DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of claims 12, 14 are supported by the specification.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 10/2/2026. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12 includes an adhesion promoter, however, it is not included in the claimed process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14, 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitade (JP2010121108) in view of Hosokawa et al (JPH04202545).
In setting forth this rejection a machine translation of JPH04202545 has been relied upon and all citations to paragraph numbers in the discussion below are with respect to the machine translation.
Claims 12-13, 17-19, 22, 24: Kitade teaches a process for making a composite, the composite comprising 70wt% of a propylene homopolymer with MFR of 100g/10min, 10 wt% of PET fiber with a melting temperature of 264°C and 20wt% of short glass fiber [example 4, 0063, 0057]. The short glass fiber is provided in chopped form that is blended with the propylene homopolymer [0063]. A maleic anhydride modified polyolefin can be used in an amount of 1wt% or less [0049-0050], which overlaps the claimed range.
The process comprising melt blending glass fiber and PP, forming PET long fiber reinforced PP using pultrusion molding method, blending the glass fiber reinforced PP with PET fiber reinforced PP, injection molding the blend [0063, 0057, 0018, 0053].
Kitade does not teach a maleic anhydride modified polypropylene like claimed.
However, Hosokawa discloses a similar composition and teaches the adhesion promoter can be maleic anhydride modified PP. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize maleic anhydride modified PP in the composition of Kitade.
Claim 14: it is noted that the claim does not distinguish impregnating and coating, and impregnating reads on coating. Therefore, forming PET long fiber reinforced PP using pultrusion molding method reads on the claim limitation.
Claim 20-21: short glass fiber has a diameter of 17um and comprises a sizing agent [0057].
Claim 23: the PET fiber has a length of 8mm and diameter of 25um.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is noted that the content corresponding to the page and line numbers for the specification mentioned in the Remarks filed on 10/2/2026 are all incorrect.
In response to applicant's argument that impregnation and coating are two steps, it is noted that the specification discloses impregnating is preferably carried out before coating. However, the specification does not define nor distinguish these two steps. Therefore one reads on another and one reads on both.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763