DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendment, filed 03/10/2026, has been entered. Claims 1 and 4 have been amended. Claims 1-14 are now pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “along the height direction, the first insulating member is adjacent each of the second electrode tab and the terminal plate such that the second electrode tab is between the second insulating member and the first insulating member, and the first insulating member is between the second electrode tab and the terminal plate”. The limitation “along the height direction” is interpreted to apply to only “the second electrode tab is between the second insulating member and the first insulating member”. The limitation “,and the first insulating member is between the second electrode tab and the terminal plate” is an independent clause, having a comma before “and”, a subject, and verb, such that it stands on its own. Additionally, no definition of the term “between” is provided in the instant specification. Accordingly, the broadest reasonable interpretation of limitations effectively regarding "c is between a and b" for spatial position means that point or object c lies anywhere within the bounded geometric region defined by a and b. This includes not just a strict straight line, but a broader corridor, segment span, or 2D/3D bounding space.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities:” and r neceivin” should state “and receiving”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claims 1-3 and 7-10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakimoto (US-20180375070-A1).
15. Regarding claim 1,
Wakimoto teaches a rechargeable [0056] battery (Fig. 1, 20; [0056]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (Fig. 1, 3; [0056]) comprising a first electrode tab (Fig. 5, 50; [0057]) and a second electrode tab (Fig. 5, 40; [0057]);
a case (Fig. 2, 1; [0056]) comprising an opening and (Fig. 2, opening in 1; [0079]) receiving the electrode assembly 3 to be connected to the first electrode tab (50, wherein all elements of 1 are directly or indirectly connected);
a cap assembly (Fig. 2, 1; [0079]) comprising a cap plate (Fig. 2, 2; [0079]) coupled to the case [0079] and covering the opening (see Fig. 2, 2 covering 1; [0079]),
and a terminal plate (Fig. 9, 7, wherein at least a bottom portion of 7 is plate shaped; [0080]) coupled (wherein all elements of 1 are directly or indirectly coupled) to the cap plate 2 and connected to the second electrode tab (wherein all elements of 1 are directly or indirectly connected);
a first insulating member (Fig. 9, 12; [0087]) between the second electrode tab 40 and the cap plate 2 along a height direction (see Fig. 9, wherein 12 is between 40 and 2 along a vertical direction),
and a second insulating member (Fig. 9, 45; [0087]) attached to a surface of the second electrode tab (Fig. 9, wherein 45 is attached to a top surface of 40; see [0087]),
wherein the terminal plate 7 comprises: a flange part (Fig. 9, 7a; [0091]) between (see Fig. 9, 7a between 2 and 3) the cap plate 2 and the electrode assembly 3 and attached to an inner surface of the cap plate 2;
and a protruded terminal (Fig. 9, 7b; [0059]) protruded from a center of the flange part (Fig. 9, center of 7a) to an outside (Fig. 9, wherein 7b is exposed to the outside)
through a terminal hole (Fig. 2, 2a; [0059]) of the cap plate 2
and electrically connected to the second electrode tab [0075-0076] at an inner surface of the terminal plate (Fig. 9, wherein 40 and 7b are electrically connected, via 6, at an inner surface of 7),
and wherein, along the height direction (the vertical direction), the first insulating member 12 is adjacent to each of the second electrode tab 40 and the terminal plate 7 (see Fig. 9) such that the second electrode tab 40 is between the second insulating member 45 and the first insulating member 12
, and the first insulating member 12 is between (see claim interpretation above, wherein at least a portion of 12 is between 7 and 40 along a diagonal direction) the second electrode tab 40 and the terminal plate 7.
15. Regarding claim 2,
Wakimoto teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the electrode assembly 3 comprises a first electrode ([0084], “negative electrode”), a second electrode ([0084], “positive electrode”), and a separator therebetween ([0084], “separator”), the first electrode tab (Fig. 5, 50) is extended to the first electrode (Fig. 5, 3a/3b; [0084]), and the second electrode tab (Fig. 5, 40) is extended to the second electrode (Fig. 5, 3a/3b; [0084]).
Regarding claim 3,
Wakimoto teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), comprising an electrically insulating [0073] material (Fig. 9, 13; [0073]) between (Fig. 9, wherein 13 is between 2 and 7) the cap plate 2 and the terminal plate 7 to electrically insulate [0073] the cap plate 2 and the terminal plate 7 from each other [0073].
Regarding claim 7,
Wakimoto teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the protruded terminal 7b is protruded more with a height difference (see Fig. 9, wherein 7b protrudes higher than 2) than an outer surface of the cap plate (Fig. 9, upper surface of 2).
Regarding claim 8,
Wakimoto teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the first insulating member 12 comprises an insulating [0016] washer (see https://www.hlc-metalparts.com/news/types-of-washers-84844438.html#:~:text=Washers%20101:%20Types%2C%20Materials%20&,Here%20is%20a%20detailed%20classification; wherein washers may be rectangular, flat surfaces to distribute loads) attached to an inner surface of the cap plate (Fig. 9, inner surface of 2) and having a through hole (Fig. 9, hole in 12).
Regarding claim 9,
Wakimoto teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above), wherein the insulating washer 12 extends to an inner surface of the flange part (Fig. 9, wherein 12 extends along the upper surface of 7a).
Regarding claim 10,
Wakimoto teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above), wherein the second insulating member 45 comprises an insulating tape [0085] attached to the surface of the second electrode tab (Fig. 9, upper region of 40; see [0087]), a part of the terminal plate (wherein all elements of 1 are directly or indirectly attached), and a part of the first insulating member (wherein all elements of 1 are directly or indirectly attached).
Regarding claim 13,
Wakimoto teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the flange part 7a is located at an inner side (Fig. 9, lower surface of 12) of a step of (Fig. 9, stepped portion of 12) the first insulating member 12 to be electrically insulated [0073] from the inner surface of the cap plate 2.
Regarding claim 14,
Wakimoto teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above), wherein the first insulating member 12 comprises the step (Fig. 9, stepped portion of 12), and the flange part 7a is arranged at the step (Fig. 9, wherein 7a is arranged at the stepped portion of 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto (US 20180375070 A1) in view of Choi (KR-20190007988-A) (refer to enclosed translation for citations).
Regarding claim 4,
Wakimoto teaches a rechargeable [0056] battery (Fig. 1, 20; [0056]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (Fig. 1, 3; [0056]) comprising a first electrode tab (Fig. 5, 50; [0057]) and a second electrode tab (Fig. 5, 40; [0057]);
a case (Fig. 2, 1; [0056]) comprising an opening and (Fig. 2, opening in 1; [0079]) r neceiving the electrode assembly 3 to be connected to the first electrode tab (50, wherein all elements of 1 are directly or indirectly connected);
a cap assembly (Fig. 2, 1; [0079]) comprising a cap plate (Fig. 2, 2; [0079]) coupled to the case [0079] and covering the opening (see Fig. 2, 2 covering 1; [0079]),
and a terminal plate (Fig. 9, 7, wherein at least a bottom portion of 7 is plate shaped; [0080]) coupled (wherein all elements of 1 are directly or indirectly coupled) to the cap plate 2 and connected to the second electrode tab (wherein all elements of 1 are directly or indirectly connected);
a first insulating member (Fig. 9, 12; [0087]) between the second electrode tab 40 and the cap plate 2 along a height direction (see Fig. 9, wherein 12 is between 40 and 2 along a vertical direction),
and a second insulating member (Fig. 9, 45; [0087]) attached to a surface of the second electrode tab (Fig. 9, wherein 45 is attached to a top surface of 40; see [0087]),
wherein the terminal plate 7 comprises: a flange part (Fig. 9, 7a; [0091]) between (see Fig. 9, 7a between 2 and 3) the cap plate 2 and the electrode assembly 3 and attached to an inner surface of the cap plate 2;
and a protruded terminal (Fig. 9, 7b; [0059]) protruded from a center of the flange part (Fig. 9, center of 7a) to an outside (Fig. 9, wherein 7b is exposed to the outside)
through a terminal hole (Fig. 2, 2a; [0059]) of the cap plate 2
and electrically connected to the second electrode tab [0075-0076] at an inner surface of the terminal plate (Fig. 9, wherein 40 and 7b are electrically connected, via 6, at an inner surface of 7),
and wherein, along the height direction (the vertical direction), the first insulating member 12 is adjacent to each of the second electrode tab 40 and the terminal plate 7 (see Fig. 9) such that the second electrode tab 40 is between the second insulating member 45 and the first insulating member 12
, and the first insulating member 12 is between (see claim interpretation above, wherein at least a portion of 12 is between 7 and 40 along a diagonal direction) the second electrode tab 40 and the terminal plate 7
Wakimoto fails to teach a thermal-fusion member comprising an electrically insulating material between the cap plate and the terminal plate to electrically insulate the cap plate and the terminal plate from each other.
Choi teaches wherein a thermal fusion member (Fig. 1, A; [0039]) comprises an electrically insulating material ([0039], wherein A comprises melted gasket 134, and [0019] wherein the gasket is made of resin which is insulating), between the cap plate (Fig. 1, uppermost portion of 123) and the terminal plate (Fig. 1, 131) to electrically insulate [0019] the cap plate (uppermost 123) and the terminal plate 131 from each other ([0039],[0019]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify a similarly disposed electrically insulating [0073] material (Fig. 9, 13; [0073]) of Wakimoto such that it is a thermal fusion member, such that the cap plate 2 and terminal plate 7 are thermally fused, as Choi suggests that a thermally fused insulating member may increase the bonding force of the seal (Choi, [0077-0078]). Further, Wakimoto teaches modifications may be made to the device (Wakimoto, [0143]).
Regarding claim 5,
Wakimoto in view of Choi teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the cap plate 2 and the terminal plate 7 are thermally fused (wherein Wakimoto in view of Choi teaches the cap plate 2 and terminal plate 7 are thermally fused) by the thermal-fusion member (Wakimoto, Fig. 9, 13 modified in view of Choi) disposed therebetween (Fig. 9, wherein 13 is between 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 6,
Wakimoto in view of Choi teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the protruded terminal 7b is protruded through the through hole (Fig. 9, hole in 13) of the thermal-fusion member (Wakimoto, Fig. 9, 13 modified in view of Choi)
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto (US 20180375070 A1) in view of Choi (KR-20190007988-A) and Li (WO2017211631A1).
Regarding claim 11,
Wakimoto in view of Choi teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above), but fails to teach further comprising a third insulating member between the second electrode tab and the electrode assembly. Li teaches a third insulating member (Fig. 2, 10; [0033]) between the second electrode tab (Fig. 2, 11; [0021]) and the electrode assembly (Fig. 2, wound body 2, 3, and 4; [0021]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the rechargeable battery of Wakimoto by inserting the insulating member of Li between the second electrode tab 40 and electrode assembly 3 such that it fully covers electrode assembly 3, as Li teaches this is an acceptable embodiment of insulation in the art. Further, Wakimoto teaches modifications may be made to the device (Wakimoto, [0143]).
Regarding claim 12,
Wakimoto in view of Choi and Li teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above), wherein the third insulating member comprises an insulating disk (Li, Fig. 2, disk 10; [0033]) attached to a center of an end of the electrode assembly (wherein all elements of Li are directly or indirectly attached) and being larger than an inner surface of the flange part (see rejection of claim 11 above, wherein the insulating member 10 of Wakimoto fully covers electrode assembly 3 such that it is larger than an inner surface of the flange part 7a in Fig. 9) to be overlapped around a step of the first insulating member (see rejection of claim 11 above, wherein the insulating member 10 of Li fully covers electrode assembly 3 such that it is overlapped around the stepped portion of 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Wakimoto does not appear to disclose, along a height direction, the inner insulator 12 being adjacent each of the positive-electrode tab group 40 and the positive electrode terminal 7 such that the inner insulator 12 is between the positive-electrode tab group 40 and the positive electrode terminal 7.
However, this is not persuasive, as stated in the claim interpretation section above, the remaining claims should be allowable by virtue of dependence on an allowable claim 1. However, this is not persuasive, as applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims. Applicant appears to be applying “along the height direction” to “, and “the first insulating member is between the second electrode tab and the terminal plate”. However, the limitation “along the height direction” is interpreted to apply to only “the second electrode tab is between the second insulating member and the first insulating member”. The limitation “,and the first insulating member is between the second electrode tab and the terminal plate” is an independent clause, having a comma before “and”, a subject, and verb, such that it stands on its own. The examiner suggests either removing the comma before “and” or repeating the “along the height direction” modifier in order to capture the intended limitation.
Applicant arguments regarding Hwangbo are moot in light of the updated rejection in view of Choi (see rejection of claim 4 above).
Applicant argues that all other claims should be allowed based off allowable independent claims. However, this is not persuasive, as the rejections on all claim have been sustained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kim (US-20110091765-A1), relevant to teaching a different embodiment of a first and third insulating member (see Fig. 1).
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723