Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0002] should be amended to provide the most current status (e.g. US Patent Number) for the related application(s).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Askew et al (2009/0192505).
Regarding claim 1, Askew et al provide a method of reducing mucous production in an airway of a patient comprising advancing a flexible endoscope (10) through an airway passage (Figure 1A, for example), inserting a flexible cryospray catheter (20) through a working channel of the endoscope (Figure 1B, for example), supplying a cryospray through the catheter to target tissue (Figure 2B, for example) wherein the target tissue comprises goblet cells (para. [0230], for example).
Regarding claim 3, see again paragraph [0230]. Regarding claim 4, the device is advanced to a pre-identified region to treat targeted tissue. Regarding claims 5 and 6, the targeted region includes the bronchi and principal bronchi (see Figures and para. [0122], for example). Regarding claim 7, the catheter may be moved to treat an array of tissue (para. [0153], for example).
Regarding claim 8, Askew et al again disclose a method of reducing mucous production in an airway comprising the steps of advancing a flexible endoscope (10) through a trachea (Figure 1A) and advancing a flexible cryospray catheter (20) through a channel of the endoscope (Figure 1B). The catheter has at least one radial aperture (Figure 2b) and cryogen is provided through the aperture to treat mucosal tissue (para. [0230-0231], for example). Regarding claims 10-14, see above discussion of claims 3-7.
Regarding claim 15, Askew et al disclose a method of reducing over-proliferating goblet cells in an airway (para. [0230-0231], for example) comprising advancing a flexible endoscope (10) through an airway passage and inserting a flexible catheter (20) through the endoscope to treat target tissue as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 8 above. Tissue is remodeled to reduce a goblet cell count as discussed at paragraphs [0230-0231].
Regarding claims 17-20, see again the discussion of claims 4-7 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Askew et al (‘505) in view of the teaching of Wittenberger (2012/0035601).
The Askew et al device and method has been addressed previously. Askew et al fail to expressly disclose the step of providing a pre-determined, metered cryospray to tissue. The examiner maintains that any amount provided by the Askew et al device may be considered a “predetermined” amount. However, to further show that it is generally known to meter the amount of cryogen delivered to tissue, attention is directed to the Wittenberger system which specifically teaches that it is known to provide a predetermined volume of cryogen to a treatment site to elicit a specific result. See, for example, paragraph [0057] of Wittenberger.
To have provided the Askew et al device with means to provide a predetermined metered dose of cryospray to treat tissue would have been an obvious consideration for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since Wittenberger fairly teaches it is known to use predetermined doses of cryogen to treat tissue.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,709. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘709 anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mulcahey et al (9,867,648) and Krimsky (2010/0057065) disclose other endoscopic devices to treat airway tissue with cryogen energy.
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/M.F.P/January 18, 2026