DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chiu et al., US 2022/0335692 A1.
Claim 1 is anticipated by Chiu et al. figure 3 and accompanying text which discloses a reality device comprising an image system 3, wherein the image system 1 comprises:
. a first image source 10A
. a second image source 20A
. a beam splitter 30 disposed on paths of the first image beam and the second image beam
. a first lens set 60 disposed between the second image source 20A and the beam splitter 30 and comprising at least one lens element
. a second lens 200 set disposed on the paths of the first image beam and the second image beam and comprising a plurality of lens elements
. wherein the first image beam L10 and the second image beam L20 are imaged on an eye box EY1 after moving backward and forward between the lens elements of the second lens set 200
. a field of view after the first image beam L10 and the second image beam L20 exit the second lens set 200 (FOV after exit 202) is greater than a field of view before the first image beam and the second image beam enter the second lens set 200 (FOV before entering 201).
Re claim 2, wherein the image system 1 further comprises a filter device 40 disposed on the path of the second image beam L20 and located between the first lens set 60 and the second lens set 200.
Re claim 11, wherein the second lens set 200 comprising a total of three lens elements 201/202/203 with diopter (lens property, e.g., lens optical power).
Re claim 12, wherein the second lens set 200 comprises a plano-convex lens element 201 and a plano-concave lens element 203.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al., US 2022/0335692 A1, in view of Gao et al., CN 107065178A.
Re claim 3, Chiu et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the second image source, the first lens set, the filter device, the second lens set, and the eye box are sequentially arranged on the path of the second image beam, and form a Fourier 4F optical system. Gao et al. do disclose an using of Fourier 4F optical system over a virtual reality device (see figs 1-4, [0029], first embodiment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a Fourier 4F optical system over the Chiu et al. an image source, a first lens set, a filter, a second lens set, and an eye-box, as shown by Gao et al., for optical filtering purposes.
Re claim 4, the modification to Chiu et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the filter device is a liquid crystal spatial light modulator (SLM). Gao et al. also disclose a SLM as a well-known light modulation in an optical art (see Background technology, [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to employ a liquid crystal spatial light modulator as the Chiu et al. filter device, since it is known practice in the art for controlling properties of a light wave, e.g., amplitude phase, frequency, polarization ([0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DUNG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871