DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 5/24/26, amended claim(s) 1-7 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “each of plurality of wire electrodes” (lines 2-3) appears that it should be “each of the plurality of wire electrodes.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0293060 to Duvall et al. (hereinafter “Duvall”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0060812 to Harel et al. (hereinafter “Harel”).
For claim 1, Duvall discloses an invasive multi-electrode electrochemical sensor (Abstract), comprising:
a substrate (“substrate,” Abstract) (unlabeled, but as can be seen in Figs. 14B, 14D, and 15C) (also see 110 in Fig. 4A);
a plurality of wire electrodes (“wire electrodes,” Abstract), wherein each of the plurality of wire electrodes includes an electrically conductive core and an insulating sheath (para [0221]-[0222] and/or [0226]), the insulating sheath partially covers the electrically conductive core so as to expose a proximal end and a distal end of the electrically conductive core (see Figs. 15C, 15D, 16C, 16D, 17C, and/or 17D), each of the plurality of wire electrodes has a substrate section (unlabeled section that includes the substrate, see Fig. 14B, the section being on the right of that figure) and an invasion section (unlabeled section that does not include the substrate, see Fig. 14B, the section being on the left of that figure), the proximal end and the distal end of the electrically conductive core of each of the plurality of wire electrodes are located respectively at the substrate section and the invasion section of each of the plurality of wire electrodes (as can be seen in Figs. 14B-D and 15C-D), the substrate section is provided on the substrate (as can be seen in Figs. 14B-D and 15C-D), the invasion section extends outward from an edge of the substrate (as can be seen in Figs. 14B-D and 15C-D), and the invasion section of one of the plurality of wire electrodes is at least partially wound around the invasion section of each of the other ones of the plurality of wire electrodes in a spiral manner (as can be seen in Figs. 15-B and/or 16A-B);
wherein the electrically conductive core in the invasion section of at least one of the plurality of wire electrodes is different in material from the electrically conductive cores of each of the other ones of the plurality of wire electrodes (para [0224]).
Duvall does not expressly disclose wherein the distal end of the electrically conductive core of one of the plurality of wire electrodes is recessed from an end surface of the insulating sheath to form a recess for filling a material different from a material of the electrically conductive core into the recess.
However, Harel teaches wherein a distal end of an electrically conductive core (112) (Fig. 3E) (para [0300]) of one of a plurality of wire electrodes (i.e., “[e]ach monopolar electrode assembly,” para [0300]) is recessed (as can be seen in Fig. 3E) (also see “wire electrode 112 is recessed…,” para [0302]) from an end surface of an insulating sheath (114) (Fig. 3E) (para [0300]) to form a recess (as can be seen in Fig. 3E) (also see para [0302]) for filling (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) a material different from a material of the electrically conductive core into the recess (as can be seen in Fig. 3E).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Duvall wherein the distal end of the electrically conductive core of one of the plurality of wire electrodes is recessed from an end surface of the insulating sheath to form a recess for filling a material different from a material of the electrically conductive core into the recess, in view of the teachings of Harel, for the obvious advantage of allowing any excess adhesive which may have been applied to collect around the insulating material, without contaminating the electrode itself (see para [0363] of Harel).
For claim 2, Duvall further discloses a plurality of gold fingers (1422) provided on the substrate (as can be seen in Figs. 14D and 14B) (also see reference numeral “420” in Fig. 4D and para [0162]-[0163]), wherein the electrically conductive core in the substrate section of each of the plurality of wire electrodes is electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of gold fingers (as can be seen in Figs. 14B and D).
For claim 3, Duvall further discloses wherein the proximal end of the electrically conductive core of each of the plurality of wire electrodes is electrically connected to the corresponding one of the plurality of gold fingers (as can be seen in Figs. 14B and D).
For claim 4, Duvall further discloses wherein a diameter Ø of the electrically conductive core is less than or equal to 25 µm (para [0235]).
For claim 5, Duvall further discloses wherein a diameter Ø of the electrically conductive core is greater than 25 µm and less than 1000 µm (para [0235], Examiner’s Note: a skilled artisan understanding that “about 25 µm thick” would include diameters greater than 25 µm).
For claim 6, Duvall does not expressly disclose wherein a diameter Ø of the electrically conductive core is greater than or equal to 1000 µm.
However, Harel teaches a diameter Ø of an electrically conductive core is greater than or equal to 1000 µm (Fig. 3B) (para [0304]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Duvall wherein a diameter Ø of the electrically conductive core is greater than or equal to 1000 µm, in view of the teachings of Harel, because such a modification is the simple substitution of the diameter of the electrically conductive core that would lead to the predictable result of conducting electrons.
For claim 7, Duvall further discloses a cover plate provided on the substrate such that the substrate section of each of the plurality of wire electrodes is at least partially fixed between the cover plate and the substrate (532, Fig. 5K) (also see 704 and 732 in Fig. 7C) (alternatively, see 314 and 334 in Fig. 3A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/24/26 have been fully considered.
With respect to the claim objection(s), Applicant’s amendments and arguments are persuasive and thus the objection(s) is/are withdrawn.
With respect to the 112 rejection(s), Applicant’s amendments and arguments are persuasive and thus the rejection(s) is/are withdrawn.
With respect to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments will be treated in the order they were presented. With respect to the first argument, this claim language appears to be supported by Fig. 4 of Applicant’s specification. If that’s true, then Applicant’s invasive sections also extend in an axial direction (as can be seen in Fig. 4 of Applicant’s specification). Therefore, to argue that Duvall’s invasive section “extend in an axial direction and are not wound together in a spiral manner” (see page 7 of the response) would then also contradict Applicant’s own specification since Fig. 4 shows that its invasive sections extend in an axial direction while being wound together in a spiral manner. Notwithstanding the above, Fig. 15B shows a planar view of the spiral configuration of the wires/invasive sections and Fig. 15D shows an isometric view. Note that 1520/1530/1540/1550 all extend into 1510 as evidenced by para [0218] of Duvall. Therefore, if they all extend back into 1510 (shown on the right side of figure 15D), then they are going to axially extend and form a spiral configuration around each other because they are rotationally/circumferentially displaced from one another around a center of the assembly 1500. With respect to the second argument, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not address the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments presented in the response.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791