DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(l). Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well- defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohfuku (US 10,305,221).
Regarding claim 1, Ohfuku discloses a connector structure comprising: a first connector (15); a second connector (13) configured to be fitted with the first connector; and a fitting position guarantee lock (21) attached to the second connector in a manner of being slidable in a fitting direction (left to right in Fig. 4) of the first connector and the second connector, wherein the first connector includes a first locking portion (33) and a second locking portion (34) that protrude to both sides in a protrusion direction (vertically in Fig. 4) intersecting the fitting direction, wherein the second connector includes: a first arm (53) whose distal end is flexible in the protrusion direction, and a third locking portion (55) provided at the distal end of the first arm and configured to ride over the first locking portion and to be engaged with the first locking portion when the first connector and the second connector are fitted to each other, and wherein the fitting position guarantee lock includes: a second arm (91) whose distal end is flexible in the protrusion direction, a fourth locking portion (93) provided at the distal end of the second arm and configured to ride over the third locking portion and to be engaged with the third locking portion after the third locking portion rides over the first locking portion and is engaged with the first locking portion, a third arm (99) whose distal end is flexible in the protrusion direction, and a fifth locking portion (101) provided at the distal end of the third arm and configured to ride over the second locking portion and to be engaged with the second locking portion at a final locking position where the fourth locking portion rides over the third locking portion and is engaged with the third locking portion.
Regarding claim 4, Ohfuku discloses a fitting position guarantee lock (21) attached to a second connector (13) in a manner of being slidable in a fitting direction of a first connector and the second connector, the fitting position guarantee lock comprising: a second arm (91) whose distal end is flexible in a protrusion direction intersecting the fitting direction; a fourth locking portion (93) provided at the distal end of the second arm, and configured to, after a third locking portion provided at a distal end of a first arm that is flexible in the protrusion direction of the second connector rides over a first locking portion protruding toward one side in the protrusion direction of the first connector and is engaged with the first locking portion, ride over the third locking portion and be engaged with the third locking portion (intended use); a third arm (99) whose distal end is flexible in the protrusion direction; and a fifth locking portion (101) provided at the distal end of the third arm, and configured to ride over a second locking portion protruding toward the other side in the protrusion direction of the first connector and to be engaged with the second locking portion at a final locking position where the fourth locking portion rides over the third locking portion and is engaged with the third locking portion (intended use).
Regarding claim 5, Ohfuku discloses a first connector (15) to be fitted with a second connector to which a fitting position guarantee lock is slidably attached, the first connector comprising a first locking portion (33) and a second locking portion (34) protruding to both sides in a protrusion direction (vertically in Fig. 4) intersecting a fitting direction of the first connector and the second connector, and configured to be engaged with a locking portion that is provided at a distal end of a flexible arm in the protrusion direction of the fitting position guarantee lock slidably attached to the second connector (intended use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohfuku in view of Nishiyama (US 10,862,243).
Regarding claim 2, Ohfuku discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the second locking portion provided with a second inclined surface. Nishiyama teaches a second locking portion (35) provided with a first inclined surface (36) whose protrusion height increases toward a first connector side in the fitting direction, and a second inclined surface (37) that is adjacent to the first connector side of the first inclined surface and whose protrusion height decreases toward the first connector side in the fitting direction, and wherein, when the third locking portion rides over the first locking portion, the fifth locking portion is in contact with the second inclined surface (Fig. 13C). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a second inclined surface, as taught by Nishiyama, in order to provide a smoother connection and an easy withdrawal of the third locking portion.
Regarding claim 3, Nishiyama teaches the first connector including a first rib (not labeled, lower rib above 37 in Fig. 1) extending in the fitting direction, wherein the fitting position guarantee lock has a rib insertion groove (not labeled, lower side groove in Figs. 6A-C) into which the first rib is inserted and that guides the first connector in the fitting direction, and wherein a second rib (not labeled, protrusion inside lower side groove in Figs. 6B-C) configured to come into contact with the first rib at the final locking position is provided in the rib insertion groove. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a rib and groove arrangement, as taught by Nishiyama, in order to help guide and stabilize insertion of the first connector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831