DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
1. Pending claims for consideration are claims 1-26.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues in substance:
That- the cited portion of Purkayastha fails to teach a single device (e.g., the claimed "first device") that receives responses from multiple other devices (e.g., the claimed "second response from a third device" and "third response from the second device")
In response to applicants’ argument- It is the combination of Xiao and Purkayastha that teaches the claimed language, neither Xiao nor Purkayastha alone. The claims were examine in their broadest most reasonable interpretation in light of applicant’s specification. As stated in the below 103 rejection, Purkayastha discloses the limitation receive, from a first device by a second device, a Subscription message requesting a notification
Subscription regarding Characteristic information about at least one Communication path between the Second device and a third device in [Fig.4/item 410]) which teaches in its broadest capacity an interconnection between a first device, second device, third device, fourth device, fifth device, and a sixth device. Figure three further illustrates receiving, by the first device, a second response to the first message from a third device during the first connection event; and receiving, by the first device, a third response from the second device during the first connection event.
That- the cited portion of Purkayastha fails to teach that any such responses are all received "during the first connection event," as claimed
In response to applicants’ argument- As stated in the above argument , Figure three further illustrates receiving, by the first device, a second response to the first message from a third device during the first connection event; and receiving, by the first device, a third response from the second device during the first connection event.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-21, 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub.No: US 2016/0366190 A1 to Xiao, in view of Patent No.: US 9,495,326 B2 to Purkayastha et al(hereafter referenced as Purkayastha)
Regarding claim 1, Xiao discloses “a method, comprising: transmitting, by a first device, a first message during a first connection event; receiving, at the first device, a first response to the first message from a second device during the first connection event(capture capability such that the first device and the second device transmit media streams using the selected at least one media capture capability and the configuration item. [par.0083]).
Xiao does not explicitly disclose “receiving, by the first device, a second response to the first message from a third device during the first connection event; and receiving, by the first device, a third response from the second device during the first connection event.”
However, Purkayastha in an analogous art discloses “receiving, by the first device, a second response to the first message from a third device during the first connection event; and receiving, by the first device, a third response from the second device during the first connection event.” (receive, from a first device by a second device, a Subscription message requesting a notification Subscription regarding Characteristic information about at least one Communication path between the Second device and a third device Purkayastha[Fig.4/item 410]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Xiao’s method for sending messages with Purkayastha’s process to provide a communication path in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Xia teaches a process of communication between multiple devices, Purkayastha discloses a process to provide a communication path and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 2 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the first device receives the third response after the first response and before the second response.” (receive, from a first device by a second device, a Subscription message requesting a notification Subscription regarding Characteristic information about at least one Communication path between the Second device and a third device Purkayastha[Fig.4/item 410]).
Regarding claim 3 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the first device receives the third response after the first response and after the second response” (receive, from a first device by a second device, a Subscription message requesting a notification Subscription regarding Characteristic information about at least one Communication path between the Second device and a third device Purkayastha[Fig.4/item 410]).
Regarding claim 4 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the first message is a broadcast message.” (capture capability such that the first device and the second device transmit media streams using the selected at least one media capture capability and the configuration item Xiao[par.0083]).
Regarding claim 5 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the first message is a multicast message directed to the second and third devices.”(described procedures in FIGS. 3 and 4 may enable a P1905.1 device to subscribe to link metric information at another P1905.1 device which may be accomplished through three unicast messages: the Link Metric Subscription Request Message, the Link Metric Notification Message, and the Link Metric Notification Confirm Message Purkayastha[Col.12/lines 56-62]).
Regarding claim 7 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein all packet exchanges between the first device and another device during the first connection event occur on a same channel.” (Source device may send the data (e.g. data packets) to the appropriate intermediate device based on the determination above. The source device may indicate which communication path to use, e.g., where the intermediate device has more than one possible communication path to the destination device Purkayastha[Col.4/lines 28-33]).
Regarding claim 8 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the first connection event has a first multi-peripheral connection service pattern, the method further comprising transmitting, by the first device, a second message during a second connection event after the first connection event, wherein the second connection event has a second multi-peripheral connection service pattern different from the first multi-peripheral connection service pattern.”(A first device sends a first message to a second device, and sends a third message to the second device, where the first message includes information about at least one media capture capability Supported by the first device, and one or more first association identifiers corresponding to the at least one media capture capability, the third message includes at least one configuration item supported by the first device and at least one second association identifier corresponding to the configuration item, and the at least one first association identifier corresponds to the at least one second association identifier in a one-to-one manner Xiao[Fig.2/item 210]).
Regarding claim 9 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “further comprising: transmitting the first message from the first device to a fourth device during the first connection event; and receiving a fourth response at the first device from the fourth device during the first connection event.” (fourth device Purkayastha [Fig.1/item 140]).
Regarding claim 10 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the first message includes a first duration for a first sub- connection event during the first connection event for the second device, and a second duration for a second sub-connection event during the first connection event for the third device” (A first device sends a first message to a second device, and sends a third message to the second device, where the first message includes information about at least one media capture capability Supported by the first device, and one or more first association identifiers corresponding to the at least one media capture capability, the third message includes at least one configuration item supported by the first device and at least one second association identifier corresponding to the configuration item, and the at least one first association identifier corresponds to the at least one second association identifier in a one-to-one manner Xiao[Fig.2/item 210]).
Regarding claim 11 in view of claim 10, the references combined disclose The method of claim 10, wherein a number of packets exchanged between the first device and the second device during the first sub-connection event is larger than one.” (Source device may send the data (e.g. data packets) to the appropriate intermediate device based on the determination above. The source device may indicate which communication path to use, e.g., where the intermediate device has more than one possible communication path to the destination device Purkayastha[Col.4/lines 28-33]).
Regarding claim 12 in view of claim 11, the references combined disclose “wherein the number of packets exchanged between the first device and the second device during the first sub-connection event is larger than two” (Source device may send the data (e.g. data packets) to the appropriate intermediate device based on the determination above. The source device may indicate which communication path to use, e.g., where the intermediate device has more than one possible communication path to the destination device Purkayastha[Col.4/lines 28-33]).
Regarding claim 12 in view of claim 10, the references combined disclose “wherein a number of packets exchanged during the first sub- connection event is different from a number of packets exchanged during the second sub-connection event” (Source device may send the data (e.g. data packets) to the appropriate intermediate device based on the determination above. The source device may indicate which communication path to use, e.g., where the intermediate device has more than one possible communication path to the destination device Purkayastha[Col.4/lines 28-33]).”
Regarding claim 14 in view of claim 10, the references combined disclose “wherein the first duration and the second duration are different durations” (A first device sends a first message to a second device, and sends a third message to the second device, where the first message includes information about at least one media capture capability Supported by the first device, and one or more first association identifiers corresponding to the at least one media capture capability, the third message includes at least one configuration item supported by the first device and at least one second association identifier corresponding to the configuration item, and the at least one first association identifier corresponds to the at least one second association identifier in a one-to-one manner Xiao[Fig.2/item 210]).
Regarding claim 15 in view of claim 10, the references combined disclose “wherein the first device receives the first response during the first sub-connection event, and receives the second response during the second sub-connection event.” (A first device sends a first message to a second device, and sends a third message to the second device, where the first message includes information about at least one media capture capability Supported by the first device, and one or more first association identifiers corresponding to the at least one media capture capability, the third message includes at least one configuration item supported by the first device and at least one second association identifier corresponding to the configuration item, and the at least one first association identifier corresponds to the at least one second association identifier in a one-to-one manner Xiao[Fig.2/item 210]).
Regarding claim 16 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the first device receives the third response during the second sub-connection event.” (receive, from a first device by a second device, a Subscription message requesting a notification Subscription regarding Characteristic information about at least one Communication path between the Second device and a third device Purkayastha[Fig.4/item 410]).
Regarding claim 17 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the first message includes a third length for a third sub- connection event during the first connection event for the second device, and wherein the first device receives the third response during the third sub-connection event” (receive, from a first device by a second device, a Subscription message requesting a notification Subscription regarding Characteristic information about at least one Communication path between the Second device and a third device Purkayastha[Fig.4/item 410]).
Regarding claim 18 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the first and third sub-connection events are not consecutive sub-connection events” (described procedures in FIGS. 3 and 4 may enable a P1905.1 device to subscribe to link metric information at another P1905.1 device which may be accomplished through three unicast messages: the Link Metric Subscription Request Message, the Link Metric Notification Message, and the Link Metric Notification Confirm Message Purkayastha[Col.12/lines 56-62]).
Regarding claim 19 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the first sub-connection event is an initial sub-connection event during the first connection event, and the third sub-connection event is a last sub-connection event during the first connection event” (receive, from a first device by a second device, a Subscription message requesting a notification Subscription regarding Characteristic information about at least one Communication path between the Second device and a third device Purkayastha[Fig.4/item 410]).
Regarding claim 20 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “further comprising transmitting, by the first device, a third message during the third sub-connection event, the third message being responsive to the first response” (A first device sends a first message to a second device, and sends a third message to the second device, where the first message includes information about at least one media capture capability Supported by the first device, and one or more first association identifiers corresponding to the at least one media capture capability, the third message includes at least one configuration item supported by the first device and at least one second association identifier corresponding to the configuration item, and the at least one first association identifier corresponds to the at least one second association identifier in a one-to-one manner Xiao[Fig.2/item 210]).
Regarding claim 21 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the second device transitions into a sleep mode between transmission of the first response and transmission of the third response” (receive, from a first device by a second device, a Subscription message requesting a notification Subscription regarding Characteristic information about at least one Communication path between the Second device and a third device Purkayastha[Fig.4/item 410]).
Regarding claim 24 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the first message is an advertisement packet that includes a feature set for the first connection event” (Source device may send the data (e.g. data packets) to the appropriate intermediate device based on the determination above. The source device may indicate which communication path to use, e.g., where the intermediate device has more than one possible communication path to the destination device Purkayastha[Col.4/lines 28-33]).
Regarding claim 25 in view of claim 24, the references combined disclose “wherein the feature set includes a duration of the first connection event, an anchor point, or a transmission rate”(media data transmission Xiao[Fig.4/item 451]).
Regarding claim 26 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the first response includes a request from the second device for a multi-peripheral service pattern.” (receive, from a first device by a second device, a Subscription message requesting a notification Subscription regarding Characteristic information about at least one Communication path between the Second device and a third device Purkayastha[Fig.4/item 410]).
Claims 6, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub.No: US 2016/0366190 A1 to Xiao, in view of Patent No.: US 9,495,326 B2 to Purkayastha et al(hereafter referenced as Purkayastha)
Regarding claim 6 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “further comprising: transmitting, by the first device, a second message to the second device during the first connection event; and transmitting a third message to the third device during the first connection event” (receive, from a first device by a second device, a Subscription message requesting a notification Subscription regarding Characteristic information about at least one Communication path between the Second device and a third device Purkayastha[Fig.4/item 410]).
Neither Xiao nor Purkayastha explicitly disclose “wherein the second message is encrypted with a first encryption key associated with the second device, and wherein the third message is encrypted with a second encryption key associated with the third device.”
However, Lee in an analogous art discloses “wherein the second message is encrypted with a first encryption key associated with the second device, and wherein the third message is encrypted with a second encryption key associated with the third device” (messages exchanged between the first client device and the server device may be encrypted and exchanged after the inquiry message Lee[par.0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Xiao’s method for sending messages and Purkayastha’s process to provide a communication path with Lee’s encryption process in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Xia teaches a process of communication between multiple devices, Purkayastha discloses a process to provide a communication path, Lee discloses an encryption process within a communication path and all are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 22 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the first device is a central Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) device.”
Neither Xiao nor Purkayastha explicitly disclose “wherein the first device is a central Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) device”
However, Lee in an analogous art discloses “wherein the first device is a central Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) device.”( FIG.3 illustrates an example of a Bluetooth low energy topology in a wireless communication system to which the present disclosure can be applied Lee[Fig.3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Xiao’s method for sending messages and Purkayastha’s process to provide a communication path with Lee’s Bluetooth Low energy process in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Xia teaches a process of communication between multiple devices, Purkayastha discloses a process to provide a communication path, Lee discloses a Bluetooth low energy topology within a communication path and all are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 23 in view of claim 1, neither Xiao nor Purkayastha explicitly discloses “wherein the second device is a peripheral BLE device.”
However, Lee in an analogous art discloses “wherein the second device is a peripheral BLE device”( FIG.3 illustrates an example of a Bluetooth low energy topology in a wireless communication system to which the present disclosure can be applied Lee[Fig.3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Xiao’s method for sending messages and Purkayastha’s process to provide a communication path with Lee’s Bluetooth Low energy process in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Xia teaches a process of communication between multiple devices, Purkayastha discloses a process to provide a communication path, Lee discloses a Bluetooth low energy topology within a communication path and all are from the same field of endeavor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL D ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433