, and between attachment portions including the attachment portion and being adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction as viewed from the axial direction. 3. The motor according to claim 2, wherein the bracket further includes an attachment portion to attach the motor to an external predetermined portion; and the extension extends in another axial direction from the attachment portion, and between attachment portions including the attachment portion and being adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction as viewed from the axial direction.”
The prior art of record ,ip.com npl and patent search, ai search references fail to teach alone or combined the combination of limitation of claims 3, 2 and 1. Combination of limitations of claims 3,2 and 1 are unique and trying to add another prior art for claim 3 is not combinable.
Re-claim 5, recites “inter alia”, “ 1. A motor comprising: a rotor rotatable about a central axis extending in an axial direction; a stator including a stator core of a magnetic body in which a coil portion is located; a bracket including a stator holder in a tubular shape extending in the axial direction and surrounding the central axis, the stator holder holding the stator core; and a heat dissipation portion extending in one axial direction from the coil portion, being separate from the bracket, and held by the stator holder; wherein the heat dissipation portion includes: an annular portion that has an annular shape surrounding the stator holder and is located on a radially outer surface of the stator holder; and an extension extending radially outward from the annular portion. 2. The motor according to claim 1, wherein the extension includes a plurality of extensions arranged side by side in the circumferential direction. 3. The motor according to claim 2, wherein the bracket further includes an attachment portion to attach the motor to an external predetermined portion; and the extension extends in another axial direction from the attachment portion, and between attachment portions including the attachment portion and being adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction as viewed from the axial direction. 5. The motor according to claim 2, wherein the extension is located between coil portions including the coil potion and adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction as viewed in the axial direction; and at least a portion of one axial end portion of each of the coil portions is exposed to an outside of the motor.”
The prior art of record ,ip.com npl and patent search, ai search references fail to teach alone or combined the combination of limitation of claims 5, 2 and 1. Combination of limitations of claims 5,2 and 1 are unique and trying to add another prior art for claim 5 is not combinable.
Re-claim 8, recites “inter alia”, “ 1. A motor comprising: a rotor rotatable about a central axis extending in an axial direction; a stator including a stator core of a magnetic body in which a coil portion is located; a bracket including a stator holder in a tubular shape extending in the axial direction and surrounding the central axis, the stator holder holding the stator core; and a heat dissipation portion extending in one axial direction from the coil portion, being separate from the bracket, and held by the stator holder; wherein the heat dissipation portion includes: an annular portion that has an annular shape surrounding the stator holder and is located on a radially outer surface of the stator holder; and an extension extending radially outward from the annular portion. 7. The motor according to claim 1, wherein the extension includes: a distal end portion expanding in a direction perpendicular to a radial direction at a radially outer end portion of the extension; and a connector that extends in the radial direction and connects the distal end portion to the annular portion. 8. The motor according to claim 7, wherein the heat dissipation portion further includes a recess recessed in one axial direction at another axial end portion of the heat dissipation portion; and the recess is configured to accommodate one axial end portion of the coil portion.”
The prior art of record ,ip.com npl and patent search, ai search references fail to teach alone or combined the combination of limitation of claims 8, 7 and 1. Combination of limitations of claims 8,7, and 1 are unique and trying to add another prior art for claim 8 is not combinable.
Re-claim 10, recites “inter alia”, “ 1. A motor comprising: a rotor rotatable about a central axis extending in an axial direction; a stator including a stator core of a magnetic body in which a coil portion is located; a bracket including a stator holder in a tubular shape extending in the axial direction and surrounding the central axis, the stator holder holding the stator core; and a heat dissipation portion extending in one axial direction from the coil portion, being separate from the bracket, and held by the stator holder; wherein the heat dissipation portion includes: an annular portion that has an annular shape surrounding the stator holder and is located on a radially outer surface of the stator holder; and an extension extending radially outward from the annular portion. 10. The motor according to claim 1, further comprising a heat conductor located between the coil portion and the extension in the axial direction and in contact with the coil portion and the extension.”
The prior art of record ,ip.com npl and patent search, ai search references fail to teach alone or combined the combination of limitation of claims 10 and 1. Combination of limitations of claims 10 and 1 are unique and trying to add another prior art for claim 10 is not combinable.
Claims 11-13 are objected to based on dependency from rejected claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834