DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No. 18/642,042 of EDWARDSON et al. for “LOCATION-BASED MESSAGE DISTRIBUTION” filed April 22, 2024 has been examined.
Drawings
Drawings Figures 1-6 submitted on April 22, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted July 22, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting Rejection
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, 15-19, 23-24, 26-28 and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,995,984 B2. The difference between patented narrower claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, 15-19, 23-24, 26-28 and 30 and the pending broader claims 1-20 of the instant application are not patentably distinct from each other. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, the patented narrower claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, 15-19, 23-24, 26-28 and 30 anticipate the broader claimed limitations of the instant application’s claims 1-20, thus, they are not patentably distinct from each other as set forth in the table herein below:
Pending App. No. 18/642,042:
U.S. Patent No. 11,995,984 B2:
Claim 1: A method for distributing location messages comprising: receiving by one or more first processors, location messages, wherein each location message specifies published geographical locations; accessing, by the one or more first processors, a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement in response to receiving the location messages, wherein each location topic specifies subscribed-to geographical locations; determining, by the one or more first processors, for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical locations match any of the subscribed-to geographical locations; and transmitting from the one or more first processors to one or more second processors, each location message having published geographical locations determined to match the subscribed-to geographical locations.
Claim 2: The method of claim 1, wherein: each location message includes vehicle identification data for evaluation by the one or more second processors for selectively modifying phases of traffic lights; and the transmitting includes transmitting the location messages to the one or more second processors that are disposed at one or more intersections for controlling the traffic lights.
Claim 3: The method of claim 2, wherein: a plurality of second processors are disposed at a plurality of intersections, respectively, the plurality of second processors includes the one or more second processors, and the plurality of intersections includes the one or more intersections; for each intersection of the plurality of intersections: a subset that includes multiple ones of the plurality of subscriptions defines an approach to the intersection; and each location subscription of the subset identifies the respective second processor of the plurality of second processors disposed at the intersection; and the determining includes determining whether or not the published geographical locations match the subscribed-to geographical locations of the multiple ones of the location subscriptions.
Claim 4: The method of claim 1, wherein: the subscribed-to geographical locations comprise subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic, including one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude value; and the published geographical locations comprise published geographical coordinates of each location message specifying one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude value.
Claim 5: The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving includes receiving by the one or more first processors, location messages, each location message having location information that indicates a geographical location of one of the moving vehicles.
Claim 6: The method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting includes transmitting each location message to the one or more second processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles.
Claim 7: The method of claim 4, wherein: the published geographical coordinates are a version of actual geographic coordinates truncated from a first level of precision to a second level of precision; and each location topic specifies subscribed-to geographical coordinates of a location in the second level of precision.
Claim 8: The method of claim 7, wherein: the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic include one latitude coordinate in the second level of precision, one longitude coordinate, in the second level of precision, and one altitude coordinate specified in a third level of precision; and the published geographical coordinates of each location message specify one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and an altitude in the third level of precision that is truncated from a fourth level of precision of a measured altitude.
Claim 9: The method of claim 1, further comprising truncating one or more levels of precision from the geographical coordinates having the first level of precision to generate the published geographical coordinates having to the second level of precision.
Claim 10: The method of claim 1, wherein: the receiving location messages includes receiving the published geographical coordinates specified as a character string; the accessing subscriptions includes accessing the subscribed-to geographical coordinates specified as a character string; and the determining includes comparing the character string that specifies the published geographical coordinates to the character string that specifies the subscribed-to geographical coordinates.
Claim 11: A system for distributing location messages comprising: an arrangement of one or more first processors; a memory arrangement coupled to the one or more first processors and configured with instructions that when executed by the one or more first processors cause the one or more first processors to perform operations including: receiving location messages, wherein each location message specifies published geographical locations; accessing a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement in response to receiving the location messages, wherein each location topic specifies, subscribed-to locations; determining for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical locations match any of the subscribed-to geographical locations; and transmitting to one or more second processors, each location message having published geographical locations determined to match the subscribed-to geographical locations.
Claim 12: The system of claim 11, wherein: each location message includes vehicle identification data for evaluation by the one or more second processors for selectively modifying phases of traffic lights; and the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit the location messages to the one or more second processors that are disposed at one or more intersections for controlling the traffic lights.
Claim 13: The system of claim 11, wherein: for each intersection of the plurality of intersections: a subset that includes multiple ones of the plurality of subscriptions defines an approach to the intersection; and each location subscription of the subset identifies a respective second processor of a plurality of second processors disposed at a plurality of intersections, the plurality of second processors includes the one or more second processors, and the plurality of intersections includes the one or more intersections; and the instructions for determining include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to determine whether or not the published geographical coordinates match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the multiple ones of the location subscriptions.
Claim 14: The system of claim 11, wherein the instructions for receiving include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to receive location messages, each location message having location information that indicates a geographical location of one of the moving vehicles.
Claim 15: The system of claim 11, wherein the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit each location message to the one or more second processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles.
Claim 16: The system of claim 11, wherein: the subscribed-to geographical locations comprise subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic including one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude value; and the published geographical locations comprise published geographical coordinates of each location message specifying one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude value.
Claim 17: The system of claim 16, wherein: the published geographical coordinates are a version of actual geographic coordinates truncated from a first level of precision to a second level of precision; and each location topic specifies subscribed-to geographical coordinates of a location in the second level of precision.
Claim 18: The system of claim 17, wherein: the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic include one latitude coordinate in the second level of precision, one longitude coordinate in the second level of precision, and one altitude coordinate specified in a third level of precision; and the published geographical coordinates of each location message specify one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and an altitude in the third level of precision that is truncated from a fourth level of precision of a measured altitude.
Claim 19: The system of claim 11, wherein: the instructions for receiving location messages include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to receive the published geographical coordinates specified as a character string; the instructions for accessing subscriptions include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to access the subscribed-to geographical coordinates specified as a character string; and the instructions for determining include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to compare the character string that specifies the published geographical coordinates to the character string that specifies the subscribed-to geographical coordinates.
Claim 20: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by one or more first processors, cause the one or more first processors to: receive location messages, wherein each location message specifies published geographical locations; access a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement in response to receiving the location messages, wherein each location topic specifies subscribed-to geographical locations; and determine, for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical locations match any of the subscribed-to geographical locations; and transmit to one or more second processors, each location message having published geographical locations determined to match the subscribed-to geographical locations.
Claim 1: A method, comprising: receiving by a first processor, location messages having information transmitted from a plurality of second processors, wherein each location message specifies published geographical coordinates that indicate a geographical location of one of the second processors; accessing a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement by the first processor in response to receiving the location messages, wherein each location topic specifies subscribed-to geographical coordinates of a location; determining by the first processor for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical coordinates match any of the subscribed-to geographical coordinates; and transmitting from the first processor to one or more third processors identified by one or more of the subscriptions, respectively, each location message having published geographical coordinates determined to match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the one or more subscriptions.
Claim 2: The method of claim 1, wherein: each location message includes vehicle identification data for evaluation by the one or more third processors for selectively modifying phases of traffic lights; and the transmitting includes transmitting the location messages to the one or more third processors that are disposed at one or more intersections for controlling the traffic lights.
Claim 3: The method of claim 2, wherein: a plurality of third processors are disposed at a plurality of intersections, respectively, the plurality of third processors includes the one or more third processors, and the plurality of intersections includes the one or more intersections; for each intersection of the plurality of intersections: a subset that includes multiple ones of the plurality of subscriptions defines an approach to the intersection; and each location subscription of the subset identifies the respective third processor of the plurality of third processors disposed at the intersection; and the determining includes determining whether or not the published geographical coordinates match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the multiple ones of the location subscriptions.
Claim 7: The method of claim 1, wherein: the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic include one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude value; and the published geographical coordinates of each location message specify one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude value.
Claim 8: The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving includes receiving by the first processor, location messages transmitted wirelessly from the plurality of second processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles, each location message having location information that indicates a geographical location of one of the moving vehicles.
Claim 9: The method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting includes transmitting each location message to the one or more third processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles.
Claim 11: The method of claim 1, wherein: the published geographical coordinates are a version of actual geographic coordinates truncated from a first level of precision to a second level of precision; and each location topic specifies subscribed-to geographical coordinates of a location in the second level of precision.
Claim 12: The method of claim 11, wherein: the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic include one latitude coordinate in the second level of precision, one longitude coordinate, in the second level of precision, and one altitude coordinate specified in a third level of precision; and the published geographical coordinates of each location message specify one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and an altitude in the third level of precision that is truncated from a fourth level of precision of a measured altitude.
Claim 13: The method of claim 11, further comprising truncating by the plurality of second processors, one or more levels of precision from the geographical coordinates having the first level of precision to generate the published geographical coordinates having to the second level of precision.
Claim 15: The method of claim 11, wherein: the receiving location messages includes receiving the published geographical coordinates specified as a character string; the accessing subscriptions includes accessing the subscribed-to geographical coordinates specified as a character string; and the determining includes comparing the character string that specifies the published geographical coordinates to the character string that specifies the subscribed-to geographical coordinates.
Claim 17: A system comprising: an arrangement of one or more first processors; a memory arrangement coupled to the one or more first processors and configured with instructions that when executed by the one or more first processors cause the one or more first processors to perform operations including: receiving location messages having information transmitted from a plurality of second processors, wherein each location message specifies published geographical coordinates that indicate a geographical location of one of the second processors; accessing a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement in response to receiving the location messages, wherein each location topic specifies, subscribed-to geographical coordinates of a location; determining for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical coordinates match any of the subscribed-to geographical coordinates; and transmitting to one or more third processors identified by one or more of the subscriptions, respectively, each location message having published geographical coordinates determined to match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the one or more subscriptions.
Claim 18: The system of claim 17, wherein: each location message includes vehicle identification data for evaluation by the one or more third processors for selectively modifying phases of traffic lights; and the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit the location messages to the one or more third processors that are disposed at one or more intersections for controlling the traffic lights.
Claim 19: The system of claim 18, wherein: for each intersection of the plurality of intersections: a subset that includes multiple ones of the plurality of subscriptions defines an approach to the intersection; and each location subscription of the subset identifies a respective third processor of a plurality of third processors disposed at a plurality of intersections, the plurality of third processors includes the one or more third processors, and the plurality of intersections includes the one or more intersections; and the instructions for determining include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to determine whether or not the published geographical coordinates match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the multiple ones of the location subscriptions.
Claim 23: The system of claim 17, wherein the instructions for receiving include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to receive location messages transmitted wirelessly from the plurality of second processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles, each location message having location information that indicates a geographical location of one of the moving vehicles.
Claim 24: The system of claim 17, wherein the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit each location message to the one or more third processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles.
Claim 26: The system of claim 17, wherein: the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic include one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude value; and the published geographical coordinates of each location message specify one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude value.
Claim 27: The system of claim 17, wherein: the published geographical coordinates are a version of actual geographic coordinates truncated from a first level of precision to a second level of precision; and each location topic specifies subscribed-to geographical coordinates of a location in the second level of precision.
Claim 28: The system of claim 27, wherein: the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic include one latitude coordinate in the second level of precision, one longitude coordinate in the second level of precision, and one altitude coordinate specified in a third level of precision; and the published geographical coordinates of each location message specify one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and an altitude in the third level of precision that is truncated from a fourth level of precision of a measured altitude.
Claim 30: The system of claim 17, wherein: the instructions for receiving location messages include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to receive the published geographical coordinates specified as a character string; the instructions for accessing subscriptions include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to access the subscribed-to geographical coordinates specified as a character string; and the instructions for determining include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to compare the character string that specifies the published geographical coordinates to the character string that specifies the subscribed-to geographical coordinates.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system and method by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, since this would help minimize hardware components that, claim 20 that recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which parallels the system of claim 11 and method of claim 1. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claims 11 and claim also applies to claim 20. Accordingly, claim 20 non-provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable by claims 1 and 17 under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claims 1 and 11.
In view of the above, since the subject matters recited in the broad claims 1-20 of the instant application was fully disclosed in and covered by claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, 15-19, 23-24, 26-28 and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,995,984 B2, allowing the broad claims 1-20 would result in an unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent.
This is a non-provisional non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-15 and 20 are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-12, 14-16 and 30-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,158,189 B2. The difference between patented narrower claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-12, 14-16 and 30-21 and the pending broader claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-15 and 20 of the instant application are not patentably distinct from each other. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, the patented narrower claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-12, 14-16 and 30-21 anticipate the broader claimed limitations of the instant application’s claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-15 and 20, thus, they are not patentably distinct from each other as set forth in the table herein below:
Pending App. No. 18/642,042:
U.S. Patent No. 11,158,189 B2:
Claim 1: A method for distributing location messages comprising: receiving by one or more first processors, location messages, wherein each location message specifies published geographical locations; accessing, by the one or more first processors, a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement in response to receiving the location messages, wherein each location topic specifies subscribed-to geographical locations; determining, by the one or more first processors, for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical locations match any of the subscribed-to geographical locations; and transmitting from the one or more first processors to one or more second processors, each location message having published geographical locations determined to match the subscribed-to geographical locations.
Claim 2: The method of claim 1, wherein: each location message includes vehicle identification data for evaluation by the one or more second processors for selectively modifying phases of traffic lights; and the transmitting includes transmitting the location messages to the one or more second processors that are disposed at one or more intersections for controlling the traffic lights.
Claim 3: The method of claim 2, wherein: a plurality of second processors are disposed at a plurality of intersections, respectively, the plurality of second processors includes the one or more second processors, and the plurality of intersections includes the one or more intersections; for each intersection of the plurality of intersections: a subset that includes multiple ones of the plurality of subscriptions defines an approach to the intersection; and each location subscription of the subset identifies the respective second processor of the plurality of second processors disposed at the intersection; and the determining includes determining whether or not the published geographical locations match the subscribed-to geographical locations of the multiple ones of the location subscriptions.
Claim 5: The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving includes receiving by the one or more first processors, location messages, each location message having location information that indicates a geographical location of one of the moving vehicles.
Claim 6: The method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting includes transmitting each location message to the one or more second processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles.
Claim 8: The method of claim 7, wherein: the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic include one latitude coordinate in the second level of precision, one longitude coordinate, in the second level of precision, and one altitude coordinate specified in a third level of precision; and the published geographical coordinates of each location message specify one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and an altitude in the third level of precision that is truncated from a fourth level of precision of a measured altitude.
Claim 9: The method of claim 1, further comprising truncating one or more levels of precision from the geographical coordinates having the first level of precision to generate the published geographical coordinates having to the second level of precision.
Claim 10: The method of claim 1, wherein: the receiving location messages includes receiving the published geographical coordinates specified as a character string; the accessing subscriptions includes accessing the subscribed-to geographical coordinates specified as a character string; and the determining includes comparing the character string that specifies the published geographical coordinates to the character string that specifies the subscribed-to geographical coordinates.
Claim 11: A system for distributing location messages comprising: an arrangement of one or more first processors; a memory arrangement coupled to the one or more first processors and configured with instructions that when executed by the one or more first processors cause the one or more first processors to perform operations including: receiving location messages, wherein each location message specifies published geographical locations; accessing a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement in response to receiving the location messages, wherein each location topic specifies, subscribed-to locations; determining for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical locations match any of the subscribed-to geographical locations; and transmitting to one or more second processors, each location message having published geographical locations determined to match the subscribed-to geographical locations.
Claim 12: The system of claim 11, wherein: each location message includes vehicle identification data for evaluation by the one or more second processors for selectively modifying phases of traffic lights; and the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit the location messages to the one or more second processors that are disposed at one or more intersections for controlling the traffic lights.
Claim 13: The system of claim 11, wherein: for each intersection of the plurality of intersections: a subset that includes multiple ones of the plurality of subscriptions defines an approach to the intersection; and each location subscription of the subset identifies a respective second processor of a plurality of second processors disposed at a plurality of intersections, the plurality of second processors includes the one or more second processors, and the plurality of intersections includes the one or more intersections; and the instructions for determining include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to determine whether or not the published geographical coordinates match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the multiple ones of the location subscriptions.
Claim 14: The system of claim 11, wherein the instructions for receiving include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to receive location messages, each location message having location information that indicates a geographical location of one of the moving vehicles.
Claim 15: The system of claim 11, wherein the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit each location message to the one or more second processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles.
geographical location of one of the moving vehicles.
Claim 20: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by one or more first processors, cause the one or more first processors to: receive location messages, wherein each location message specifies published geographical locations; access a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement in response to receiving the location messages, wherein each location topic specifies subscribed-to geographical locations; and determine, for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical locations match any of the subscribed-to geographical locations; and transmit to one or more second processors, each location message having published geographical locations determined to match the subscribed-to geographical locations.
Claim 1: A method, comprising: receiving by a first processor, location messages having information transmitted from a plurality of second processors, wherein each location message specifies published geographical coordinates that indicate a geographical location of one of the second processors, and the published geographical coordinates are a version of actual geographical coordinates truncated from a first level of precision to a second level of precision; accessing a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement by the first processor in response to receiving the location messages, wherein each location topic specifies in the second level of precision, subscribed-to geographical coordinates of a location; determining by the first processor for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical coordinates match any of the subscribed-to geographical coordinates; discarding by the first processor, each location message having published geographical coordinates that do not match any of the subscribed-to geographical coordinates; and transmitting from the first processor to one or more third processors identified by one or more of the subscriptions, respectively, each location message having published geographical coordinates determined to match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the one or more subscriptions.
Claim 2: The method of claim 1, wherein: each location message includes vehicle identification data for evaluation by the one or more third processors for selectively modifying phases of traffic lights; and the transmitting includes transmitting the location messages to the one or more third processors that are disposed at one or more intersections for controlling the traffic lights.
Claim 3: The method of claim 2, wherein: a plurality of third processors are disposed at a plurality of intersections, respectively, the plurality of third processors includes the one or more third processors, and the plurality of intersections includes the one or more intersections; for each intersection of the plurality of intersections: a subset that includes multiple ones of the plurality of subscriptions defines an approach to the intersection; and each location subscription of the subset identifies the respective third processor of the plurality of third processors disposed at the intersection; and the determining includes determining whether or not the published geographical coordinates match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the multiple ones of the location subscriptions.
Claim 7: The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving includes receiving by the first processor, location messages transmitted wirelessly from the plurality of second processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles, each location message having location information that indicates a geographical location of one of the moving vehicles.
Claim 8: The method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting includes transmitting each location message to the one or more third processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles.
Claim 10: The method of claim 1, wherein: the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic include one latitude coordinate in the second level of precision, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude coordinate specified in a third level of precision; and the published geographical coordinates of each location message specify one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and an altitude in the third level of precision that is truncated from a fourth level of precision of a measured altitude.
Claim 12: The method of claim 1, further comprising truncating by the plurality of second processors, one or more levels of precision from the geographical coordinates having the first level of precision to generate the published geographical coordinates having to the second level of precision.
Claim 11: The method of claim 1, wherein: the receiving location messages includes receiving the published geographical coordinates specified as a character string; the accessing subscriptions includes accessing the subscribed-to geographical coordinates specified as a character string; and the determining includes comparing the character string that specifies the published geographical coordinates to the character string that specifies the subscribed-to geographical coordinates.
Claim 14: A system comprising: an arrangement of one or more first processors; a memory arrangement coupled to the one or more first processors and configured with instructions that when executed by the one or more first processors cause the one or more first processors to perform operations including: receiving location messages having information transmitted from a plurality of second processors, wherein each location message specifies published geographical coordinates that indicate a geographical location of one of the second processors, and the published geographical coordinates are a version of actual geographical coordinates truncated from a first level of precision to a second level of precision; accessing a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement in response to receiving the location messages, wherein each location topic specifies in the second level of precision, subscribed-to geographical coordinates of a location; determining for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical coordinates match any of the subscribed-to geographical coordinates; discarding each location message having published geographical coordinates that do not match any of the subscribed-to geographical coordinates; and transmitting to one or more third processors identified by one or more of the subscriptions, respectively, each location message having published geographical coordinates determined to match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the one or more subscriptions.
Claim 15: The system of claim 14, wherein: each location message includes vehicle identification data for evaluation by the one or more third processors for selectively modifying phases of traffic lights; and the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit the location messages to the one or more third processors that are disposed at one or more intersections for controlling the traffic lights.
Claim 16: The system of claim 15, wherein: for each intersection of the plurality of intersections: a subset that includes multiple ones of the plurality of subscriptions defines an approach to the intersection; and each location subscription of the subset identifies a respective third processor of a plurality of third processors disposed at a plurality of intersections, the plurality of third processors includes the one or more third processors, and the plurality of intersections includes the one or more intersections; and the instructions for determining include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to determine whether or not the published geographical coordinates match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the multiple ones of the location subscriptions.
Claim 20: The system of claim 14, wherein the instructions for receiving include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to receive location messages transmitted wirelessly from the plurality of second processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles, each location message having location information that indicates a geographical location of one of the moving vehicles.
Claim 21: The system of claim 14, wherein the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit each location message to the one or more third processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system and method by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, since this would help minimize hardware components that, claim 20 that recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which parallels the system of claim 11 and method of claim 1. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claims 11 and claim also applies to claim 20. Accordingly, claim 20 non-provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable by claims 1 and 14 under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claims 1 and 11.
In view of the above, since the subject matters recited in the broad claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-15 and 20 of the instant application was fully disclosed in and covered by claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-12, 14-16 and 30-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,158,189 B2, allowing the broad claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-15 and 20 would result in an unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent.
This is a non-provisional non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Prior Art of EDWARDSON et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0248905 A1) hereinafter “Edwardson”.
As to claim 11, Edwardson discloses a system for distributing location messages (system for selectively distributing location messages, shown in Figures 2, 6 and described in Paragraphs 0010, 0062 and Claim 14) comprising: an arrangement of one or more first processors (an arrangement of one or more first processors, described in Paragraphs 0010, 0062 and Claim 14); a memory arrangement coupled to the one or more first processors (a memory arrangement coupled to the one or more first processors, described in Paragraph 0010 and Claim 14) and configured with instructions that when executed by the one or more first processors cause the one or more first processors to perform operations (configured with instructions that when executed by the one or more first processors cause the one or more first processors to perform operations including, described in Paragraph 0010) including: receiving location messages (receiving location messages, described in Paragraph 0010), wherein each location message specifies published geographical locations (Each location message specifies published geographical coordinates that indicate a geographical location, described in Paragraph 0010); accessing a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement in response to receiving the location messages (accessing a plurality of subscriptions to location topics in a storage arrangement in response to receiving the location messages, described in Paragraph 0010), wherein each location topic specifies, subscribed-to locations (location topic specifies in the second level of precision, subscribed-to geographical coordinates of a location, described in Paragraph 0010); determining for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical locations match any of the subscribed-to geographical locations (determining for each received location message, whether or not the published geographical coordinates match any of the subscribed-to geographical coordinates, described in Paragraph 0010); and transmitting to one or more second processors (transmitting to one or more third [i.e. second] processors), each location message having published geographical locations determined to match the subscribed-to geographical locations (each location message having published geographical coordinates determined to match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates, described in Paragraph 0010).
As to claim 12, the disclosure of Edwardson as set forth above in claim 11, further Edwardson discloses wherein: each location message includes vehicle identification data for evaluation by the one or more second processors for selectively modifying phases of traffic lights; and the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit the location messages to the one or more second processors that are disposed at one or more intersections for controlling the traffic lights (wherein: each location message includes vehicle identification data for evaluation by the one or more third [i.e. second] processors for selectively modifying phases of traffic lights; and the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit the location messages to the one or more third [i.e. second] processors that are disposed at one or more intersections for controlling the traffic lights, described in Claim 15).
As to claim 13, the system of claim 11, wherein: for each intersection of the plurality of intersections: a subset that includes multiple ones of the plurality of subscriptions defines an approach to the intersection; and each location subscription of the subset identifies a respective second processor of a plurality of second processors disposed at a plurality of intersections, the plurality of second processors includes the one or more second processors, and the plurality of intersections includes the one or more intersections; and the instructions for determining include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to determine whether or not the published geographical coordinates match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the multiple ones of the location subscriptions (wherein: for each intersection of the plurality of intersections: a subset that includes multiple ones of the plurality of subscriptions defines an approach to the intersection; and each location subscription of the subset identifies a respective third processor of a plurality of third [i.e. second] processors disposed at a plurality of intersections, the plurality of third [i.e. second] processors includes the one or more third [i.e. second] processors, and the plurality of intersections includes the one or more intersections; and the instructions for determining include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to determine whether or not the published geographical coordinates match the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of the multiple ones of the location subscriptions, described in Claim 16).
As to claim 14, the disclosure of Edwardson as set forth above in claim 11, further Edwardson discloses wherein the instructions for receiving include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to receive location messages, each location message having location information that indicates a geographical location of one of the moving vehicles (wherein the instructions for receiving include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to receive location messages transmitted wirelessly from the plurality of second [i.e. second] processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles, each location message having location information that indicates a geographical location of one of the moving vehicles, described in Claim 20).
As to claim 15, the disclosure of Edwardson as set forth above in claim 11, further Edwardson discloses wherein the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit each location message to the one or more second processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles (wherein the instructions for transmitting include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to transmit each location message to the one or more third [i.e. second] processors that are onboard a plurality of moving vehicles, described in Claim 21).
As to claim 16, the disclosure of Edwardson as set forth above in claim 11, further Edwardson discloses wherein: the subscribed-to geographical locations comprise subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic including one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude value (wherein the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic include one latitude coordinate and one longitude coordinate, and the one latitude coordinate and one longitude coordinate, described in Claim 17); and the published geographical locations comprise published geographical coordinates of each location message specifying one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude value (the published geographical coordinates of each location message specify one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate; and an altitude, described in Claim 23).
As to claim 17, the disclosure of Edwardson as set forth above in claim 16, further Edwardson discloses wherein: the published geographical coordinates are a version of actual geographic coordinates truncated from a first level of precision to a second level of precision (the published geographical coordinates are a version of actual geographical coordinates truncated from a first level of precision to a second level of precision, described in Abstract); and each location topic specifies subscribed-to geographical coordinates of a location in the second level of precision (Each location topic specifies in the second level of precision, subscribed-to geographical coordinates of a location, described in Abstract).
As to claim 18, the disclosure of Edwardson as set forth above in claim 17, further Edwardson discloses wherein: the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic include one latitude coordinate in the second level of precision, one longitude coordinate in the second level of precision, and one altitude coordinate specified in a third level of precision; and the published geographical coordinates of each location message specify one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate, and an altitude in the third level of precision that is truncated from a fourth level of precision of a measured altitude (wherein: the subscribed-to geographical coordinates of each location topic include one latitude coordinate in the second level of precision, one longitude coordinate, and one altitude coordinate specified in a third level of precision; and the published geographical coordinates of each location message specify one latitude coordinate, one longitude coordinate; and an altitude in the third level of precision that is truncated from a fourth level of precision of a measured altitude, described in Claim 23).
As to claim 19, the disclosure of Edwardson as set forth above in claim 11, further Edwardson discloses the system of claim 11, wherein: the instructions for receiving location messages include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to receive the published geographical coordinates specified as a character string; the instructions for accessing subscriptions include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to access the subscribed-to geographical coordinates specified as a character string; and the instructions for determining include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to compare the character string that specifies the published geographical coordinates to the character string that specifies the subscribed-to geographical coordinates (wherein: the instructions for receiving location messages include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to receive the published geographical coordinates specified as a character string; the instructions for accessing subscriptions include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to access the subscribed-to geographical coordinates specified as a character string; and the instructions for determining include instructions that cause the one or more first processors to compare the character string that specifies the published geographical coordinates to the character string that specifies the subscribed-to geographical coordinates, described in Claim 24).
As to claim 1, the claim recites a method that parallels the system of claim 11. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 11 also applies to claim 1. Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected by the disclosure of Edwardson under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 11.
As to claim 2, the claim recites a method that parallels the system of claim 12. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 12 also applies to claim 2. Accordingly, claim 2 is rejected by the disclosure of Edwardson under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 12.
As to claim 3, the claim recites a method that parallels the system of claim 13. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 13 also applies to claim 3. Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected by the disclosure of Edwardson under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 13.
As to claim 4, the claim recites a method that parallels the system of claim 16. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 16 also applies to claim 4. Accordingly, claim 4 is rejected by the disclosure of Edwardson under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 16.
As to claim 5, the claim recites a method that parallels the system of claim 14. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 14 also applies to claim 5. Accordingly, claim 5 is rejected by the disclosure of Edwardson under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 14.
As to claim 6, the claim recites a method that parallels the system of claim 15. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 15 also applies to claim 6. Accordingly, claim 6 is rejected by the disclosure of Edwardson under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 15.
As to claim 7, the claim recites a method that parallels the system of claim 17. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 17 also applies to claim 7. Accordingly, claim 7 is rejected by the disclosure of Edwardson under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 17.
As to claim 8, the claim recites a method that parallels the system of claim 18. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 18 also applies to claim 8. Accordingly, claim 8 is rejected by the disclosure of Edwardson under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 18.
As to claim 9, the claim recites a method that parallels the system of claim 17. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 17 also applies to claim 9. Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected by the disclosure of Edwardson under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 17.
As to claim 10, the claim recites a method that parallels the system of claim 19. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 19 also applies to claim 10. Accordingly, claim 10 is rejected by the disclosure of Edwardson under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 19.
As to claim 20, the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that parallels the system of claim 11. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 11 also applies to claim 20. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected by the disclosure of Edwardson under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following cited arts are further to show the state of related art.
U.S. Publication No. 2011/0109477 A1 of EDWARDSON et al, discloses a road map that includes a plurality of roads and intersections is displayed with a computer system. Preemption data periodically received by the computer system from at least one preemption controller at a respective intersection is used to update the road map. In response to the preemption data, the road map is updated to include a traffic signal icon at the respective intersection and a vehicle icon at a location on the map corresponding to a location of a vehicle transmitting a preemption request as indicated by the preemption data.
U.S. Publication No. 2011/0193722 A1 of JOHNSON, discloses logged preemption data is periodically read from each of a plurality of intersections having respective preemption controllers for preempting traffic signals at the intersections. The logged preemption data at an intersection describes operational states of the preemption controller and each vehicle control unit that submitted a preemption request at the intersection and data describing each individual preemption request. The logged preemption data read from the plurality of intersections are stored in a database. The database is monitored for data indicative of changes in operational status of the traffic signal preemption control equipment. In response to the data indicating a change in operational status, data descriptive of the change are output.
U.S. Publication No. 2011/0234423 A1 of EDWARDSON, discloses methods and systems for creating an approach map for a traffic signal preemption controller. A road map is displayed, and in response to user input for instantiating a first segment of an approach map, a first instance of a graphical object overlaying one of the plurality of roads is displayed. The one road represents an approach road to an intersection having the preemption controller. First segment location data that describes a first geographical area bounded by the first segment are determined from size and placement of the first instance of the graphical object on the road map and from location data associated with the one road. The first segment location data are stored in association with the approach map for the preemption controller. The preemption controller, once configured with the first segment location data, initiates traffic signal preemption in response to a preemption request transmitted from within the first geographic area described by the first segment location data.
U.S. Publication No. 2024/0144817 A1 of EDWARDSON et al, discloses location message specifies published geographical coordinates that indicate a geographical location. The first processor accesses subscriptions to location topics in response to the location messages. The first processor determines whether or not the published geographical coordinates match any of the subscribed-to geographical coordinates. Matching location messages are transmitted to one or more third processors identified by the subscriptions.
U.S. Patent No. 8,830,085 B2 to EDWARDSON et al, discloses a road map that includes a plurality of roads and intersections is displayed with a computer system. Preemption data periodically received by the computer system from at least one preemption controller at a respective intersection is used to update the road map. In response to the preemption data, the road map is updated to include a traffic signal icon at the respective intersection and a vehicle icon at a location on the map corresponding to a location of a vehicle transmitting a preemption request as indicated by the preemption data.
U.S. Patent No. 8,487,780 B2 to EDWARDSON, discloses a methods and systems for creating an approach map for a traffic signal preemption controller. A road map is displayed, and in response to user input for instantiating a first segment of an approach map, a first instance of a graphical object overlaying one of the plurality of roads is displayed. The one road represents an approach road to an intersection having the preemption controller. First segment location data that describes a first geographical area bounded by the first segment are determined from size and placement of the first instance of the graphical object on the road map and from location data associated with the one road. The first segment location data are stored in association with the approach map for the preemption controller. The preemption controller, once configured with the first segment location data, initiates traffic signal preemption in response to a preemption request transmitted from within the first geographical area described by the first segment location data.
Correspondence
/SISAY YACOB/ November 07, 2025 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686