Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments. The previous rejections are maintained. The rejections have been updated to better address the amendments and are made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puzio (US 2017/0284078) in view of Kollman (US 3,075,217).
Regarding claim 1 Puzio discloses a drain cleaner comprising:
a housing (Item 111); at least a portion of the housing comprising an inner wall (Item 131 or 113a) and an outer wall (Item 111a/b)
a rotatable drum (Item 113) disposed in the housing, the rotatable drum having a rotational axis about which the drum rotates;
a drain cleaning cable (Item 140) at least partially disposed in the rotatable drum;
a light assembly (Figure 12b/d Item 360) disposed in the housing, the light assembly being disposed above the rotational axis of the rotatable drum;
a control module (Paragraph 49)
Puzio fails to explicitly disclose a control module; a power wiring assembly that extends from the control module to the light assembly; and a plurality of support ribs that extend between the inner wall and the outer wall, each support rib having a recess formed therein through which the power wiring assembly extends.
Kollman teaches a cleaner wherein a power wiring assembly that extends from the control module to the rest of the cleaner; and a plurality of support ribs that extend between the inner wall and the outer wall, each support rib having a recess formed therein through which the power wiring assembly extends (Annotated Figure 2 shows the wiring assembly and a plurality of ribs that the wires pas through). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Puzio with the power wiring being diverted through channels as taught by Kollman. The path and manner in which the wiring is diverted is viewed as a design choice. The design of the housing would want to be attractive to the user as well as house the primary components such as the size of the motor, length of the cable and size of the drum. The wiring should be done to be free of liquid, debris and all moving parts. Kollman gives an example of this. But the path in which the wiring is routed does not affect the performance of the tool.
Regarding claim 2 Puzio in view of Kollman disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 1 comprising a rechargeable battery (Puzio Item 124 Paragraph 49).
Regarding claim 6 Puzio in view of Kollman disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 1 wherein the light assembly is configured to direct light toward the rotational axis (Puzio Figure 12b).
Regarding claim 9 Puzio in view of Kollman disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 1 wherein the housing has a forward housing segment (Puzio Item 131) and a rear housing segment (Item 111a/b), the forward housing segment being removably connected to the rear housing segment (figure 1c).
Regarding claim 14 Puzio in view of Kollman disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 1 comprising: a drive assembly for rotating the drum, the drive assembly comprising a motor (Puzio Item 120) disposed in the housing; and a switch (Item 128) that powers the drive assembly upon actuation of the switch by an operator, the drain cleaner being configured to power the light assembly during actuation of the switch (Paragraph 74).
Regarding claim 16 Puzio discloses a drain cleaner comprising:
a housing (Item 111 and 131), wherein at least a portion of the housing comprises an inner wall and an outer wall;
a rotatable drum (Item 113) disposed in the housing, the rotatable drum having a rotational axis about which the drum rotates;
a drain cleaning cable (Item 140) at least partially disposed in the rotatable drum;
a light assembly disposed in the housing ; and
Puzio fails to explicitly disclose a power wiring assembly for powering the light assembly, the power wiring assembly being at least partially disposed between the inner wall and outer wall of the housing such that the power wiring assembly extends parallel to the inner wall and outer wall..
Kollman teaches a drain cleaner wherein a power wiring assembly (Item 77 and 78) for powering the light assembly, the power wiring assembly being at least partially disposed between the inner wall and outer wall of the housing such that the power wiring assembly extends parallel to the inner wall and outer wall. (best shown in Figure 2 shows the wiring between inner and outer walls). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Puzio with the power wiring being diverted through the housing as taught by Kollman. The path and manner in which the wiring is diverted is viewed as a design choice. The design of the housing would want to be attractive to the user as well as house the primary components such as the size of the motor, length of the cable and size of the drum. The wiring should be done to be free of liquid, debris and all moving parts. Kollman gives an example of this. But the path in which the wiring is routed does not affect the performance of the tool.
Annotated Figure 2 - Puzio
Regarding claim 17 Puzio in view of Kollman disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 16 comprising a rechargeable battery (Puzio Paragraph 75).
Regarding claim 18 Puzio in view of Kollman disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 16 comprising a plurality of support ribs that extend between the inner wall and the outer wall, each rib having a recess formed therein through which the power cable extends (Kollman Annotated Figure 2, below).
Regarding claim 19 Puzio in view of Kollman disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 16 comprising a nose (Puzio Item 130) that extends from the housing, the drain cleaning cable extending through the nose, the light assembly being configured to direct light toward the nose (Puzio Figure 12b).
Claims 7, 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puzio (US 2017/0284078) in view of Lawerence (US 5,207,498).
Regarding claim 7 Puzio discloses the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 6. Puzio fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light assembly comprises: a light source; and a light pipe that directs light from the light source toward the rotation axis.
Lawerence teaches a cleaning tool wherein a light source (Item 24); and a light pipe (Item 40) that directs light from the light source toward the rotation axis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Puzio to use the light pipe of Lawerence. Light pipes are known to use prismatic effects to better reflect light than traditional mirrored surfaces (Column 8 Lines15-29).
Regarding claim 8 Puzio in view of Lawerence disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 7 wherein the light pipe has a light pipe axis, the light pipe axis being angled relative to the rotational axis (Lawerence Column 8 Lines 15-29; Puzio Figure 12b).
Regarding claim 10 (as best understood) Puzio discloses the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 1 . Puzio fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light assembly comprises: a light source disposed in a rear housing segment; and a light pipe that directs light from the light source toward the rotation axis, the light pipe being at least partially disposed in a forward housing segment.
Lawerence teaches a cleaning tool wherein a light source disposed in a rear housing segment; and a light pipe that directs light from the light source toward the rotation axis, the light pipe being at least partially disposed in a forward housing segment (Item 40 is located on a front segment of the housing, while Item 24 is located on a rear segment). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Puzio to use the light pipe of Lawerence. Light pipes are known to use prismatic effects to better reflect light than traditional mirrored surfaces (Column 8 Lines15-29).
Regarding claim 11 Puzio in view of Lawerence disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 10 wherein light pipe is removable from the light source (Lawerence Column 6 Line 67- Column 7 Line 15).
Regarding claim 12 Puzio in view of Lawerence disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 11 comprising a nose assembly (Puzio Item 130), the nose assembly being removably connected to the rotatable drum (Paragraph 105), the nose assembly comprising: a grip (134); and a guide tube that is rotatable with the drum (Item 132).
Regarding claim 13 Puzio in view of Lawerence disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 12 wherein the guide tube is at least partially disposed in the grip (Puzio Figure 2b).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puzio (US 2017/0284078) in view of Oomori (US 7,185,998).
Regarding claim 15 Puzio discloses the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 14. Puzio fails to explicitly disclose wherein the drain cleaner is configured to power the light assembly for a time period after the switch ceases to be actuated by the operator.
Oomori teaches an illuminating tool wherein the tool is configured to power the light assembly for a time period after the switch ceases to be actuated by the operator (Column 11 Lines 1-14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Puzio to automictically turn off the light after a predetermined amount of time as taught by Oomori. Such a modification would help prevent depletion of the batter (Oomori Column 5 lines 47-61).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puzio (US 2017/0284078) in view of Kollman (US 3,075,217) in view of Oomori (US 7,185,998).
Regarding claim 20 Puzio in view of Kollman disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 16 comprising: a drive assembly for rotating the drum, the drive assembly comprising a motor (Puzio Item 120) disposed in the housing; a switch (Item 128) that powers the drive assembly upon actuation of the switch by an operator, the drain cleaner being configured to power the light assembly during actuation of the switch (Paragraph 74) .
Puzio fails to explicitly disclose powering the light assembly for a time period after the switch ceases to be actuated by the operator.
Oomori teaches an illuminating tool wherein the tool is configured to power the light assembly for a time period after the switch ceases to be actuated by the operator (Column 11 Lines 1-14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Puzio to automictically turn off the light after a predetermined amount of time as taught by Oomori. Such a modification would help prevent depletion of the batter (Oomori Column 5 lines 47-61).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puzio (US 2017/0284078) in view of Kollman (US 3,075,217) in view of Cole (US 2021/0172162)
Regarding claim 21 Puzio in view of Kollman disclose the drain cleaner as set forth in claim 1 wherein the control module comprises a printed circuit board having a controller (Paragraph 86). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Puzio to include a Printed circuit board as taught by Cole. Printed circuit boards are commonly used in motor control because they are cheap to manufacture and help with power conversion and motor speed control so that the system operates properly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Kollman does not disclose a plurality of ribs that extend between the inner and outer wall of the housing. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown above, the Examiner has tried to express their viewpoint better. The inner wall and outer wall are viewed broadly as any inner wall and outer wall. The ribs are viewed as any support wall that connects to an outer wall or inner wall and extends in a direction towards an outer wall or inner wall. The Examiner does not believe the claim requires the rib to connect the inner wall to the outer wall. As such the rejection of Puzio in view of Kollman is viewed as proper. To advance prosecution, if Applicant intends for the inner wall and the outer wall to be connected by support ribs and the wiring to pass through therein, please see US2004/0006842A1 as an example of how plastic injection molding commonly uses ribs to reinforce a wall and how an electrical wire can pass there through.
Regarding claim 16, Applicant argues Kollman does not disclose the wiring passing through parallel in at least a portion of the assembly. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as discussed above. Further, the Examiner wants to reiterate that Kollman is merely an example of how wiring can look. One skilled in the art would fully understand that wiring would have parallel and perpendicular segments to best fit around motors and other plastic assemblies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723