DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the web and the openings have a widths (BE,BS).”
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the width (BE)" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what the width (BE) refers to. Examiner suggests amending to the width of the opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Atwell (US 2021/0259756).
Regarding claim 1, Atwell teaches a plasma instrument for influencing biological tissue (10), comprising: a longitudinal body configured as a hose or a tube comprising a distal end and a proximal end (12 tube having a distal and proximal end as in at least par. [0028]), a lumen extending along a longitudinal direction from the distal end to the proximal end (lumen 18), and configured to be connected to a gas source (par. [0043]), a head connected to the distal end (20), and the head comprising two openings connected to the lumen such that the two openings separated from one another by a web (openings 54 separated by 26), which has a cross-section tapering outwardly in a radial direction (as in at least Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Atwell teaches comprising an electrode arranged in the longitudinal body or the head (32), and the electrode is configured to be connected to an electrosurgical generator by an electrical conductor extending toward the proximal end (electrode connects to wire 62 as in at least par. [0042] to provide current).
Regarding claim 3, Atwell teaches an electrode has a diameter (diameter of 32) and the web has a width (26 with a width as in Fig. 1) at a side facing the electrode, wherein the width is smaller than the diameter of the electrode (width of 26 at one section of four is smaller than the diameter of electrode 32).
Regarding claim 4, Atwell teaches wherein the electrode has a circular cross section (Fig. 3, cross section of 32 is circular).
Regarding claim 5, Atwell teaches wherein the web has a planar, convex, or concave shape at a side facing the electrode (web 26 with planar shape facing 32).
Regarding claim 6, Atwell teaches wherein the cross-section of the web is trapezoid-shaped or triangular (triangular cross sections as in at least Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Atwell teaches wherein the cross-section of the web comprises rounded corners (at least Fig. 4 with some corners rounded).
Regarding claim 8, Atwell teaches wherein the web and the openings have a widths (webs and openings have given widths), respectively, in a circumferential direction that is orientated orthogonal to the longitudinal direction as well as to the radial direction (at least Figs. 1-4), wherein the width is larger than the width of the web (opening 22 have widths that are larger than the widths of webs 26 close to the radial center).
Regarding claim 9, Atwell teaches that the head is seamlessly monolithically formed from a temperature-resistant material (par. [0029], [0030] proximal portion 26 of tip 20 made of ceramic).
Regarding claim 10, Atwell teaches wherein the openings formed in the head form a perimeter extending around the entire head (openings 54 around the entire perimeter).
Regarding claim 11, Atwell teaches wherein the web is orientated obliquely to the longitudinal
direction (web 26 oriented obliquely to the longitudinal direction as in at least Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Atwell teaches comprising multiple webs arranged between the openings, which are inclined in circumferential direction (webs as 26) with alternating sense of direction (webs in four quadrants of different direction about a center as in at least Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Atwell teaches wherein the openings are configured in a manner tapering in longitudinal direction (tapering as in at least Fig. 2) with alternating sense of direction (openings in four quadrants of different direction about a center as in at least Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Atwell teaches wherein the openings are configured such that a portion of one opening overlaps with a portion of an adjacent opening in circumferential direction and in longitudinal direction (openings overlapping in the center as in at least Fig. 4 in a circumferential and longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 15, Atwell teaches that the openings are trapezoid- or triangular-shaped with rounded corners (openings 22 between 26 as in Fig. 2 rounded as 26 is rounded).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Williams (US 2013/0090644) teaches a probe system with an electrode. Panescu (US 2016/0278856) teaches triangular openings as a known opening shape for flowing gas for plasma.
/BO OUYANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794