Response and Amendment Filed
Applicant’s response and amendment, filed June 23, 2026, has been entered and made of record. Accordingly, the status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1, 6, 9, 10, 12-14, 16-18 and 20-22 are amended; claims 11 and 15 are canceled; claims 2-5, 7, 8, 19 and 23 remain as previously presented; claim 24 is newly added.
Previously Set Forth Objections and Rejections
The status of the objections and rejections as set forth in the previous Office action (mailed March 6, 2026) is as follows:
The objection to the drawings under 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) has been overcome by the filing of replacement sheets.
The 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-23 as being unpatentable over Schwartz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0189029) in view of Leuthardt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0119467) is hereby withdrawn.
The following new grounds of rejection are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-14 and 16-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0189029) in view of Leuthardt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0119467) and further in view of Torchia et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,333,038).
In regard to claims 1, 2, 8-13, 15, 17, 23, Schwartz et al. teach a therapeutic treatment system (see para. 0004) comprised of laser catheter assembly 101 with an illuminating system 200 including an optical fiber 202 and a laser source 203 and a cooling system 300 with a coolant reservoir 305, a coolant pump 307 and a coolant recovery bag 309 (see Fig. 1 and para. 0085). An introducer probe 113 encloses the illuminating system 200 and the cooling system 300 and the introducer probe 113 can be an elongated outer tubular section 114 with a sealed end 115 that can be clear, optically and/or infrared transparent and shaped to distribute light from the optical fiber 202 (see Figs. 2A and 2B and paras. 0100-0102). Schwartz et al. also teach that the optical fiber tip 204 can include a diffuser tip 223 integrally formed at the tip 204 and configured to diffuse optical energy received from the optical fiber 202 (see para. 0103). Schwartz et al. also teach that the introducer probe 113 can have a width (diameter) of less than or equal to about 2 mm, 1 mm, 0.5 mm or ranges including and/or spanning the aforementioned values (see para. 0124). Schwartz et al. are silent as to a depth stop configured to adjust an insertion length of the introducer probe 113 but do teach that the introducer probe 113 can be inserted into tissue using a trocar sleeve assembly 400 with a trocar 425 and a sleeve catheter 426 (see para. 0125) and that the introducer probe 113 has hash marks 121 and/or gradations to mark the depth of penetration of the probe into tissue (see para. 0112). Leuthardt et al. teach a similar probe system 100 for performing a thermoablation procedure on the brain 200 comprised of a probe 102 and a probe mount 106 where the probe mount 106 is a mechanism which is operable to manipulate the portion of the probe 102 inserted into the skull (see Fig. 1 and para. 0017). After the sheath 112 of probe 102 has been inserted into the skull 204 to a desired depth, the probe mount 106 is locked in order to fix the sheath 112 in position along the insertion axis A (see Figs. 4 and 5 and para. 0027). The interface between the sheath 112 and the probe mount 106 can be adjusted to selectively reposition and fix the sheath 112 in place such that the depth at which the sheath 112 is inserted into the skull 204 is selectable (see para. 0031). Leuthardt et al. thus demonstrate that the use of probe mounts to selectively fix a sheath and thereby act as a depth stop to adjust an insertion length of the sheath are well known in the art for the purpose of precisely and selectively controlling the insertion depth of the sheath. Since, as noted above, Schwarz et al. teach that the introducer probe 113 can be inserted into tissue using a trocar sleeve assembly 400 with a trocar 425 and a sleeve catheter 426 (see para. 0125) and that the introducer probe 113 has hash marks 121 and/or gradations to mark the depth of penetration of the probe into tissue (see para. 0112), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Schwartz et al. with the probe mount 106 of Leuthardt et al. in order to precisely and selectively controlling the insertion depth of the introducer probe 113. Schwartz et al. are silent as to a temperature sensor that is offset proximally from a distal end of the cooling tube. However, Torchia et al. teach a probe comprised of a tube 200 having a fiber 204 and a cooling tube 205 encased within the tube 200 and a thermocouple 214 that is proximally offset from the distal end of both the fiber 204 and the tube 205 (see Fig. 11). Torchia et al. thus demonstrate that providing a temperature sensor that is offset from the distal end of a laser fiber and a cooling tube is well known in the art for the purpose of obtaining an accurate temperature measurement (see col. 16, lines 44-56). Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Schwartz et al. with the offset temperature sensor disclosed by Torchia et al. in order to obtain accurate temperature measurements. In regard to claim 3, see paras. 0035 and 0163 of Schwartz et al. In regard to claims 4 and 5, see para. 0154 of Schwartz et al. In regard to claims 6 and 7, Leuthardt et al. teach a temperature sensing structure 118 comprised of a thermocouple 134 that gauges the temperature of the tip 126 where the temperature sensing structure 118 is connected to probe control unit 108 (see Fig. 1 and paras. 0022-0023). In addition, Schwartz et al. teach that the period of time that the laser is active at a given position can be equal to or at least about 15 minutes (see para. 0151) and that a coolant pump 307 controls the flow of coolant to control the temperature of the probe (see above). Furthermore, it is well known in the art, as evidenced by Leuthardt et al., that computer control of medical devices is both well-known and widely used. A proportional control algorithm, as broadly as claimed, would simply switch on either the laser or the coolant pump to control the temperature of the probe and this would be desirable in order to avoid overheating of the probe and/or inadvertent tissue damage. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Schwartz et al. with the probe control unit 108 of Leuthardt et al. that is connected to a temperature sensing structure 118 in the probe so that the temperature of the probe can be controlled using a proportional control algorithm and the active of time of the laser can also be controlled using a proportional control algorithm in order to avoid overheating of the probe and/or inadvertent tissue damage. In regard to claims 14, 16, 18 and 24, Schwartz et al. teach that the probe 113 can include an internal tube 117 having a first lumen 116 and a second lumen 118 (see para. 0146). Figure 7L shows that these lumens are proximally offset from the distal end of the sealed end 115 by distances measure in millimeters (as the overall length of the probe 113 is multiple centimeters) (see para. 0112). Applying these dimensions to the temperature sensor 214 of Torchia et al. as applied to the device of Schwartz et al., it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to offset the temperature sensor 214 in distances measured in millimeters, such as 0.5 mm to 3.5 mm. In regard to claim 19, see Figure 2A-1 of Schwartz et al. In regard to claim 20, inlet connector 104 constitutes a device to hold the coolant inlet conduit 306 in position (see Fig. 1 of Schwartz et al.). In regard to claim 21, as the outer diameter of probe 113 is less than or equal to about 2 mm, 1 mm, 0.5 mm or ranges including and/or spanning the aforementioned values (see para. 0124), it follows that the inner diameter of the inlet conduit 306 would be about 0.250 to 0.350 mm and the outer diameter would be about 0.400 to 0.650 mm as the conduit 306 needs to fit within the probe 113. In regard to claim 22, see Fig. 1 of Schwartz et al. showing conduits 127 and 132.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 12-14 and 16-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794