DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 10/28/2025.
Claims 1, 3-6, 16-17, 19, and 21-32 are currently pending. Claims 5-6, 17, 27-28, and 30 are withdrawn as they are directed to the non-elected species of the application. Claims 2, 7-15, 18, and 20 are cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species I in the reply filed on 07/09/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species II and Species IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The alternative limitations “a conductive helical spring, a conductive rotary spring, a conductive telescopic arm assembly” on lines 2-3 of claim 19 are also not examined as they are directed to the non-elected Species VI and Species V. Claim 19 was interpreted as “wherein, when the slidable pane system comprises the collectable wire, the collectable wire includes a winding spool”.
Claims 27-28 and 30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/09/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 24, and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 7 of claim 1, “to transmit at least one of the at least one” should read --to transmit at least one of a--.
In lines 6 and 7 of claim 24, “the slidable pane” should read --the translatable pane--. Note that this issue is also present in claim 29.
Appropriate correction is required. Above provides non-limiting examples, the applicant(s) must find and correct all issues similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mullins et al. (US 10678103) (hereinafter “Mullins”).
Claim 19
(Mullins discloses) A slidable pane system (950; figure 9E) adapted to receive at least one of at least one signal or power from a driver (910), the slidable pane system comprising:
a slidable pane (900m) having an electrically adjustable optical characteristic in response to at least one signal (Mullins’ invention is directed to electrochromic devices; lines 11-37 of col. 5; an embodiment of Mullins discloses the electrically adjustable optical characteristic is responsive via a signal from a controller 910; Excerpt 1 from col. 20 below); and
one of a (i) a collectable wire coupled between the slidable pane and the driver or (ii) a conductive track (955; figure 9E) defining a sliding path of the slidable pane (longer dashed arrow above the assembly in figure 9E) and providing a conductive path between the driver and the slidable pane (figure 9E; note that the limitation ‘one of a (i) or (ii)’ was interpreted such that the claims are only requiring one of the two options between (i) or (ii) therefore this rejection was only rejecting option (ii)), wherein, when the slidable pane system comprises the collectable wire, the collectable wire includes at least one of a conductive helical spring, a conductive rotary spring, a conductive telescopic arm assembly, or a winding spool (As the limitations “wherein, when the slidable pane system comprises the collectable wire…” are directed to the alternative limitation [i.e., option (i)] and the other alternative [option (ii)] was chosen for examination and art application for claim 1, the further limitations of the unselected alternative limitation will not be addressed and these limitations are also rejected with claim 1).
Claim 23
(Mullins discloses) The slidable pane system of claim 19, wherein the collectable wire provides the conductive path between the driver and the slidable pane, and the collectable wire comprises a collectable conductive wire coated with external insulation (As the limitations of claim 23 are directed to an alternative limitation [i.e., option (i)] and the other alternative [option (ii)] was chosen for examination and art application for claim 1, the further limitations of the unselected alternative limitation will not be addressed and claim 23 is rejected with claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 16, 21, 24-26, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullins in view of Kim (KR 102146965).
Claim 1
(Mullins discloses) A slidable pane system (950; figure 9E), comprising:
a slidable pane (900m) having an electrically adjustable optical characteristic in response to at least one signal (Mullins’ invention is directed to electrochromic devices; lines 11-37 of col. 5; an embodiment of Mullins discloses the electrically adjustable optical characteristic is responsive via a signal from a controller 910; Excerpt 1 from col. 20 below);
at least one track (955) defining a sliding path of the slidable pane (longer dashed arrow above the assembly in figure 9E);
a conductor (952) including a collectable conductive wire coated with external insulation (952 is disclosed as a ribbon cable which is known in the art to have a collectable conductive wire coated with external insulation; also see source below discussing the insulation in ribbon cables), the conductor having an adjustable length along the sliding path of the slidable pane and electrically coupled to the slidable pane to transmit at least one of the at least one signal or power to the slidable pane (Excerpt 1 and Excerpt 2 from col. 22 below).
Mullins fails to disclose a first spool, wherein a first portion of the collectable conductive wire is wound around the first spool.
(However, Kim teaches) A slidable pane system (Kim figures 3A-3B), comprising:
a first spool (11a), wherein a first portion (portion of the wire that is wound around the spool 11a) of a collectable wire (42) is wound around the first spool (Kim figure 3A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the pane system of Mullins with the spool of Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the predictable and expected benefits of preventing slacking of the conductive wire therefore protecting it from getting caught or entangling which can cause serious damage to the system.
Excerpt 1
Excerpt 2
Source: https://falconerelectronics.com/ribbon-cables-uses/#:~:text=What%20are%20Ribbon%20Cables,that%20can%20insulate%20the%20conductors.
Claim 3
(Mullins, as modified above, discloses) The slidable pane system of claim 1.
Modified Mullins fails to disclose wherein the first spool is positioned within a housing storing at least a part of the collectable conductive wire within the housing.
(However, Kim teaches) wherein a first spool (11a; Kim figures 1-3A) is positioned within a housing (F; best seen in Kim figure 2) storing at least a part of a collectable wire (42) within the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the system of modified Mullins with the housing of Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the predictable and expected benefits of protecting and covering the conductive parts which also prevents electrocuting passengers or users.
Claim 4
(Mullins, as modified above, discloses) The slidable pane system of claims 3, wherein the housing is disposed spaced away from the slidable pane (this is taught in light of the combination above; also see the slidable pane of Kim in Kim figures 1-3A).
Claim 16
(Mullins, as modified above, discloses) The slidable pane system of claim 1, wherein the optical characteristic includes at least one of a transparency or color of the slidable pane (disclosed in at least lines 20-25 of col. 5 and lines 38-67 of col. 5 to lines 1-2 of col. 6; also see figure 1).
Claim 21
(Mullins, as modified above, discloses) The slidable pane system of claim 1, wherein the first spool is biased (Partial Annotated figure 3A below; note that “biased” was interpreted as an adjective --slanting obliquely; diagonal--) to wind extra portions of the collectable conductive wire around the first spool during a sliding movement of the slidable pane along the sliding path (Partial Annotated figure 3A below).
Partial Annotated figure 3A
Claim 24
(Mullins discloses) A translatable pane system (950; figure 9E), comprising:
a translatable pane (900m) having an electrically adjustable optical characteristic in response to at least one signal (Mullins’ invention is directed to electrochromic devices; lines 11-37 of col. 5; an embodiment of Mullins discloses the electrically adjustable optical characteristic is responsive via a signal from a controller 910; Excerpt 1 from col. 20 above);
at least one track (955) defining a translating path of the translatable pane (longer dashed arrow above the assembly in figure 9E);
a conductor (952) including a collectable conductive wire coated with external insulation (952 is disclosed as a ribbon cable which is known in the art to have a collectable conductive wire coated with external insulation; also see source above discussing the insulation in ribbon cables), the collectable conductive wire electrically coupled to the [translatable] pane to transmit at least one of the at least one signal or power to the [translatable] pane (Excerpt 1 and Excerpt 2 from col. 22 above).
Mullins fails to disclose a first spool, wherein a first portion of the collectable conductive wire is wound around the first spool.
(However, Kim teaches) A slidable pane system (Kim figures 3A-3B), comprising:
a first spool (11a), wherein a first portion (portion of the wire that is wound around the spool 11a) of a collectable wire (42) is wound around the first spool (Kim figure 3A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the pane system of Mullins with the spool of Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the predictable and expected benefits of preventing slacking of the conductive wire therefore protecting it from getting caught or entangling which can cause serious damage to the system.
Claim 25
(Mullins, as modified above, discloses) The translatable pane system of claim 24.
Modified Mullins fails to disclose wherein the first spool is positioned within a housing storing at least a part of the collectable conductive wire within the housing.
(However, Kim teaches) wherein a first spool (11a; Kim figures 1-3A) is positioned within a housing (F; best seen in Kim figure 2) storing at least a part of a collectable wire (42) within the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the system of modified Mullins with the housing of Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the predictable and expected benefits of protecting and covering the conductive parts which also prevents electrocuting passengers or users.
Claim 26
(Mullins, as modified above, discloses) The translatable pane system of claims 25, wherein the housing is disposed spaced away from the translatable pane (this is taught in light of the combination above; also see the slidable pane of Kim in Kim figures 1-3A).
Claim 29
(Mullins, as modified above, discloses) The translatable pane system of claim 24, wherein the optical characteristic includes at least one of a transparency or color of the [translatable] pane (disclosed in at least lines 20-25 of col. 5 and lines 38-67 of col. 5 to lines 1-2 of col. 6; also see figure 1).
Claim 31
(Mullins, as modified above, discloses) The translatable pane system of claim 24, wherein the first spool is biased (Partial Annotated figure 3A above; note that “biased” was interpreted as an adjective --slanting obliquely; diagonal--) to wind extra portions of the collectable conductive wire around the first spool during a sliding movement of the translatable pane along the translating path (Partial Annotated figure 3A above).
Claims 22 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullins in view of Kim, as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 16, 21, 24-26, 29, and 31 above, in further view of Kletzli et al. (US 11533903) (hereinafter “Kletzli”).
Claim 22
(Mullins, as modified above, discloses) The slidable pane system of claim 1.
Modified Mullins fails to disclose wherein the collectable conductive wire comprises a self-retractive collectable conductive wire configured to promote winding of extra portions of the collectable conductive wire around the first spool during a sliding movement of the slidable pane along the sliding path.
(However, Kletzli teaches) wherein a collectable wire (cable discussed on lines 21-25 of col. 3) comprises a self-retractive collectable wire (via clock spring; lines 21-25 of col. 3) configured to promote winding of extra portions of the collectable wire around a first spool (inner spool discussed on lines 21-25 of col. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the conductive wire and first spool of modified Mullins with the clock spring to provide self-retracting feature to the wire as taught by Kletzli, with a reasonable expectation of success, for automatic winding of the wire therefore preventing slack and protecting the wire from getting damaged.
Claim 32
(Mullins, as modified above, discloses) The translatable pane system of claim 24.
Modified Mullins fails to disclose wherein the collectable conductive wire comprises a self-retractive collectable conductive wire configured to promote winding of extra portions of the collectable conductive wire around the first spool during a translating movement of the translatable pane along the translating path.
(However, Kletzli teaches) wherein a collectable wire (cable discussed on lines 21-25 of col. 3) comprises a self-retractive collectable wire (via clock spring; lines 21-25 of col. 3) configured to promote winding of extra portions of the collectable wire around a first spool (inner spool discussed on lines 21-25 of col. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the conductive wire and first spool of modified Mullins with the clock spring to provide self-retracting feature to the wire as taught by Kletzli, with a reasonable expectation of success, for automatic winding of the wire therefore preventing slack and protecting the wire from getting damaged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments directed to the specification objection was considered and the objection was withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that “Mullins fails to disclose "a first spool in the housing to wind the collectable conductive wire around the first spool in the housing." (Non-Final Office action, August 12, 2025, pg. 6). Therefore, at least for this reason, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the corresponding rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as being anticipated by Mullins” (page 2 of the Remarks section), however providing a spool to a slidable pane system that uses a flexible wire is well-known in the art as taught by Kim. Additionally, examiner notes that Mullins discloses a flexible wire to actuate the movement of the slidable pane and one of the ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to provide a drum or spool to store additional length of the flexible wire similarly taught by Kim above.
Applicant’s directed to Park et al. (KR 20170012956) are moot as Park was not relied upon in this rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634