DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination and are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 18 objected to because of the following informalities: typographical error in claim recites “retrieving a corpus og possible content items”. It should be “retrieving a corpus of possible content items”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 14-15 and 20 are rejected Under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Bowie (US 20170345100 hereinafter Bowie).
With respect to claims 1 and 20, Bowie teaches a method comprising:
receiving license plate data responsive to user input (Bowie, see paragraph [0029] the identification code includes vehicle information such as, license plate information of the license plate 115. Paragraph [0039] discloses after the server 101 receives 542 the request 510 to contact the registered vehicle owner from the user, the server 101 determines 544 whether the identification code received is associated with a registered vehicle owner);
sending the license plate data to a server (Bowie, see paragraphs [0047-0048] the mobile device 122 of the user sending 619 the message and the identification code (i.e., license plate information) from the mobile device 122 to the server 101, the mobile device 122 may send an indication of the message to the server 101);
receiving, from the server and is response to the license plate data, a vehicle profile including information about a vehicle, wherein the server identified the vehicle using the license plate data (Bowie, see paragraph [0051] If the server 101 determines a registered vehicle owner is associated with the identification code received from the mobile device 122. Paragraph [0061] further discloses the database 202 may also include, for example, multiple identification codes associated with the information of at least one of the registered vehicle owners. The registered vehicle owner information may include personal identification information, vehicle(s) information( i.e., vehicle profile), and insurance information of the respective registered vehicle owner (i.e., profile)); and
sending a message to one or more users associated with the vehicle (Bowie, see paragraph [0051] the server 101 may send 648 the message to the mobile device 112 of the registered vehicle owner. Alternatively, the server 112 may send an indication of the message to the mobile device 112 of the registered vehicle owner).
With respect to claim 2, Bowie teaches the method, further comprising capturing, responsive to the user input, a photo that includes a license plate of the vehicle, wherein the license plate data is derived from the photograph (Bowie, see paragraphs [0098-0099] the mobile device 312 may be any type of electronic device configured for communication including, for example, a mobile phone. The camera 315 may be configured to take still or video images and may be associated with the vehicle 311 in any location that enables the camera 315 to take images of the exterior of the vehicle 311. … The sensor 324 may be any type of sensor that is configured to sense an identification code from the identification tag 313 or from an aspect of the vehicle 311 having vehicle information such as, for example, a license plate of the vehicle 311).
With respect to claim 3, Bowie teaches the method, wherein the license plate data comprises a license plate number and an issuing entity (Bowie, see paragraphs [0097-0099] the identification code of the vehicle owner includes vehicle information of the vehicle owner such as, for example, license plate information of a license plate of the vehicle owner or a vehicle identification number of the vehicle 311).
With respect to claim 4, Bowie teaches the method, wherein the vehicle profile further includes an identifier of a current driver of the vehicle, and the message is sent to a client device of the current driver (Bowie, see paragraphs [0031-0032] first, the server 101 receives 902 the registration information of the vehicle owner. Second, the server 101 associates 904 the registration information with an identification code (i.e., license plate information). The registration information may include personal information, vehicle(s) information, … the identification code includes vehicle information such as license plate information or a vehicle identification number of the vehicle owner (i.e., vehicle profile). Paragraph [0036] further discloses the user may provide a request 510 to contact a vehicle owner to the server 101. The request 510 to contact a vehicle owner may first include inputting 514 an identification code of the vehicle owner into the mobile device 122 or detecting 516 an identification code of the vehicle owner with the mobile device 122, based on whether the identification code is in a human-readable format or a machine-readable format 512, such as license plate information or a vehicle identification number).
With respect to claim 5, Bowie teaches the method, wherein the vehicle profile further includes an identifier of a current driver of the vehicle and an identifier of another user of the vehicle, the method further comprising:
displaying the identifier of the current driver and the identifier of the another user (Bowie, see paragraphs [0058-0062] The first vehicle owner system 210 may include an identification tag 213 of the first vehicle owner associated with a vehicle 211 of the first vehicle owner and having an identification code of the first vehicle owner, a mobile device 212 of the first vehicle owner configured to be communicatively connected to the server 201, and a sensor 214 of the first vehicle owner connected to or a part of the mobile device 212 of the first vehicle owner and configured to detect an identification code of the second vehicle owner from an identification tag 233 of the second vehicle owner or from, for example, a license plate of a vehicle 231 of the second vehicle owner); and
receiving a user input selection of the current driver or the another user, wherein the message is sent to the current driver or the another user, depending on the user input selection (Bowie, see paragraphs [0069-0071] If the request 702 includes the identification number of a registered vehicle owner, the server 201 may then send a verification code to either the vehicle owner whom sent the request 702 or the vehicle owner associated with the identification number sent in the request 702. The server may then send 704 a verification code to the mobile device 212 of the first vehicle owner. Accordingly, the server 201 may receive 706 the verification code from the second vehicle owner via the mobile device 232. If the server 201 receives 706 the verification code from the second vehicle owner via the mobile device 232, the server may perform an operation 708 to swap insurance information).
With respect to claim 6, Bowie teaches the method, further comprising: displaying a user profile of the current driver or the another user, depending on the user input selection; and displaying, in conjunction with the user profile, controls for specifying message content to include in the message (Bowie, see paragraphs [0089-0090] the mobile device 212 may receive 782 authorizations from the server 201 for an accident report. The first vehicle owner may then input in or select on 784 on the mobile device 212 a message. The first vehicle owner may then send 786 the message from the mobile device 212 to the third party 203 via the server 201. Alternatively, or additionally, the first vehicle owner may send 786 the message from the mobile device 212 to the mobile device 232 of the second vehicle owner. The message may also be accompanied with personal identification or insurance information of the first vehicle owner when sent from the server 201 to the mobile device 232 or the third-party 203).
With respect to claim 7, Bowie teaches the method, wherein the vehicle profile further includes an identifier of a current driver of the vehicle and an identifier of another user of the vehicle, and the message is addressed to the vehicle and is delivered to a client device of the current driver and a client device of the another user (Bowie, see paragraphs [0071-0072] The operation 708 may alternatively or additionally include sending personal identification or insurance information of the second vehicle owner from the server 201 to the mobile device 212 of the first vehicle owner or to the third-party 203, …The server 201 may also enable 712 an accident report for the first and second vehicle owners to send a message via the server 201 to the third-party 203, such as, for example, an insurance company, to provide information concerning an accident between the first and second vehicle owners).
With respect to claim 8, Bowie teaches the method, further comprising: determining that the first user is a current driver of a second vehicle having a second license plate number (Bowie, see paragraph [0059] a mobile device 212 of the first vehicle owner configured to be communicatively connected to the server 201, and a sensor 214 of the first vehicle owner connected to or a part of the mobile device 212 of the first vehicle owner and configured to detect an identification code of the second vehicle owner from an identification tag 233 of the second vehicle owner or from, for example, a license plate of a vehicle 231 of the second vehicle owner); and
sending an indication that the first user is the current driver of the second vehicle to the server, wherein messages sent by other users to the second license plate number are delivered to the client device of the first user (Bowie, see paragraph [0061] the database 202 may be a part of the server 201 or externally connected to the server 201. The database 202 may include registered vehicle owner information and identification codes respectively associated with the information of each registered vehicle owner, including the first and second vehicle owners. The database 202 may also include, multiple identification codes associated with the information of at least one of the registered vehicle owners. The registered vehicle owner information may include personal identification information, vehicle(s) information, and insurance information of the respective registered vehicle owner)
With respect to claim 9, Bowie teaches the method, wherein content of the message is selected from a set of predetermined messages (Bowie, see paragraphs [0042, 0046] The message may be of any format or combination of formats including text, audio, image, or video. However, the mobile device 112 or the server 101 may predetermine the formats send-able by the mobile device 122 or receivable by the mobile device 112. The mobile device 112 or the server 101 may also predetermine the message send-able by the mobile device 122 or receivable by the mobile device 112).
With respect to claim 14, Bowie teaches the method, further comprising:
receiving user input requesting registration of the first user for a role with regard to a second vehicle; sending, to the server, a registration request identifying the first user, the role, and the second vehicle (Bowie, see paragraph [0031] FIG. 4, a registration operation 900 by the server 101 is described in which the vehicle owner may register to use a communication system, such as, for example, the communication system 100, by providing registration information to a server 101. First, the server 101 receives 902 the registration information of the vehicle owner. Second, the server 101 associates 904 the registration information with an identification code. The registration information may include personal information, vehicle(s) information (i.e., one or more vehicle), and insurance information. Third, the identification tag 113 with the identification code is sent 906 to the vehicle owner);
receiving, from the server, an indication of an outcome of the registration request, wherein the server determined the outcome by: determining whether the second vehicle is currently registered or unregistered with the server (Bowie, see paragraph [0061] the server 201 may include at least one computer. The database 202 may be a part of the server 201 or externally connected to the server 201. The database 202 may also include at least one database. The database 202 may include registered vehicle owner information and identification codes respectively associated with the information of each registered vehicle owner, including the first and second vehicle owners); and
processing the registration request according to whether the second vehicle is currently registered or unregistered (Bowie, see paragraph [0068] the server 201 may receive a request 702 to swap insurance information. The request 702 may be sent from a mobile device of a registered vehicle owner, such as, for example, one of the mobile device 212 of the first vehicle owner and the mobile device 232 of the second vehicle owner. The request 702 may include an identification number of another of the registered vehicle owners. Paragraph [0075] further discloses the server 201 may receive a request 722 to swap insurance information. The request 702 may be sent from a mobile device of a registered vehicle owner, such as, for example, the mobile device 212 of the first vehicle owner. The request 722 may include an identification number of another of the registered vehicle owners, for example, the second vehicle owner).
With respect to claim 15, Bowie teaches the method, wherein the second vehicle is currently registered to a current owner and processing the registration request comprises:
sending the registration request to a client device of the current owner; receiving approval of the registration request from the client device of the current owner; and assigning the role to the first user with regard to the second vehicle (Bowie, see paragraph [0031] FIG. 4, a registration operation 900 by the server 101 is described in which the vehicle owner may register to use a communication system, such as, for example, the communication system 100, by providing registration information to a server 101. First, the server 101 receives 902 the registration information of the vehicle owner. Second, the server 101 associates 904 the registration information with an identification code. The registration information may include personal information, vehicle(s) information, and insurance information. Third, the identification tag 113 with the identification code is sent 906 to the vehicle owner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowie (US 20170345100 hereinafter Bowie) in view of Batten et al. (US 20200269776 hereinafter Batten).
With respect to claim 10, Bowie teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose further comprising:
receiving a reply to the message from a second user of the one or more users;
displaying the reply from the second user; and sending an additional message to the second user, wherein content of the additional message is not limited to the set of predetermined messages.
However, Batten discloses further comprising:
receiving a reply to the message from a second user of the one or more users (Batten, see paragraph [0044] the camera may be configured to determine directly the demographic of the driver of the second vehicle (for example, by matching the driver to a specific ethnicity by with facial recognition software) or the response of the driver of the second vehicle to a message rendered on the display 120. In the latter example, the response of the driver of the second vehicle may be used to pick an alternative message that may produce a more favorable response if the initial response is negative, or to choose a similar message if the first response is positive);
displaying the reply from the second user; and sending an additional message to the second user, wherein content of the additional message is not limited to the set of predetermined messages (Batten, see paragraphs [0042-0044] the sensor for determining the proximity of the vehicle 10 to a second vehicle functions to indicate to the processor 120 to modify content rendered on the display 110. The processor 120 preferably renders a message, such as an advertisement, on the display 110 when the second vehicle is substantially proximal to the vehicle 10; the processor 120 preferably renders the identification and registration information of the vehicle 10 on the display 110 when the sensor detects that no second vehicle is substantially proximal to the vehicle 10. The sensor that is a camera, the camera may be configured to detect identification information of the second vehicle (such as the license plate number of the second vehicle); this information may be used to determine the owner of the second vehicle and obtain information relating to the owner of the second vehicle. The processor 120 may then modify content rendered on the display 110 based upon the demographic of the owner of the second vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Bowie with the teaching of Batten to provide a method for rendering a message on a display from a user of a second vehicle to provide a personalized, context-aware, and immediate information, thereby enhancing the user experience, and improving communication efficiency.
With respect to claim 11, Bowie-Batten teaches the method, wherein the message, the reply, and the additional message are sent via the server (Bowie, see paragraph [0102] alternatively or additionally, the mobile device 312 may receive a request 808 for direct contact from the mobile device 322 of the user via the server 301. If the mobile device 312 receives the request, the vehicle owner may send an indication from the mobile device 312 to the server 301 as to whether the request 812 is accepted by the vehicle owner. If the request 812 is not accepted by the vehicle owner, the vehicle owner operation 800 may end 816. If the request 812 is accepted by the vehicle owner, the server 301 may enable the vehicle owner and the user to contact each other directly. For example, the server 301 may provide personal contact information of the user to the mobile device 312 of the vehicle owner or personal contact information of the vehicle owner to the mobile device 322 of the user).
With respect to claim 12, Bowie teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose further comprising:
receiving, responsive to the license plate data, an alert associated with the vehicle; and displaying the alert to the first user.
However, Batten discloses further comprising: receiving, responsive to the license plate data, an alert associated with the vehicle; and displaying the alert to the first user (Batten, see paragraph [0029] the message may be provided by a law enforcement agency, for example, an emergency broadcast regarding a missing person (for example, an Amber or an Elder alert). Furthermore, if the vehicle 10 is reported stolen, the message may indicate that the vehicle 10 is stolen, thus allowing parties external to the vehicle to identify the vehicle 10 as such).
Same motivation as claim 10.
With respect to claim 13, Bowie-Batten teaches the method, wherein the alert is an Amber Alert, a severe weather alert, a road closure notification, or a report that the vehicle has been stolen (Batten, see paragraph [0029] the advertisements may be substantially related to the location of the vehicle 10, for example, if the vehicle 10 is traveling within the vicinity of a venue, an advertisement for the venue may be shown. Alternatively, the message may be provided by a law enforcement agency, for example, an emergency broadcast regarding a missing person (for example, an Amber or an Elder alert). Furthermore, if the vehicle 10 is reported stolen, the message may indicate that the vehicle 10 is stolen, thus allowing parties external to the vehicle to identify the vehicle 10 as such).
With respect to claim 16, Bowie teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the role is owner of the second vehicle, and processing the registration request further comprises removing the current owner as an owner of the second vehicle.
However, Batten discloses wherein the role is owner of the second vehicle, and processing the registration request further comprises removing the current owner as an owner of the second vehicle (Batten, see paragraph [0157] In operation of one embodiment, antitheft features can include control of messaging by display 1606. For example, the display 1606 of a digital license plate to display a warning message or set to a blank display when a digital license plate is removed from the without prior authorization from a vehicle. Notification of digital license plate removal from a vehicle is sent to the owner of the plate via email/text message. Notification can include position and vehicle status as determined and transmitted by wireless system 1614 with GNSS/GPS. Further notification and tracking can be provided by suitable software applications on mobile device such as the owner's smartphone, or by cloud connected desktop software).
Same motivation as claim 10.
With respect to claim 17, Bowie teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving user input requesting to view the first user’s human media;
sending a request to the server for content items, the request including a current location of the client device;
receiving, from the server, a set of content items, the set of content items including messages posted to the first user by other users and geo-aware content, the geo-aware content including information related to a geographic area round the current location of the client device; and displaying at least some of the content items to the first user.
However, Batten discloses further comprising:
receiving user input requesting to view the first user’s human media (Batten, see paragraph [0042] the communication device 140 may receive content, information, and/or data from a content database. Preferably, the content database is arranged substantially remote from the processor 130. The content database also preferably contains content provided by an institution, for example, an advertiser, a school, a record company, or a sports team or venue; content provided by the institution preferably includes advertisements. …However, any other suitable party may provide content to the content database, and the content database may include a combination of advertisements from one or more institutions and personal messages from one or more individuals (i.e., equivalent to human media such as posted message, comments or images));
sending a request to the server for content items, the request including a current location of the client device (Batten, see paragraph [0029] the processor 120 renders content on the display 110 such that the state vehicle code of the state in which the vehicle 10 is registered is followed; alternatively, such as in the embodiment of the invention that incorporates a location sensor (such as a GPS device), the processor 120 may render content on the display 110 such that the state vehicle code of the state in which the vehicle is located is followed. The display system 100 preferably functions to display a message in addition to the vehicle identification and/or registration information. The message is preferably provided by an advertiser, for example, an advertiser that is substantially unrelated to the user);
receiving, from the server, a set of content items, the set of content items including messages posted to the first user by other users and geo-aware content (Batten, see paragraphs [0028-0029] the display system 100 may also include a location sensor 160, for example, a Global Positioning System (GPS) device, a cellular tower location triangulation device, or any other suitable location sensor that determines the location of the vehicle 10 on which the display 110 is arranged. The location sensor 160 may provide a substantially general location or a substantially exact location of the vehicle. The advertisement may be related to a demographic to which the driver and/or owner of the vehicle 10 belongs or to any other suitable characteristic of the driver and/or owner of the vehicle 10. …Alternatively, the message may be provided by a law enforcement agency, for example, an emergency broadcast regarding a missing person (for example, an Amber or an Elder alert),
the geo-aware content including information related to a geographic area round the current location of the client device; and displaying at least some of the content items to the first user (Batten, see paragraphs [0169, 0191-0193] locations or landmarks can be set, with a geofence (i.e., equivalent to geo-aware) being automatically created to surround the location or landmark at some arbitrarily close distance. Geofences can be set, for example, around customer sites, an office campus, a vehicle owner's home, or any other suitable location. As another example, a commercial vehicle that carries volatile chemicals could have geofences set around forbidden routes or bridges. Similarly, an oversize, tall, or heavily laden vehicle could set geofences around routes and locations with narrow roads, low underpasses, or weight restricted bridges).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Bowie with the teaching of Batten to provide a method for geofencing content is that it allows for hyper-local, real-time marketing by delivering targeted messages to users within a specific virtual boundary and using GPS to send notifications to devices within that zone when a relevant event occurs. Thus, tailor messages based on the recipient's location within the geofence, an alert could be customized based on whether someone is just entering the area or is already inside it, which boosts customer engagement, increases sales, and improves advertising efficiency.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowie (US 20170345100 hereinafter Bowie) in view of Batten et al. (US 20200269776 hereinafter Batten) further in view of Negreiro (US 20050073436 hereinafter Negreiro).
With respect to claim 18, Bowie-Batten teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the server identified the set of content items by:
retrieving a corpus og possible content items; assigning rankings to the possible content items based on at least one of: recency, interests of the first user, seriousness of the content items, or urgency of the content items; and selecting the set of content items from among the possible content items based on the rankings.
However, Negreiro discloses wherein the server identified the set of content items by:
retrieving a corpus og possible content items; assigning rankings to the possible content items based on at least one of: recency, interests of the first user, seriousness of the content items, or urgency of the content items; and selecting the set of content items from among the possible content items based on the rankings (Negreiro, see paragraphs [0038-0039] each record preferably has a record rating, or a similar form of classification or ranking, that indicates the importance, or severity, or type of warrant or offense associated with the person that is likely to be driving or riding in the vehicle. This rating system is used to manage alerts that may be given to the officer driving official vehicle 28. For example, a database match having a record rating that is below a selected rating or current priority threshold may not cause an alert to be given to the officer, while another database match having a higher rating above a current priority threshold may cause an alert to the officer. The current priority threshold is a rating level that may be selected by the officer, or may be selected by the officer's superior and sent to official vehicle 28 via the wireless data link. The current priority threshold tells the system which matches in the database should cause an officer alert in the official vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Bowie-Batten with the teaching of Negreiro providing a method for ranking content by prioritizing contents provided to a user based on the urgency, seriousness, or importance of the contents, which provides a framework for decision-making that improves focus, efficiency, and resource allocation by distinguishing high-impact work from low-impact tasks.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowie (US 20170345100 hereinafter Bowie) in view of Haines (US 20090132294 hereinafter Haines).
With respect to claim 19, Bowie teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle profile includes a driving score associated with the vehicle, wherein the driving score is based on reports received by the server from other users regarding the vehicle that identify the vehicle using the license plate.
However, Haines discloses wherein the vehicle profile includes a driving score associated with the vehicle, wherein the driving score is based on reports received by the server from other users regarding the vehicle that identify the vehicle using the license plate (Haines, see paragraphs [0024-0030] It should be noted that a goal of the instant scoring function is to provide a single value that represents in some way the composite driving record of an individual and, thus, a single valued risk associated with this driver. As is indicated above, this score might be a sum or some other functional combination (e.g., geometric mean, median, etc.) of the incident data stored in the database. … Preferably the driver in car 100 will be asked to verbally report at least the license plate number of the auto 105 as well as sort of infraction that was observed (e.g., tailgating, running a stop sign, double parking, hit-and-run, speeding, etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Bowie with the teaching of Haines to provide a method for rating a driver to establish record of a possible risk associated with the driver of a vehicle. The score is a data-driven way to identify risky driving behaviors, which allows for proactive identification of high-risk drivers, improved safety, and cost savings on insurance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
PG. Pub. US 20070162550 Automobile e.g. car, to automobile instant-messaging system, for exchanging e.g. vehicle identification number, has wireless communication link transmitting locative data from automobile to vehicle location server.
PG. Pub. US 20160078759 Method of tracking vehicle e.g. wheeled motor vehicle using unmanned aerial vehicle, involves determining whether vehicle is present in images and determining and identifying unique identifier of vehicle by processor, based on images.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
11/06/2025
/ELIZABETH KASSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457