Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiong et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0175638; note priority to 11/30/22).
Regarding claim 1, Xiong teaches a three-dimensional vapor chamber (element 2), comprising: a vapor chamber module (element 211 & 212 and all within; note not 112f as enough structure), comprising an upper shell structure (element 211& 214), wherein the upper shell structure comprises an upper shell body (upper section of 211 fig.2C) and an upper shell capillary structure (element 214) formed in the upper shell body (fig. 2C); and a heat pipe module (element 22; note not a 112f as this is well known in art) fixed on the vapor chamber module and in fluid communication with the vapor chamber module (fig. 2C), wherein the heat pipe module comprises a heat pipe shell (outer shell of element 22) fixed on the upper shell body (fig. 2C); and a heat pipe capillary structure (element 225) formed in the heat pipe shell and connected to the upper shell capillary structure (per fig. 2C); wherein the heat pipe shell comprises: a heat pipe main body (straight wall section of element 22); and an expansion joint portion (element 223) connected to the heat pipe main body and engaged with a raised joint portion (element 2113) of the upper shell body; wherein the heat pipe capillary structure comprises: a heat pipe main capillary structure (element 225 on the straight section of element 22) formed on an interior surface of the heat pipe main body; a heat pipe expansion capillary structure connected to the heat pipe main capillary structure (element 22 contacting element 214 in fig. 2C), and formed inside the expansion joint portion (per Fig. 2C), wherein the heat pipe expansion capillary structure and the expansion joint portion form an expansion angle with the heat pipe main capillary structure and the heat pipe main body, and the expansion angle is greater than 0.5 degrees and less than 90 degrees (per fig. 2C, the rounded section along its length falls in this range along an entire section thus reading on the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 2, Xiong teaches the upper shell body comprises: an upper shell main body (flat part of element 211); and a raised joint portion (element 2113) formed in the upper shell main body (per fig. 2C), and the heat pipe shell arranged to pass through the raised joint portion (per fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 12, Xiong teaches the vapor chamber module further comprises: a lower shell structure (element 212) closely connected to the upper shell structure (per fig. 2C), wherein the lower shell structure comprises a lower shell body and a lower shell capillary structure formed on an interior surface of the lower shell body (per fig. 2B-2C has element 214 also and body structure), and a peripheral area of the upper shell capillary structure is connected to the lower shell capillary structure (per fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 13, Xiong teaches a three-dimensional vapor chamber (element 2), comprising: a vapor chamber module (element 211 & 212 and all within; note not 112f as enough structure), comprising an upper shell structure (element 211& 214), wherein the upper shell structure comprises an upper shell body (upper section of 211 fig.2C) and an upper shell capillary structure (element 214) formed in the upper shell body (fig. 2C); a heat pipe module (element 22; note not a 112f as this is well known in art) fixed on the vapor chamber module and in fluid communication with the vapor chamber module (per fig. 2C), wherein the heat pipe module comprises a heat pipe shell (outer shell of element 22) fixed on the upper shell body (per fig. 2C); and a heat pipe capillary structure (element 225) formed in the heat pipe shell and connected to the upper shell capillary structure (per fig. 2C); and a lower shell structure (element 212 and 214) closely connected to the upper shell structure (per fig. 2C), wherein the lower shell structure comprises a lower shell body (element 212) and a lower shell capillary structure (element 214) formed on an interior surface of the lower shell body, and a peripheral area of the upper shell capillary structure is connected to the lower shell capillary structure (per fig. 2C), wherein the upper shell body comprises: an upper shell main body (flat part of element 211); and a raised joint portion (element 2113) formed in the upper shell main body (per fig. 2C), and the heat pipe shell arranged to pass through the raised joint portion (per fig. 2C), wherein the heat pipe shell comprises: a heat pipe main body (part before 223); and an expansion joint portion (element 223 curved section) connected to the heat pipe main body and engaged with the raised joint portion of the upper shell body (per fig. 2C) ; wherein the heat pipe shell comprises: a heat pipe main body (straight wall section of element 22); and an expansion joint portion (element 223) connected to the heat pipe main body and engaged with a raised joint portion (element 2113) of the upper shell body; wherein the heat pipe capillary structure comprises: a heat pipe main capillary structure (element 225 on the straight section of element 22) formed on an interior surface of the heat pipe main body; a heat pipe expansion capillary structure connected to the heat pipe main capillary structure (element 22 contacting element 214 in fig. 2C), and formed inside the expansion joint portion (per Fig. 2C), wherein the heat pipe expansion capillary structure and the expansion joint portion form an expansion angle with the heat pipe main capillary structure and the heat pipe main body, and the expansion angle is greater than 0.5 degrees and less than 90 degrees (per fig. 2C, the rounded section along its length falls in this range along an entire section thus reading on the claim limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 6-7, 10-11, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0175638; note priority to 11/30/22) in view of Lin (U.S. PGPub 2023/0324130).
Regarding claim 4, Xiong teaches the upper shell capillary structure comprises: an upper shell main capillary structure (part of element 214 connected to 211) formed on an interior surface of the upper shell main body (per fig. 2C). Xiong does not teach an upper shell raising capillary structure connected to the upper shell main capillary structure and formed inside the raised joint portion.
Lin teaches the capillary structure of a housing (element 33) includes an upper shell raising capillary structure (element 33 going up to contact 323 in 311 fig. 10) connected to the shell main capillary structure (per fig.l0) and formed inside the raised joint portion (per fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Xiong to have the capillary connection of Lin as claimed, the motivoant would be to increase the connection contact surface and increase the ability to transfer fluid/heat.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Xiong and Lin teaches an end face of the upper shell raising capillary structure is connected to end faces of the heat pipe expansion capillary structure and the expansion joint portion ( per fig. 10 of Lin, not the capillary structure of Xiong is also such connected). This is done for the same reason as claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Xiong and Lin teach the heat pipe expansion capillary structure is embedded in the upper shell raising capillary structure (per fig. 10 of Lin) between the heat pipe expansion capillary structure and the raised joint portion (per fig. 10). This is done for the same reason as claim 4.
Regarding claim 10, Xiong teaches the upper shell body further comprises a joint flange (end edge of element 223)connected to the raised joint portion and engaged with the expansion joint portion of the heat pipe shell (per fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Xiong and Lin teach a part of the heat pipe expansion capillary structure of the heat pipe capillary structure is connected to the upper shell raising capillary structure of the upper shell capillary structure (both Xiong and Lin teach such a connection and it would in combination be as claimed). This is done for the same reason as claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, Xiong teaches the upper shell capillary structure comprises: an upper shell main capillary structure (part of element 214 connected to 211) formed on an interior surface of the upper shell main body (per fig. 2C). Xiong does not teach an upper shell raising capillary structure connected to the upper shell main capillary structure and formed inside the raised joint portion, the heat pipe capillary structure comprises: a heat pipe main capillary structure ( part of 225 contacting element 22) formed on an interior surface of the heat pipe main body (pr fig. 2C); and a heat pipe expansion capillary structure connected to the heat pipe main capillary structure (per fig. 2C contact between these is shown) , and formed inside the expansion joint portion (a shown the two connect at the start of the expansion joint thus reading on the limitation; further the combination taught for claim 4 above with result in further contact there).
Lin teaches the capillary structure of a housing (element 33) includes an upper shell raising capillary structure (element 33 going up to contact 323 in 311 fig. 10) connected to the shell main capillary structure (per fig.l0) and formed inside the raised joint portion (per fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Xiong to have the capillary connection of Lin as claimed, the motivoant would be to increase the connection contact surface and increase the ability to transfer fluid/heat.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Xiong and Lin teaches an end face of the upper shell raising capillary structure is connected to end faces of the heat pipe expansion capillary structure and the expansion joint portion ( per fig. 10 of Lin, not the capillary structure of Xiong is also such connected). This is done for the same reason as claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Xiong and Lin teach the heat pipe expansion capillary structure is embedded in the upper shell raising capillary structure (per fig. 10 of Lin) between the heat pipe expansion capillary structure and the raised joint portion (per fig. 10). This is done for the same reason as claim 14.
Regarding claim 19, Xiong teaches the upper shell body further comprises a joint flange (end edge of element 223)connected to the raised joint portion and engaged with the expansion joint portion of the heat pipe shell (per fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Xiong and Lin teach a part of the heat pipe expansion capillary structure of the heat pipe capillary structure is connected to the upper shell raising capillary structure of the upper shell capillary structure (both Xiong and Lin teach such a connection and it would in combination be as claimed). This is done for the same reason as claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner notes that applicant provided anticipatory arguments regarding the prior art , but as such they do not directly argue the specific rejection made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763