DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed with the application on 4/22/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: communication interface, controller in claim 1-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (US Patent Pub. # 2017/0150051).
As to claim 1, Ito discloses an image capture apparatus comprising:
an image sensor (imaging unit 15) configured to perform image capture (captures an image) to generate a captured image (image) (Para 64);
a communication interface (communication unit 13) configured to notify an external apparatus (information processing terminal 30) of control information (controls various settings) of the image capture apparatus (image capturing apparatus 10) that affects the captured image (image), in response to a change in the control information (controls various settings) (Para 103 and 104); and
a controller (controller 11) configured to determine whether or not to perform control for restricting notification (state monitoring unit 113 and mode determination unit 115) of the control information (controls various settings) to the external apparatus (30), based on whether or not the image capture apparatus (10) is operating in a specific mode (valid state) (Para 80 and 81),
wherein the image capture apparatus (10) has a plurality of modes (current operation mode of the image capturing apparatus 10 according to whether information transmission and reception is capable of being performed between the image capturing apparatus 10 and the information processing terminal 30 via the network n11) (Para 81),
the plurality of modes (current operation mode of the image capturing apparatus 10 according to whether information transmission and reception is capable of being performed between the image capturing apparatus 10 and the information processing terminal 30 via the network n11) include a first mode in which the image capture apparatus (10) changes the control information (controls various settings) in accordance with an instruction from an external apparatus (30), and a second mode in which the image capture apparatus (10) automatically changes the control information (controls various settings) (Para 81-83), and
the specific mode (single body) is the second mode (Para 83 and 84).
As to claim 2, Ito teaches wherein the controller (11) is further configured to determine whether or not to perform control for restricting notification (113 and 115) of the control information (controls various settings) to the external apparatus (30), based on a type of the control information (controls various settings) to be notified (Para 83 and 84).
As to claim 4, Ito teaches wherein the control information (controls various settings) is autonomously controlled by the image capture apparatus (10) (Para 87-89).
As to claim 5, Ito teaches wherein the control information (controls various settings) is a focus distance (focus), exposure control information (exposure condition), a gain (ISO sensitivity), color control information (white balance,) an image capture direction (angle of view), or image capture magnification information (magnification ratio (zooming)) (Para 50 and 65).
As to claim 6, Ito teaches wherein the specific mode (single body) is a mode in which the image capture apparatus (10) controls the control information (controls various settings).
As to claim 7, Ito teaches wherein the controller (11) is further configured to restrict notification (113 and 115) of the control information (controls various settings) to the external apparatus (30) so that an interval (predetermined period of time or longer) of the notification of the control information (controls various settings) to the external apparatus (30) is greater than or equal to a threshold (predetermined period of time or longer) (Para 84).
As to claim 8, Ito teaches wherein the controller (11) is further configured to restrict notification (113 and 115) of the control information (controls various settings) to the external apparatus (30) so that a frequency of the notification (monitoring result notified of by the state monitoring unit 113) of the control information (controls various settings) to the external apparatus (30) is smaller than or equal to a threshold (monitoring) (Para 80-82).
As to claim 9, Ito teaches wherein the controller (11) is further configured to restrict successive notification (monitoring result notified of by the state monitoring unit 113) of pieces of the control information to the external apparatus (30) in an event where a difference of the values indicated by the pieces of the control information (controls various settings) being less than a threshold (Para 80-82). Ito teaches the mode determination unit 115 determines a current operation mode of the image capturing apparatus 10 according to whether information transmission and reception is capable of being performed between the image capturing apparatus 10 and the information processing terminal 30 via the network n11 (in other words, whether the information processing terminal 30 is capable of detecting the state of the image capturing apparatus 10), based on the monitoring result notified of by the state monitoring unit 113 (Para 81).
As to claim 10, Ito teaches wherein the controller (11)is further configured to restrict notification (monitoring result notified of by the state monitoring unit 113) of the control information (controls various settings) to the external apparatus (30) based on a processing load (monitoring result notified of by the state monitoring unit 113) of the image capture apparatus (10) or the external apparatus (30) (Para 81).
As to claim 11, Ito teaches wherein the controller (11) is further configured to restrict notification (monitoring result notified of by the state monitoring unit 113) of the control information (controls various settings) to the external apparatus (30) based on a load on a communication path (network n11) of the notification of the control information (controls various settings) or a status of the communication path (monitoring result notified of by the state monitoring unit 113) (Para 81).
As to claims 12 and 13, these claims differ from claim 1 only in that the claim 1 is an image capture apparatus claim whereas claims 12 and 13 are a method claim, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim. Thus claims 12 and 13 are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US Patent Pub. # 2017/0150051) in view of Kaihatsu (US Patent Pub. # 2018/0309923).
As to claim 3, note the discussion above in regards to claim 1. Ito does not teach wherein the control information is a parameter that changes serially. Kaihatsu teaches wherein the control information is a parameter that changes serially (serial communication unit 51) (Para 58). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a serial communication unit as taught by Kaihatsu to the image capturing apparatus of Ito, to provide an IC in which an AF lens drive control unit is mounted can be made compatible with various communication specifications that vary with the types of lens driver ICs to be connected thereto (Para 32 of Kaihatsu).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER K PETERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 1/30/2026