DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 110215698 A, hereinafter referenced “Huang”) in view of McMain (US 2015/0273331 A1, hereinafter referenced “McMain”).
In regards to claim 1. Huang discloses an interaction method for controlling a virtual object performed by a computer device (Huang, para [0012]), the method comprising:
-displaying a virtual scene, the virtual scene comprising a virtual object and a plurality of polluted regions, each of the polluted regions comprising a pollution source at a predefined location within the polluted region (Huang, para [0056] and [0060]; Reference at [0056] discloses receive a first direction sent from the game terminal; wherein, the first direction is the direction of the potential danger source (i.e. polluted regions having a pollution source) of the user's corresponding character in the current game relative to the corresponding character (i.e. displayed virtual scene having a virtual object regarding character). Para [0060] discloses Understandably, to distinguish it from other directions mentioned below, the direction of the potential danger source relative to the user's corresponding character in the current game is referred to as the first direction (i.e. predefined location within polluted region));
-after the virtual object moves into a target polluted region of the plurality of polluted regions, determining a region impact value of a position of the virtual object based on a distance between the virtual object and the target pollution source (Huang, para [0061] and [0074]; Reference at [0061] discloses when the game terminal determines that there is a potential danger source for the user's character in the current game, it will determine the direction of the potential danger source and then send the direction information to the wearable device. Para [0074] discloses when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. As the potential hazard source approaches, the color of the arrow indicating the first direction gradually turns dark gray, and the vibration intensity also gradually increases. When users notice the vibration gradually increasing and the color gradually darkening, they will realize that danger is approaching (i.e. increasing of colors based on level of danger regarding distance or approaching hazard source interpreted as determining a region impact value of a position of the virtual object based on a distance between the virtual object and the target pollution source));
-when the distance between the virtual object and the target pollution source is not greater than a distance threshold, converting the target pollution source into a target object, wherein the target object is movable in the target polluted region (Huang, para [0074] and [0077]; Reference at para [0074] discloses for example, when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. Para [0077] discloses receive the second direction sent by the game terminal; wherein, the second direction is the direction of the attack source of the user's corresponding character in the current game relative to the corresponding character (i.e. character that is the attack source interpreted as the converted target object that is movable in the region based on the defined changes in distance of the hazard source. Changes in color of indicator indicated distance thresholds));
-
Huang does not explicitly disclose but McMain teaches
-and when the virtual object defeats the target object, converting the target polluted region into a target purified region and reducing an impact exerted by a current existing pollution source on the target purified region by the region impact value (McMain, Fig. 4 and para [0036]; Reference discloses In FIG. 2, the player has fired a shot (or cast a spell) and the avatar of the intended target 22 has been changed to show some effect of the action…. By firing upon the intended target one or more additional times, at some point, the intended target 22 is annihilated or destroyed and the avatar of the intended target 22 changes to indicate that the intended target 22 is no longer active such as a pile of rubble 22A as shown in FIG. 4. Many other depictions of an annihilated intended target 22 are anticipated including, but not limited to, lying down of the intended target 22, vaporization of the intended target 22, crumbling of the intended target 22, etc. The removal of the intended target 22 based on a shot by the player’s character and removing the intended target from being a threat based on graphic effects thus eliminates the threat of the enemy avatar and thus this process is interpreted as analogous to the virtual object defeats the target object, converting the target polluted region into a target purified region and reducing an impact exerted by a current existing pollution source on the target purified region by the region impact value)).
Huang and McMain are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding virtual gameplay interactions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wearable device gaming system of Huang to include the critical hit gaming system features of McMain in order to provide the user with a wearable device that can allow for displaying danger warnings in games by determining a first direction toward a potential danger source in relation to a user’s virtual character and providing visual and tactile alerts so that the user can respond to the virtual threat accordingly as taught by Huang, while incorporating the critical hit gaming system features of McMain to allow for use of more impactful damage to enemy opponents within a gaming environment as various indicators and effects are incorporated to delineate the injury or death of an opposing virtual character such as removing the character from the scene or showing them as piles of rubble, frozen, etc. providing greater context to the user’s gaming experience, applicable to improving gaming applications such as those taught in Huang.
In regards to claim 2. Huang in view of McMain teach the method according to claim 1.
Huang further discloses
-wherein the target polluted region has an overlapping part with at least one non-target polluted region of the plurality of polluted regions (Huang, para [0061] and [0074]; Reference at [0061] discloses when the game terminal determines that there is a potential danger source for the user's character in the current game, it will determine the direction of the potential danger source and then send the direction information to the wearable device. Para [0074] discloses when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. As the potential hazard source approaches, the color of the arrow indicating the first direction gradually turns dark gray, and the vibration intensity also gradually increases. The game region includes areas where the hazard source is and areas where the hazard source isn’t thus the need for providing the arrow for indicating directions directed toward the hazard indicating overlapping regions in the overall virtual space));
-and the method further comprises: determining a first region impact value and at least one second region impact value when the virtual object enters the overlapping part, the first region impact value being determined based on the target polluted region, and the at least one second region impact value being determined based on the at least one non-target polluted region (Huang, para [0074]; Reference at para [0074] discloses when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. As the potential hazard source approaches, the color of the arrow indicating the first direction gradually turns dark gray, and the vibration intensity also gradually increases. The game region includes areas where the hazard source is and areas where the hazard source isn’t thus overlapping in the virtual space as the changes in color intensity would equate to changes in region impact values as the potential hazard sources distance increases or decreases);
-and displaying a sum of the first region impact value and the at least one second region impact value as the region impact value of the position of the virtual object (Huang, para [0074]; Reference at para [0074] discloses when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. As the potential hazard source approaches, the color of the arrow indicating the first direction gradually turns dark gray, and the vibration intensity also gradually increases. The game region includes areas where the hazard source is and areas where the hazard source isn’t thus overlapping in the virtual space as the changes in color intensity would equate to changes in region impact values as the potential hazard sources distance increases or decreases. The colors interpreted as the visualization of the region impact value).
In regards to claim 4. Huang in view of McMain teach the method according to claim 1.
Huang does not explicitly disclose but McMain teaches
-wherein the method further comprises: controlling the virtual object to interact with the target object; and removing the target object from the virtual scene when a virtual health value of the target object reaches a defeat threshold (McMain, Fig. 4 and para [0034]-[0036]; Reference at [0034] discloses once the target 20/22 is acquired (e.g. positioned at the icon-reticule 30), invoking the trigger 225 function initiates shooting, throwing, or casting a spell at that intended target 22, discloses in FIG. 2, the player has fired a shot (or cast a spell) and the avatar of the intended target 22 has been changed to show some effect of the action (i.e. controlling the virtual object to interact with the target object)…. Para [0035] discloses If the intended target 22 is not annihilated, often the health of the intended target 22 is reduced so that a subsequent hit will have a greater probability of annihilation. Para [0036] discloses by firing upon the intended target one or more additional times, at some point, the intended target 22 is annihilated or destroyed and the avatar of the intended target 22 changes to indicate that the intended target 22 is no longer active such as a pile of rubble 22A as shown in FIG. 4. Many other depictions of an annihilated intended target 22 are anticipated including, but not limited to, lying down of the intended target 22, vaporization of the intended target 22, crumbling of the intended target 22, etc.).
In regards to claim 5. Huang in view of McMain teach the method according to claim 1.
Huang further discloses
-wherein the method further comprises: controlling the virtual object to move away from the target object; displaying the target object pursuing the virtual object in the target polluted region when the distance between the virtual object and the target object is less than the distance threshold (Huang, para [0074] and [0077]; Reference at [0074] discloses for example, when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. As the potential hazard source approaches, the color of the arrow indicating the first direction gradually turns dark gray, and the vibration intensity also gradually increases. Para [0077] discloses receive the second direction sent by the game terminal; wherein, the second direction is the direction of the attack source of the user's corresponding character in the current game relative to the corresponding character (i.e. character that is the attack source interpreted as the target object causing the hazard as distance between virtual object changes above or below a threshold as indicated by changes in color of the indicator);
-and converting the target object back into the target pollution source when the distance between the virtual object and the target object is greater than or equal to the distance threshold (Huang, para [0074] and [0077]; Reference at para [0074] discloses for example, when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. As the potential hazard source approaches, the color of the arrow indicating the first direction gradually turns dark gray, and the vibration intensity also gradually increases. Para [0077] discloses receive the second direction sent by the game terminal; wherein, the second direction is the direction of the attack source of the user's corresponding character in the current game relative to the corresponding character (i.e. character that is the attack source interpreted as the target pollution source as distance between virtual and target object changes above or below a threshold as indicated by changes in color of the indicator)).
Huang and McMain are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding virtual gameplay interactions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wearable device gaming system of Huang to include the critical hit gaming system features of McMain in order to provide the user with a wearable device that can allow for displaying danger warnings in games by determining a first direction toward a potential danger source in relation to a user’s virtual character and providing visual and tactile alerts so that the user can respond to the virtual threat accordingly as taught by Huang, while incorporating the critical hit gaming system features of McMain to allow for use of more impactful damage to enemy opponents within a gaming environment as various indicators and effects are incorporated to delineate the injury or death of an opposing virtual character such as removing the character from the scene or showing them as piles of rubble, frozen, etc. providing greater context to the user’s gaming experience, applicable to improving gaming applications such as those taught in Huang.
In regards to claim 6. Huang in view of McMain teach the method according to claim 1.
Huang does not explicitly disclose but McMain teaches
-wherein the converting the target polluted region into a target purified region comprises: when the position of the target object is not in any purified region, displaying a special purified region effect in the target purified region with the position of the target object being a center of the target purified region (McMain, Fig. 4 and para [0036]; Reference discloses by firing upon the intended target one or more additional times, at some point, the intended target 22 is annihilated or destroyed and the avatar of the intended target 22 changes to indicate that the intended target 22 is no longer active such as a pile of rubble 22A as shown in FIG. 4. Many other depictions of an annihilated intended target 22 are anticipated including, but not limited to, lying down of the intended target 22, vaporization of the intended target 22, crumbling of the intended target 22, etc. The effects applied to the intended target upon annihilation make the previous location of the target pollution region a special purified region such as the rubble effect which illustrates the threat is eliminated but the ruble still remains in that position interpreted as analogous to when the position of the target object is not in any purified region, displaying a special purified region effect in the target purified region with the position of the target object being a center of the target purified region)).
Huang and McMain are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding virtual gameplay interactions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wearable device gaming system of Huang to include the critical hit gaming system features of McMain in order to provide the user with a wearable device that can allow for displaying danger warnings in games by determining a first direction toward a potential danger source in relation to a user’s virtual character and providing visual and tactile alerts so that the user can respond to the virtual threat accordingly as taught by Huang, while incorporating the critical hit gaming system features of McMain to allow for use of more impactful damage to enemy opponents within a gaming environment as various indicators and effects are incorporated to delineate the injury or death of an opposing virtual character such as removing the character from the scene or showing them as piles of rubble, frozen, etc. providing greater context to the user’s gaming experience, applicable to improving gaming applications such as those taught in Huang.
In regards to claim 7. Huang in view of McMain teach the method according to claim 6.
Huang further discloses
-wherein the method further comprises: changing the position of the target polluted region in accordance with the movement of the target object; and when the target polluted region covers a center of any purified region, canceling the display of the purified region (Huang, para [0056] and [0074]; Reference at [0056] discloses receive a first direction sent from the game terminal; wherein, the first direction is the direction of the potential danger source (i.e. target pollution region) of the user's corresponding character in the current game relative to the corresponding character. Para [0074] discloses for example, when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. As the potential hazard source approaches, the color of the arrow indicating the first direction gradually turns dark gray, and the vibration intensity also gradually increases (i.e. accordance with the movement of the target object as polluted region is anywhere the hazard source moves thus canceling display of a region where the hazard source is not located)).
In regards to claim 8. Huang in view of McMain teach the method according to claim 6.
Huang further discloses
-wherein the method further comprises: adjusting the region impact value of the position of the virtual object based on at least two purified regions when the virtual object enters an overlapping part of the at least two purified regions (Huang, para [0074]; Reference discloses when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. As the potential hazard source approaches, the color of the arrow indicating the first direction gradually turns dark gray, and the vibration intensity also gradually increases. The game region includes areas where the hazard source is and areas where the hazard source isn’t thus overlapping in the virtual space as the changes in color intensity would equate to changes in region impact values as the potential hazard sources distance increases or decreases).
In regards to claim 9. Huang discloses a computer device, comprising a processor and a memory, the memory storing at least one computer program, the at least one computer program being loaded and executed by the processor and causing the computer device to implement an interaction method for controlling a virtual object (Huang, para [0010] and [0012]) including:
-displaying a virtual scene, the virtual scene comprising a virtual object and a plurality of polluted regions, each of the polluted regions comprising a pollution source at a predefined location within the polluted region (Huang, para [0056] and [0060]; Reference at [0056] discloses receive a first direction sent from the game terminal; wherein, the first direction is the direction of the potential danger source (i.e. polluted regions having a pollution source) of the user's corresponding character in the current game relative to the corresponding character (i.e. displayed virtual scene having a virtual object regarding character). Para [0060] discloses Understandably, to distinguish it from other directions mentioned below, the direction of the potential danger source relative to the user's corresponding character in the current game is referred to as the first direction (i.e. predefined location within polluted region));
-after the virtual object moves into a target polluted region of the plurality of polluted regions, determining a region impact value of a position of the virtual object based on a distance between the virtual object and the target pollution source (Huang, para [0061] and [0074]; Reference at [0061] discloses when the game terminal determines that there is a potential danger source for the user's character in the current game, it will determine the direction of the potential danger source and then send the direction information to the wearable device. Para [0074] discloses when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. As the potential hazard source approaches, the color of the arrow indicating the first direction gradually turns dark gray, and the vibration intensity also gradually increases. When users notice the vibration gradually increasing and the color gradually darkening, they will realize that danger is approaching (i.e. increasing of colors based on level of danger regarding distance or approaching hazard source interpreted as determining a region impact value of a position of the virtual object based on a distance between the virtual object and the target pollution source));
-when the distance between the virtual object and the target pollution source is not greater than a distance threshold, converting the target pollution source into a target object, wherein the target object is movable in the target polluted region (Huang, para [0074] and [0077]; Reference at para [0074] discloses for example, when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. Para [0077] discloses receive the second direction sent by the game terminal; wherein, the second direction is the direction of the attack source of the user's corresponding character in the current game relative to the corresponding character (i.e. character that is the attack source interpreted as the converted target object that is movable in the region based on the defined changes in distance of the hazard source. Changes in color of indicator indicated distance thresholds));
-
Huang does not explicitly disclose but McMain teaches
-and when the virtual object defeats the target object, converting the target polluted region into a target purified region and reducing an impact exerted by a current existing pollution source on the target purified region by the region impact value (McMain, Fig. 4 and para [0036]; Reference discloses In FIG. 2, the player has fired a shot (or cast a spell) and the avatar of the intended target 22 has been changed to show some effect of the action…. By firing upon the intended target one or more additional times, at some point, the intended target 22 is annihilated or destroyed and the avatar of the intended target 22 changes to indicate that the intended target 22 is no longer active such as a pile of rubble 22A as shown in FIG. 4. Many other depictions of an annihilated intended target 22 are anticipated including, but not limited to, lying down of the intended target 22, vaporization of the intended target 22, crumbling of the intended target 22, etc. The removal of the intended target 22 based on a shot by the player’s character and removing the intended target from being a threat based on graphic effects thus eliminates the threat of the enemy avatar and thus this process is interpreted as analogous to the virtual object defeats the target object, converting the target polluted region into a target purified region and reducing an impact exerted by a current existing pollution source on the target purified region by the region impact value)).
Huang and McMain are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding virtual gameplay interactions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wearable device gaming system of Huang to include the critical hit gaming system features of McMain in order to provide the user with a wearable device that can allow for displaying danger warnings in games by determining a first direction toward a potential danger source in relation to a user’s virtual character and providing visual and tactile alerts so that the user can respond to the virtual threat accordingly as taught by Huang, while incorporating the critical hit gaming system features of McMain to allow for use of more impactful damage to enemy opponents within a gaming environment as various indicators and effects are incorporated to delineate the injury or death of an opposing virtual character such as removing the character from the scene or showing them as piles of rubble, frozen, etc. providing greater context to the user’s gaming experience, applicable to improving gaming applications such as those taught in Huang.
In regards to claim 10, please see the citations and rejections for corresponding claim 2.
In regards to claim 11, please see the citations and rejections for corresponding claim 3.
In regards to claim 12, please see the citations and rejections for corresponding claim 4.
In regards to claim 13, please see the citations and rejections for corresponding claim 5.
In regards to claim 14, please see the citations and rejections for corresponding claim 6.
In regards to claim 15, please see the citations and rejections for corresponding claim 7.
In regards to claim 16, please see the citations and rejections for corresponding claim 8.
In regards to claim 17. Huang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing at least one computer program, the at least one computer program being loaded and executed by a processor of a computer device and causing the computer device to implement an interaction method for controlling a virtual object (Huang, para [0010] and [0012]) including:
-displaying a virtual scene, the virtual scene comprising a virtual object and a plurality of polluted regions, each of the polluted regions comprising a pollution source at a predefined location within the polluted region (Huang, para [0056] and [0060]; Reference at [0056] discloses receive a first direction sent from the game terminal; wherein, the first direction is the direction of the potential danger source (i.e. polluted regions having a pollution source) of the user's corresponding character in the current game relative to the corresponding character (i.e. displayed virtual scene having a virtual object regarding character). Para [0060] discloses Understandably, to distinguish it from other directions mentioned below, the direction of the potential danger source relative to the user's corresponding character in the current game is referred to as the first direction (i.e. predefined location within polluted region));
-after the virtual object moves into a target polluted region of the plurality of polluted regions, determining a region impact value of a position of the virtual object based on a distance between the virtual object and the target pollution source (Huang, para [0061] and [0074]; Reference at [0061] discloses when the game terminal determines that there is a potential danger source for the user's character in the current game, it will determine the direction of the potential danger source and then send the direction information to the wearable device. Para [0074] discloses when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. As the potential hazard source approaches, the color of the arrow indicating the first direction gradually turns dark gray, and the vibration intensity also gradually increases. When users notice the vibration gradually increasing and the color gradually darkening, they will realize that danger is approaching (i.e. increasing of colors based on level of danger regarding distance or approaching hazard source interpreted as determining a region impact value of a position of the virtual object based on a distance between the virtual object and the target pollution source));
-when the distance between the virtual object and the target pollution source is not greater than a distance threshold, converting the target pollution source into a target object, wherein the target object is movable in the target polluted region (Huang, para [0074] and [0077]; Reference at para [0074] discloses for example, when the potential hazard source is far away, the arrow indicating the first direction is light gray, and the vibration intensity is also relatively weak. Para [0077] discloses receive the second direction sent by the game terminal; wherein, the second direction is the direction of the attack source of the user's corresponding character in the current game relative to the corresponding character (i.e. character that is the attack source interpreted as the converted target object that is movable in the region based on the defined changes in distance of the hazard source. Changes in color of indicator indicated distance thresholds));
-
Huang does not explicitly disclose but McMain teaches
-and when the virtual object defeats the target object, converting the target polluted region into a target purified region and reducing an impact exerted by a current existing pollution source on the target purified region by the region impact value (McMain, Fig. 4 and para [0036]; Reference discloses In FIG. 2, the player has fired a shot (or cast a spell) and the avatar of the intended target 22 has been changed to show some effect of the action…. By firing upon the intended target one or more additional times, at some point, the intended target 22 is annihilated or destroyed and the avatar of the intended target 22 changes to indicate that the intended target 22 is no longer active such as a pile of rubble 22A as shown in FIG. 4. Many other depictions of an annihilated intended target 22 are anticipated including, but not limited to, lying down of the intended target 22, vaporization of the intended target 22, crumbling of the intended target 22, etc. The removal of the intended target 22 based on a shot by the player’s character and removing the intended target from being a threat based on graphic effects thus eliminates the threat of the enemy avatar and thus this process is interpreted as analogous to the virtual object defeats the target object, converting the target polluted region into a target purified region and reducing an impact exerted by a current existing pollution source on the target purified region by the region impact value)).
Huang and McMain are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding virtual gameplay interactions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wearable device gaming system of Huang to include the critical hit gaming system features of McMain in order to provide the user with a wearable device that can allow for displaying danger warnings in games by determining a first direction toward a potential danger source in relation to a user’s virtual character and providing visual and tactile alerts so that the user can respond to the virtual threat accordingly as taught by Huang, while incorporating the critical hit gaming system features of McMain to allow for use of more impactful damage to enemy opponents within a gaming environment as various indicators and effects are incorporated to delineate the injury or death of an opposing virtual character such as removing the character from the scene or showing them as piles of rubble, frozen, etc. providing greater context to the user’s gaming experience, applicable to improving gaming applications such as those taught in Huang.
In regards to claim 18, please see the citations and rejections for corresponding claim 2.
In regards to claim 19, please see the citations and rejections for corresponding claim 5.
In regards to claim 20, please see the citations and rejections for corresponding claim 6.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 110215698 A) in view of McMain (US 2015/0273331 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Chao (CN 110801629 A, hereinafter referenced “Chao”).
In regards to claim 3. Huang in view of McMain teach the method according to claim 1.
Huang and McMain does not explicitly disclose but Chao teaches
-wherein the method further comprises: performing summation on a battle impact value of the position of the virtual object and the region impact value to obtain an impact sum; and displaying the impact sum on the virtual scene (Chao, para [0112]; Reference discloses at the start of a shooting game, users enter the game by matching into a team. Furthermore, the client determines whether any teammates are within the user's field of vision. If a teammate appears in the user's field of vision, the corresponding teammate's health bar information is displayed on the user interface…If a teammate is hit, their health will decrease; if a teammate is not hit, their health bar will be displayed normally. The health indicator shown based on shooting game and receiving hits or not to determine health indicator levels of the virtual object interpreted as performing summation on a battle impact value of the position of the virtual object and the region impact value to obtain an impact sum and displaying the impact sum on the virtual scene).
Huang and McMain are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding virtual gameplay interactions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wearable device gaming system of Huang to include the critical hit gaming system features of McMain in order to provide the user with a wearable device that can allow for displaying danger warnings in games by determining a first direction toward a potential danger source in relation to a user’s virtual character and providing visual and tactile alerts so that the user can respond to the virtual threat accordingly as taught by Huang, while incorporating the critical hit gaming system features of McMain to allow for use of more impactful damage to enemy opponents within a gaming environment as various indicators and effects are incorporated to delineate the injury or death of an opposing virtual character such as removing the character from the scene or showing them as piles of rubble, frozen, etc. providing greater context to the user’s gaming experience, applicable to improving gaming applications such as those taught in Huang.
Huang and Chao are also combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding virtual gameplay interactions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wearable device gaming system of Huang, in view of the critical hit gaming system features of McMain, to include the virtual object health indicator graphic features of Chao in order to provide the user with a wearable device that can allow for displaying danger warnings in games by determining a first direction toward a potential danger source in relation to a user’s virtual character and providing visual and tactile alerts so that the user can respond to the virtual threat accordingly as taught by Huang, while incorporating the critical hit gaming system features of McMain to allow for use of more impactful damage to enemy opponents within a gaming environment as various indicators and effects are incorporated to delineate the injury or death of an opposing virtual character such as removing the character from the scene or showing them as piles of rubble, frozen, etc. Further incorporating the virtual object health indicator graphic features of Chao allows for use of a health indicator graphic which takes into consideration obstacle information of the virtual environment to choose a display style of the indicator for providing enhanced information or virtual object health status so the user can make more effective gaming decisions, applicable to improving gaming applications such as those taught in Huang and McMain.
In regards to claim 11, please see the citations and rejections for corresponding claim 3 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
/TERRELL M ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614