Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 11, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Derginer et al. (hereinafter “Derginer”) (US 10,994,822 B1).
Regarding claims 1, and 11, Derginer discloses a marine steering system and method, comprising: a steering wheel (40) that is supported by the resistance device (26) (see column 6, lines 38-62), wherein the steering actuator (28) is controlled so that the steering component (16) can rotate at a rotation rate, which is a rate of change of the steering angle (see column 7, lines 28-53), wherein the marine steering system further includes a steering wheel position sensor (22), which is coupled to the steering wheel (40), is configured to measure the position of the steering wheel (40) (see column 5, line 60 through column 6, line 25). Derginer suggests that the position of the steering input is measured independently of the intermediate mechanical or hydraulic linkage (e.g., controller 20 processes the steering wheel position, vessel speed from a sensor 17, and IMU 18 data to determine a rudder angle rather than relying on a direct physical link to move the rudder).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified marine steering system and method as taught by Derginer to arrive at the claimed invention. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of improving safety and providing smoother handling than a purely mechanical hydraulic system.
Regarding claim 10, Derginer discloses and suggest the features of “a steering input-support body mountable to the vehicle; a steering input supported by the steering input-support body for movement relative to the steering input-support body, the steering input configured to move an intermediate linkage to move a steering device of the vehicle relative to the vehicle to steer the vehicle in response to movement of the steering input relative to the steering input-support body; and the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the position sensor is coupled to the steering input and configured to measure the position of the steering input independently of the steering device and independently of the intermediate linkage” (see column 7, lines 4-53, steering wheel 40 undergoes “rotational movement” and a “steering shaft” that can be engaged; the variable resistance device 26 is described as being attached to or engaging the steering shaft to "resist its rotational movement").
Regarding claim 17, Derginer discloses that the steering component (16) is a rudder (see column 4, lines 26-48).
Regarding claim 18, Derginer discloses that the vehicle is the marine vessel (2) (see column 4, lines 26-48).
Regarding claim 19, Derginer discloses that the marine vessel (2) comprises a helm separated from the steering device (see column 6, lines 38-62), the helm comprises the steering input, and the position senor attached to the helm (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Derginer discloses that the wheel position sensor (22) is in a boat dash of the marine vessel (2) (see Fig. 1) because the wheel position sensor (22) associated with the steering wheel (40) (see column 5, lines 28-59).
Claims 2, 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Derginer et al. (hereinafter “Derginer”) (US 10,994,822 B1) and in view of Weber et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Weber”) (US 2018/0215454 A1).
Regarding claims 2, and 9, Derginer is not disclosing the features of “the position sensor comprises a rotation sensor configured to measure a rotational position of the steering input, relative to the steering input-support body, around a steering axis of the steering input.” Weber discloses a system for an outboard motor in which the steering sensor (42) is arranged to provide a signal indicative of a rotational position of the steering wheel (40) and/or the steering shaft (44). Weber further suggests “a steering input-support body” because the “steering column 46” represents a support body, and that the steering shaft (44) extends into a steering column (46) which establishes it as a fixed component to support the rotating shaft (44).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified marine steering system and method as taught by Derginer with the teachings as taught by Weber to arrive at the claimed invention. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing precise data regarding position, angle, or torque to an onboard computer so that the controlling features such as an automated or smoother steering can be performed.
Regarding claim 3, Weber discloses the features of “the rotation sensor comprises a sensor input shaft having a sensor input axis, the sensor input shaft rotatable around the sensor input axis; and the sensor input shaft is rotationally couplable to the steering input” (see paragraph 0014, the sensor 42 provides a signal based on the position/torque of this rotating shaft 44 which is connected to the steering wheel 40).
Allowable Subject Matter
It is found neither Derginer nor Weber discloses or even suggests:
The rotation sensor further comprises a sensor output shaft having a sensor output axis, the sensor output shaft rotatable around the sensor output axis; the sensor output shaft is rotationally coupled to the sensor input shaft; and the rotation sensor is configured to measure the rotational position of the steering input by measuring a rotational position of the sensor output shaft, wherein the rotational position of the sensor output shaft is adjustable from outside of the position sensor when the position sensor is coupled to the steering input.
The sensor input shaft comprises a sensor input shaft magnet rotationally couplable to a steering shaft magnet of a steering shaft of the steering input.
The steering input is rotatable, relative to the steering input-support body, around a steering axis of the steering input and is configured to move the steering device relative to the vehicle in response to rotation of the steering input, relative to the steering input-support body, around the steering axis; the position sensor comprises a rotation sensor configured to measure a rotational position of the steering input, relative to the steering input-support body, around the steering axis; the rotation sensor comprises a sensor input shaft having a sensor input axis, the sensor input shaft rotatable around the sensor input axis; the sensor input shaft is rotationally coupled to the steering input; the rotation sensor further comprises a sensor output shaft having a sensor output axis, the sensor output shaft rotatable around the sensor output axis; the sensor output shaft is rotationally coupled to the sensor input shaft; the rotation sensor is configured to measure the rotational position of the steering input by measuring a rotational position of the sensor output shaft; and the rotational position of the sensor output shaft is adjustable from outside of the position sensor when the position sensor is coupled to the steering input.
A magnetic coupling between the steering input and the position sensor and operable to transfer movement of the steering input to the position sensor.
The position sensor is magnetically couplable to the steering input, magnetic coupling between the steering input and the position sensor configured to transfer movement of the steering input to the position sensor.
Claims 4-8, and 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant disclosure. The following patent documents are cited in the PTO-892 to further show the state of the art in general: US 2004/0139900 A1 by Kishi et al. which discloses a power-assisted, cable-driven steering system for a rudder. The system combines manual steering input (via a cable/wire) with an auxiliary power source to move an intermediate rod, which then actuates the rudder; US 6,363,305 B1 by Kaufmann et al. which discloses a steer-by-wire system that enables vehicle steering without a physical mechanical connection (steering column) by using an electronic, closed-loop system; US 2023/0109220 A1 by Dreher which discloses a steering system for a motor vehicle; GB-2341588-A by Bohner which discloses a vehicle steer-by-wire system using redundant control system; EP-1403173-A2 by Shiba which discloses a steering state detecting apparatus; EP-2256029-A2 by Ito which discloses a marine vessel control system.
Conclusions
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TUAN C TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661