DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A: FIG 1A-1D, claims 1, 3, 6- 9, 11- 13 in the reply filed on 8/7/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “the inner ring” should read “the outer ring”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the plurality of eyelets". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 also depends from withdrawn claim 2. For the purpose of expediting prosecution, the claim has been treated as depending from claim 1.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the three springs". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Degtiar (20180117329).
With regards to claim 1, Degtiar discloses a retina clip (20) comprising: an outer ring (see annotated FIG 1A below) having a plurality of retention members (40); and an inner platform (see annotated FIG 1A below) configured to hold a payload (90) against a retina of an eye (FIG 1F); where the inner platform is suspended from the outer ring via a plurality of springs (38, FIG 1A).
With regards to claim 9, Degtiar discloses the retina clip of claim 1, wherein lengths of the springs in the plurality of springs point towards the inner platform (FGI 1A).
With regards to claim 11, Degtiar discloses the retina clip of claim 1, wherein the payload is a microelectrode array ([0074]).
With regards to claim 13, Degtiar discloses the retina clip of claim 1, wherein the outer ring comprises a plurality of eyelets (at the end of 28), and the retention members of the plurality of retention members (40) are tacks that fit through the plurality of eyelets (FIG 2I; [0112]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degtiar (20180117329) in view of So (20230127407).
With regards to claim 3, Degtiar discloses the retina clip of claim 1, wherein the plurality of eyelets contains two eyelets (end of 28) spaced equally apart on an outer edge of the outer ring (FIG 1A), but fails to disclose wherein the plurality of eyelets contains three eyelets spaced 120 degrees apart on an outer edge of the outer ring.
So discloses an ocular implant support device (120) with fixation arms (126). So teaches three fixation arms ([0055]) arranged 120 degrees apart on an outer edge of the outer ring ([0057]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Degtiar so that the plurality of eyelets contains three eyelets spaced 120 degrees apart on an outer edge of the outer ring, as taught by So, as this configuration has more connection points more positioning and securement and engages more axes. Furthermore, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.
With regards to claim 6, Degtiar discloses the retina clip of claim 1, wherein the plurality of springs contains three springs.
So discloses an ocular implant support device (120) with fixation arms (126) that have spring-like qualities ([0056]). So teaches three fixation arms ([0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Degtiar so that the plurality of springs contains three springs, as taught by So, as this configuration has more connection points more positioning and securement and engages more axes. Furthermore, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.
With regards to claim 7, Degtiar discloses the retina clip of claim 1, wherein the plurality of eyelets contains two eyelets (end of 28) spaced equally apart on an outer edge of the outer ring (FIG 1A), but fails to disclose wherein the outer ring comprises three eyelets spaced 120 degrees apart on an outer edge of the outer ring, and wherein each spring of the three springs is attached equally spaced between two of the three eyelets.
So discloses an ocular implant support device (120) with fixation arms (126) that have spring-like qualities ([0056]). So teaches three fixation arms ([0055]) arranged 120 degrees apart on an outer edge of the outer ring ([0057]) and wherein each spring of the three springs is attached equally spaced between two of the three eyelets (if the three arms with eyelets and springs are equally spaced, each spring will be attached to one arm with eyelets and equally spaced between the other two arms with eyelets). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Degtiar so that the plurality of eyelets contains three eyelets spaced 120 degrees apart on an outer edge of the outer ring, and wherein each spring of the three springs is attached equally spaced between two of the three eyelets, as taught by So, as this configuration has more connection points more positioning and securement and engages more axes. Furthermore, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degtiar (20180117329) in view of Chmeissani (WO2020089222A1).
With regards to claim 8, Degtiar discloses the retina clip of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the outer ring, the inner platform, and the plurality of springs are made of nitinol.
Chmeissani discloses a retinal implant (100) configured to hold a payload against a retina of an eye (FIG 4G). Chmeissani teaches that the implant can be made of nitinol (pg 9 line 34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Degtiar so that the outer ring, the inner platform, and the plurality of springs are made of nitinol, as taught by Chmeissani, as it is an implant-grade material and can help the implant hold a desired shape (pg 10 line 24).
With regards to claim 12, Degtiar discloses the retina clip of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the payload is a microLED array.
Chmeissani discloses a retinal implant (100) configured to hold a payload against a retina of an eye (FIG 4G). Chmeissani teaches that the payload is a microLED array (page 4 line 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Degtiar’s retina clip to include that the payload is a microLED array, as taught by Chmeissani, in order to include an artificial vision system (abstract).
Conclusion
/R.F.N./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774