Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the annular cavity terminating forward of the second fuel supply (Claim 1 and 17. Figure 17 shows 730 extending past the leftmost side of 734) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-5,7-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 17 recite “the annular cavity terminating forward of the first fuel supply and the second fuel supply” which renders the claim indefinite because Figure 17 of the instant application shows 730 extending past the leftmost side of 734, so that the annular cavity does not terminate forward of the second fuel supply, so that this claim limitation is considered indefinite.
Claims dependent thereon are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 11-13, 16-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boardman et al (US 11454396 as referenced in OA dated 3/3/2025) in view of Naik et al (US 20230003385 as referenced in OA dated 7/28/2025).
Annotated Figure 17 of Naik
Annotated Figure 3 of Boardman
Regarding claim 1, Boardman discloses a fuel injector (Figure 3; 180) for a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10) comprising a compressor section (Figure 1; 24), combustion section (Figure 1; 16), and turbine section (Figure 1; 18), in serial flow arrangement, the fuel injector comprising:
a first annular structure (The tube forming Figure 3; 210B) defining a central passage (The passage through Figure 3; 210B) and a longitudinal axis (The central axis of Figure 3; 210B);
a second structure (The portion of Figure 2; 175 not including the first annular structure) in arrangement about the first annular structure and defining an outer passage (Figure 3; 210A and 210C and the other instances of 210 in Figure 2) in annular arrangement between the first annular structure and the second structure, the outer passage being bounded radially inward by the first annular structure and bounded radially outward by the second structure, the second structure having an exterior surface (The exterior surface of Figure 2; 175) that extends about the first annular structure;
a first fuel supply (Figure 3; 224 supplying fuel to 210B and 270 surrounding 210B) formed in the first annular structure including a first set of fuel supply passages (Figure 3; 224 supplying fuel to 210B) opening into and in annular arrangement about the central passage;
a second fuel supply (Figure 3; 224 supplying fuel to 210A and 270 surrounding 210A. At least a portion of this 270 is in the first annular structure) formed in the first annular structure including a second set of fuel supply passages (Figure 3; 224 supplying fuel to 210A) opening into and in annular arrangement about the outer passage;
a first air supply (The top rows of Figure 3; 230B, 230A. At least portions of these rows are in the first annular structure) formed in the first annular structure including a first set of air supply passages (The air supply passages forming the top row of Figure 3; 230B) opening into and in annular arrangement about the central passage and a second set of air supply passages (The air supply passages forming the top row of Figure 3; 230A) in annular arrangement about the first annular structure and opening into the outer passage; and
a second air supply (The top row of Figure 3; 230C. At least a portion of this row is in the second structure) formed in the second structure and comprising a third set of air supply passages (The air supply passages forming the top row of Figure 3; 230C) opening into and in annular arrangement about the outer passage; and
an annular cavity (Annotated Figure 3; labeled annular cavity, The annular cavity surrounds 200B) in the first annular structure, the annular cavity terminating forward of the first fuel supply and the second fuel supply (The annular cavity terminates forward of the first and second fuel supply).
Boardman does not disclose a second annular structure in annular arrangement about the first annular structure and defining an outer passage in annular arrangement between the first annular structure and the second annular structure, the outer passage being bounded radially inward by the first annular structure and bounded radially outward by the second annular structure, the second annular structure having an annular exterior surface that extends about the first annular structure.
However, Naik teaches a second annular structure (Annotated Figure 17; labeled second annular structure) in annular arrangement about a first annular structure (Figure 17; 204) and defining an outer passage (The passage through Figure 17; 214) in annular arrangement between the first annular structure and the second annular structure, the outer passage being bounded radially inward by the first annular structure and bounded radially outward by the second annular structure, the second annular structure having an annular exterior surface (The exterior surface of Annotated Figure 17; labeled second annular structure) that extends about the first annular structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Boardman to include a second annular structure in annular arrangement about the first annular structure and defining an outer passage in annular arrangement between the first annular structure and the second annular structure, the outer passage being bounded radially inward by the first annular structure and bounded radially outward by the second annular structure, the second annular structure having an annular exterior surface that extends about the first annular structure as taught by and suggested by Naik because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Naik’s use of an annular structure according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Boardman’s fuel injector, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case forming a fuel injector with a second annular structure, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification changes the arrangement of Figure 2; 180 of Boardman to Figure 17 of Naik).
Regarding claim 3, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses a third fuel supply (Figure 3; 224 supplying fuel to 210C and 270 surrounding 210C. At least a portion of this 270 is in the second structure) formed in the second structure (In the combined invention of Boardman in view of Naik, the second structure of Boardman is the second annular structure) including a third set of fuel supply passages (Figure 3; 224 supplying fuel to 210C) opening into and in annular arrangement about the outer passage.
Regarding claim 5, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses wherein the cavity is fluidly coupled to the first air supply.
Regarding claim 7, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses a first set of apertures (The apertures forming the bottom row of Figure 3; 230B) exhausting to the central passage through the first annular structure forward of the first set of air supply passages.
Regarding claim 8, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses an aft side (Figure 3; 250) extending among the first annular structure and the second structure (In the combined invention of Boardman in view of Naik, the second structure of Boardman is the second annular structure).
Regarding claim 9, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses wherein the aft side is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (The horizontal line of Figure 3; 250).
Regarding claim 11, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses wherein the outer passage is arranged as a set of segments (Figure 3; 210 between the first annular structure and the second structure) in annular arrangement.
Regarding claim 12, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses a set of bridges (The portions between Figure 3; 210 and between the first annular structure and the second structure) defined between adjacent segments (Adjacent Figure 3; 210 between the first annular structure and the second structure) of the set of segments, and wherein the set of bridges connect the first annular structure to the second structure (In the combined invention of Boardman in view of Naik, the second structure of Boardman is the second annular structure).
Regarding claim 13, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses a first set of turbulators (Figure 3; 280B) extending from the first annular structure into the central passage.
Regarding claim 16, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses wherein the first annular structure and the second structure (In the combined invention of Boardman in view of Naik, the second structure of Boardman is the second annular structure) terminate at an aft side (Figure 3; 250), wherein an outlet diameter (The outlet diameter defined hereafter. Annotated Figure 3; labeled outlet diameter) is defined as a length occupied by the central passage and the outer passage (The length occupied by the central and outer passage in a direction extending from and perpendicular to the longitudinal axis) in a direction extending from and perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, wherein a mixing length (The length form the first set of fuel supply passage to the aft side) is defined as the length from the first set of fuel supply passages to the aft side in a direction along the longitudinal axis, and wherein a ratio (The ratio of mixing length to the outlet diameter) of the mixing length to the outlet diameter is greater than zero and less than or equal to 200 (The ratio is between 0 and 200).
Regarding claim 17, Boardman discloses a fuel injector (Figure 3; 180) for a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10) comprising a compressor section (Figure 1; 24), combustion section (Figure 1; 16), and turbine section (Figure 1; 18), in serial flow arrangement, the fuel injector comprising:
a body (The body of Figure 3; 180) having an exterior surface (The exterior surface of Figure 3; 180);
a central passage (The passage through Figure 3; 210B) extending through the body and defining a longitudinal axis (The central axis of Figure 3; 210B);
at least one outer passage (Figure 3; 210A and 210C and the other instances of 210 which are not 210B) extending through the body in annular arrangement about the central passage, the at least one outer passage being bounded radially inward by the central passage and bounded radially outward by the exterior surface of the body;
a first fuel supply (Figure 3; 270 surrounding 210B) in annular arrangement in the body and including a first set of fuel supply passages (Figure 3; 224 supplying fuel to 210B) opening into and in annular arrangement about the central passage;
a second fuel supply (Figure 3; 270 surrounding 210A) in annular arrangement about the body and including a second set of fuel supply passages (Figure 3; 224 supplying fuel to 210A) opening into the at least one outer passage and in annular arrangement about the longitudinal axis;
a first air supply (The top rows of Figure 3; 230B, 230A) including a first set of air supply passages (The air supply passages forming the top row of Figure 3; 230B) opening into and in annular arrangement about the central passage and a second set of air supply passages (The air supply passages forming the top row of Figure 3; 230A) opening into and in annular arrangement interior of the at least one outer passage; and
a second air supply (The top row of Figure 3; 230C) comprising a third set of air supply passages (The air supply passages forming the top row of Figure 3; 230C) opening into and in annular arrangement about the at least one outer passage; and
an annular cavity (Annotated Figure 3; labeled annular cavity, The annular cavity surrounds 200B) in the body, the annular cavity terminating forward of the first fuel supply and the second fuel supply (The annular cavity terminates forward of the first and second fuel supply).
Boardman does not disclose a body having an annular exterior surface;
the at least one outer passage being bounded radially inward by the central passage and bounded radially outward by the annular exterior surface of the body.
However, Naik teaches a fuel injector (Figure 17; 216) for a gas turbine engine (Paragraph 0002), the fuel injector comprising:
a body (Annotated Figure 17; labeled second annular structure) having an annular exterior surface (The exterior surface of Annotated Figure 17; labeled second annular structure);
at least one outer passage (The passage through Figure 17; 214) being bounded radially inward by a central passage (The passage through Figure 17; 204) and bounded radially outward by the annular exterior surface of the body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Boardman wherein the body having an annular exterior surface; the at least one outer passage being bounded radially inward by the central passage and bounded radially outward by the annular exterior surface of the body as taught by and suggested by Naik because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Naik’s use of an annular structure according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Boardman’s fuel injector, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case forming a fuel injector with a second annular structure, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification changes the arrangement of Figure 2; 180 of Boardman to Figure 17 of Naik).
Regarding claim 18, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses wherein the at least one outer passage is provided as a set of outer passages (Figure 3; 210 between the first annular structure and the second structure) in annular arrangement about the central passage.
Regarding claim 20, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses a third fuel supply (Figure 3; 224 supplying fuel to 210C and 270 surrounding 210C) in annular arrangement about the body and including a third set of fuel supply passages (Figure 3; 224 supplying fuel to 210C) opening into the at least one outer passage and in annular arrangement about the longitudinal axis.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boardman in view of Naik as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Prociw et al (US 20140338337 as referenced in OA dated 3/3/2025)
Regarding claim 10, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses wherein a flow area is defined as a cross-sectional area for at least the central passage and the outer passage (The flow area being defined as the cross-sectional area of the central and outer passages defined perpendicular to the longitudinal axis) defined perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, wherein a bluff body area is defined as a cross-sectional area of the first annular structure and the second structure (The bluff body area being defined as the cross-sectional area of the first annular structure and the second structure. In the combined invention of Boardman in view of Naik, the second structure of Boardman is the second annular structure) defined perpendicular to the longitudinal axis along the aft side, and wherein a ratio of flow area to bluff body area (The ratio of flow area to bluff body area).
Boardman in view of Naik does not teach wherein a ratio of flow area to bluff body area is greater than or equal to 0.01 and less than or equal to 10.
However, Prociw teaches in Paragraph 0029 that blocked area and open flow area are each a results effective variable that controls the amount of fluid through the open flow area, so that the ratio of blocked area to open flow area is a results effective variable that controls the amount of fluid through the open flow area. A particular parameter is a result-effective variable when the variable is known to achieve a recognized result. See In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 620, 195 USPQ 6,8 (CCPA 1977). Therefore, an ordinary skilled worker would recognize that the ratio of blocked area to open flow area is a results effective variable that controls the amount of fluid through the open flow area. Thus, the claimed limitation of wherein a ratio of flow area to bluff body area is greater than or equal to 0.01 and less than or equal to 10 is found to be an obvious optimization of the prior art obtainable by an ordinary skilled worker through routine experimentation. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the fuel injector of Boardman to have the claimed range for the ratio, as it involves only adjusting a dimension of the open areas of Boardman disclosed to require adjustment.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”, In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The presence of a known result-effective variable would be a motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. See KSR; MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Boardman in view of Naik wherein a ratio of flow area to bluff body area is greater than or equal to 0.01 and less than or equal to 10 in order to optimize the amount of fluid through the flow area.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boardman in view of Naik as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boardman
Regarding claim 15, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses wherein a supply of fuel (The supply of fuel from the first and second fuel supply) provided from the first fuel supply and the second fuel supply and a supply of air (The supply of air from the first and second air supply) from the first air supply and the second air supply define a fuel to air ratio as a ratio of the supply of fuel to the supply of air (The ratio of the supply of fuel to the supply of air).
Boardman in view of Naik does not teach wherein the fuel to air ratio is greater than or equal to 0.005 and less than or equal to 0.060.
However, Boardman teaches in Column 3, lines 35-41 teaches that a ratio of the fuel to air (and as such the ratio of air to fuel) is a results-effective variable that controls emissions, fuel consumption, and/or power output. A particular parameter is a result-effective variable when the variable is known to achieve a recognized result. See In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 620, 195 USPQ 6,8 (CCPA 1977). Therefore, an ordinary skilled worker would recognize that the ratio of air to fuel is a results-effective variable that controls emissions, fuel consumption, and/or power output. Thus, the claimed limitation of wherein the fuel to air ratio is greater than or equal to 0.005 and less than or equal to 0.060 is found to be an obvious optimization of the prior art obtainable by an ordinary skilled worker through routine experimentation. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the fuel injector of Boardman to have the claimed range for the ratio, as it involves only adjusting an amount of the fuel and/or air of Boardman disclosed to require adjustment.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”, In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The presence of a known result-effective variable would be a motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. See KSR; MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Boardman in view of Naik wherein the fuel to air ratio is greater than or equal to 0.005 and less than or equal to 0.060 in order to optimize the amount of fluid through the flow area.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boardman I nview of Naik as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Akiyama et al (US 20180112604 as referenced in OA dated 3/3/2025).
Regarding claim 19, Boardman in view of Naik teaches the invention as claimed.
Boardman further discloses wherein the body further comprises an aft side (Figure 3; 250), and wherein the set of outer passages are oriented perpendicular to the aft side (The outer passage are oriented perpendicular to the horizontal line of Figure 3; 250).
Boardman in view of Naik does not teach wherein an aft side is an angled aft side, wherein a set of outer passages are oriented perpendicular to the angled aft side.
However, Akiyama teaches wherein an aft side (Annotated Figure 2; labeled aft side) is an angled aft side (The aft side is angled), wherein a set of outer passages (Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer passages) are oriented perpendicular to the angled aft side.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Boardman in view of Naik wherein an aft side is an angled aft side, wherein a set of outer passages are oriented perpendicular to the angled aft side as taught by and suggested by Akiyama in order to reduce the risk of overheating the burner (Paragraph 0025, the modification uses the shape of the aft side of Akiyama in Boardman with the outer passages perpendicular to the aft side).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Boardman in view of Naik does not disclose the amended features of claim 1 and 17. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown above in this OA, under the new interpretation of Boardman, Boardman discloses the amended features of claim 1 and 17.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741