DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Double Patenting
The double patenting rejection has been withdrawn in light of the amendments made to claims 1, 8 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 14, the amendments to the claims overcome the prior art rejection of record; However, after further consideration the limitation “at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are coupled in series at an interface via at least one threaded portion” is taught by embodiment in Fig. 3A of White. As such, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the claimed configurations and functions of “at least two magnetic fluid conditioners” with respect to the “coupling mandrel”, “tubing” and “seal area” to direct fluid flow through the “at least two magnetic fluid conditioners”.
Regarding the recitation of “at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are coupled in series at an interface via at least one threaded portion”, White teaches only one magnetic fluid conditioner 110E which is coupled to a mandrel 90 that’s disposed within a casing wellbore; however, Fig. 3A discloses that magnetic fluids conditioners 110A and 110B can be coupled in series via threads 202 and 204 (fig. 7). Although, the embodiment of figure 3A is above ground and the embodiment of fig. 4 is below ground, the fluid conditioners in both embodiments perform the same function of conditioning produced fluid. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid conditioner system of Fig. 4 of White by adding a second fluid conditioner, i.e. 110B, to the distal end of magnetic fluid conditioner 110E such that the magnetic fluid conditioner system of Fig. 4 includes a second magnetic fluid conditioner that are coupled in series, as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 3A of White, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. The court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In this case, the addition of a second magnetic fluid conditioner does not produce a new or unexpected results because the second fluid conditioner performs the same function as the existing magnetic fluid conditioner which is to condition the producing oil. This is further emphasized by the specification of the instant application which discloses that “The magnetic fluid conditioners 461 at 462 are connected in tandem and operate in series to condition the oil.” (parap0048]) The addition of another magnetic fluid conditioner does not provide a new and unexpected result as both conditioners are disclosed to perform the same function of “condition the oil”. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As such, claims 1, 8 and 14 remain rejected over White in view of Schroeder, relying on a different embodiment of White.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, 14, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (U.S. Publication No. 7572371) in view of Schroeder (U.S. Patent No. 4595054).
In regards to claim 1, White teaches a method for positioning a magnetic fluid conditioner (110E) positioned within a casing (510) of a producing well (well 80; A method of controlling a buildup of deposits on internal wall of piping is provided. The method may include positioning a first magnetic fluid conditioner proximate to a piping below ground; Fig. 4, Col. 2 lines 1-6, Col. 7 lines 51-61), the method comprising:
inserting a coupling mandrel (90) having the magnetic fluid conditioner (110E) coupled at a distal end of the coupling mandrel (90) into the tubing positioned within the casing (510) of the well (80; Fig. 4).
White is silent regarding positioning the coupling mandrel at least partially within the completion component, wherein the completion component of the tubing interfaces at least partially with the coupling mandrel having the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners within an internal volume of the tubing, wherein at least two magnetic fluid conditioners that are coupled in series at an interface via at least one threaded portion configured to be received such that the at least one threaded portion and respective outer surfaces of the at least two magnetic fluid conditioner are radially surrounded by the tubing and wherein the interface and the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are positioned within the internal volume of the tubing;
the tubing having a completion component comprising at least a section of tubular wall with an internal surface to provide a seal area; and sealing the coupling mandrel with the tubing such that when fluids are flowing from below the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners positioned within the internal volume of the tubing from the producing well, these fluids are directed to flow through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners and at least a portion of the coupling mandrel such that these fluids cannot flow through the tubing past the seal area without flowing through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners.
White, in different embodiment, discloses at least two magnetic fluid conditioners (110A, 110B; Fig. 3A) that are coupled in series (110A and 110B are coupled in series and this arrangement can be utilized below ground to control build up; Col. 5 lines 36-41) at an interface (portion of pipeline 20 between 110a and 110B) via at least one threaded portion configured to be received (threaded portions 202 and 204; Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic fluid conditioner system of figure 4 of White such that it includes a second magnetic fluid conditioner that is coupled in series, as taught in the embodiment of Fig. 3A of White, to the existing magnetic fluid conditioner because the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In this case, the addition of a second magnetic fluid conditioner does not produce a new or unexpected results because the second fluid conditioner performs the same function as the existing magnetic fluid conditioner which is to condition the producing oil. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Note that the modification is that the magnetic fluid conditioner 110E of Fig. 4 will have another magnetic fluid conditioner, i.e. 110B of Fig. 3A, attached to the downhole end of 110E such that 110E and 110B are coupled in series via threads (Fig. 7) in the same manner that 110A and 110B are coupled in series (Fig. 3A).
White is silent regarding the coupling mandrel at least partially within the completion component, wherein the completion component of the tubing interfaces at least partially with the coupling mandrel having the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners within an internal volume of the tubing, wherein respective outer surfaces of the at least two magnetic fluid conditioner are radially surrounded by the tubing and wherein the interface and the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are positioned within the internal volume of the tubing;
the tubing having a completion component comprising at least a section of tubular wall with an internal surface to provide a seal area; and sealing the coupling mandrel with the tubing such that when fluids are flowing from below the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners positioned within the internal volume of the tubing from the producing well, these fluids are directed to flow through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners and at least a portion of the coupling mandrel such that these fluids cannot flow through the tubing past the seal area without flowing through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners.
Schroeder, drawn to a downhole anchoring device, discloses a tubing (outer portion of 10; Fig. 1) having a completion component (inner diameter of 10; Fig. 1) comprising at least a section of tubular wall with an internal surface to provide a seal area (polished bore 20; Fig. 1); positioning the coupling mandrel (22) at least partially within the completion component (10); sealing (with seal 26; Fig. 1) the coupling mandrel (22) with the tubing (10; Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to modify White with the well lock system of Schroeder in order to anchor well equipment, such as flow control devices, at a desired location in a wellbore (Col. 2 lines 34-38 and 44-48).
In light of the modification above, the combination of White and Schroeder discloses the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners is in a tubing that is positioned within the casing (Schroeder discloses that 10 can be placed in a well production tubing/casing (not shown); Col. 2 lines 34-38, The well lock 22 of Schroeder includes threading 27 connections for support well equipment such as a flow control device (Col. 2 lines 44-48). Therefore, the magnetic fluid conditioner 110E of White can be connected to 22 of Schroeder and the second magnetic fluid conditioner 110B of White is attached to the downhole end of magnetic fluid conditioner 110E, such that the at least two fluid conditioners 110E and 110A are connected to tubing 10 inside of the casing of a well.); positioning the coupling mandrel at least partially within the completion component, wherein the completion component (internal portion of 10) of the tubing interfaces at least partially with the coupling mandrel (a plurality of locking dogs 30 are radially movable in windows 32 in the body 24 and when extended outwardly are adapted to lock in the locking notch 16 of the nipple 10; Col. 2 lines 52-55) to position the magnetic fluid conditioner within an internal volume of the tubing, the at least one threaded portion and respective outer surfaces of the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are radially surrounded by the tubing (well lock of Schroeder includes threading connections 27 for support well equipment such as a flow control device (Col. 2 lines 44-48). Therefore, the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners 110E and 110B of White can be connected to the distal end of the mandrel 22 such that a portion of the magnetic fluid conditioners and the threads are within the internal volume of the tubing (internal volume of 10) and radially surrounded by the tubing 10 of Schroeder (as shown by the dashed line structure which is surrounded by the tubing 10 upon connection to threads 27; Fig. 1).); sealing the coupling mandrel with the tubing such that when fluids are flowing from below from the producing well, these fluids are directed to flow through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners and at least a portion of the coupling mandrel such that these fluids cannot flow through the tubing past the seal area without flowing through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners (The seal 26 of Schroeder will prevent flow of fluid past the seals 26 such that fluid will be forced to flow through the magnetic fluid conditioners 110E and 110B of White.).
In regards to claim 2, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the method of claim 1.
In light of the modification made to claim 1, Schroeder further discloses further comprising locking the coupling mandrel (via dogs 30; Fig. 2) at a locking profile (16) of the completion component (10), wherein locking the coupling mandrel (22) to the locking profile comprises expanding a set of locking keys (30 expands; Fig. 1,2) of the coupling mandrel to engage the locking profile (16) of the completion component (internal portion of 10).
Therefore, It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to have modified the combination of White and Schroeder with the locking profile of Schroeder in order to prevent downward movement of the coupling mandrel (Col. 2 lines 34-42, Schroeder).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the method of claim 1,
Schroeder further discloses wherein sealing the coupling mandrel (22) with the tubing includes using the seal area (polished section 20) of the completion component (internal portion of 10) and comprises placing a packing stack (26) in contact with the seal area (20; Fig. 1), wherein the seal area (20) provides a sealable portion to receive the packing stack (26).
Therefore, It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to have modified the combination of White and Schroeder with the sealing system of Schroeder in order to provide a seal between the mandrel and the tubing (Col. 2 lines 44-48).
In regards to claim 4, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the method of claim 1.
In light of the modification made to claim 1, Schroeder further discloses wherein the completion component is a profile nipple placed at a desired position of the producing well to allow accurate placement of the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners (Col. 2 lines 34-38- element 10 generally indicates a landing nipple having connecting threads 12 and 14 at the top and bottom, respectively, for connection at a location in a well production tubing in a well. Furthermore, the completion component 10 and contains threads 27 below the seal 26 for supporting well equipment such as a flow control (Col. 4 lines 44-48)).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the method of claim 2.
Schroeder further discloses wherein locking the coupling mandrel to the locking profile comprises engaging the locking profile via a spring loaded locking dog on the coupling mandrel when the locking dog is adjacent the locking profile (Col. 3 lines 30-44 - a garter spring 56 actuates shear pins 58 to engage the opening 52 for holding the expander tube 34 in the set position. In retrieving the well lock 22 an upward pull on the tube 34 will shear the pin 58 allowing the tube 34 to move to the upward position and release the locking dogs 30 toward profile 16.).
Therefore, It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to have modified the combination of White and Schroeder with the spring loaded locking dog of Schroeder in order to selectively set or remove the mandrel from the well (Abstract).
In regards to claim 6, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the method of claim 1.
Schroeder further teaches wherein sealing the coupling mandrel (22) with the tubing (10) includes sealing the coupling mandrel (22) with at least a section of tubular wall of the completion component with an internal surface of the tubing to provide the seal area (seal 26 seals with an inner tubular wall of 10; Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the method of claim 1.
In light of the modification made to claim 1, the combination discloses wherein positioning the coupling mandrel at least partially within the completion component comprises positioning the coupling mandrel such that the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are not in direct contact with the tubing (Schroeder’s coupling mandrel 22 is within the completion component 10 and contains threads 27 below the seal 26 for supporting well equipment such as a flow control (Col. 4 lines 44-48, Fig. 1). Furthermore, figure 1 of Schroeder shows a well component attached to threads 27 (not labeled but outlined by dashed lines) which does not directly contact the inner tubular walls of 10. Therefore, White’s magnetic fluid conditioners 110E and 110B can be threadedly connected to Schroeder’s completion component to position the magnetic fluid condition to be not in contact with the tubing.).
In regards to claim 8, White teaches a method for positioning a magnetic fluid conditioner (110E; Fig. 4) within a casing (510) of a well (80), the method comprising:
positioning a mandrel (90) with the magnetic fluid conditioner (110E);
directing fluids below the mandrel in the well to flow through the magnetic fluid conditioner to be conditioned (Fig. 4, Col. 7 lines 63-66, Col. 8 lines 4-14 – disposed within well bore 80 is 90 that establishes fluid communication from the fluid formation to the ground surface. Magnetic fluid conditioner 110E can be placed in a variety of different locations below ground and proximate to the piping or tubing 90. The fluid (e.g., hydrocarbons, namely crude oil) comes in contact with is the magnetic field of the magnetic fluid conditioner 110E. As such, the buildup of deposits on an interior diameter of piping 90 in the below ground section of the piping is minimized.).
White is silent regarding at least two fluid conditioners; positioning the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners in a tubing positioned within the casing of a well; inserting a mandrel into the tubing positioned within the casing of the well; positioning the mandrel with the at least two magnetic fluid conditioner within an internal volume of the tubing, wherein the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are coupled in series at an interface via at least one thread portion configured to be received such that the at least one threaded portion and respective outer surfaces of the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are positioned in an internal volume of the tubing and radially surrounding by the tubing, wherein the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are positioned below a distal portion of the mandrel further into the tubing of well;
expanding a plurality of locking members of the mandrel to engage internal walls of the tubing when the mandrel is at a desired position in the tubing;
sealing the coupling mandrel with the tubing such that when fluids are flowing from below the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners positioned within the internal volume of the tubing from the producing well, these fluids are directed to flow through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners and at least a portion of the coupling mandrel such that these fluids cannot flow through the tubing past the seal area without flowing through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners.
White, in different embodiment, discloses at least two magnetic fluid conditioners (110A, 110B; Fig. 3A) that are coupled in series (110A and 110B are coupled in series and this arrangement can be utilized below ground to control build up; Col. 5 lines 36-41) at an interface (portion of pipeline 20 between 110a and 110B) via at least one threaded portion configured to be received (threaded portions 202 and 204; Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic fluid conditioner system of figure 4 of White such that it includes a second magnetic fluid conditioner that is coupled in series, as taught in the embodiment of Fig. 3A of White, to the existing magnetic fluid conditioner because the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In this case, the addition of a second magnetic fluid conditioner does not produce a new or unexpected results because the second fluid conditioner performs the same function as the existing magnetic fluid conditioner which is to condition the producing oil. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Note that the modification is that the magnetic fluid conditioner 110E of Fig. 4 will have another magnetic fluid conditioner, i.e. 110B of Fig. 3A, attached to the downhole end of 110E such that 110E and 110B are coupled in series via threads (Fig. 7) in the same manner that 110A and 110B are coupled in series (Fig. 3A).
White is silent regarding inserting a mandrel into the tubing positioned within the casing of the well; positioning the mandrel with the at least two magnetic fluid conditioner within an internal volume of the tubing; the at least one threaded portion and respective outer surfaces of the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are positioned in an internal volume of the tubing and radially surrounding by the tubing, wherein the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are positioned below a distal portion of the mandrel further into the tubing of well;
expanding a plurality of locking members of the mandrel to engage internal walls of the tubing when the mandrel is at a desired position in the tubing;
sealing the coupling mandrel with the tubing such that when fluids are flowing from below the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners positioned within the internal volume of the tubing from the producing well, these fluids are directed to flow through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners and at least a portion of the coupling mandrel such that these fluids cannot flow through the tubing past the seal area without flowing through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners.
Schroeder, drawn to a downhole anchoring device, inserting a mandrel (22; Fig. 1) into the tubing (10) positioned within the casing of the well (well production tubing/casing (not shown); Col. 2 lines 34-38); the tubing (tubing 10 which can further be attached to a production tubing via threads 14; Fig. 1) comprising a profile nipple (16);
expanding a plurality of locking members of the mandrel to engage internal walls of the tubing when the mandrel is at a desired position in the tubing (a plurality of locking dogs 30 are radially movable in windows 32 in the body 24 and when extended outwardly are adapted to lock in the locking notch 16 of the nipple 10; Col. 2 lines 52-55);
sealing (with seal 26; Fig. 1) the mandrel (22) with respect to the internal walls of the tubing (inner walls of 10; Fig. 1);
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to modify White with the well lock system of Schroeder in order to anchor well equipment, such as flow control devices, at a desired location in a wellbore (Col. 2 lines 34-38 and 44-48).
In light of the modification above, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches positioning the mandrel with the at least two magnetic fluid conditioner within an internal volume of the tubing, such that the at least one threaded portion and respective outer surfaces of the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are positioned in an internal volume of the tubing and radially surrounded by the tubing (Schroeder discloses that 10 can be placed in a well production tubing/casing (not shown) and further can be connected to a productizing tubing via threads 14; Col. 2 lines 34-38, The well lock 22 of Schroeder includes threading 27 connections to support well equipment such as a flow control device (Col. 2 lines 44-48). Therefore, the magnetic fluid conditioner 110E of White can be connected to 22 of Schroeder and the second magnetic fluid conditioner 110B of White is attached to the downhole end of magnetic fluid conditioner 110E, such that the at least two fluid conditioners 110E and 110A are positioned within an internal volume of 10 and the production tubing inside of the casing of a well.), wherein the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are positioned below a distal portion of the mandrel further into the tubing of well (The well lock 22 of Schroeder includes threading 27 connections at a distal end of 22 to support well equipment such as a flow control device (Col. 2 lines 44-48). Therefore, the magnetic fluid conditioner 110E of White can be connected to 22 of Schroeder and the second magnetic fluid conditioner 110B of White is attached to the downhole end of magnetic fluid conditioner 110E;
sealing the coupling mandrel with the tubing such that when fluids are flowing from below the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners positioned within the internal volume of the tubing from the producing well, these fluids are directed to flow through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners and at least a portion of the coupling mandrel such that these fluids cannot flow through the tubing past the seal area without flowing through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners (Schroeder’s coupling mandrel 22 is within the completion component 10 and contains threads 27 below the seal 26 for supporting well equipment such as a flow control (Col. 4 lines 44-48, Fig. 1). Furthermore, figure 1 of Schroeder shows a well component attached to threads 27 (not labeled but outlined by dashed lines) at a distal end of the mandrel 22,such that the fluid that flows through the system will contact the attached equipment before entering the mandrel 22. Therefore, fluids will enter the magnetic fluid conditioner 110E of White before entering the mandrel 22 of Schroeder.).
In regards to claim 10, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the method of claim 8.
White, in light of the above modifications, teaches wherein the fluids flowing from below the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners (110E and 110A of White which will be attached to the distal end of tubing 10 of Schroeder and the system will placed within the well system of Fig. 4 of White such that fluids will flow from below the magnetic fluid conditioners 110E and 110A; Col. 8 lines 1-14) comprises at least one of oil or water, and wherein the well comprises at least one of an oil well or a water well (oil well; Col. 3 lines 32-35).
In regards to claim 11, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the method of claim 8.
White further teaches wherein the fluids directed to flow through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are conditioned to inhibit the formation of paraffin (a magnetic fluid conditioner that provides numerous magnetic field transitions through a magnetic flux density in the flow path of the fluid to reduce the formation of precipitates/deposits, such as paraffin in oil; Fig. 4, Abstract, Col. 7 lines 63-66, Col. 8 lines 4-14).
In regards to claim 12, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the method of claim 8.
Schroeder further discloses wherein the desired position of the mandrel (22; Fig.1) in the tubing (Col. 2 lines 34-38- production tubing) is provided using the profile nipple (22 is positioned within the nipple 10) positioned inside the tubing (Col. 2 lines 34-38).
Regarding claim 14, White teaches a magnetic fluid conditioning system (Fig. 4) that may be positioned in a tubing positioned within a casing (510) of a well (80), the magnetic fluid conditioning system comprising:
a magnetic fluid conditioners (110E);
a coupling mandrel (90) configured to be connected to the magnetic fluid conditioner (110E; Fig. 4), the magnetic fluid conditioner in fluid communication with the coupling mandrel at a distal end of the coupling mandrel (Fig. 4) and below the coupling mandrel (Disposed within well bore 80 is 90 that establishes fluid communication from the fluid formation to the ground surface. Magnetic fluid conditioner 110E can be placed in a variety of different locations below ground and proximate to the piping or tubing 90. The fluid (e.g., hydrocarbons, namely crude oil) comes in contact with is the magnetic field of the magnetic fluid conditioner 110E. As such, the buildup of deposits on an interior diameter of piping 90 in the below ground section of the piping is minimized; Fig. 4, Col. 7 lines 63-66, Col. 8 lines 4-14);
White is silent regarding at least two magnetic fluid conditioners, wherein the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are coupled in series at an interface via at least one threaded portion configured to be received such that the at least one threaded portion and respective outer surfaces of the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are radially surrounded by the tubing; the coupling mandrel configured to be connected to the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners, the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners in fluid communication with the coupling mandrel at least partially below the coupling mandrel, and wherein a completion component is positioned at a first location of the tubing and configured to position the coupling mandrel with the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners connected to the coupling mandrel within the internal volume of the tubing; andwherein a portion of the coupling mandrel is configured to be sealed against a seal area of the tubing and is configured to direct fluids below the seal area and the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners positioned within the internal volume of the tubing to flow through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners for magnetic conditioning of the fluids.
White, in different embodiment, discloses at least two magnetic fluid conditioners (110A, 110B; Fig. 3A) that are coupled in series (110A and 110B are coupled in series and this arrangement can be utilized below ground to control build up; Col. 5 lines 36-41) at an interface (portion of pipeline 20 between 110a and 110B) via at least one threaded portion configured to be received (threaded portions 202 and 204; Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic fluid conditioner system of figure 4 of White such that it includes a second magnetic fluid conditioner that is coupled in series, as taught in the embodiment of Fig. 3A of White, to the existing magnetic fluid conditioner because the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In this case, the addition of a second magnetic fluid conditioner does not produce a new or unexpected results because the second fluid conditioner performs the same function as the existing magnetic fluid conditioner which is to condition the producing oil. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Note that the modification is that the magnetic fluid conditioner 110E of Fig. 4 will have another magnetic fluid conditioner, i.e. 110B of Fig. 3A, attached to the downhole end of 110E such that 110E and 110B are coupled in series via threads (Fig. 7) in the same manner that 110A and 110B are coupled in series (Fig. 3A).
White is silent regarding White is silent regarding the at least one threaded portion and respective outer surfaces of the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are radially surrounded by the tubing; the coupling mandrel configured to be connected to the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners, the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners in fluid communication with the coupling mandrel at least partially below the coupling mandrel, and wherein a completion component is positioned at a first location of the tubing and configured to position the coupling mandrel with the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners connected to the coupling mandrel within the internal volume of the tubing; andwherein a portion of the coupling mandrel is configured to be sealed against a seal area of the tubing and is configured to direct fluids below the seal area and the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners positioned within the internal volume of the tubing to flow through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners for magnetic conditioning of the fluids.
Schroeder, drawn to a downhole anchoring device, discloses at least one completion (inner portion of 10; Fig. 1) component positioned at a first location of a tubing (10), the completion component (inner portion of 10) comprising at least a portion of tubular wall with a locking profile (16); wherein a portion of the coupling mandrel (22) is configured to be sealed (with seal 26; Fig. 1) against a seal area (polished bore 20) of the tubing (10;Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to modify White with the well lock system of Schroeder in order to anchor well equipment, such as flow control devices, at a desired location in a wellbore (Col. 2 lines 34-38 and 44-48).
In light of the above modification, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the at least one threaded portion and respective outer surfaces of the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners are radially surrounded by the tubing (Schroeder discloses that 10 can be placed in a well casing (not shown) and further has threads 14 to connect to production tubing; Col. 2 lines 34-38, The well lock 22 of Schroeder includes threading 27 connections for support well equipment such as a flow control device (Col. 2 lines 44-48). Therefore, the magnetic fluid conditioner 110E of White can be connected to 22 of Schroeder and the second magnetic fluid conditioner 110B of White is attached to the downhole end of magnetic fluid conditioner 110E, such that the at least two fluid conditioners 110E and 110A are connected to tubing 10 and radially surrounded by 10 and production tubing.); the coupling mandrel (22 of Schroeder) configured to be connected to the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners (110E and 110A of White), the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners in fluid communication with the coupling mandrel at least partially below the coupling mandrel, and wherein a completion component is positioned at a first location of the tubing and configured to position the coupling mandrel with the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners connected to the coupling mandrel within the internal volume of the tubing (well lock of Schroeder includes threading connections 27 for support well equipment such as a flow control device (Col. 2 lines 44-48). Therefore, the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners 110E and 110B of White can be connected to the distal end of the mandrel 22 such that a portion of the magnetic fluid conditioners and the threads are within the internal volume of the tubing (internal volume of 10) and radially surrounded by the tubing 10 of Schroeder (as shown by the dashed line structure which is surrounded by the tubing 10 upon connection to threads 27; Fig. 1).); andwherein a portion of the coupling mandrel is configured to be sealed against a seal area of the tubing and is configured to direct fluids below the seal area and the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners positioned within the internal volume of the tubing to flow through the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners for magnetic conditioning of the fluids (The seal 26 of Schroeder will prevent flow of fluid past the seals 26 such that fluid will be forced to flow through the magnetic fluid conditioners 110E and 110B of White.).
In regards to claim 15, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the system of claim 14.
In light of the above modification, White teaches wherein the at least two magnetic fluid (110E and 110A) conditioners are coupled in tandem to one another (110E and 110B will be connected in tandem to one another, the same way 110A and 110B are connected, via threads 202 and 204; Figs. 3A, 4, 7).
In regards to claim 17, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the system of claim 14.
Schroeder further discloses wherein the coupling mandrel (22) further comprises a packing stack (26) for sealing with the seal area (20; Fig. 1), wherein the seal area (20) provides a sealable portion to receive the packing stack (26).
In regards to claim 18, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the system of claim 14.
In light of the modification made to claim 14, Schroeder further discloses that the completion component is a profile nipple installed at the first location of the tubing to allow placement of the at least two magnetic fluid conditioners (Col. 2 lines 34-38- element 10 generally indicates a landing nipple having connecting threads 12 and 14 at the top and bottom, respectively, for connection at a location in a well production tubing in a well. Furthermore, the completion component 10 and contains threads 27 below the seal 26 for supporting well equipment such as a flow control (Col. 4 lines 44-48).).
In regards to claim 19, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the system of claim 14.
Schroeder further discloses wherein the coupling mandrel comprises a spring loaded locking dog for engaging a locking profile of the completion component when the locking dog travels into the locking profile (Col. 3 lines 30-44 - a garter spring 56 actuates shear pins 58 to engage the opening 52 for holding the expander tube 34 in the set position. In retrieving the well lock 22 an upward pull on the tube 34 will shear the pin 58 allowing the tube 34 to move to the upward position and release the locking dogs 30 toward profile 16.).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to have modified the combination of White and Schroeder with the spring loaded locking dog of Schroeder in order to selectively set or remove the mandrel from the well (Abstract).
In regards to claim 20, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the system of claim 14,
Schroeder further discloses wherein the seal area is disposed above, below, or as a part of the completion component (seals 26 sealing engages a seal area within the inner wall of 10 (completion component); Fig. 1).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (U.S. Patent No. 7572371) in view of Schroeder (U.S. Patent No. 4595054) and in further view of Tamplen (U.S. Patent No. 3379257).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the method of claim 8.
The combination of White and Schroeder is silent regarding wherein expanding the plurality of locking members of the mandrel further comprises pulling up a distal portion of the mandrel to displace a plurality of slips surrounding the distal portion of the mandrel as to expand the slips and the plurality of locking members thereon to bite against the internal walls of the tubing.
Tamplen, drawn to a downhole anchoring device, discloses expanding the plurality of locking members (35) of the mandrel (21) further comprises pulling up a distal portion of the mandrel to displace a plurality of slips surrounding the distal portion of the mandrel as to expand the slips and the plurality of locking members thereon to bite against the internal walls of the tubing (Col. 1 lines 59- 61, Fig. 6 - Anchoring device having slips 35 which are forced into tighter engagement with a surrounding surface by upward force on the mandrels to bite against the internal walls 29 of the tubing 30.).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to modify the method of the combination of White and Schroeder with the anchoring system of Tamplen as way to further enhance the anchoring of the completion system of White and Schroeder in the well bore (Col 1 lines 69-72, Tamplen).
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (U.S. Patent No. 7572371) in view of Schroeder (U.S. Patent No. 4595054) and in further view of Watkins (U.S. Patent No. 4161984).
In regards to claim 13, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the method of claim 8.
Schroeder discloses a fishing neck (threads 12) of a proximal end of the coupling mandrel (at 70).
The combination of White and Schroeder is silent regarding inserting the mandrel into the tubing of the well comprises lowering the mandrel into the tubing using a slick line (wire line), an E line, or a coil tubing connected to the fishing neck of the mandrel.
Watkins, drawn to well anchoring device, discloses inserting the mandrel into the tubing of the well comprises lowering the mandrel into the tubing using a slick line (wire line), an E line, or a coil tubing connected to the fishing neck of the mandrel (Col. 2 lines 67-68 – mandrel 14 is supported from a wireline (not shown) as is conventional. Fig. 1A, Col. 3 lines 36-39- mandrel 14 may include a body 70, an actuating member 72 which is movable relative to the body 70 and is connected to a fishing neck 74 and in turn to a wireline connection 76 for actuation by a wireline.)
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to have modified the method of the combination of White and Schroeder such that the upper threads of Schroeder is substituted for the fishing neck/wireline system of Watkins as this would require simple substitution of known structures for running and actuating well bore tools at a desired location in the wellbore. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Furthermore, wireline conveyance is a conventional means of conveyance in the art (Col. 2 lines 61-68,Watkins).
In regards to claim 16, the combination of White and Schroeder teaches the system of claim 14.
Schroeder discloses a fishing neck (threads 12) of a proximal end of the coupling mandrel (at 70).
The combination of White and Schroeder is silent regarding the coupling mandrel configured to accept a slick line (wire line), an E line, or a coil tubing that may attach to the fishing neck of the coupling mandrel.
Watkins, drawn to well anchoring device, discloses wherein the coupling mandrel includes a fishing neck portion adjacent the proximal end of the coupling mandrel so that a slick line (wire line), an E line, or a coil tubing may attach to the fishing neck portion (Fig. 1A, Col. 3 lines 36-39- 14 - an actuating member 72 which is movable relative to the body 70 and is connected to a fishing neck 74 and in turn to a wireline connection 76 for actuation by a wireline.).
Therefore, It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to have modified the system of the combination of White and Schroeder such that the upper threads of Schroeder is substituted for the fishing neck/wireline system of Watkins as this would require simple substitution of known structures for running and actuating well bore tools at a desired location in the wellbore. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Furthermore, wireline conveyance is a conventional means of conveyance in the art (Col. 2 lines 61-68, Watkins).
In light of the modification above, the combination of White, Schroeder and Watkins teaches that the coupling mandrel with the magnetic fluid conditioner attached includes a fishing neck portion adjacent the proximal end of the coupling mandrel so that a slick line (wire line), an E line, or a coil tubing may attach to the fishing neck portion.
Conclusion
/LAMIA QUAIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3676