Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed October 25, 2024 has been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: The vents 138 (para. 0035). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: controller in claims 6 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0189029) in view of Leuthardt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0119467).
In regard to claims 1, 2, 8-13, 15, 17, 23, Schwartz et al. teach a therapeutic treatment system (see para. 0004) comprised of laser catheter assembly 101 with an illuminating system 200 including an optical fiber 202 and a laser source 203 and a cooling system 300 with a coolant reservoir 305, a coolant pump 307 and a coolant recovery bag 309 (see Fig. 1 and para. 0085). An introducer probe 113 encloses the illuminating system 200 and the cooling system 300 and the introducer probe 113 can be an elongated outer tubular section 114 with a sealed end 115 that can be clear, optically and/or infrared transparent and shaped to distribute light from the optical fiber 202 (see Figs. 2A and 2B and paras. 0100-0102). Schwartz et al. also teach that the optical fiber tip 204 can include a diffuser tip 223 integrally formed at the tip 204 and configured to diffuse optical energy received from the optical fiber 202 (see para. 0103). Schwartz et al. also teach that the introducer probe 113 can have a width (diameter) of less than or equal to about 2 mm, 1 mm, 0.5 mm or ranges including and/or spanning the aforementioned values (see para. 0124). Schwartz et al. are silent as to a depth stop configured to adjust an insertion length of the introducer probe 113 but do teach that the introducer probe 113 can be inserted into tissue using a trocar sleeve assembly 400 with a trocar 425 and a sleeve catheter 426 (see para. 0125) and that the introducer probe 113 has hash marks 121 and/or gradations to mark the depth of penetration of the probe into tissue (see para. 0112). Leuthardt et al. teach a similar probe system 100 for performing a thermoablation procedure on the brain 200 comprised of a probe 102 and a probe mount 106 where the probe mount 106 is a mechanism which is operable to manipulate the portion of the probe 102 inserted into the skull (see Fig. 1 and para. 0017). After the sheath 112 of probe 102 has been inserted into the skull 204 to a desired depth, the probe mount 106 is locked in order to fix the sheath 112 in position along the insertion axis A (see Figs. 4 and 5 and para. 0027). The interface between the sheath 112 and the probe mount 106 can be adjusted to selectively reposition and fix the sheath 112 in place such that the depth at which the sheath 112 is inserted into the skull 204 is selectable (see para. 0031). Leuthardt et al. thus demonstrate that the use of probe mounts to selectively fix a sheath and thereby act as a depth stop to adjust an insertion length of the sheath are well known in the art for the purpose of precisely and selectively controlling the insertion depth of the sheath. Since, as noted above, Schwarz et al. teach that the introducer probe 113 can be inserted into tissue using a trocar sleeve assembly 400 with a trocar 425 and a sleeve catheter 426 (see para. 0125) and that the introducer probe 113 has hash marks 121 and/or gradations to mark the depth of penetration of the probe into tissue (see para. 0112), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Schwartz et al. with the probe mount 106 of Leuthardt et al. in order to precisely and selectively controlling the insertion depth of the introducer probe 113. In regard to claim 3, see paras. 0035 and 0163 of Schwartz et al. In regard to claims 4 and 5, see para. 0154 of Schwartz et al. In regard to claims 6 and 7, Leuthardt et al. teach a temperature sensing structure 118 comprised of a thermocouple 134 that gauges the temperature of the tip 126 where the temperature sensing structure 118 is connected to probe control unit 108 (see Fig. 1 and paras. 0022-0023). In addition, Schwartz et al. teach that the period of time that the laser is active at a given position can be equal to or at least about 15 minutes (see para. 0151) and that a coolant pump 307 controls the flow of coolant to control the temperature of the probe (see above). Furthermore, it is well known in the art, as evidenced by Leuthardt et al., that computer control of medical devices is both well-known and widely used. A proportional control algorithm, as broadly as claimed, would simply switch on either the laser or the coolant pump to control the temperature of the probe and this would be desirable in order to avoid overheating of the probe and/or inadvertent tissue damage. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Schwartz et al. with the probe control unit 108 of Leuthardt et al. that is connected to a temperature sensing structure 118 in the probe so that the temperature of the probe can be controlled using a proportional control algorithm and the active of time of the laser can also be controlled using a proportional control algorithm in order to avoid overheating of the probe and/or inadvertent tissue damage. In regard to claims 14, 16 and 18, Schwartz et al. teach that the probe 113 can include an internal tube 117 having a first lumen 116 and a second lumen 118 (see para. 0146). Figure 7L shows that these lumens are proximally offset from the distal end of the sealed end 115 by distances measure in millimeters (as the overall length of the probe 113 is multiple centimeters (see para. 0112). In regard to claim 19, see Figure 2A-1 of Schwartz et al. In regard to claim 20, inlet connector 104 constitutes a device to hold the coolant inlet conduit 306 in position (see Fig. 1 of Schwartz et al.). In regard to claim 21, as the outer diameter of probe 113 is less than or equal to about 2 mm, 1 mm, 0.5 mm or ranges including and/or spanning the aforementioned values (see para. 0124), it follows that the inner diameter of the inlet conduit 306 would be about 0.250 to 0.350 mm and the outer diameter would be about 0.400 to 0.650 mm as the conduit 306 needs to fit within the probe 113. In regard to claim 22, see Fig. 1 of Schwartz et al. showing conduits 127 and 132.
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794