DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 11/20/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
An integrated circuit of claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13-17,
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao (US 20180083440 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches an electrostatic discharge (ESD) clamp circuit (abstract, electrostatic discharge (ESD) protection and methods), comprising:
a discharge circuit (e.g. circuit comprising NFET 30, fig.1) to discharge a current flow during a transient ESD voltage event ([0031], positive ESD by activation of the transistor 30 and to a negative ESD passing through the parasitic diode effect of the transistor 30);
a disable input (i.e. node 54, fig.1) to receive a disable input signal ([0038], application of a signal on the associated pin out); and
a disable circuit (e.g. circuit comprising device 50, fig.1) to, based upon the disable input signal, selectively disable the discharge circuit ([0038], the disable device 50 is high-effective);
wherein:
when the disable input signal is a first logic state, the disable circuit is to allow the discharge circuit to be enabled ([0038], unconnected … the disable device 50 is inoperative, and the ESD protection circuit 20 is operative fully); and
when the disable input signal is in a second logic state, the disable circuit is to disable the discharge circuit ([0038], the disable device 50 is high-effective).
Regarding claim 2, Gao teaches the electrostatic discharge clamp circuit of claim 1, wherein the disable input signal is at the second logic state by default after an integrated circuit containing the electrostatic discharge clamp circuit is initialized ([0038], the disable device 50 is inoperative, and the ESD protection circuit 20 is operative fully to naturally protect the IC 10).
Regarding claim 3, Gao teaches the electrostatic discharge clamp circuit of claim 1, wherein the disable input signal is at the first logic state while an integrated circuit containing the electrostatic discharge clamp circuit is powered off ([0038], unconnected, such as when the IC is not associated with a printed circuit board (PCB), the disable device 50 is inoperative).
Regarding claim 4, Gao teaches the electrostatic discharge clamp circuit of claim 1, comprising: a filter to stabilize the disable input signal ([0038], The node 54 couples to a pin out (not depicted) of the IC 10) (it is necessarily true that the pin out has a resistance that will act as filter).
Regarding claim 5, Gao teaches the electrostatic discharge clamp circuit of claim 1, wherein: the disable circuit includes a switch (e.g. PFET 50, fig.1); and the disable input signal controls a state of the switch ([0036], node 54 couples to a pin out … such that a state of the device 50 may be effected by application of a signal on the associated pin out).
Regarding claim 6, Gao teaches the electrostatic discharge clamp circuit of claim 1, wherein the disable input signal is at the first logic state by default before an integrated circuit containing the electrostatic discharge clamp circuit is initialized ([0038], such as when the IC is not associated with a printed circuit board (PCB), the disable device 50 is inoperative).
Regarding claim 7, Gao teaches the electrostatic discharge clamp circuit of claim 1, wherein the disable circuit is coupled to an input voltage (e.g. 50 is coupled to Vdd, fig.1) and a ground (e.g. 50 is coupled to Vss via 34, fig.1) of an integrated circuit ([0019], Packages for an IC may and typically have several pin outs including at least a first power rail pin (Vdd) and a second power rail pin (Vss)).
Regarding claim 8, Gao teaches an apparatus (e.g. fig.1), comprising:
an input voltage pin (e.g. pin comprising Vdd power supply rail 22, fig.1);
a ground pin (e.g. pin comprising grounded Vss power supply rail 24, fig.1);
a discharge circuit (e.g. circuit comprising NFET 30, fig.1) coupled between the input voltage pin and the ground pin (e.g. 30 is inbetween Vdd and Vss, fig.1), the discharge circuit to discharge a current flow during a transient ESD voltage event ([0031], positive ESD by activation of the transistor 30 and to a negative ESD passing through the parasitic diode effect of the transistor 30), wherein the discharge circuit includes a first switch (i.e. NFET 30, fig.1);
a disable input (i.e. node 54, fig.1) to receive a disable input signal ([0038], application of a signal on the associated pin out); and
a disable circuit (e.g. circuit comprising device 50, fig.1) coupled between the discharge circuit and the disable input to disable the discharge circuit (e.g. 50 is between node 54 and 30, fig.1), wherein the disable circuit includes a second switch (e.g. transistor 50, fig.1); and
wherein:
when the disable input signal is a first logic state, the disable circuit is to allow the discharge circuit to be enabled ([0038], unconnected … the disable device 50 is inoperative, and the ESD protection circuit 20 is operative fully); and
when the disable input signal is in a second logic state, the disable circuit is to disable the discharge circuit ([0038], the disable device 50 is high-effective).
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 8.
Regarding claim 15, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, Gao teaches the method of claim 14, wherein disabling the discharge circuit and enabling the disable circuit when the disable input signal is at the second logic state includes: disabling a first switch of the discharge circuit ([0036], inhibiting activation of the transistor 30); and enabling a second switch of the disable circuit ([0036], As a high-effective switch, the device 50).
Regarding claim 20, Gao teaches the method of claim 14, wherein enabling the discharge circuit and disabling the disable circuit when the disable input signal is at the first logic state includes: enabling a first switch of the discharge circuit ([0038], the ESD protection circuit 20 is operative fully to naturally protect the IC 10); and disabling a second switch of the disable circuit ([0038], disable device 50 is inoperative).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gao (US 20170302066 A1) fig.1, Rupp (US 20210257833 A1) fig.3, Sakihama (US 20050030688 A1) fig.6 and Dai (US 20200321331 A1) fig.2.
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 12/05/2025