DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 recites the limitation in line 6 of “rotating the outer barrel relative to the housing to align one or more of the plurality of openings channels”, to which the Examiner is to understand that the word “channels” after the word “openings” is a typographical error, and the limitation should pertain to the plurality of (outer) openings; to obviate the objection the Examiner would suggest the Applicant remove the word “channels” within the context of the above limitation, and add “outer” before the word openings, as antecedent basis can be found within the same claim for the plurality of outer openings. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 & 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schambre et al (US 6,113,483), hereinafter referred to as Schambre, in view of Schmidt et al (US 2022/0161634), hereinafter referred to as Schmidt.
Regarding claim 1, Schambre (US 6,113,483) shows an air register comprising:
a housing (18, Fig. 2/3);
a member (20, Fig. 2) provided within the housing (Fig. 2) and defining a plurality of upper air channels and a plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 2/3 – elements 13, as seen in Fig. 3, are a plurality of upper air channels 13, located on the upper part of element 20 above, and a plurality of lower air channels 13, located on the lower part of element 20);
an outer barrel (76, Fig. 3) having a plurality of outer openings (96, Fig. 3), the outer barrel rotatable relative to the housing (Col. 4, Lines 10-25 / 43-52) to align one or more of the plurality of outer openings with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 3, Col. 4, Lines 10-25 / 43-52 - the outer barrel 76 rotates relative to the housing 18, of which comprises of element 20, to align one or more of the plurality of outer openings 96 with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels 13, and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels 13); and
an inner barrel (60, Fig. 2/3) having a plurality of inner openings (68, Fig. 2/3), the inner barrel rotatable relative to the housing to align one or more of the plurality of inner openings with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 2/3/4, Col. 4, Lines 43-52 - the inner barrel 60 rotates relative to the housing 20, to align one or more of the plurality of inner openings 68 with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels 13, and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels 13).
However, Schambre lacks showing the member is a blade member.
Schmidt (US 2022/0161634), a vehicle air register that rotates, is in the same field of endeavor as Schambre which is a vehicle air register that rotates.
Schmidt teaches the member is a blade member (3, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the member of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the blade member of Schmidt, which would provide a ventilation device that permits a greater throw range, with simultaneous arrangement of slats for controlling air flow to a rear region of the device (¶0009).
Regarding claim 2, Schambre shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1 including the plurality of upper air channels and the plurality of lower air channels.
However, Schambre lacks showing wherein: the plurality of upper air channels are defined by a first subset of upper vanes and a second subset of upper vanes, the first subset of upper vanes extending in a direction opposite the second subset of upper vanes; and the plurality of lower air channels are defined by a first subset of lower vanes and a second subset of lower vanes, the first subset of lower vanes extending in a direction opposite the second subset of lower vanes.
Schmidt teaches the plurality of upper air channels (31, Fig. 5) are defined by a first subset of upper vanes (Fig. 5 – the first subset of upper vanes are the vanes 33 located on the left hand side of element 34, of element 31, in the Figure) and a second subset of upper vanes (Fig. 5 – the second subset of upper vanes are the vanes 33 located on the right hand side of element 34, of element 31, in the Figure), the first subset of upper vanes extending in a direction opposite the second subset of upper vanes (Fig. 5); and the plurality of lower air channels (32, Fig. 5) are defined by a first subset of lower vanes (Fig. 5 – the first subset of lower vanes are the vanes 33 located on the left hand side of element 34, of element 32, in the Figure) and a second subset of lower vanes (Fig. 5 – the second subset of lower vanes are the vanes 33 located on the right hand side of element 34, of element 32, in the Figure), the first subset of lower vanes extending in a direction opposite the second subset of lower vanes (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the member of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the blade member of Schmidt, which would provide a ventilation device that permits a greater throw range, with simultaneous arrangement of slats for controlling air flow to a rear region of the device (¶0009).
Regarding claim 3, Schambre shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 2 except wherein the blade member includes a central wall separating the plurality of upper air channels from the plurality of lower air channels, the central wall having an upper surface defining the plurality of upper air channels and a lower surface opposite the upper surface defining the plurality of lower air channels, the upper surface and the lower surface having an arcuate shape curving in opposite directions.
Schmidt teaches wherein the blade member (3, Fig. 3) includes a central wall (35, Fig. 5/9B) separating the plurality of upper air channels from the plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 5/9B),
the central wall having an upper surface (Fig. 9B – the upper surface of element 35 of the upper air channels 31) defining the plurality of upper air channels (Fig. 5/9B) and a lower surface (Fig. 9B – the lower surface of element 35 of the lower air channels 32) opposite the upper surface defining the plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 5/9B),
the upper surface and the lower surface having an arcuate shape curving in opposite directions (Fig. 9B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the member of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the blade member of Schmidt, which would provide a ventilation device that permits a greater throw range, with simultaneous arrangement of slats for controlling air flow to a rear region of the device (¶0009).
Regarding claim 4, Schambre shows wherein the inner barrel is positioned within the outer barrel (Fig. 3/4).
Regarding claim 5, Schambre shows further comprising an actuation mechanism (Fig. 4B – the actuation mechanism comprises of elements that can be seen in Fig. 4B comprising at least of elements 86/88/140/54/50) for rotating the outer barrel and the inner barrel (Fig. 4B, Col. 5, Lines 39-42 – the actuation mechanism is for rotating the outer barrel 76 by rotating the outer barrel about the drive wheel 140, and the inner barrel 60 is rotated by rotation of the drive wheel that rotates the rod 54, and the inner barrel 60), the actuation mechanism including:
a drive wheel (140, Fig. 4B) rotatably coupled to the outer barrel (76, Fig. 4B); and
a driven wheel (50, Fig. 2/4 - element 50 is a wheel structure for the driving of an element) fixed to the inner barrel (60, Fig. 2/4), the driven wheel operably coupled to the drive wheel (Col. 5, Lines 39-42).
Regarding claim 10, Schambre shows wherein the housing defines a pair of upper air outlets aligned with the plurality of upper air channels (13, Fig. 2/5 – the plurality of upper air channels are the upper pair of elements 13 in Fig. 2, that match up with a pair of upper air outlets 26 that can be seen in Fig. 5), and a pair of lower air outlets aligned with the plurality of lower air channels (13, Fig. 2/5 – the plurality of lower air channels are the lower pair of elements 13 in Fig. 2, that match up with a pair of lower air outlets 22 that can be seen in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Schambre shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1 including wherein a volume and a direction of air exiting the member is selectively controllable based on a particular rotation position of the inner barrel and the outer barrel (Figs. 5-9, Col. 6, Lines 50-58).
However, Schambre lacks showing the member is a blade member.
Schmidt teaches the member is a blade member (3, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the member of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the blade member of Schmidt, which would provide a ventilation device that permits a greater throw range, with simultaneous arrangement of slats for controlling air flow to a rear region of the device (¶0009).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schambre et al (US 6,113,483), hereinafter referred to as Schambre, in view of Schmidt et al (US 2022/0161634), hereinafter referred to as Schmidt, in further view of Kezar (US 2017/0176044).
Regarding claim 6, Schambre shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 5 including the actuation mechanism.
However, Schambre lacks showing the actuation mechanism is a Geneva drive.
Kezar (US 2017/0176044), an adjustable air vent for a vehicle, is in the same field of endeavor as Schambre which is an adjustable air vent for a vehicle.
Kezar teaches the actuation mechanism is a Geneva drive (58, Fig. 4, ¶0032-33 – the gear drive is a Geneva drive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuation mechanism of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the Geneva Drive of Kezar, which would provide a simple, low cost, actuator design which can control dual flow blockage valves and dampers as needed (¶0004).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schambre et al (US 6,113,483), hereinafter referred to as Schambre, in view of Schmidt et al (US 2022/0161634), hereinafter referred to as Schmidt, in further view of Aizawa (US 10,155,427).
Regarding claim 7, Schambre shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 5 including the drive wheel.
However, Schambre lacks showing a motor coupled to the drive wheel; and
an electronic control unit communicatively coupled to the motor, the electronic control unit is configured to send a signal to the motor to rotate the drive wheel.
Aizawa (US 10,155,427), a barrel style vehicular air vent, is in the same field of endeavor as Schambre which is a barrel style vehicular air vent.
Aizawa teaches further comprising: a motor (Fig. 15, Col. 7, Lines 37-38 – the door 14 and its drive wheel located around the axle of the door 14, is coupled to the motor which drives it) coupled to the drive wheel (Fig. 15); and an electronic control unit (26, Fig. 17, Col. 20, Lines 9-23 – This element is being considered as a generic recitation that is not sufficient to invoke 112f ) communicatively coupled to the motor (Col. 20, Lines 9-23 – the electronic control unit 26 is communicatively coupled to the motor), the electronic control unit is configured to send a signal to the motor to rotate the drive wheel (Col. 20, Lines 9-23 – the electronic control unit 26 is configured to signal the motor to rotate the door 14 and, thereby the drive wheel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drive wheel of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the motor and electronic control unit of Aizawa, which would provide a barrel style vehicular air vent that uses electronic control to arrange the barrel and is capable of lowering a noise level when the barrel is moved (Col. 2, Lines 1-22).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schambre et al (US 6,113,483), hereinafter referred to as Schambre, in view of Schmidt et al (US 2022/0161634), hereinafter referred to as Schmidt, in further view of Wu et al (CN108422835), hereinafter referred to as Wu.
Regarding claim 8, Schambre shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 5 including the drive wheel, and the outer opening, the inner opening, the plurality of upper air channels and the plurality of lower air channels.
However, Schambre lacks showing a motor coupled to the drive wheel; and
an electronic control unit communicatively coupled to the motor, the electronic control unit is configured to, in response to receiving a shut-down signal, operate the motor to rotate the drive wheel such that no outer opening and no inner opening are aligned with the plurality of upper air channels and the plurality of lower air channels.
Wu (CN108422835), a tubular air distribution device for a vehicle, is in the same field of endeavor as Schambre which is a tubular air distribution device for a vehicle.
Wu teaches a motor (8, Fig. 1) coupled to the drive wheel (Fig. 1 – the drive wheel is the element on which element 5 extends from); and
an electronic control unit (¶0064, Lines 1-20 – the control system comprises of the electronic control unit, of which itself comprises control software to instruct the motor; this element is being considered as a generic recitation that is not sufficient to invoke 112f) communicatively coupled to the motor (¶0064, Lines 1-20),
the electronic control unit is configured to, in response to receiving a shut-down signal, operate the motor to rotate the drive wheel (¶0064, Lines 16-20 – the control system is configured to, upon receiving a shut-down signal of OFF, rotates the motor and thereby the drive wheel of element 3, ) such that no outer opening and no inner opening are aligned with the plurality of upper air channels and the plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 1, ¶0064, Lines 16-20 – the control system is configured to, upon receiving a shut-down signal of OFF, rotates the motor and thereby the drive wheel of element 3, such that no first or second openings of A and B of element 3 are aligned with the plurality of upper air channels, represented by the top row of air outlets on element 7, and the plurality of lower air channels, represented by the bottom row of air outlets on element 7, as when rotated in the off position, element 3 rotates to groove 0 to completely seal the outer edge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drive wheel of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the motor and drive wheel of Wu, which would provide an electro-mechanical means to rotate an element to align elements or close the outlets due to a condition while diffusing or closing off the airflow therethrough to the vehicle, improving the driving experience (¶0023).
Claims 12-15 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schambre et al (US 6,113,483), hereinafter referred to as Schambre, in view of Schmidt et al (US 2022/0161634), hereinafter referred to as Schmidt.
Regarding claim 12, Schambre (US 6,113,483) shows a vehicle comprising:
a dashboard (Col. 1, Lines 7-15 - instrument panel); and
an air register (Fig. 2) provided within the dashboard (Col. 1, Lines 7-15), the air register comprising:
a housing (18, Fig. 2/3);
a member (20, Fig. 2) provided within the housing (Fig. 2) and defining a plurality of upper air channels and a plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 2/3 – elements 13, as seen in Fig. 3, are a plurality of upper air channels 13, located on the upper part of element 20 above, and a plurality of lower air channels 13, located on the lower part of element 20);
an outer barrel (76, Fig. 3) having a plurality of outer openings (96, Fig. 3), the outer barrel rotatable relative to the housing (Col. 4, Lines 10-25 / 43-52) to align one or more of the plurality of outer openings with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 3, Col. 4, Lines 10-25 / 43-52 - the outer barrel 76 rotates relative to the housing 18, of which comprises of element 20, to align one or more of the plurality of outer openings 96 with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels 13, and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels 13); and
an inner barrel (60, Fig. 2/3) having a plurality of inner openings (68, Fig. 2/3), the inner barrel rotatable relative to the housing (Col. 4, Lines 10-25 / 43-52) to align one or more of the plurality of inner openings with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 2/3/4, Col. 4, Lines 43-52 - the inner barrel 60 rotates relative to the housing 20, to align one or more of the plurality of inner openings 68 with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels 13, and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels 13).
However, Schambre lacks showing the member is a blade member.
Schmidt (US 2022/0161634), a vehicle air register that rotates, is in the same field of endeavor as Schambre which is a vehicle air register that rotates.
Schmidt teaches the member is a blade member (3, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the member of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the blade member of Schmidt, which would provide a ventilation device that permits a greater throw range, with simultaneous arrangement of slats for controlling air flow to a rear region of the device (¶0009).
Regarding claim 13, Schambre shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 12 including the plurality of upper air channels and the plurality of lower air channels.
However, Schambre lacks showing wherein: the plurality of upper air channels are defined by a first subset of upper vanes and a second subset of upper vanes, the first subset of upper vanes extending in a direction opposite the second subset of upper vanes; and the plurality of lower air channels are defined by a first subset of lower vanes and a second subset of lower vanes, the first subset of lower vanes extending in a direction opposite the second subset of lower vanes.
Schmidt teaches the plurality of upper air channels (31, Fig. 5) are defined by a first subset of upper vanes (Fig. 5 – the first subset of upper vanes are the vanes 33 located on the left hand side of element 34, of element 31, in the Figure) and a second subset of upper vanes (Fig. 5 – the second subset of upper vanes are the vanes 33 located on the right hand side of element 34, of element 31, in the Figure), the first subset of upper vanes extending in a direction opposite the second subset of upper vanes (Fig. 5); and the plurality of lower air channels (32, Fig. 5) are defined by a first subset of lower vanes (Fig. 5 – the first subset of lower vanes are the vanes 33 located on the left hand side of element 34, of element 32, in the Figure) and a second subset of lower vanes (Fig. 5 – the second subset of lower vanes are the vanes 33 located on the right hand side of element 34, of element 32, in the Figure), the first subset of lower vanes extending in a direction opposite the second subset of lower vanes (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the member of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the blade member of Schmidt, which would provide a ventilation device that permits a greater throw range, with simultaneous arrangement of slats for controlling air flow to a rear region of the device (¶0009).
Regarding claim 14, Schambre shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 13 except wherein the blade member includes a central wall separating the plurality of upper air channels from the plurality of lower air channels, the central wall having an upper surface defining the plurality of upper air channels and a lower surface opposite the upper surface defining the plurality of lower air channels, the upper surface and the lower surface having an arcuate shape curving in opposite directions.
Schmidt teaches wherein the blade member (3, Fig. 3) includes a central wall (35, Fig. 5/9B) separating the plurality of upper air channels from the plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 5/9B),
the central wall having an upper surface (Fig. 9B – the upper surface of element 35 of the upper air channels 31) defining the plurality of upper air channels (Fig. 5/9B) and a lower surface (Fig. 9B – the lower surface of element 35 of the lower air channels 32) opposite the upper surface defining the plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 5/9B),
the upper surface and the lower surface having an arcuate shape curving in opposite directions (Fig. 9B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the member of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the blade member of Schmidt, which would provide a ventilation device that permits a greater throw range, with simultaneous arrangement of slats for controlling air flow to a rear region of the device (¶0009).
Regarding claim 15, Schambre shows further comprising an actuation mechanism (Fig. 4B – the actuation mechanism comprises of elements that can be seen in Fig. 4B comprising at least of elements 86/88/140/54/50) for rotating the outer barrel and the inner barrel (Fig. 4B, Col. 5, Lines 39-42 – the actuation mechanism is for rotating the outer barrel 76 by rotating the outer barrel about the drive wheel 140, and the inner barrel 60 is rotated by rotation of the drive wheel that rotates the rod 54, and the inner barrel 60),
the actuation mechanism including:
a drive wheel (140, Fig. 4B) rotatably coupled to the outer barrel (76, Fig. 4B); and
a driven wheel (50, Fig. 2/4) fixed to the inner barrel (60, Fig. 2/4), the driven wheel operably coupled to the drive wheel (Col. 5, Lines 39-42).
Regarding claim 17, Schambre shows wherein the housing defines a pair of upper air outlets aligned with the plurality of upper air channels (13, Fig. 2/5 – the plurality of upper air channels are the upper pair of elements 13 in Fig. 2, that match up with a pair of upper air outlets 26 that can be seen in Fig. 5), and a pair of lower air outlets aligned with the plurality of lower air channels (13, Fig. 2/5 – the plurality of lower air channels are the lower pair of elements 13 in Fig. 2, that match up with a pair of lower air outlets 22 that can be seen in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Schambre shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 12 including wherein a volume and a direction of air exiting the member is selectively controllable based on a particular rotation position of the inner barrel and the outer barrel (Figs. 5-9, Col. 6, Lines 50-58).
However, Schambre lacks showing the member is a blade member.
Schmidt teaches the member is a blade member (3, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the member of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the blade member of Schmidt, which would provide a ventilation device that permits a greater throw range, with simultaneous arrangement of slats for controlling air flow to a rear region of the device (¶0009).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schambre et al (US 6,113,483), hereinafter referred to as Schambre, in view of Schmidt et al (US 2022/0161634), hereinafter referred to as Schmidt.
Regarding claim 19, Schambre (US 6,113,483) shows a method of operating an air register comprising a housing (18, Fig. 3),
a member (20, Fig. 3) defining a plurality of upper air channels and a plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 2/3 – elements 13, as seen in Fig. 3, are a plurality of upper air channels 13, located on the upper part of element 20 above, and a plurality of lower air channels 13, located on the lower part of element 20) an outer barrel (76, Fig. 3) having a plurality of outer openings (96, Fig. 3), and an inner barrel (60, Fig. 3) having a plurality of inner openings (68, Fig. 3), the method comprising:
rotating the outer barrel (76, Fig. 3, Col. 4, Lines 10-25 / 43-52) relative to the housing to align one or more of the plurality of openings channels (see claim objection above) with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels (Fig. 3) and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 2/3/4, Col. 4, Lines 43-52 - the outer barrel 76 rotates relative to the housing 20, to align one or more of the plurality of outer openings 96 (see claim objection above) with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels 13, and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels 13); and
rotating the inner barrel (60, Fig. 3, Col. 4, Lines 10-25) relative to the housing to align one or more of the plurality of inner openings with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels (Fig. 2/3/4, Col. 4, Lines 43-52 - the inner barrel 60 rotates relative to the housing 20, to align one or more of the plurality of inner openings 68 with one or more of the plurality of upper air channels 13, and one or more of the plurality of lower air channels 13),
wherein a volume and a direction of air exiting the member is selectively controllable based on a particular rotation position of the inner barrel and the outer barrel (Col. 4, Lines 43-52 – the inner and outer barrels can be selectively controllable based on a particular rotation position, as the inner and outer barrels are independently rotatable).
However, Schambre lacks showing the member is a blade member.
Schmidt (US 2022/0161634), a vehicle air register that rotates, is in the same field of endeavor as Schambre which is a vehicle air register that rotates.
Schmidt teaches the member is a blade member (3, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the member of Schambre to incorporate the teachings of the blade member of Schmidt, which would provide a ventilation device that permits a greater throw range, with simultaneous arrangement of slats for controlling air flow to a rear region of the device (¶0009).
Regarding claim 20, Schambre shows further comprising rotating a drive wheel (140, Fig. 4B) rotatably coupled to the outer barrel (76, Fig. 4B) to rotate the outer barrel (Fig. 4B – the outer barrel 76 is capable of rotating about the drive wheel 140),
the drive wheel rotatably coupled to a driven wheel (50, Fig. 2/4 – element 50 is a wheel structure for the driving of an element) fixed to the inner barrel (60, Fig. 2/4) such that rotation of the drive wheel rotates the inner barrel (Col. 5, Lines 39-42).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 & 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 9 & 16, the closest prior art of record is Schambre et al (US 6,113,483), and while this reference does disclose the member and its inner and outer barrels and the feature therein in its manner,
however this reference does not disclose the structure required to meet the bar for the claimed limitations of having each of the plurality of outer openings to have a width that decreases over a length of each respective opening, as Schambre only shows openings of a symmetrical design, with the Applicant stating in ¶0072 that the outer openings are to have a designed style in order for the plurality of outer openings to overlay in a specific manner with the plurality of inner openings in various barrel positions to purposefully direct air while in some positions, and to block air passing in other positions. The Examiner finds no reasonable rationale that would have made it obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schambre as doing so would employ hindsight reasoning and compromise the mechanical continuity of Schambre by structurally modifying out of its best mode use by modifying the calculated discharge patterns currently designed that the system in total relies upon to operate.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References Cited.
The following prior art teaches related barrel diffusers:
US 5,399,120 – Burns discloses an air conditioning barrel with various openings
US 2021/0237539 – Habte discloses a longitudinal air register with vanes and rotating elements
US 2019/0359034 – Dinant discloses a longitudinal air diffuser with a rotating barrel
US 3,659,515 – Galaniuk discloses a barrel air duct/register with multiple outlets
Conclusion
/RYAN L FAULKNER/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762