CTNF 18/642,033 CTNF 100143 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22-06 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: step 403 in Figure 4 . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2024/0147340) . Regarding claim 1 , Zhang teaches a communication method, comprising: receiving, by a first access network device , first indication information from a second access network device (Paragraphs [0043]-[0044] describes receiving indication information from a second network device (message received by the master node (MN) from the secondary node (S-SN). The SN change required message step 402 is a message sent from the S-SN to the MN) ), wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate the first access network device to send a first reconfiguration message after or before the first access network device sends first candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device (Fig. 5a, Paragraphs [0060]-[0062] describes the MN sends the reconfiguration message 510 to the UE before it sends the candidate PSCell identification information (message 514) to the source SN (S-SN/ second access network device)), and the first candidate primary secondary cell information is usable to indicate one or more first candidate primary secondary cells accepted by a third access network device in candidate primary secondary cells that the second access network device requests the third access network device to add (Paragraphs [0045]; [0060] describes the second access network device (S-SN, via its suggestions forwarded by MN), requesting the third access network device (T-SN1) to add candidate PSCells; and T-SN1 responding with acknowledgment that includes selected candidate PSCell identification information. The cells accepted by T-SN1); and sending, by the first access network device, the first reconfiguration message to a terminal device based on the first indication information (Paragraphs [0058]; [0061] describes the MN sending RRCReconfiguration message to the UE), wherein the first reconfiguration message includes configuration information corresponding to the one or more first candidate primary secondary cells (Paragraphs [0061] describes the first reconfiguration message includes candidate PSCell configuration from T-SN1 (the third access network device). T-SN1’s accepted cells are the same cells identified in the SN add request acknowledge). Regarding claim 8 , Zhang teaches a data transmission apparatus, one or more processors to run instructions, to perform operations to (Paragraphs [0033]; [0036]): receive first indication information from a second access network device (Paragraphs [0043]-[0044] describes receiving indication information from a second network device (message received by the master node (MN) from the secondary node (S-SN). The SN change required message step 402 is a message sent from the S-SN to the MN)), wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate a first access network device to send a first reconfiguration message after or before the first access network device sends first candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device (Fig. 5a, Paragraphs [0060]-[0062] describes the MN sends the reconfiguration message 510 to the UE before it sends the candidate PSCell identification information (message 514) to the source SN (S-SN/ second access network device)), and the first candidate primary secondary cell information is usable to indicate one or more first candidate primary secondary cells accepted by a third access network device in candidate primary secondary cells that the second access network device requests the third access network device to add (Paragraphs [0045]; [0060] describes the second access network device (S-SN, via its suggestions forwarded by MN), requesting the third access network device (T-SN1) to add candidate PSCells; and T-SN1 responding with acknowledgment that includes selected candidate PSCell identification information. The cells accepted by T-SN1); and send the first reconfiguration message to a terminal device based on the first indication information (Paragraphs [0058]; [0061] describes the MN sending RRCReconfiguration message to the UE), wherein the first reconfiguration message includes configuration information corresponding to the one or more first candidate primary secondary cells (Paragraphs [0061] describes the first reconfiguration message includes candidate PSCell configuration from T-SN1 (the third access network device). T-SN1’s accepted cells are the same cells identified in the SN add request acknowledge). Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 respectively . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-4, 9-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Da Silva et al. (US 2024/0098611) . Regarding claim 2 , Zhang teaches wherein the receiving, by the first access network device, the first indication information from the second access network device includes receiving an indication field, wherein the indication field is usable to indicate the first access network device to send the first reconfiguration message after the first access network device sends the first candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device, and the indication field further is usable to indicate the first access network device to send a second reconfiguration message after the first access network device sends second candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device; the second candidate primary secondary cell information is usable to indicate one or more second candidate primary secondary cells accepted by a fourth access network device in candidate primary secondary cells that the second access network device requests the fourth access network device to add; and the second reconfiguration message includes configuration information corresponding to the one or more second candidate primary secondary cells; or wherein the indication field is usable to indicate the first access network device to send the first reconfiguration message before the first access network device sends the first candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device (Paragraphs [0043]-[0044] describes receiving indication information from a second network device (message received by the master node (MN) from the secondary node (S-SN). The SN change required message step 402 is a message sent from the S-SN to the MN). Paragraphs [0060]-[0062] describes the MN sends the reconfiguration message 510 to the UE before it sends the candidate PSCell identification information (message 514) to the source SN (S-SN/ second access network device)), Zhang doesn’t teach and the indication field further is usable to indicate the first access network device to send a second reconfiguration message before the first access network device sends second candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device; the second candidate primary secondary cell information is usable to indicate one or more second candidate primary secondary cells accepted by a fourth access network device in candidate primary secondary cells that the second access network device requests the fourth access network device to add; and the second reconfiguration message includes configuration information corresponding to the one or more second candidate primary secondary cells. However, In analogous art Da Silva teaches and the indication field further is usable to indicate the first access network device to send a second reconfiguration message before the first access network device sends second candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device; the second candidate primary secondary cell information is usable to indicate one or more second candidate primary secondary cells accepted by a fourth access network device in candidate primary secondary cells that the second access network device requests the fourth access network device to add; and the second reconfiguration message includes configuration information corresponding to the one or more second candidate primary secondary cells (Paragraphs [0173]; [0206]; [0208] describes the MN sends SN addition requests to multiple T-SN1, each returning accepted PSCell configurations. When extended to multiple T-SNs, there would be separate RRC reconfiguration messages for each T-SN’s accepted cells. The MN sends both reconfiguration messages to the UE before the SN change confirm (carrying both first and second candidate PSCell information) is sent to the S-SN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Da Silva to provide separate reconfiguration messages with independently fixed opposite timing relationships relative to their respective candidate PSCell information transmissions to the S-SN. Doing so would enable more flexible and efficient coordination of multiple simultaneous conditional PSCell change procedures across multiple target nodes reducing signaling overhead, and avoiding race conditions between parallel CPC procedures (Da Silva, Paragraph [0003]). Regarding claim 3 , Zhang in view of Da Silva, Da Silva teaches wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving at least one of an identity of the third access network device and identities of the one or more first candidate primary secondary cells (Paragraphs [0040]; [0201]; [0204] describes that the first message (SN change Required from S-SN to MN) and comprises Physical cell Identity (ID) for each target candidate cell). Regarding claim 4 , Zhang in view of Da Silva, Da Silva teaches wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving at least one of an identity of the third access network device and identities of the one or more first candidate primary secondary cells; wherein the first indication information includes at least one of an identity of the fourth access network device and identities of the one or more second candidate primary secondary cells (Paragraphs [0040]; [0173]; [0204] describes Identities of first candidate PSCells and second candidate PSCells). Claims 16 and 9 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2 respectively. Claims 10 and 17 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3 respectively. Claims 11 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4 respectively . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5-7, 12-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Hwang (US 2024/0172057) . Regarding claim 5 , Zhang doesn’t teach wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving a first field and a second field; the first field corresponds to at least one of an identity of the third access network device and identities of the one or more first candidate primary secondary cells; the second field corresponds to at least one of an identity of a fourth access network device and identities of one or more second candidate primary secondary cells; the first field is usable to indicate the first access network device to send the first reconfiguration message before or after the first access network device sends the first candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device; and the second field is usable to indicate the first access network device to send a second reconfiguration message before or after the first access network device sends second candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device; wherein the second candidate primary secondary cell information is usable to indicate the one or more second candidate primary secondary cells, and the one or more second candidate primary secondary cells are one or more candidate primary secondary cells accepted by the fourth access network device in candidate primary secondary cells that the second access network device requests the fourth access network device to add; and the second reconfiguration message includes configuration information corresponding to the one or more second candidate primary secondary cells. However, in analogues art Hwang teaches wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving a first field and a second field (Paragraphs [0199]; [0203]; [0210]-[0211] describes indication info contains first field and second field); the first field corresponds to at least one of an identity of the third access network device and identities of the one or more first candidate primary secondary cells; the second field corresponds to at least one of an identity of a fourth access network device and identities of one or more second candidate primary secondary cells (Paragraphs [0210]-[0211] describes identity of first candidate PSCell and identity of third access network device. Discloses per candidate field #2 in SN change Request, ID of second candidate cell and Identity of fourth access network device ); the first field is usable to indicate the first access network device to send the first reconfiguration message before or after the first access network device sends the first candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device (Fig. 13 shows that a field indicating temporal sequence placing reconfiguration before PSCell info); and the second field is usable to indicate the first access network device to send a second reconfiguration message before or after the first access network device sends second candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device (Fig. 12 shows that a field indicating temporal sequence placing reconfiguration before PSCell info); wherein the second candidate primary secondary cell information is usable to indicate the one or more second candidate primary secondary cells, and the one or more second candidate primary secondary cells are one or more candidate primary secondary cells accepted by the fourth access network device in candidate primary secondary cells that the second access network device requests the fourth access network device to add; and the second reconfiguration message includes configuration information corresponding to the one or more second candidate primary secondary cells (Fig. 12 and Fig. 13 describes the MN sends SN addition requests to multiple T-SN1, each returning accepted PSCell configurations. When extended to multiple T-SNs, there would be separate RRC reconfiguration messages for each T-SN’s accepted cells. The MN sends both reconfiguration messages to the UE before the SN change confirm (carrying both first and second candidate PSCell information) is sent to the S-SN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Hwang to provide a first indication information message comprising a first and second field with a fixed “before” and “after” timing indication corresponding to first candidate PSCell identities to provide separate reconfiguration messages with independently fixed opposite timing relationships relative to their respective candidate PSCell information transmissions to the S-SN to make conditional PSCell change work reliably and efficiently in dual connectivity. Regarding claim 6 , Zhang in view of Hwang, Hwang teaches wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving a third field and a fourth field (Paragraphs [0162]; [0167] describes multiple distinct signaling fields (ConfigRestrictInfo, ConfigRestrictModReqSCG, CG-Config field) within inter-node messages passed between MN and SN. The third field and fourth field doesn’t require them to be labeled as such it only requires two distinct field structures within the indication information carrying cell identity information), the third field corresponds to identities of the one or more first candidate primary secondary cells (Paragraphs [0189]; [0202] describes per-candidate fields containing candidate call IDs (PCI, CGI) within the inter-node signaling), and the fourth field corresponds to identities of one or more third candidate primary secondary cells (Paragraph [0182] describes a parallel CPC procedure for T-SN2 that involves a separate SN addition request message carrying a distinct set of candidate cell identities a second CPC candidate cell group (for T-SN2) that is structurally separate from the first (T-SN1)); and wherein the third field is usable to indicate the first access network device to send the first reconfiguration message after the first access network device sends the first candidate primary secondary cell information to the second access network device (Paragraphs [0171]; [0173]; [0178] describes the MN always sends the RRC reconfiguration message to the UE after the candidate PSCell information has been sent to the T-SN (which is transmitted through the serving SN)); the fourth field is usable to indicate the first access network device to send a third reconfiguration message corresponding to the one or more third candidate primary secondary cells before the first access network device sends, to the second access network device, third candidate primary secondary cell information corresponding to the one or more third candidate primary secondary cells (Paragraphs [0207]; [0208]; [0213] discloses that the MN sends the RRCReconfiguration to the UE including all candidate cell measurement configs including those for additional T-SNs before the SN modification process and “SN change confirmed message is complete); and the one or more third candidate primary secondary cells belong to one or more access network devices (Paragraphs [0181]-[0183] discloses candidate PSCells distributed across two separate Target SNs (T-SN1 and T-SN2), each being a distinct access network device, each admitting its own set of candidate cells). Regarding claim 7 , Zhang in view of Hwang, Hwang teaches wherein the receiving the third field further includes receiving the third field that corresponds to identities of one or more fourth candidate primary secondary cells (Paragraphs [0182]; [0185] describes the MN handles parallel CPC procedures for both T-SN1 and T-SN2 simultaneously. The SN addition request messages sent to both T-SNs (steps 1030 and 1040) contain candidate cell identity information PCI, CGI for cells associated with each respective T-SN); the third field further is usable to indicate the first access network device to send a fourth reconfiguration message corresponding to the one or more fourth candidate primary secondary cells after the first access network device sends, to the second access network device, fourth candidate primary secondary cell information corresponding to the one or more fourth candidate primary secondary cells (Paragraphs [0178]; [0185] describes after ordering applies to both T-SN1 and T-SN2 candidate cell groups simultaneously. The RRC Reconfiguration at operation 1060 covers candidate cells from both T-SNs it’s a single reconfiguration message that encapsulates configuration for multiple candidate PSCell groups ); and the one or more fourth candidate primary secondary cells belong to one or more access network devices (Paragraphs [0184]; [0185]; [0219] describes discloses candidate PSCells distributed across two separate Target SNs (T-SN1 and T-SN2), each being a distinct access network device, each admitting its own set of candidate cells). Claims 12 and 18 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5 respectively. Claims 13 and 19 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 respectively. Claims 14 and 20 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7 respectively. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHERET WOLDEGEBREAL KIDANE whose telephone number is (571)270-3642. The examiner can normally be reached M-F8:30-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached at 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Chandrahas B Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464 /M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 2 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 3 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 4 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 5 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 6 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 7 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 8 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 9 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 10 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 11 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 12 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 13 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 14 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/642,033 Page 15 Art Unit: 2464