DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2024 is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0072299.
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches a method for providing a sequence of N data bits of a data message to a receiver, N being a natural integer, the method comprising, at a transmitter (see Chen Figure 2A, “input bits” at “transmitter” section and Figure 2B which shows the “receiver”. Bits are not divisible and therefore there would be a natural integer of bits in the system):
partitioning the sequence of N data bits into a first sub-sequence of data bits and a second sub-sequence of data bits (see Figure 2A, two sets of bits from “FEC encoder”);
obtaining a first set of X constellation points and a second set of Y constellation points, X and Y being natural integers and having a product greater than or equal to two raised to the power of N, each constellation point of the first set of X constellation points and the second set of Y constellation points corresponding to an amplitude and phase (see Figure 2A, “QAM modulation and constellation shaping” and paragraph [0025] which indicates the system is 16QAM. For polarization multiplexed 16QAM, this is 256 symbols with 8 bits per symbol. X, Y, and N can be arbitrarily chosen to fit the claimed criterion) and having associated thereto at least one respective sequence of mapping bits (see paragraph [0024]);
assigning: to the first sub-sequence of data bits, a first constellation point from among the first set of X constellation points in accordance with the at least one respective sequence of mapping bits, and to the second sub-sequence of data bits, a second constellation point from among the second set of Y constellation points in accordance with the at least one respective sequence of mapping bits (see paragraph [0078]); and
transmitting, to the receiver through an optical communication link (see Figure 2A, fiber “channel” section):
a first symbol having the amplitude and phase corresponding to the first constellation point, and a second symbol having the amplitude and phase corresponding to the second constellation point (see paragraph [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0072299.
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 10, but does not expressively teach wherein: N is eight, X is 40, and Y is 40.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of design choice to have N, X, and Y be as claimed based on information throughput needed and other design factors in the system.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0072299 in view of Koike-Akino et al, “GMI-Maximizing Constellation Design with Grassmann Projection for Parametric Shaping” (published in 2016 Optical Fiber Communications Conference and Exhibition (OFC), March 2016).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 10, but does not expressively teach the optical communication link has associated thereto a generalized mutual information (GMI) metric; the first set of X constellation points and the second set of Y constellation points define a grouping of constellation points, and the grouping of constellation points correspond to a maximum of the GMI metric.
However, Koike-Akino in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a system configured to transmit X and Y constellation points (see Koike-Akino section 2 referring to QAM, which can be separated arbitrarily into X and Y constellation points) over an optical communication link (see section 1, first paragraph) as taught in Chen wherein
the optical communication link has associated thereto a generalized mutual information (GMI) metric; the first set of X constellation points and the second set of Y constellation points define a grouping of constellation points, and the grouping of constellation points correspond to a maximum of the GMI metric (see section 3).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of shaping constellations to maximize GMI as taught in Koike-Akino with the method taught in Chen, the motivation being to achieve maximum gain in the system (see Koike-Akino Abstract).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al, U.S. Publication No. 2014/0003824 in view of Chen et al, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0072299.
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a method for a transmitter to provide a data message to a receiver (see Sun Figure 2), the data message having a plurality of data bits (see Figure 2, “3 bits”), the method comprising, at the transmitter:
encoding the plurality of data bits to obtain a plurality of sequences of coded bits (see Figure 2, encoder 220 and paragraph [0028]);
partitioning each sequence of coded bits into a respective first group of coded bits and a respective second group of coded bits (see Figure 2, XI and XQ being the first group and YI and YQ being the second group); and
for each sequence of coded bits:
buffering the respective second group of coded bits to delay, by a pre-determined duration, the respective second group of coded bits with respect to the respective first group of coded bits (see Figure 2, delay 230-1 and paragraph [0029]);
mapping the respective first group of coded bits to a respective first symbol;
mapping the respective second group of coded bits to a respective second symbol (see Figure 2, transmitter 240 and claim 1 which indicates that a first symbol is on one polarization i.e. X and a second symbol is on the second polarization i.e. Y);
transmitting, to the receiver through an optical communication link, the respective first symbol; and subsequently transmitting, to the receiver, through the optical communication link, in accordance with the pre-determined duration, the respective second symbol (see paragraph [0027] and claim 1).
Sun does not expressively teach encoding, in accordance with one or more forward error correction codes, the plurality of bits.
However, Chen in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a method and system for transmitting, via a transmitter, a message of having a plurality of data bits (see Chen Figure 2A, “input bits” in “transmitter” section) through an optical communication link (see Figure 2A, fiber “channel”) to a receiver (see Figure 2B), wherein the transmitter is configured for encoding the plurality of data bits (see Figure 2A, “FEC encoder”) as taught in Sun comprising
encoding, in accordance with one or more forward error correction codes, the plurality of bits (see paragraph [0059]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of encoding bits with forward error correction codes as taught in Chen with the system and method taught in Sun, the motivation being to ensure the data is successfully received close to error free at the receiver.
Regarding claim 2, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches
each sequence of coded bits has N data bits, N being a natural integer (bits are indivisible and so this would be inherent to the bits of Sun Figure 2 and Chen Figure 2A);
for each sequence of coded bits, the respective first group of coded bits defines a respective first sub-sequence of data bits and the respective second group of coded bits defines a respective second sub-sequence of data bits (see Sun Figure 2, XI and XQ bits and YI and YQ bits as combined with Chen Figure 2A, two sets of bits from “FEC encoder”);
the method further comprises, at the transmitter:
obtaining a first set of X constellation points and a second set of Y constellation points, X and Y being natural integers and having a product greater than or equal to two raised to the power of N, each constellation point of the first set of X constellation points and the second set of Y constellation points corresponding to an amplitude and phase (see Sun paragraph [0044]. There are 16 bits in the PM-QPSK scheme with 4 bits per symbol. X, Y, and N can be arbitrarily chosen to fit this criterion) and having associated thereto at least one respective sequence of mapping bits (see Chen paragraph [0024]); and
for each sequence of coded bits:
mapping the respective first group of coded bits to the respective first symbol includes assigning, to the respective first group of coded bits, a respective first constellation point from among the first set of X constellation points in accordance with the respective sequence of mapping bits and the respective first sub-sequence of data bits, mapping the respective second group of coded bits to the respective second symbol includes assigning, to the respective second group of coded bits, a respective second constellation point from among the second set of Y constellation points in accordance with the respective sequence of mapping bits and the respective second sub-sequence of data bits (see Chen paragraph [0078]), the respective first symbol has the amplitude and phase corresponding to the respective first constellation point, and the respective second symbol has the amplitude and phase corresponding to the respective second constellation point (see Sun paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches each sequence of coded bits has B coded bits, B being a natural integer (see Sun Figure 2, output from encoder 220. Bits are not divisible and therefore there would be a natural integer of bits in each stream); and
the pre-determined duration depends from B (see Sun paragraph [0029] which indicates the delay is based on clock cycle and paragraph [0037] which indicates the clock cycles depends on the number of symbols in the equalizer, which would be related to the number of encoded bits).
Regarding claim 5, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressively teach wherein the one or more forward error correction codes includes at least one zipper code. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of simple substitution to replace the codes of Sun in view of Chen with those claimed to yield the predictable results of successfully encoding the bits.
Regarding claim 6, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressively teach wherein:
each sequence of coded bits includes eight coded bits; and, for each sequence of coded bits: the respective first group of coded bits includes six coded bits, and the respective second group of coded bits includes two coded bits.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of design choice to have the claimed number of bits for the sequence and groups based on information throughput needed and other design factors in the system.
Regarding claim 7, Sun teaches a method for decoding an encoded message, the method comprising, at a receiver (see Sun Figure 2, optical receiver 250):
receiving, from a transmitter (see Figure 2, optical transmitter 210), the encoded message through an optical communication link (see Figure 2, encoder 220 and paragraph [0027]), the encoded message including a plurality of first symbols and a plurality of second symbols (see paragraph [0028]), each one of the plurality of second symbols corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of first symbols and having associated thereto a delay with respect to the corresponding first symbol (see Figure 2, delay 230-1 and paragraph [0025]);
for each one of the plurality of first symbols:
de-mapping the respective first symbol to obtain a respective plurality of soft decoded values (see Figure 2, outputs XI and XQ from equalizer 270);
buffering the respective plurality of soft decoded values for a duration of the delay of the corresponding second symbol (see Figure 2, delay 230-2 and paragraph [0036]); and
decoding the respective plurality of soft decoded values to obtain a respective plurality of decoded bits (see Figure 2, decoder 280 and paragraph [0038]); and,
for each one of the plurality of second symbols:
de-mapping, in accordance with a respective set of decoded bits of the corresponding first symbol, the respective second symbol to obtain a respective plurality of soft decoded values (see Figure 2, outputs YId and YQd from equalizer 270); and
decoding the respective plurality of soft decoded values to obtain a respective plurality of decoded bits (see Figure 2, decoder 280 and paragraph [0038]).
Sun does not expressively teach decoding, in accordance with one or more forward error correction (FEC) codes, [each] respective plurality of soft decoded values to obtain [each] respective plurality of decoded bits.
However, Chen in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a method and system for transmitting, via a transmitter, a message of having a plurality of data bits (see Chen Figure 2A, “input bits” in “transmitter” section) through an optical communication link (see Figure 2A, fiber “channel”) to a receiver (see Figure 2B), wherein the receiver is configured for de-mapping first and second symbols to obtain respective sets of a plurality of soft decoded values (see Figure 2B, output from “QAM demodulation”); and decoding the sets of respective plurality of soft decoded values to obtain sets of respective plurality of decoded bits (see Figure 2B, “FEC” decoder) as taught in Sun comprising
decoding, in accordance with one or more forward error correction (FEC) codes, [each] respective plurality of soft decoded values to obtain [each] respective plurality of decoded bits (see paragraph [0059]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of decoding bits with forward error correction codes as taught in Chen with the system and method taught in Sun, the motivation being to ensure the data is successfully received close to error free at the receiver.
Regarding claim 8, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 7, and further teaches wherein, for each one of the plurality of first symbols and each one of the plurality of second symbols, each one of the respective plurality of soft decoded values is a log likelihood ratio (see Chen paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 9, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 7, but does not expressively teach wherein: for each one of the plurality of first symbols, the respective plurality of soft decoded values includes six soft decoded values, and the respective plurality of decoded bits includes six decoded bits; and for each one of the plurality of second symbols, the respective plurality of soft decoded values includes two soft decoded values, the respective plurality of decoded bits includes two decoded bits, and the respective set of decoded bits of the corresponding first symbol includes two decoded bits of the corresponding first symbol.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of design choice to have the claimed number of bits and decoded values for the symbols based on information throughput needed and other design factors in the system.
Regarding claim 13, Sun teaches a network system comprising:
a transmitter (see Sun Figure 2, optical transmitter 210) configured to:
encode a data message as a plurality of sequences of coded bits (see Figure 2, encoder 220 and paragraph [0028]), each sequence of coded bits including a respective first group of coded bits and a respective second group of coded bits(see Figure 2, XI and XQ being the first group and YI and YQ being the second group); and
for each sequence of coded bits:
buffer the respective second group of coded bits to delay, by a pre-determined duration, the respective second group of coded bits with respect to the respective first group of coded bits (see Figure 2, delay 230-1 and paragraph [0029]);
map the respective first group of coded bits to a respective first symbol and the respective second group of coded bits to a respective second symbol, and transmit the respective first symbol and the respective second symbol (see Figure 2, transmitter 240 and claim 1 which indicates that a first symbol is on one polarization i.e. X and a second symbol is on the second polarization i.e. Y);
an optical communication link (see Figure 2, link through network 290 and paragraph [0027]); and
a receiver coupled to the transmitter through the optical communication link (see Figure 2, optical receiver 250) and configured to, for each sequence of coded bits:
receive the respective first symbol and the respective second symbol (see Figure 2, receiver 260 and paragraph [0033]);
de-map the respective first symbol to obtain a respective first plurality of soft decoded values (see Figure 2, outputs XI and XQ from equalizer 270);
buffer the respective first plurality of soft decoded values for the pre-determined duration (see Figure 2, delay 230-2 and paragraph [0036]);
decode, in accordance with the one or more FEC codes, the respective first plurality of soft decoded values to obtain a respective first plurality of decoded bits (see Figure 2, decoder 280 and paragraph [0038]);
de-map, in accordance with a respective set of decoded bits of the respective first symbol, the respective second symbol to obtain a respective second plurality of soft decoded values (see Figure 2, outputs YId and YQd from equalizer 270); and
decode, the respective second plurality of soft decoded values to obtain a respective second plurality of decoded bits (see Figure 2, decoder 280 and paragraph [0038]).
Sun does not expressively teach wherein
the transmitter is configured to encode with one or more forward error correction (FEC) codes;
the receiver is configured decode in accordance with the one or more FEC codes.
However, Chen in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a method and system for transmitting, via a transmitter, a message of having a plurality of data bits (see Chen Figure 2A, “input bits” in “transmitter” section) through an optical communication link (see Figure 2A, fiber “channel”) to a receiver (see Figure 2B), the transmitter configured to encode the data bits (see Figure 2A, “FEC encoder”) and the receiver configured to decode the data bits (see Figure 2B, “FEC” decoder) as taught in Sun wherein
the transmitter is configured to encode with one or more forward error correction (FEC) codes; the receiver is configured decode in accordance with the one or more FEC codes (see paragraph [0059]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of decoding bits with forward error correction codes as taught in Chen with the system and method taught in Sun, the motivation being to ensure the data is successfully received close to error free at the receiver.
Regarding claim 14, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 13, and further teaches wherein
each sequence of coded bits has N data bits, N being a natural integer (bits are indivisible and so this would be inherent to the bits of Sun Figure 2 and Chen Figure 2A);
for each sequence of coded bits, the respective first group of coded bits defines a respective first sub-sequence of data bits and the respective second group of coded bits defines a respective second sub-sequence of data bits (see Sun Figure 2, XI and XQ bits and YI and YQ bits as combined with Chen Figure 2A, two sets of bits from “FEC encoder”);
the transmitter is further configured to:
obtain a first set of X constellation points and a second set of Y constellation points, X and Y being natural integers and having a product greater than or equal to two raised to the power of N, each constellation point of the first set of X constellation points and the second set of Y constellation points corresponding to an amplitude and phase (see Sun paragraph [0044]. There are 16 bits in the PM-QPSK scheme with 4 bits per symbol. X, Y, and N can be arbitrarily chosen to fit this criterion) and having associated thereto at least one respective sequence of mapping bits (see Chen paragraph [0024]); and
the transmitter being configured to, for each sequence of coded bits:
map the respective first group of coded bits to the respective first symbol includes assigning, to the respective first group of coded bits, a respective first constellation point from among the first set of X constellation points in accordance with the respective sequence of mapping bits and the respective first sub-sequence of data bits, map the respective second group of coded bits to the respective second symbol includes assigning, to the respective second group of coded bits, a respective second constellation point from among the second set of Y constellation points in accordance with the respective sequence of mapping bits and the respective second sub-sequence of data bits (see Chen paragraph [0078]),
for each sequence of coded bit:
the respective first symbol has the amplitude and phase corresponding to the respective first constellation point, and the respective second symbol has the amplitude and phase corresponding to the respective second constellation point (see Sun paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 13, and further teaches wherein the transmitter is further configured to:
partition each sequence of coded bits to produce the respective first group of coded bits and the respective second group of coded bits (see Sun Figure 2A, two sets of bits from “FEC encoder”).
Regarding claim 16, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 13, and further teaches wherein, for each sequence of coded bits, each one of the respective first plurality of soft decoded values and each one of the respective second plurality of soft decoded values is a log likelihood ratio (see Chen paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 17, Sun teaches a network transmitter device comprising:
an encoder configured to encode a data message as a plurality of sequences of coded bits (see Chen Figure 2, encoder 220 and paragraph [0028]), each sequence of coded bits including a respective first group of coded bits and a respective second group of coded bits (see Figure 2, XI and XQ being the first group and YI and YQ being the second group);
a buffer component configured to buffer, for each sequence of coded bits, the respective second group of coded bits to delay, by a pre-determined duration, the respective second group of coded bits with respect to the respective first group of coded bits (see Figure 2, delay 230-1 and paragraph [0029]); and
a symbol mapping component configured to map, for each sequence of coded bits, the respective first group of coded bits to a respective first symbol and the respective second group of coded bits to a respective second symbol (see Figure 2, transmitter 240 and claim 1 which indicates that a first symbol is on one polarization i.e. X and a second symbol is on the second polarization i.e. Y).
Chen does not expressively teach
a forward error correction (FEC) encoder configured to encode a data message as a plurality of sequences of coded bits in accordance with one or more FEC codes.
However, Chen in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a method and system for transmitting, via a transmitter, a message of having a plurality of data bits (see Chen Figure 2A, “input bits” in “transmitter” section) through an optical communication link (see Figure 2A, fiber “channel”) to a receiver (see Figure 2B), wherein the transmitter is configured for encoding the plurality of data bits (see Figure 2A, “FEC encoder”) as taught in Sun comprising
a forward error correction (FEC) encoder configured to encode a data message as a plurality of sequences of coded bits in accordance with one or more FEC codes (see paragraph [0059]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of encoding bits with forward error correction codes as taught in Chen with the system and method taught in Sun, the motivation being to ensure the data is successfully received close to error free at the receiver.
Regarding claim 18, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 13, and further teaches wherein
each sequence of coded bits has N data bits, N being a natural integer (bits are indivisible and so this would be inherent to the bits of Sun Figure 2 and Chen Figure 2A);
for each sequence of coded bits, the respective first group of coded bits defines a respective first sub-sequence of data bits and the respective second group of coded bits defines a respective second sub-sequence of data bits (see Sun Figure 2, XI and XQ bits and YI and YQ bits as combined with Chen Figure 2A, two sets of bits from “FEC encoder”);
the symbol mapping component is further configured to:
obtain a first set of X constellation points and a second set of Y constellation points, X and Y being natural integers and having a product greater than or equal to two raised to the power of N, each constellation point of the first set of X constellation points and the second set of Y constellation points corresponding to an amplitude and phase (see Sun paragraph [0044]. There are 16 bits in the PM-QPSK scheme with 4 bits per symbol. X, Y, and N can be arbitrarily chosen to fit this criterion) and having associated thereto at least one respective sequence of mapping bits (see Chen paragraph [0024]); and
the symbol mapping component being configured to, for each sequence of coded bits:
map the respective first group of coded bits to the respective first symbol includes assigning, to the respective first group of coded bits, a respective first constellation point from among the first set of X constellation points in accordance with the respective sequence of mapping bits and the respective first sub-sequence of data bits, map the respective second group of coded bits to the respective second symbol includes assigning, to the respective second group of coded bits, a respective second constellation point from among the second set of Y constellation points in accordance with the respective sequence of mapping bits and the respective second sub-sequence of data bits (see Chen paragraph [0078]),
for each sequence of coded bit:
the respective first symbol has the amplitude and phase corresponding to the respective first constellation point, and the respective second symbol has the amplitude and phase corresponding to the respective second constellation point (see Sun paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, Sun teaches a network receiver device (see Sun Figure 2, optical receiver 250) comprising a symbol de-mapping component (see Figure 2, equalizer 270) coupled to a decoder (see Figure 2, decoder 280), the network receiver device further comprising a buffer component coupled to the symbol de-mapping component and the decoder (see Figure 2, delay 230-2),
the symbol de-mapping component configured to:
receive an encoded message (see Figure 2, encoder 220 and paragraph [0027]) including a plurality of first symbols and a plurality of second symbols (see paragraph [0028]), each one of the plurality of second symbols corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of first symbols and having associated thereto a delay with respect to the corresponding first symbol (see Figure 2, delay 230-1 and paragraph [0025]); and
de-map each one of the plurality of first symbols to obtain a respective plurality of soft decoded values (see Figure 2, outputs XI and XQ from equalizer 270);
the buffer component configured to buffer, for each one of the plurality of first symbols, the respective plurality of soft decoded values for a duration of the delay of the corresponding second symbol see Figure 2, delay 230-2 and paragraph [0036]);
the decoder configured to decode, for each one of the plurality of first symbols, the respective plurality of soft decoded values to obtain a respective plurality of decoded bits (see Figure 2, decoder 280 and paragraph [0038]);
the symbol de-mapping component further configured to de-map each one of the plurality of second symbols, in accordance with a respective set of decoded bits of the corresponding first symbol, to obtain a respective plurality of soft decoded values (see Figure 2, outputs YId and YQd from equalizer 270); and
the decoder further configured to decode, for each one of the plurality of second symbols, the respective plurality of soft decoded values to obtain a respective plurality of decoded bits (see Figure 2, decoder 280 and paragraph [0038]).
Sun does not expressively teach the decoder is forward error correction (FEC) decoder, the encoded message encoded with one or more FEC codes, the FEC decoder configured to decode, for each one of the plurality of first symbols and in accordance with the one or more FEC codes.
However, Chen in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a method and system for transmitting, via a transmitter, a message of having a plurality of data bits (see Chen Figure 2A, “input bits” in “transmitter” section) through an optical communication link (see Figure 2A, fiber “channel”) to a receiver (see Figure 2B), wherein the receiver is configured for de-mapping first and second symbols to obtain respective sets of a plurality of soft decoded values (see Figure 2B, output from “QAM demodulation”); and decoding via a decoder the sets of respective plurality of soft decoded values to obtain sets of respective plurality of decoded bits (see Figure 2B, “FEC” decoder) as taught in Sun wherein
the decoder is forward error correction (FEC) decoder (see Figure 2B, “FEC” decoder), the encoded message encoded with one or more FEC codes, the FEC decoder configured to decode, for each one of the plurality of first symbols and the second plurality of second symbols, in accordance with the one or more FEC codes (see paragraph [0059]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of decoding bits with forward error correction codes as taught in Chen with the system and method taught in Sun, the motivation being to ensure the data is successfully received close to error free at the receiver.
Regarding claim 20, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 19, and further teaches wherein, for each sequence of coded bits, each one of the respective first plurality of soft decoded values and each one of the respective second plurality of soft decoded values is a log likelihood ratio (see Chen paragraph [0029]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al, U.S. Publication No. 2014/0003824 in view of Chen et al, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0072299 and Koike-Akino et al, “GMI-Maximizing Constellation Design with Grassmann Projection for Parametric Shaping” (published in 2016 Optical Fiber Communications Conference and Exhibition (OFC), March 2016).
Regarding claim 3, Sun in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 2, but does not expressively teach the optical communication link has associated thereto a generalized mutual information (GMI) metric; the first set of X constellation points and the second set of Y constellation points define a grouping of constellation points, and the grouping of constellation points correspond to a maximum of the GMI metric.
However, Koike-Akino in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a system configured to transmit X and Y constellation points (see Koike-Akino section 2 referring to QAM, which can be separated arbitrarily into X and Y constellation points) over an optical communication link (see section 1, first paragraph) as taught in Sun in view of Chen wherein
the optical communication link has associated thereto a generalized mutual information (GMI) metric; the first set of X constellation points and the second set of Y constellation points define a grouping of constellation points, and the grouping of constellation points correspond to a maximum of the GMI metric (see section 3).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of shaping constellations to maximize GMI as taught in Koike-Akino with the method taught in Sun in view of Chen, the motivation being to achieve maximum gain in the system (see Koike-Akino Abstract).
Conclusion
/CASEY L KRETZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635