DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
2. Claims 4 and 10 are canceled.
3. Claims 1 and 5-6 are currently amended.
4. Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huertas Fernandez et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0335653 A1), in view of Valles Leon (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0114600 A1), and further in view of Goulden et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0042172 A1).
8. Regarding Claim 1 (Currently amended), Fernandez discloses A method of remotely programming a medical device that provides therapy to a patient, (Abstract reciting “A method is disclosed for programming a patient's stimulator device using an external device. The method provides a Graphical User Interface (GUI) on the external device that allows the patient to select from a plurality of displayed stimulation modes to program stimulation provided by one or more electrodes of the stimulator device. …”) comprising: establishing a first communication between a patient controller (PC) device and the medical device, (paragraph [0006] reciting “IPG 10 can include an antenna 26 a allowing it to communicate bi-directionally with a number of external devices, as shown in FIG. 4. …” IPG is medical device and external device 45 is PC device.) wherein the medical device provides therapy to the patient (paragraph [0004] reciting “An SCS system typically includes an Implantable Pulse Generator (IPG) 10 shown in FIG. 1. …”;
paragraph [0005] reciting “… The IPG leads 15 can be integrated with and permanently connected the case 12 in other IPG solutions. The goal of SCS therapy is to provide electrical stimulation from the electrodes 16 to alleviate a patient's symptoms, most notably chronic back pain.” ) according to one or more programmable parameters, the PC device communicates signals to the medical device to set or modify the one or more programmable parameters, (Abstract reciting “A method is disclosed for programming a patient's stimulator device using an external device. The method provides a Graphical User Interface (GUI) on the external device that allows the patient to select from a plurality of displayed stimulation modes to program stimulation provided by one or more electrodes of the stimulator device. …”;
paragraph [0025] reciting “In one example, a method disclosed for programming a patient's stimulator device, which may comprise: providing a Graphical User Interface (GUI) that allows the patient to select from a plurality of displayed stimulation modes to program stimulation provided by one or more electrodes of the stimulator device; storing information indicative of a plurality of subsets of stimulation parameters derived for the patient, wherein each stimulation mode corresponds to one of the subsets of stimulation parameters; and based on selection of one of the stimulation modes, limiting programming the stimulator device to stimulation parameters that are within the corresponding subset of stimulation parameters.”)
establishing a video connection between the PC device and a clinician programmer (CP) device of a clinician (paragraph [0013] reciting “FIG. 4 shows various external devices that can wirelessly communicate data with the IPG 10 and the ETS 40, including a patient, hand-held external controller 45, and a clinician programmer 50. Both of devices 45 and 50 can be used to send a stimulation program to the IPG 10 or ETS 40—that is, to program their stimulation circuitries 28 and 44 to produce pulses with a desired shape and timing described earlier. Both devices 45
and 50 may also be used to adjust one or more stimulation parameters of a stimulation program that the IPG 10 or ETS 40 is currently executing. Devices 45 and 50 may also receive information from the IPG 10 or ETS 40, such as various status information, etc.”) for a remote programming session in a second communication that includes an audio/video (A/V) session;
and modifying a value for one or more programmable parameters of the medical device according to signals from the CP device (paragraph [0013] reciting “FIG. 4 shows various external devices that can wirelessly communicate data with the IPG 10 and the ETS 40, including a patient, hand-held external controller 45, and a clinician programmer 50. Both of devices 45 and 50 can be used to send a stimulation program to the IPG 10 or ETS 40—that is, to program their stimulation circuitries 28 and 44 to produce pulses with a desired shape and timing described earlier. Both devices 45 and 50 may also be used to adjust one or more stimulation parameters of a stimulation program that the IPG 10 or ETS 40 is currently executing. Devices 45 and 50 may also receive information from the IPG 10 or ETS 40, such as various status information, etc.”) While Fernandez does not explicitly disclose, Leon discloses and the PC device comprises a video camera; (paragraph [0020] reciting “… The control system 102 can then establish a connection between the provider computing device 104 or 106 and the patient computing device 108 or 110 via the network(s) 112, such as a teleconference or videoconference, for the remote encounter to occur. In one example, the encounter or session involving a provider and a patient begins once both the provider and the patient are able to see and hear each other (via cameras, microphones, and speakers of the respective computing devices). In another example, the encounter or session involving a provider and a patient begins once both the provider and the patient are able to hear each other (in the event that one or both of the provider and patient does not have a camera).”)
establishing a video connection between the PC device and a clinician programmer (CP) device of a clinician for a remote programming session in a second communication that includes an audio/video (A/V) session; (paragraph [0020] reciting “… The control system 102 can then establish a connection between the provider computing device 104 or 106 and the patient computing device 108
or 110 via the network(s) 112, such as a teleconference or videoconference, for the remote encounter to occur. In one example, the encounter or session involving a provider and a patient begins once both the provider and the patient are able to see and hear each other (via cameras, microphones, and speakers of the respective computing devices). In another example, the encounter or session involving a provider and a patient begins once both the provider and the patient are able to hear each other (in the event that one or both of the provider and patient does not have a camera).” The devices in Fernandez FIG. 4 can be modified with teachings from Leon so that they have cameras and can engage in remote audio/video sessions through respective display screen.)
during the remote programming session; (paragraph [0020] reciting “… The control system 102 can then establish a connection between the provider computing device 104 or 106 and the patient computing device 108 or 110 via the network(s) 112, such as a teleconference or videoconference, for the remote encounter to occur. In one example, the encounter or session involving a provider and a patient begins once both the provider and the patient are able to see and hear each other (via cameras, microphones, and speakers of the respective computing devices). In another example, the encounter or session involving a provider and a patient begins once both the provider and the patient are able to hear each other (in the event that one or both of the provider and patient does not have a camera).”)
wherein the method further comprises: monitoring touch input on the PC device during the remote programming session; (paragraph [0020] reciting “… The control system 102 can then establish a connection between the provider computing device 104 or 106 and the patient computing device 108 or 110 via the network(s) 112, such as a teleconference or videoconference, for the remote encounter to occur. In one example, the encounter or session involving a provider and a patient begins once both the provider and the patient are able to see and hear each other (via cameras, microphones, and speakers of the respective computing devices). In another example, the encounter or session involving a provider and a patient begins once both the provider and the patient are able to hear each other (in the event that one or both of the provider and patient does not have a camera).”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fernandez with Leon so that the external patient and clinician devices have audio/video capabilities through cameras, etc. This is an obviously beneficial modification as it allowed the physician to talk to and view the patient during therapy, when needed by either the patient or clinician. This is convenient can also save the lives of patients as audio/video communication much more accurately conveys vital information between patient and clinician.
While the combination of Fernandez and Leon does not explicitly disclose, Goulden discloses wherein the method further comprises: monitoring touch input on the PC device during the remote programming session, the monitoring including capturing metrics related to finger shaking; (paragraph [0052] reciting “The tremor compensation system 410 may include a tremor analyzing component 413 for analyzing the position data of the user's finger to determine a type of tremor in the finger. The tremor analyzing component 413 may analyze the position data of multiple instances of a user's finger movement when inputting elements in the user interface display 404 to build a picture of the nature of the tremor. The target determining component 420 may include a compensation type component 430 for selecting a compensation method for the type of tremor and using the compensation method in determining the intended element.” The tremor compensation system 410 analyzes the position data of the user’s finger to determine type of tremor. The analyzing of the position data of the user’s finger corresponds to capturing metrics related to finger shaking.)
communicating the metrics related to finger shaking to the CP device; (paragraph [0069] reciting “The communication device may also include a communication element 550 for connection to communication channels including a cellular telephone network, data transmission, etc. The communication element 550 may include an associated wireless transfer element, such as an antenna.”;
see FIG. 4 wherein tremor compensation system 410 is part of handheld electronic device 110, which is a device that analyzes the finger’s position data. The device can be modified to transit the finger data through wireless transmission using an antenna as well.)
detecting tremor in response to the monitoring; and modifying, in response to the detecting, at least one graphical user interface (GUI) component on a patient application on the PC device to assist input from the patient. (see FIG. 1A and 1B; paragraph [0021] reciting “A path 130 illustrates a movement of a user's finger as it approaches the surface of the graphical user interface 112 when the user has a tremor. The described method and system provide functionality to display an enlarged version 116 of a UI element that is determined to be the target of the user's finger as it approaches the graphical user interface 112.”;
paragraph [0052] reciting “The tremor compensation system 410 may include a tremor analyzing component 413 for analyzing the position data of the user's finger to determine a type of tremor in the finger. The tremor analyzing component 413 may analyze the position data of multiple instances of a user's finger movement when inputting elements in the user interface display 404 to build a picture of the nature of the tremor. The target determining component 420 may include a compensation type component 430 for selecting a compensation method for the type of tremor and using the compensation method in determining the intended element.” As the type of tremor is detected while the finger is moving towards the screen for touch input, the particular icon or button is enlarged and the text in the button is also enlarged. This can be applied the GUI interface of the patient external device so as the patient finger/hand tremor, the parameter icons that are needed to adjust the level of IPG 10 stimuli are enlarged on the GUI for the tremoring finger to press.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fernandez with Goulden so that icons/buttons for adjusting stimulation parameters are enlarged when tremoring fingers are detected approaching the touchscreen. This is an obviously beneficial modification since Fernandez discloses in paragraph [0007] that the stimulation parameters include frequency, pulses, electrodes activated and polarity and the icons that control them can be marked with text that allows a user with tremoring fingers to push more easily and accurately by enlarging them as the tremoring finger approaches them on the touchscreen. This is beneficial because a patient should not be pressing the wrong button while the patient’s fingers are tremoring.
9. Regarding Claim 2 (Original), Goulden further discloses The method of claim 1 wherein the modifying comprises enlarging the at least one GUI component. (see FIG. 1A and 1B; paragraph [0021] reciting “A path 130 illustrates a movement of a user's finger as it approaches the surface of the graphical user interface 112 when the user has a tremor. The described method and system provide functionality to display an enlarged version 116 of a UI element that is determined to be the target of the user's finger as it approaches the graphical user interface 112.”)
10. Regarding Claim 3 (Original), the limitation The method of claim 1 wherein the modifying comprises enlarging text size is obvious in view of Fernandez in view of Goulden. Fernandez at paragraph [0021] discloses “Shown to the right is a stimulation parameters interface 82, in which specific stimulation parameters (A, D, F, E, P) can be defined for a stimulation program. Values for stimulation parameters relating to the shape of the waveform (A; in this example, current), pulse width (PW), and frequency (F) are shown in a waveform parameter interface 84, including buttons the clinician can use to increase or decrease these values.” While text is not explicitly disclosed to be on the virtual icons/buttons, the fact that the buttons need to be distinguished means the buttons can obviously be modified to have “A”, “D”, “F”, “E”, or “P” on them to indicate the different stimulation parameter that need to be adjusted. The enlargement of those buttons and text is disclosed by Goulden in paragraph [0021].)
11. Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez in view of Goulden.
12. Regarding Claim 5 (Currently amended), Fernandez discloses A method of operating an application for a patient with an implantable medical device, (paragraph [0013] reciting “FIG. 4 shows various external devices that can wirelessly communicate data with the IPG 10 and the ETS 40, including a patient, hand-held external controller 45, and a clinician programmer 50. Both of devices 45 and 50 can be used to send a stimulation program to the IPG 10 or ETS 40—that is, to program their stimulation circuitries 28 and 44 to produce pulses with a desired shape and timing described earlier. Both devices 45 and 50 may also be used to adjust one or more stimulation parameters of a stimulation program that the IPG 10 or ETS 40 is currently executing. Devices 45 and 50 may also receive information from the IPG 10 or ETS 40, such as various status information, etc.”;
paragraph [0029] reciting “In one example, a non-transitory computer readable medium is disclosed configured for operation in an external device configured to program a stimulator device implantable in a patient with stimulation to be provided at one or more of the plurality of electrodes, the medium including information indicative of a plurality of subsets of stimulation parameters derived for the patient, wherein the medium includes instructions that, when executed on the external device, may be configured to: provide a Graphical User Interface (GUI) on the external device that allows the patient to select from a plurality of displayed stimulation modes to program the stimulation, wherein each stimulation mode corresponds to one of the subsets of stimulation parameters derived for the patient, and based on selection of one of the stimulation modes, limit programming the stimulator device to stimulation parameters that are within the corresponding subset of stimulation parameters.”
Instructions in computer-readable medium corresponds to application that controls the workings of the external device.)
comprising: establishing a communication session with the implantable medical device with the application using wireless communication circuitry of a patient controller (PC) device; (paragraph [0202] reciting “The external controller 45 may also be useful in determining the relevant stimulation mode to be used during selection of the automatic mode. In this regard, the external controller 45 can include sensors useful to determine patient activity or posture, such as an accelerometer, although this isn't shown in FIG. 30. The external controller 45 can also include a clock, and can wirelessly receive information from the IPG 10 concerning its battery voltage, and from sensors 620 regarding signals that are detected at the IPG's electrodes. Thus, the external controller 45 may also include a stimulation mode detection algorithm 610′ responsive to such inputs. This algorithm 610′ can take the place of algorithm 610 in the IPG 10, or can supplement the information determined from algorithm 610 to improve the stimulation mode determination. In short, and as facilitated by the bi-directional wireless communication between the external controller 45 and the IPG 10, the stimulation mode detection algorithm can effectively be split between the external controller and the IPG 10 in any desired fashion.“
External controller 45 corresponds to the PC and it bidirectionally linked through wireless communication to the IPG. IPG corresponds to implantable medical device.)
receiving touch input by the application during the communication session to control application operations during the communication session; (paragraph [0170] reciting “Once loaded, the patient can access a menu in the external controller 45 to adjust the therapy the IPG or ETS provides consistent with these optimal parameters 420. For example, FIG. 21 shows a graphical user interface (GUI) of the external controller 45 as displayed on its screen 46. The GUI includes means to allow the patient to simultaneously adjust the stimulation within the range of determined optimal stimulation parameters 420. In one example, a slider is included in the GUI with a cursor 430. The patient may select the cursor 430 and in this example move it to the left or right to adjust the frequency of stimulation pulses in their IPG or ETS”)”)
While not explicitly disclosed by Fernandez, Goulden discloses receiving touch input by the application during the communication session to control application operations during the communication session; (paragraph [0003] reciting “Many hand-held electronic devices have touchscreens providing a graphical user interface for input by the user. The graphical user interface interaction often includes selecting a small element on the graphical user interface using a pointing finger. In particular, an area of the graphical user interface may provide a keyboard for typing on a virtual keyboard. A lack of fine motor control often means that a user cannot communicate accurately, quickly or, in some cases, at all using the touchscreen graphical user interface.”)
monitoring touch input on the PC device during the communication session, the monitoring including capturing metrics related to finger shaking; (paragraph [0052] reciting “The tremor compensation system 410 may include a tremor analyzing component 413 for analyzing the position data of the user's finger to determine a type of tremor in the finger. The tremor analyzing component 413 may analyze the position data of multiple instances of a user's finger movement when inputting elements in the user interface display 404 to build a picture of the nature of the tremor. The target determining component 420 may include a compensation type component 430 for selecting a compensation method for the type of tremor and using the compensation method in determining the intended element.” The tremor compensation system 410 analyzes the position data of the user’s finger to determine type of tremor. The analyzing of the position data of the user’s finger corresponds to capturing metrics related to finger shaking.)
communicating the metrics related to finger shading to the CP device; (paragraph [0069] reciting “The communication device may also include a communication element 550 for connection to communication channels including a cellular telephone network, data transmission, etc. The communication element 550 may include an associated wireless transfer element, such as an antenna.”;
see FIG. 4 wherein tremor compensation system 410 is part of handheld electronic device 110, which is a device that analyzes the finger’s position data. The device can be modified to transit the finger data through wireless transmission using an antenna as well.)
detecting tremor in response to the monitoring; and modifying, in response to the detecting, at least one graphical user interface (GUI) component on a patient application on the PC device to assist input from the patient during the communication session. (see FIG. 1A and 1B; paragraph [0021] reciting “A path 130 illustrates a movement of a user's finger as it approaches the surface of the graphical user interface 112 when the user has a tremor. The described method and system provide functionality to display an enlarged version 116 of a UI element that is determined to be the target of the user's finger as it approaches the graphical user interface 112.”;
paragraph [0052] reciting “The tremor compensation system 410 may include a tremor analyzing component 413 for analyzing the position data of the user's finger to determine a type of tremor in the finger. The tremor analyzing component 413 may analyze the position data of multiple instances of a user's finger movement when inputting elements in the user interface display 404 to build a picture of the nature of the tremor. The target determining component 420 may include a compensation type component 430 for selecting a compensation method for the type of tremor and using the compensation method in determining the intended element.” As the type of tremor is detected while the finger is moving towards the screen for touch input, the particular icon or button is enlarged and the text in the button is also enlarged. This can be applied the GUI interface of the patient external device so as the patient finger/hand tremor, the parameter icons that are needed to adjust the level of IPG 10 stimuli are enlarged on the GUI for the tremoring finger to press.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fernandez with Goulden so that icons/buttons for adjusting stimulation parameters are enlarged when tremoring fingers are detected approaching the touchscreen. This is an obviously beneficial modification since Fernandez discloses in paragraph [0007] that the stimulation parameters include frequency, pulses, electrodes activated and polarity and the icons that control them can be marked with text that allows a user with tremoring fingers to push more easily and accurately by enlarging them as the tremoring finger approaches them on the touchscreen. This is beneficial because a patient should not be pressing the wrong button while the patient’s fingers are tremoring.
13. Regarding Claim 6 (Currently amended), Fernandez further discloses The method of claim 5, wherein he capturing metric related to finger shaking includes receiving physiological data from the implantable medical device by the application during the communication session. (paragraph [0203] reciting “Further, the external controller 45 can receive relevant information to determine which stimulation mode should be entered from various other sensors. For example, the external controller 45 can receive information from a patient-worn external device 612, such as a smart watch or smart phone. Such smart devices 612 contain sensors indicative of movement (e.g., an accelerometer), and can include biological sensors as well (heart rate, blood pressure), which can be helpful to understanding different patient states, and thus different stimulation modes that should be used. Other sensors 614 more generically can also provide relevant information to the external controller 45. Such other sensors 614 could include other implantable devices that detect various biological states of the IPG patient (glucose, hear rate, etc.). Such other sensors 614 can provide still other information. For example, because cold or bad weather has been shown to affect an IPG patient stimulation therapy, sensor 614 could comprise weather sensors that provide weather information to the external controller 45. Note that sensor 614 may not need to communicate directly with the external controller 45. Information from such sensors 614 can be sent by a network (e.g., the Internet) and provided to the external controller 45 via various gateway devices (routers, WiFi, Bluetooth antennas, etc.).”
IPG sends physiological data such as glucose, hear rate, etc. back to patient’s external controller 45 which contains the application software within the computer-readable medium.)
14. Regarding Claim 7 (Original), Fernandez further discloses The method of claim 5 further comprising: modifying one or more parameters of the implantable medical device for patient therapy. paragraph [0025] reciting “In one example, a method disclosed for programming a patient's stimulator device, which may comprise: providing a Graphical User Interface (GUI) that allows the patient to select from a plurality of displayed stimulation modes to program stimulation provided by one or more electrodes of the stimulator device; storing information indicative of a plurality of subsets of stimulation parameters derived for the patient, wherein each stimulation mode corresponds to one of the subsets of stimulation parameters; and based on selection of one of the stimulation modes, limiting programming the stimulator device to stimulation parameters that are within the corresponding subset of stimulation parameters.”)
15. Regarding Claim 8 (Original), Goulden further discloses The method of claim 5 wherein the modifying comprises enlarging the at least one GUI component. (see FIG. 1A and 1B; paragraph [0021] reciting “A path 130 illustrates a movement of a user's finger as it approaches the surface of the graphical user interface 112 when the user has a tremor. The described method and system provide functionality to display an enlarged version 116 of a UI element that is determined to be the target of the user's finger as it approaches the graphical user interface 112.”)
16. Regarding Claim 9 (Original), the limitation The method of claim 5 wherein the modifying comprises enlarging text size is obvious in view of Fernandez in view of Goulden. Fernandez at paragraph [0021] discloses “Shown to the right is a stimulation parameters interface 82, in which specific stimulation parameters (A, D, F, E, P) can be defined for a stimulation program. Values for stimulation parameters relating to the shape of the waveform (A; in this example, current), pulse width (PW), and frequency (F) are shown in a waveform parameter interface 84, including buttons the clinician can use to increase or decrease these values.” While text is not explicitly disclosed to be on the virtual icons/buttons, the fact that the buttons need to be distinguished means the buttons can obviously be modified to have “A”, “D”, “F”, “E”, or “P” on them to indicate the different stimulation parameter that need to be adjusted. The enlargement of those buttons and text is disclosed by Goulden in paragraph [0021].)
Response to Arguments
17. Applicant's arguments filed in Remarks on 7/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue on page 6 of the Remarks, that the cited references fail to disclose capturing metrics related to finger shaking and communicating the metrics related to finger shaking to the CP device. The limitation capturing metrics related to finger shaking in at least paragraph [0052] of Goulden. Goulden at paragraph [0052] recites: “The tremor compensation system 410 may include a tremor analyzing component 413 for analyzing the position data of the user's finger to determine a type of tremor in the finger. The tremor analyzing component 413 may analyze the position data of multiple instances of a user's finger movement when inputting elements in the user interface display 404 to build a picture of the nature of the tremor. The target determining component 420 may include a compensation type component 430 for selecting a compensation method for the type of tremor and using the compensation method in determining the intended element.” The tremor analyzing component 413 analyzes the position data of the user’s finger in order to determine a type of tremor of the finger. Therefore, the component 413 clearly captures metrics related to finger shaking. The finger position data are metrics.
18. The limitation communicating the metrics related to finger shaking to the CP device is obvious in view of Fernandez modified by Goulden. Fernandez discloses wireless communication between external devices such as device 45 with IPG and ETS, which are clinician devices. Goulden also discloses using wireless antenna to transmit data. Therefore, the finger data captured in Goulden can easily be transmitted between a PC and CP through wireless data transmission means such as through wireless antenna. This is an obviously beneficial modification since transmitting data wireless facilitates the transfer of crucial/important data through long distance without physical connections between devices. Even through Fernandez does not disclose capturing finger shaking data and reacting to finger tremor, it is obviously beneficial to modify Fernandez with Goulden so finger shaking is detected and the GUI changes according since this allows a patient with shading hands to still use their devices. The remote care system in Fernandez such as IPG can be beneficially modified to receive finger data wireless and adjust the patient device’s GUI accordingly through wireless communication.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CONTACT
/FRANK S CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611