Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “shaft”, “top portion” and “bottom portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Berres et al. (US 20250012119 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Berres discloses a sealing cover (housing 3, fig. 1) for an actuator motor in a vehicle (see the title: “ACTUATOR FOR MOTOR VEHICLE APPLICATIONS”), the sealing cover comprising:
a base part (base, annotated fig. 2) to enclose a top portion and a bottom portion of the actuator motor (see fig. 1 and annotated fig. 2);
a first web (first web, annotated fig. 2) extending from the base part in a direction perpendicular to the base part, wherein the first web is to partially enclose a first side portion of the actuator motor (see figs. 1 and 2);
a second web (second web, annotated fig. 2) extending from the base part in a direction perpendicular to the base part and being parallel to the first web, wherein the second web is to partially enclose a second side portion of the actuator motor, the second side portion being opposite to the first side portion, wherein the first side portion and the second side portion are perpendicular to the top portion and the bottom portion (see figs. 1 and 2), wherein the first web and the second web are to enable tight gripping of the sealing cover over the actuator motor (via clip connections 8 and 9, fig. 1); and
a bellows (bellows, annotated fig. 2) extending from the base part to enclose at least a portion of a shaft (shaft, annotated fig. 2) of the actuator motor (see annotated fig. 2), wherein the bellows is to absorb vibration of the actuator motor and to enable holding of the sealing cover (implied).
Regarding claim 2, Berres discloses the sealing cover as claimed in claim 1 comprising at least one stepped section (stepped section, annotated fig. 2) to correspond to a stepped section of the actuator motor.
Regarding claim 3, Berres discloses the sealing cover as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base part, the first web, and the second web forms a U-shaped section (see annotated fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Berres discloses the sealing cover as claimed in claim 1, comprising a ball ring (ball ring, annotated fig. 2) to provide geometrical stability of the sealing cover and to enhance sealing engagement of the sealing cover with the actuator motor, wherein the ball ring is disposable over a neck (neck, annotated fig. 2) of the actuator motor, and wherein the shaft of the actuator motor protrudes out of the actuator motor through the neck (see annotated fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Berres discloses the sealing cover as claimed in claim 4, wherein the ball ring is substantially ring-shaped (implied because the shaft goes through it; see also fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Berres discloses the sealing cover as claimed in claim 4, wherein the ball ring has a substantially circular cross-section (implied, a ring has a circular cross-section).
Regarding claim 9, Berres , discloses an actuator motor assembly for vehicles (fig. 1), comprising:
an actuator motor for actuation of at least one component of a vehicle (para [0028]: “Generally, vehicles use actuator motors for various purposes. For example, actuator motors are used as a driving source to propel the vehicle, as a part of a starter assembly to start the vehicle, as a part of windshield wiper assembly to actuate windshield wiper, powering opening and closing of windows, in flush door handles to power opening and closing of doors, in fuel fillers, in charge port housings, and so on.”), wherein the actuator motor comprises:
a top portion (top portion, annotated fig. 2);
a bottom portion opposite to the top portion (bottom portion, annotated fig. 2);
a first side portion (first side, annotated fig. 2);
a second side portion (second side, annotated fig. 2), wherein the second side portion is opposite to the first side portion, wherein the first side portion and the second side portion are perpendicular to the top portion and the bottom portion; and
a shaft (shaft, annotated fig. 2) to transfer motion from the actuator motor to the at least one component of the vehicle (implied), wherein at least a portion of the shaft protrudes out from the actuator motor (see annotated fig. 2);
(and as disclosed regarding claim 1):
a sealing cover removably disposed over the actuator motor to protect the actuator motor from ingress, wherein the sealing cover comprises:
a base part to enclose the top portion and the bottom portion of the actuator motor;
a first web extending from the base part in a direction perpendicular to the base part, wherein the first web is to partially enclose the first side portion of the actuator motor;
a second web extending from the base part in a direction perpendicular to the base part and being parallel to the first web, wherein the second web is to partially enclose the second side portion of the actuator motor, wherein the first web and the second web are to enable tight gripping of the sealing cover over the actuator motor; and
a bellows to absorb vibration of the actuator motor and to enable holding of the sealing cover and to enclose at least a portion of the shaft of the actuator motor.
Regarding claim 10, Berres discloses the actuator motor assembly as claimed in claim 9, wherein the sealing cover comprises at least one stepped section to correspond to a stepped section of the actuator motor (discussed and showed regarding claim 2).
Regarding claim 11, Berres discloses the actuator motor assembly as claimed in claim 9, wherein the base part, the first web, and the second web forms a U-shaped section (discussed and showed regarding claim 3).
Regarding claim 12, Berres discloses the actuator motor assembly as claimed in claim 9, wherein the shape of the sealing cover corresponds substantially to the shape of the actuator motor (see fig. 2, the housing shape matches that of the actuator).
Regarding claim 13, Berres discloses the actuator motor assembly as claimed in claim 9, wherein the sealing cover comprises a ball ring to provide geometrical stability of the sealing cover and to enhance sealing engagement of the sealing cover with the actuator motor, and wherein the ball ring is disposable over a neck of the actuator motor, wherein the shaft of the actuator motor protrudes out of the actuator motor through the neck (discussed and showed regarding claim 4).
Regarding claim 14, Berres discloses the actuator motor assembly as claimed in claim 13, wherein the ball ring is substantially ring-shaped (discussed and showed regarding claim 5).
Regarding claim 15, Berres discloses the actuator motor assembly as claimed in claim 13, wherein the ball ring has a substantially circular cross-section (discussed and showed regarding claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berres et al. (US 20250012119 A1) in view of Knepper et al. (US 20210222775 A1).
Regarding claim 7 and 16, Berres discloses the sealing cover and the actuator motor assembly as claimed in claims 1 and 9, respectively, but does not disclose: wherein the sealing cover is made of at least one of: ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) and silicone rubber.
Selecting a sealing cover material is within the skills of a person having ordinary skills in the art. As an evidence, Knepper teaches a component assembly that includes an actuator for a motor vehicle (see the abstract) wherein for a sealing cover EPDM or silicone rubber is used (see para [0064]: “[0064] The material of the elastomer can be different from the material of the third sealing element, for example. The elastomer can have or comprise, respectively, merely for example natural rubber, rubber, ethylene-propylene-diene-monomer rubber (EPDM) or silicone, or largely (to the extent of more than 50%) comprise or be composed of one of these materials. It is understood that other materials can also be selected for the elastomer, depending on the application conditions.”)
For sealing the actuator from ingress, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a sealing cover material that is made of at least one of: ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) and silicone rubber.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berres et al. (US 20250012119 A1) in view of Schaupp, J. (US 20050023369 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Berres discloses the sealing cover and the actuator motor assembly as claimed in claims 1 and 9, respectively, but does not disclose: wherein material of the sealing cover has shore A hardness of about 41, tensile strength of about 9 MPa, elongation at break of about 690%, a tear strength of about 15 KN/m, and stability up to 20° C.
The above mentioned parameters are result effective variables and determination their operating ranges are within the skills of a person having ordinary skills in the art. Selecting ranges for these result effective variables have been mentioned by Schaupp for an O-ring (see para [0041: “O-rings 112, 124 illustratively are constructed from filled resins having Shore A hardness in the range of about 45 to 75 durometer, specific gravity of about 1.8, tensile strength of about 200 p.s.i. (about 138 Nt/cm.sup.2), an elongation of about 280%, a tear strength of 35 lb./in. (about 61 Nt/cm), and a volume resistivity of about 0.05 .OMEGA.-cm. O-rings 112, 124 are of types available from, for example, Zatkoff Seals & Packings, 23230 Industrial Park Drive, Farmington Hills, Mich. 48335-2850.”). Of course, operating temperature is a basic design parameter.
For proper sealing of the actuator, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that: the material of the sealing cover has shore A hardness of about 41, tensile strength of about 9 MPa, elongation at break of about 690%, a tear strength of about 15 KN/m, and stability up to 20° C.
Conclusion
/MASOUD VAZIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834