DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 the applicant argues that the combined art of Nakamura and Varnoosfaderani does not teach “wherein each of the plurality of radiating arms has an annular shape; and 2N first conductive parts disposed in a first polarization direction of the first radiating element, wherein N is a positive integer, and wherein each respective first conductive part of the 2N first conductive parts is disposed within an inner radius of the annular shape of a respective radiating arm of the plurality of radiating arms”. The examiner agrees with the applicant regarding Nakamura and Varnoosfaderani failing to teach and/or disclose the newly amended features of claim 1.
However, the prior art of Huang teaches the newly amended features of claim 1.
Moreover, the combined prior art of Huang, Bin, Patrick and Varnoosfaderani teaches: the newly amended features of claims 2, 4, 6-7, 9, 11-14 and 18-20; the original features of claims 3, 8 and 10; the previously presented features of claims 5 and 15-17; and the features of the new claims 21-22.
Therefore, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's argument. The examiner contends that the newly amended/original/previously presented features in the 35 USC 102/103 rejections below are disclosed by the combined art of Huang, Bin, Patrick and/or Varnoosfaderani.
The examiner would welcome a request for interview to discuss strategies for amending the claims with the goal of determining amendments that would overcome the prior art of record while ensuring that the invention is clearly recited in a manner that is not overly limiting. As best understood by the examiner, the applicant has argued but not claimed features/details in the instant application that would overcome the prior art of record as applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ”Broadband Dual-Polarized Multidipole Antenna for Base Station Applications”, in International Journal of Antennas and Propagation, 4206702, 8 pages, 2021, by YUXUAN HUANG et al. (hereinafter HUANG).
Regarding claim 1, HUANG teaches: (Currently Amended) An antenna (Broadband Dual-Polarized Multidipole Antenna, p.1, title), comprising:
Huang’s antenna consists of two (2) radiating elements, each with four (4) radiators. The first radiating element consists of the following radiators: LSL1, SRL1, LSL3 and SRL3. The second radiating element consists of the following radiators: LSL2, SRL2, LSL4 and SRL4.
HUANG – Figure 1a
HUANG – Figure 1b
HUANG – Figure 7
a first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element) configured to transmit or receive a radio signal (communication systems, p.1, 3rd para.), wherein the radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element) comprises a plurality of radiating arms (fig. 1a, LSL1 and LSL3), wherein each of the plurality of radiating arms (fig. 1a, LSL1 and LSL3) has an annular shape (square-shaped loop, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1a); and
2N first conductive parts (fig. 1a, SRL1 and SRL3) disposed in a first polarization direction (the antenna can achieve the polarization of +45, p. 2, 3rd para.) of the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element), wherein N is a positive integer (figure 1a shows a plurality of elements), and wherein each respective first conductive part (fig. 1a, SRL1/SRL3) of the 2N first conductive parts (fig. 1a, SRL1 and SRL3) is disposed within an inner radius (fig. 1a) of the annular shape (square-shaped loop, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1a) of a respective radiating arm (fig. 1a, LSL1/LSL3) of the plurality of radiating arms (fig. 1a, LSL1 and LSL3s);
wherein the 2N first conductive parts (fig. 1a, SRL1 and SRL3) and the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element) are connected (coaxial cable, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d) to a common ground (a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]); and
wherein a distance between a respective first conductive part (fig. 1a, SRL1/SRL3) and a center (fig. 1b, center) of the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element) is L1 (fig. 1b [L11]), a maximum distance from an edge of the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element) to the center (fig. 1b, center) of the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element) is L2 (fig. 1b [L12]), and L1≤L2 (L11≤L12, fig. 1b).
Regarding claim 3, HUANG teaches: (Original) The antenna according to claim 1, wherein L1 (fig. 1b [L11]) is less than or equal to 0.1 times (L11≤L12, fig. 1b) an operating wavelength of the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element).
Regarding claim 18, HUANG teaches: (Currently Amended) The antenna according to claim 1, wherein a respective first conductive part (fig. 1a, SRL1/SRL3) is a metal strip (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, HUANG teaches: (Currently Amended) The antenna according to claim 1, wherein the antenna further comprises a reflective plate (a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]), wherein the reflective plate has a reflective surface (a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]), and wherein the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element) and a respective first conductive part (fig. 1a, SRL1/SRL3) are located on one side (fig. 1d) of the reflective surface (a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]).
Regarding claim 20, HUANG teaches: (Currently Amended) The antenna according to claim 19, wherein the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element) and the 2N first conductive parts (fig. 1a, SRL1 and SRL3) are electrically connected (coaxial cable, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d) to a common ground point on the reflective plate (a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-8, 11-13 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of US 20230071050 by SUN BIN et al. (hereinafter BIN).
Regarding claim 2, HUANG teaches: (Currently Amended) The antenna according to claim 1, a respective first conductive part (fig. 1a, SRL1/SRL3).
HUANG does not explicitly teach wherein a respective first conductive part is configured to narrow a beam width of the first radiating element.
However, BIN teaches the parasitic elements may be resonant at frequencies within the first operating frequency band so that the parasitic element will alter properties of the antenna beams generated by the first array in a desirable array (¶ 0159).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of BIN to include the plurality of parasitic elements with the antenna configuration of the art HUANG with the benefit of narrowing the azimuth beamwidth of the antenna beams (BIN, ¶ 0159).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HUANG and BIN to obtain the invention:
wherein a respective first conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL1/SRL3) is configured to narrow a beam width of the first radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, first radiating element) (BIN: alter properties of the antenna beams ¶ 0159).
Regarding claim 5, HUANG teaches: (Previously Presented) The antenna according to claim 1, wherein the antenna further comprises a second radiating element (fig. 1a, second radiating element), and the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element).
HUANG does not explicitly teach wherein an operating frequency of the first radiating element is greater than an operating frequency of the second radiating element.
However, BIN teaches the first frequency band may comprise the 617-960 MHz frequency band or a portion thereof, the second frequency band may comprise the 1427-2690 MHz frequency band or a portion thereof (¶ 0080).
The parasitic elements may be resonant at frequencies within the first operating frequency band so that the parasitic element will alter properties of the antenna beams generated by the first array in a desirable array (¶ 0159).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of BIN to include the plurality of frequencies and the plurality of parasitic elements with the antenna configuration of the art HUANG with the benefit of providing multiple frequency bands.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HUANG and BIN to obtain the invention:
wherein an operating frequency (BIN: first frequency band 617-960 MHz ¶ 0080) of the first radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, first radiating element) is greater than an operating frequency (BIN: second frequency band 1427-2690 MHz ¶ 0080) of the second radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, second radiating element).
Regarding claim 6, HUANG and BIN make obvious (Currently Amended) the antenna according to claim 5, wherein the antenna further comprises 2M second conductive parts (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2 and SRL4), and the 2M second conductive parts (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2 and SRL4) and the second radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, second radiating element) are connected (HUANG: coaxial cable, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d) to a common ground (HUANG: a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]);
wherein the 2M second conductive parts (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2 and SRL4) are disposed in a first polarization direction (HUANG: the antenna can achieve the polarization of +45, p. 2, 3rd para.) of the second radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, second radiating element), and M is a positive integer (HUANG: figure 1a shows a plurality of elements); and
wherein a distance between a respective second conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4) and a center (HUANG: fig. 1b, center) of the second radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, second radiating element) is L3 (HUANG: fig. 1b [L13]), a maximum distance from an edge of the second radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, second radiating element) to the center (HUANG: fig. 1b, center) of the second radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, second radiating element) is L4 (HUANG: fig. 1b [L14]), and L3≤L4 (HUANG: L13≤L14, fig. 1b).
Regarding claim 7, HUANG and BIN make obvious (Currently Amended) the antenna according to claim 6, wherein a respective second conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4) is configured to narrow a beam width of the second radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, second radiating element) (BIN: alter properties of the antenna beams ¶ 0159).
Regarding claim 8, HUANG and BIN make obvious (Original) the antenna according to claim 6, wherein L3 (HUANG: fig. 1b [L13]) is less than or equal to 0.1 times (HUANG: L13≤L14, fig. 1b) an operating wavelength of the second radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, second radiating element).
Regarding claim 11, HUANG and BIN make obvious (Currently Amended) the antenna according to claim 6, wherein a respective second conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4) is a metal strip (HUANG: fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, HUANG and BIN make obvious (Currently Amended) the antenna according to claim 6, wherein the antenna further comprises a reflective plate (HUANG: a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]), wherein the reflective plate has a reflective surface (HUANG: a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]), and wherein the second radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, second radiating element) and a respective second conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4) are located on one side (HUANG: fig. 1d) of the reflective surface (HUANG: a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]).
Regarding claim 13, HUANG and BIN make obvious (Currently Amended) the antenna according to claim 12, wherein the second radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, second radiating element) and the 2M second conductive parts (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2 and SRL4) are electrically connected (HUANG: coaxial cable, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d) to a common ground point on the reflective plate (HUANG: a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]).
Regarding claim 21, HUANG teaches: (New) The antenna according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of radiating arms (fig. 1a, LSL1, LSL2, LSL3 and LSL4) comprise four radiating arms (fig. 1a, LSL1, LSL2, LSL3 and LSL4).
HUANG does not explicitly teach including two radiating arms in the first polarization direction and two radiating arms in a second polarization direction.
However, BIN teaches the first dipole radiator 322-1 is designed to transmit signals having a -45° polarization. The second dipole radiator 322-2 is designed to transmit signals having a +45° polarization (¶ 0107, fig. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of BIN to include the polarization with the antenna configuration of the art HUANG with the benefit of having a plurality of dual-polarized radiating elements (BIN, ¶ 0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HUANG and BIN to obtain the invention:
BIN teaches including two radiating arms (first dipole radiator 322-1 ¶ 0107, fig. 4A) in the first polarization direction (-45° polarization ¶ 0107, fig. 4A) and two radiating arms (second dipole radiator 322-2 ¶ 0107, fig. 4A) in a second polarization direction (+45° polarization ¶ 0107, fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 22, HUANG and BIN make obvious (New) the antenna according to claim 21, further comprising 2N first conductive parts (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL1 and SRL3) disposed in the second polarization direction (BIN: +45° polarization ¶ 0107, fig. 4A); and
wherein each of the four radiating arms (HUANG: fig. 1a, LSL1/LSL2/LSL3/LSL4) comprises at least one first conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL1/SRL2/SRL3/SRL4) disposed within the inner radius (HUANG: fig. 1a) of the annular shape (HUANG: square-shaped loop, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1a) of the radiating arm (HUANG: fig. 1a, LSL1/LSL2/LSL3/LSL4).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of FR 2808128 A1 (see attached translation for the following citation) by LE CAM PATRICK et al. (hereinafter PATRICK).
Regarding claim 4, HUANG teaches: (Currently Amended) The antenna according to claim 1, a length (fig. 1b [L7]) of a respective first conductive part (fig. 1a, SRL1/SRL3), the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element).
HUANG does not explicitly teach wherein a length of a respective first conductive part is greater than or equal to 0.25 times the operating wavelength of the first radiating element.
However, PATRICK teaches the length of the central branch and the two arms of the different conducting elements is equal to one quarter of the wavelength of the energy radiated by each dipole (¶ 0010).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of PATRICK to include the wavelength with the antenna configuration of the art HUANG with the benefit of improving the antenna's efficiency and enabling multiband operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HUANG and PATRICK to obtain the invention:
wherein a length (HUANG: fig. 1b [L7]) of a respective first conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL1/SRL3) is greater than or equal to 0.25 (PATRICK: equal to one quarter ¶ 0010) times the operating wavelength (PATRICK: wavelength ¶ 0010) of the first radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, first radiating element).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of BIN and in further view of VARNOOSFADERANI MOHAMMAD et al. (hereinafter VARNOOSFADERANI).
Regarding claim 9, HUANG and BIN make obvious (Currently Amended) the antenna according to claim 6, a respective second conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4), and the first radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, first radiating element).
HUANG and BIN do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination,
wherein a respective second conductive part comprises a filtering structure, and the filtering structure is configured to filter the radio signal of the first radiating element to reduce interference caused by the respective second conductive part to the radio signal of the first radiating element.
However, VARNOOSFADERANI teaches the two narrowed meandered lines which form the common mode filter are electromagnetically coupled together in the center. The common mode filter 360 may effectively block any common mode resonance that arises in the feed stalks 310 (¶ 0094, fig. 13A-13C).
The common mode filters 360 and/or 370 may be implemented on any of the low-band radiating elements 300, and may also be implemented on the high-band radiating elements 400 (¶ 0095, fig. 13A-14).
The same concept for a common mode filter implemented on a feed stalk printed circuit board 310 may be applied on the dipole arms 330 to stop in phase currents from flowing on either side of the capacitors 342 (¶ 0096, fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of VARNOOSFADERANI to include the plurality of filters with the antenna configuration of the combined art HUANG and BIN with the benefit of filtering frequencies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HUANG, BIN and VARNOOSFADERANI to obtain the invention:
wherein a respective second conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4) comprises a filtering structure (VARNOOSFADERANI: common mode filters 360 and/or 370 ¶ 0095, fig. 13A-14), and the filtering structure (VARNOOSFADERANI: common mode filters 360 and/or 370 ¶ 0095, fig. 13A-14) is configured to filter the radio signal (VARNOOSFADERANI: block any common mode resonance that arises ¶ 0094) of the first radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, first radiating element) to reduce interference caused by the respective second conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4) to the radio signal of the first radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, first radiating element).
Regarding claim 10, HUANG, BIN and VARNOOSFADERANI make obvious (Original) the antenna according to claim 9, wherein the filtering structure (VARNOOSFADERANI: common mode filters 360 and/or 370 ¶ 0095, fig. 13A-14) comprises a bent structure (VARNOOSFADERANI: two narrowed meandered lines which form the common mode filter ¶ 0094, fig. 13A-13C).
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of VARNOOSFADERANI.
Regarding claim 14, HUANG teaches: (Currently Amended) The antenna according to claim 1, wherein the antenna further comprises a second conductive part (fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4), and the second conductive part (fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4) and the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element) are connected (coaxial cable, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d) to the common ground (a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]); and
wherein the second conductive part (fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4) is located at the center (fig. 1b, center) of the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element), is coupled (electromagnetic coupling, p. 2, 2nd para.) to the first radiating element (fig. 1a, first radiating element).
HUANG does not explicitly teach and is configured to suppress common-mode resonance generated by the first radiating element in a second radiating element.
However, VARNOOSFADERANI teaches each feed stalk 310 may further include a hook balun (¶ 0063, fig. 9).
The two narrowed meandered lines which form the common mode filter are electromagnetically coupled together in the center. The common mode filter 360 may effectively block any common mode resonance that arises in the feed stalks 310 (¶ 0094, fig. 13A-13C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of VARNOOSFADERANI to include the plurality of filters with the antenna configuration of the art HUANG with the benefit of blocking common mode resonance (VARNOOSFADERANI, ¶ 0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HUANG and VARNOOSFADERANI to obtain the invention:
and is configured to suppress common-mode resonance (VARNOOSFADERANI: block any common mode resonance ¶ 0094) generated by the first radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, first radiating element) in a second radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, second radiating element).
Regarding claim 15, HUANG and VARNOOSFADERANI make obvious (Previously Presented) the antenna according to claim 14, wherein the second conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4) is a is a metal strip (HUANG: fig. 7).
Regarding claim 16, HUANG and VARNOOSFADERANI make obvious (Previously Presented) the antenna according to claim 14, wherein the antenna further comprises a balun (VARNOOSFADERANI: hook balun ¶ 0063), and the second conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4) is electrically connected to the balun (VARNOOSFADERANI: hook balun ¶ 0063, fig. 9).
Regarding claim 17, HUANG and VARNOOSFADERANI make obvious (Previously Presented) the antenna according to claim 14, wherein the antenna further comprises a reflective plate (HUANG: a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]), wherein the reflective plate has a reflective surface (HUANG: a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]), and wherein the first radiating element (HUANG: fig. 1a, first radiating element) and the second conductive part (HUANG: fig. 1a, SRL2/SRL4) are located on one side (HUANG: fig. 1d) of the reflective surface (HUANG: a square ground plane used as reflector, p. 2, 1st para., fig. 1c-1d [Lg]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE A. MIRANDA GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/REGIS J BETSCH/ SPE, Art Unit 2844