DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This action is in response to the remarks filed 07/13/2026.
Claims 1-13 are pending and are under consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant has requested the double patenting rejection be held in abeyance, pending the finding of allowable subject matter. Therefore, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-7 and 9-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Independent claim 1 has been amended to further clarify the energy distribution mapping. Applicant argues that Wei or Wei in view of Wagner does not disclose the amended limitations. Examiner agrees. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made, as explained in the office action below.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-9, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-10, 12, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Rejection of claims 1-10, 12, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 101
Independent claim 1 has been amended to further clarify the energy distribution mapping. Applicant argues that the amended claims integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application by providing an improvement to neuromodulation targeting technology. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As recited, the claims require accessing subject-specific mapping data, determining target locations using a computer system, and generating target localization data. These limitations can be performed in the mind or using pen and paper or generic computing components. For example, planning, guiding, or monitoring delivery of neuromodulation in the context of this claim encompasses a user accessing subject-specific mapping data, determining target locations, and generating target localization data.
The step of accessing subject-specific mapping data is considered to be the pre-solution activity of data gathering by no more than routine means. The steps of determining target locations and generating target localization data are considered to be data analysis steps.
The additional element of the computer system is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components for processing data). Specifically, the additional element is generically recited computing elements that perform the steps of gathering, analyzing, and outputting data. Additionally, the computer system as recited in the specification is a generic computing system (e.g. par. [0057]: “computing device 950 and/or server 952 can be any suitable computing device or combination of devices”). Further, these components are being used to perform the extra-solution activity of data gathering and analysis (i.e. an insignificant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the rejection of claims 5-10, Applicant argues that these claims recite technological operations that are not mental steps. However, the limitations of claims 5-10 provide further data analysis steps, such as generating simulated electric field data (claim 5), generating cortical reconstructions using a finite element model (claims 6 and 7), thresholding the electric field (claim 8), determining optimal neuromodulation positions (claim 9), and projecting the simulated electric field data (claim 10). Additionally, as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C), claims that require a computer can still recite a mental process.
Regarding the rejection of claims 12 and 13, Applicant argues that these limitations further the practical application of guiding neuromodulation delivery. However, this is not persuasive. As recited, claims 12 and 13 do not require providing any neuromodulation – they simply output data that can be used in a treatment plan. Therefore, these are data output steps.
Therefore, the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a method for planning, guiding, or monitoring delivery of neuromodulation. To determine whether a claim satisfies the criteria for subject matter eligibility, the claim is evaluated according to a stepwise process as described in MPEP 2106(III) and 2106.03-2106.04. The instant claims are evaluated according to such analysis.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Claim 1 is directed towards a method, and thus meets the requirements for step 1.
Step 2A (Prong 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Claim 1 recites a method for planning, guiding, or monitoring delivery of neuromodulation, comprising accessing subject-specific mapping data, determining target locations using a computer system, and generating target localization data.
The limitation of planning, guiding, or monitoring delivery of neuromodulation, as drafted in claims 1-10, 12, and 13, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or using pen and paper. For example, planning, guiding, or monitoring delivery of neuromodulation in the context of this claim encompasses a user accessing subject-specific mapping data, determining target locations, and generating target localization data.
Step 2A (Prong 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
As claimed and understood, the crux of the invention is the data analysis performed in order to generate the target localization data. The step of accessing subject-specific mapping data is considered to be the pre-solution activity of data gathering by no more than routine means. The steps of determining target locations and generating target localization data are considered to be data analysis steps.
The additional element of the computer system is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components for processing data). Specifically, the additional element is generically recited computing elements that perform the steps of gathering, analyzing, and outputting data. Additionally, the computer system as recited in the specification is a generic computing system (e.g. par. [0057]: “computing device 950 and/or server 952 can be any suitable computing device or combination of devices”).
Accordingly, these additional elements do no integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
The additional elements when considered individually and in combination is not enough to qualify as significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a computer system amounts to no more than generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. Furthermore, the additional elements do not amount to more than generically linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2-10, 12, and 13 depend on claim 1 and recite the same abstract idea as claim 1 from which they depend. Further, these claims only contain recitations that further limit the abstract idea (that is, the claims only recite limitations that further limit the mental process). For example, the additional limitations recited in claims 2-4 (i.e. further describing the data that is used) are further data gathering steps. The additional limitations recited in claims 5-10 (i.e. further describing the analysis performed) are further data analysis steps. The additional elements of claims 12 and 13 (i.e. outputting the data) are data output steps. The additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception explained above (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as a whole adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves any technology or includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provides a conventional computer implementation, i.e. the computer (processor) is simply a tool to perform the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0260831 – of record), hereinafter Wei, further in view of Tyler et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0174418), hereinafter Tyler.
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses a method for planning, guiding, or monitoring a delivery of neuromodulation to a subject’s brain (e.g. Abstract), the method comprising: (a) accessing subject-specific data with a computer system (e.g. Par. [0084]; Fig. 2: step 201); (b) determining one or more target locations in the subject-specific data using the computer system, wherein the one or more target locations indicate locations to which neuromodulation should be delivered (e.g. Par. [0131]; Fig. 2: step 202, Figs. 3, 4); and (c) generating target localization data by localizing the one or more target locations relative to the brain of the subject, thereby planning, guiding, or monitoring delivery of the neuromodulation to the one or more target locations (e.g. Pars. [0135]; Pars. [0141]-[0144]: determining locations; Pars. [0146]-[0147]; Fig. 2: step 204).
However, Wei fails to specifically disclose wherein the data is energy distribution mapping data, wherein the subject-specific energy distribution mapping data is indicative of a distribution of energy delivered by the neuromodulation across the subject's brain. Tyler, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards neuromodulation. Tyler discloses using energy distribution mapping data, wherein the subject-specific energy distribution mapping data is indicative of a distribution of energy delivered by the neuromodulation across the subject's brain (e.g. Par. [0146]: a map of the energy distribution is provided; Figs. 5b, c, 6b, c: mapping of the electric field).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wei to include the energy distribution mapping as taught by Tyler because doing so would allow improved specificity of the desired neuromodulation (e.g. Tyler, par. [0147]).
Regarding claim 2, Wei further discloses accessing image data acquired from the subject and generating the subject-specific energy distribution mapping data from the image data (e.g. Par. [0097]).
Regarding claim 3, Wei further discloses wherein the image data comprise structural image data comprising anatomical magnetic resonance images and functional image data (e.g. Par. [0024]).
Regarding claim 4, Wei further discloses wherein the functional image data comprise at least one of subject-specific functional network maps or subject-specific integration zone maps (e.g. Par. [0097]; Par. [0197]; Fig. 3: subject specific mapping).
Regarding claim 11, Wei further discloses determining neuromodulation settings based on the one or more target locations and controlling a neuromodulation device to deliver neuromodulation to the one or more target locations according to the neuromodulation settings (e.g. Par. [0045]; Par. [0150]).
Regarding claim 12, Wei further discloses outputting the target localization data by generating a report that indicates a neuromodulation treatment plan for delivering the neuromodulation to the one or more target locations (e.g. Par. [0153]: the operator or device control the neuromodulation based on the output).
Regarding claim 13, Wei further discloses outputting the target localization data by generating a report that indicates an image-based guidance for delivering neuromodulation to the one or more target locations (e.g. Pars. [0171]-[0172]; Figs. 5, 6: images provided).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0260831 – of record), hereinafter Wei, further in view of Tyler et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0174418), hereinafter Tyler, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nummenmaa et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0302420 – of record), hereinafter Nummenmaa.
Regarding claim 5, Wei further discloses determining optimal neuromodulation positions from the image data (e.g. Pars. [0135]; Pars. [0141]-[0144]: determining locations; Pars. [0146]-[0147]; Fig. 2: step 204). However, Wei fails to disclose generating simulated electric field data using the optimal neuromodulation positions; calculating an energy distribution across functional networks using the simulated electric field data; and generating the subject-specific energy distribution mapping data based on the calculated energy distribution. Nummenmaa, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards determining electric fields of transcranial magnetic stimulation. Nummenmaa discloses generating simulated electric field data, calculating an energy distribution across functional networks using the simulated electric field data, and generating the subject-specific energy distribution mapping data based on the calculated energy distribution (e.g. Pars. [0051]-[0052]; Pars. [0063]-[0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wei in view of Wagner to include generating simulated electric fields as taught by Nummenmaa to improve targeting of brain regions for neuromodulation (e.g. Nummenmaa, par. [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Wei further discloses wherein the optimal neuromodulation positions are determined from the image data by generating a cortical reconstruction from the structural image data and determining an optimal neuromodulation position over the cortical surface reconstruction for each brainordinate in each functional network of the functional image data (e.g. Par. [0097]; Fig. 7).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0260831 – of record), hereinafter Wei, further in view of Tyler et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0174418), hereinafter Tyler, further in view of Nummenmaa et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0302420 – of record), hereinafter Nummenmaa, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Liang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0079538 – of record), hereinafter Liang.
Regarding claim 7, Wei fails to disclose wherein the cortical reconstruction is generated based on a finite element model. Liang, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards identifying images of brain function. Liang discloses using a finite element model for reconstruction (e.g. Par. [0031]; Par. [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wei in view of Wagner and Nummenmaa to include using a finite element model for reconstruction as taught by Liang because it is a known method for image reconstruction.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0260831 – of record), hereinafter Wei, further in view of Tyler et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0174418), hereinafter Tyler, further in view of Nummenmaa et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0302420 – of record), hereinafter Nummenmaa, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (Wang D, et al. Fast computational E-field dosimetry for transcranial magnetic stimulation using adaptive cross approximation and auxiliary dipole method (ACA-ADM). Neuroimage. 2023;267:119850. doi:10.1016/j.neuroimage.2022.119850 – of record), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 9, Wei fails to disclose wherein the optimal neuromodulation positions are determined from the image data using an auxiliary dipole method. Wang is directed towards transcranial magnetic stimulation. Wang discloses using an auxiliary dipole method for data analysis (e.g. page 2, left column, first full paragraph: using the auxiliary dipole method to evaluate the efficiency of the stimulation).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wei in view of Wagner and Nummenmaa to include using the auxiliary dipole method as taught by Wang to evaluate the efficiency of the applied stimulation.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0260831 – of record), hereinafter Wei, further in view of Tyler et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0174418), hereinafter Tyler, further in view of Nummenmaa et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0302420 – of record), hereinafter Nummenmaa, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Wei et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0335130 – of record), hereinafter Wei’130.
Regarding claim 10, Wei further discloses a cortical surface reconstruction generated from the image data (e.g. Par. [0097]). However, Wei fails to disclose projecting the simulated electric field data onto a cortical surface reconstruction. Wei’130, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards target identification. Wei’130 discloses projecting the signals onto a cortical surface reconstruction (e.g. Par. [0116]: projecting the data to structural images including reconstructed individual cortical images).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wei in view of Wagner and Nummenmaa to include projecting the data as taught by Wei’130 to process the data to determine target locations.
While there are no prior art rejections for claim 8, it is not indicated as allowable due to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 and 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as explained above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/642,224 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are directed towards a method for planning, guiding, or monitoring a delivery of neuromodulation to a subject’s brain, which is the same as the claims of copending application 18/642,224.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1 and 11-13 of the instant application, claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 of the copending application 18/642,224 discloses:
Claim 1. A method for planning, guiding, or monitoring a delivery of neuromodulation to a subject’s brain, the method comprising (claim 1, lines 1-2):
(a) accessing subject-specific energy distribution mapping data with a computer system, the subject-specific energy distribution mapping data being indicative of a distribution of energy delivered by the neuromodulation across the subject's brain (claim 1, line 3);
(b) determining one or more target locations in the subject-specific energy distribution mapping data using the computer system, wherein the one or more target locations indicate locations to which neuromodulation should be delivered; and (claim 1, lines 4-6)
(c) generating target localization data by localizing the one or more target locations relative to the brain of the subject, thereby planning, guiding, or monitoring delivery of the neuromodulation to the one or more target locations (claim 1, lines 7-8).
Claim 11. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining neuromodulation settings based on the one or more target locations and controlling a neuromodulation device to deliver neuromodulation to the one or more target locations according to the neuromodulation settings (claim 2).
Claim 12. The method of claim 1, further comprising outputting the target localization data by generating a report that indicates a neuromodulation treatment plan for delivering the neuromodulation to the one or more target locations (claim 6).
Claim 13. The method of claim 1, further comprising outputting the target localization data by generating a report that indicates an image-based guidance for delivering neuromodulation to the one or more target locations (claim 8).
Therefore, claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 of the copending application 18/642,224 anticipate instant claims 1 and 11-13. Therefore, instant claims 1 and 11-13 are not patentable over claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 of the copending application 18/642,224.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ning et al. (US 2023/0211168 – of record) is directed towards integrated electric field simulation.
Dosenbach (US 2021/0333343 – of record) is directed towards precision functional mapping guided planning.
Pepin et al. (US 2021/0052900 – of record) is directed towards a neuromodulation therapy simulator.
Leuthardt et al. (US 2019/0090749 – of record) is directed towards a classifier for optimizing a neuromodulation target.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHREYA ANJARIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796