DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salon et al (US PGPub 2017/0197160 A1) in view of Pfluger et al (DE 10 2015 008 693 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Salon teaches filter systems with closure elements [Abs] where the closure element (10) has a connection section (24) in the form of a fastener for attaching to a mounting position [0053, Fig. 3] as well as a closure section (12) as a valve body, where the closure section includes a sealing element (32), (34) for engaging with a surface (38). Salon essentially differs from the instant claims in that Salon is silent to the two sections having offset longitudinal axes relative to each other.
However, Pfluger teaches a similar design of filter system which includes a closure element (58) for a drainage opening arranged such that the axis of the closure element (32) extends eccentrically to the axes of the filter element (20) [Abs]. The arrangement allows the closure element to be rotated towards the drain opening without requiring rotation of the filter element and allows for asymmetrical elements [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Salon to feature a closure element which has at least one section with an offset longitudinal axis because, as in Pfluger, this facilitates eccentric alignment, allows for rotation into place, and simplifies the requirements of the filter itself.
With respect to claim 2, as above in view of Pfluger, facilitating a rotatable connection would have been obvious.
With respect to claims 8-10, the end segment of Salon features a connection element complementary to a housing or the like, as above, and features an actuation element such as a spring. Further, it includes spring rests (18) of increased cross section [Fig. 3]; further, some embodiments feature explicit changes in diameter for the entire segment [Fig. 6]. See further MPEP 2144.04 IV.A; changes in size and proportion are obvious engineering choices for one of ordinary skill in the art, and so selecting an appropriate cross-sectional size for various sections represent obvious changes for one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 11, as above Salon teaches a housing which cooperates with the closure element as discussed above; as above, in view of Pfluger it would have been obvious to design a set of offset axes between the connection and sealing sections, and as such it would have been obvious to design correspondingly offset axes in the housing that cooperates with it.
With respect to claim 12, Salon configures the closure element and housing connection in a manner in which the sealing portion faces the interior of the housing, and the connection portion faces the outer structure of the housing [Fig. 2].
With respect to claim 13, the closure element of Salon includes spring rests (18) of increased cross section [Fig. 3] and therefore necessitates an increased diameter section for connection; further, some embodiments feature explicit changes in diameter for the entire segment [Fig. 6]. See further MPEP 2144.04 IV.A; changes in size and proportion are obvious engineering choices for one of ordinary skill in the art, and so selecting an appropriate cross-sectional size for various sections represent obvious changes for one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claims 14 and 15, Salon teaches a drain section with walls (220) which cooperate with the connecting section, and which lies outside of the seal section [0044, Fig. 2], as cooperating detachable features.
With respect to claims 16 and 17, Salon teaches a filter element with an end plate (114) and an engagement portion (222) extending circumferentially from a stub (220) as a fastening portion for engaging with the closure element discussed above [0044, Fig. 2], connecting to a drainage region of the filter element. Providing offset axes to correspond to the offset axes of the modified closure element would have been obvious in view of Pfluger as discussed above.
With respect to claim 18, as above Salon teaches a housing to correspond with the closure element in a detachable manner to provide a seal which can be opened or closed e.g. based on filter insertion, and teaches a filter element which engages a sealing portion of the closure element and actuates it to allow drainage or the like.
With respect to claims 19 and 20, Salon teaches a filter element with an end plate (114) and an engagement portion (222) extending circumferentially from a stub (220) as a fastening portion for engaging with the closure element discussed above [0044, Fig. 2], connecting to a drainage region of the filter element. Providing offset axes to correspond to the offset axes of the modified closure element would have been obvious in view of Pfluger as discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is represented by Salon and Pfluger as discussed above. However, they do not teach or fairly suggest providing a two-part sealing section with two different seals spaced axially apart from each other and staggered radially relative to each other. While Pfluger teaches general arrangements involving staggered longitudinal axes e.g. to stagger a closure element from the broader filter axis, there is no teaching or suggestion of providing multiple longitudinal axial alignments for multiple seals in a seal section. The prior art alone or in combination does not teach such an arrangement of multiple staggered seals of this type for closure elements in filter systems, and would not have led one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the invention of claims 3-7. As such, claims 3-7 are free from the prior art.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776