DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 26 January 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 16-20 are newly added. Applicant's amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 27 August 2025; however, upon further consideration new rejections are set forth as explained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "each lower linear cutout" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the extent of cam plate visibility" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2011/0248102).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a sprinkler apparatus (fig. 5) comprising:
a frame (51/53);
a generally tubular shaped housing (10/30, which is a hollow pipe, see par. 32, 33 and fig. 1) rotatably attached to the frame (fig. 5);
a nozzle strip (40) positioned inside the tubular shaped housing (fig. 1), the nozzle strip comprising a plurality of flexible nozzles (41, see par. 37 - “The two adjustment pieces 20 swing respectively around the pivot hole 21 that is used as a static pivot so as to move the plurality of nozzle tubes 41 at different angle synchronously”, which inherently requires the nozzles to be flexible), the flexible nozzles normally positioned in upward direction (figs. 1, 2);
a cam plate (20) positioned inside the housing (fig. 1), the cam plate comprising a plurality of cam slots (22) configured to engage with and thereby adjust the position of at least some of the plurality of flexible nozzles upon rotation of the cam plate within the housing (par. 37); and
a gauge window (33) formed in the housing (fig. 2), wherein the gauge window is configured to expose a portion of the cam plate (fig. 2) such that movement of the cam plate is visibly discernible so as to designate an extent of angular displacement of the flexible nozzles based on a position of the cam plate viewable through the gauge window (fig. 2),
and the gauge window comprises a plurality of vertically stacked linear cutouts (see annotated figure; further it is noted that the term “cutout” is construed to mean “something cut out or off from something else”, and there is a gap “something cut out” between each of these lines).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 1 and further wherein the gauge window is tapered or triangular shaped (fig. 2 - the inner side of the window 33 is shorter than the outer side such that the space tapers in the direction from the outside to the inside).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 2 and further wherein the gauge window is narrowest at an upper end of the gauge window and widest at a lower end of the gauge window (fig. 2 - window 33 is widest at the end closer to the reference numeral 30 and narrower the opposite end).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 1 and further wherein an upper end of the gauge window extends higher than a lower end of said cam slots during rotation of the cam plate (fig. 4 - window 33 is entirely above cam slots 23 at all times).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 4 and further wherein at least an upper end of the gauge window is located entirely between adjacent cam slots such that the cam slots do not extend behind the gauge window during rotation of the cam plate (see annotated figures below).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 1 and further wherein the plurality of vertically stacked linear cutouts comprise a plurality of vertically adjacent slits, each slit being an elongated, substantially straight-edged opening having a width less than its length (see annotated figure - which are slits formed into the top surface of 30, see also fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 6 and further wherein the gauge window comprises 3 to 12 adjacent slits (see annotated figure).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 1 and further wherein the cam plate comprises an adjustment tab (23), whereby the rotational position of the cam plate can be adjusted in opposite rotational directions by applying a downward force on the adjustment tab (par. 37).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 1 and further wherein the cam plate comprises a first cam plate and a second cam plate (fig. 1), and the first cam plate is rotatable independent from the second cam plate (fig. 1), the gauge window comprises a first gauge window and a second gauge window (fig. 1), the first gauge window is configured to expose a portion of the first cam plate such as to designate an extent of angular displacement of the flexible nozzles based on a position of the first cam plate viewable through the first gauge window, and the second gauge window is configured to expose a portion of the second cam plate such as to designate an extent of angular displacement of the flexible nozzles based on a position of the second cam plate viewable through the second gauge window (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 10 and further wherein the nozzle strip comprises a first set of nozzles and a second set of nozzles (fig. 1), the first cam plate is arranged to adjust the position of the first set of nozzles, the second cam plate is arranged to adjust the position of the second set of nozzles (par. 37; fig. 1), and the first cam plate is arranged adjacent to the second cam plate in a longitudinal direction of the sprinkler (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 1 and further wherein the gauge window is configured such that the cam slot adjacent to the gauge window does not extend within the gauge window at any position of the rotational movement of the cam plate (see annotated figure).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 1 and further wherein an upper portion of the gauge window is configured to be narrower than a distance between cam slots positioned adjacent to the gauge window, and is further configured to extend between the adjacent cam slots when the cam plate is fully extended across the gauge window (see annotated figure and figs. 1, 4 - the upper most right corner of the window 33 is arranged between the far left cam slot and the next slot to the right).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 11 and further wherein the first cam plate comprises a first adjustment tab (23), whereby the rotational position of the first cam plate can be adjusted in opposite rotational directions by applying a downward force on the first adjustment tab (par. 37), and the second cam plate comprises a second adjustment tab (other 23), whereby the rotational position of the second cam plate can be adjusted in opposite rotational directions by applying a downward force on the second adjustment tab (par. 37).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 1 and further wherein the housing comprises a cover portion (30), the cover portion comprising a plurality of openings (31, see fig. 1), the cam plate is an elongated curved plate (fig. 1) comprising an adjustment element (23), and the cam plate is configured to pivot or tilt in a circumferential direction relative to the cover portion (par. 37), the cover portion being fixed to the housing (par. 36; figs. 2, 4), and a first nozzle (any of 41) of the plurality of flexible nozzles extends outside the sprinkler apparatus via a first cam slot (a corresponding slot 22) of the plurality of cam slots and a first opening (a corresponding opening 31) of the plurality of openings on the cover (figs. 2, 4).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 1 and further wherein a visible area of the cam plate exposed through the plurality of vertically stacked linear cutouts increases monotonically with increasing angular displacement of the cam plate.
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 1 and further wherein the plurality of vertically stacked linear cutouts are oriented and dimensioned to be simultaneously viewable from a lateral viewing direction relative to a longitudinal axis of the tubular housing (fig. 5 – the linear cutouts protrude outwardly and upwardly from the frame of the sprinkler which configures them to be viewable from a direction on the same level with the longitudinal axis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Wang discloses the sprinkler apparatus described regarding claim 6, and further wherein the wherein the gauge window comprises 10 adjacent slits. Wang does not disclose that the gauge window comprises 4 to 8 adjacent slits.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the oscillating sprinkler system of Wang to reduce the number of slits to comprise 4 to 8, instead of 10, if it is desired to show fewer gradations between the endpoints of the positions. Further, such a modification would reduce the number of slits that need to be manufactured and thereby ease manufacture of the sprinkler system.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,853. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the recited limitations as set forth in claims 1-15 of the instant application are obvious over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,853 in view of Wang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the interpretation of Wang being used in the current rejection. Therefore, Wang is interpreted to teach “a plurality of vertically stacked linear cutouts” of amended claim 1, as explained in the rejection above.
Further regarding claim 1, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that Claim 1 “requires a window architecture that reveals only a portion of the cam plate through the vertically stacked cutouts”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752