DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant application with Application Number 18/642,827 filed on 04/27/2024 is presented for examination. Claims 1-11 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statment
The Information Disclosure Statement dated 04/23/2024 is acknowledged and the cited references have been considered in this examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Densham et al. (US 2014/0084871) (Hereinafter, Densham) in view of Tagaya et al. (US 2014/0015483).
With respect to claims 1, 9 and 11, Densham discloses a cell balance switch circuit (Fig. 3-5; Para. # 0050: system 500 can charge/balance cells in multiple battery), comprising: (n+1) electrodes, configured to be each connected with a common node of adjacent two battery cells among n battery cells connected in series (Fig. 3, 210; para. # 0053: plurality of cells 210_1-210_N and distributes the energy to the cells 210_1-210_N. The cells 210_1-210_N are balanced relative to one another based on the energy from the cells 210_1-210_N), a cell string comprising the n battery cells; (n+1) conductive wires, respectively connected with the electrodes; and n cell balance switches (Fig. 3, 312_1-312_N),
a cell string comprising the n battery cells; (n+1) conductive wires, respectively connected with the electrodes; and n cell balance switches (Fig. 3, 312_1-312_N), configured to be connected between adjacent two conductive wires among the conductive wires, wherein: each of the cell balance switches (Fig. 3, switch controller 340 and switches 312; Para. # 0031) comprises: a first transistor, connected between adjacent conductive wires of the conductive wires (Para. # 0023, and 0055:Fig. 3, transistors 312) ; a bias wire, connected with a gate of the first transistor (Fig. 3, wires connected to control switch 340 generating control signals).
Densham does not expressly disclose a suppression circuit comprises a switch configured to temporarily connect the bias wire and the conductive wire in response to a voltage change.
Tagaya, on the other hand, discloses a suppression circuit comprises a switch configured to temporarily connect the bias wire and the conductive wire in response to a voltage change (Para. # 123: electric power used to balance the voltages of the respective cells can be saved, which means effectively suppression of dispersion of voltages).
DENSHAM and Tagaya are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely battery system and method for balancing battery cells and battery management.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a suppression circuit to the balancing circuit of Densham in view of Tagaya for the benefit of reducing dispersion of voltages to avoid voltage inequalities between cells (Para. # 124 and 127).
With respect to claim 2, the combined references of Densham and Tagaya disclose the cell balance switch circuit as described above, further Densham discloses wherein the suppression circuit comprises a second transistor having a source and a drain respectively connected with the conductive wire and the bias wire associated with the suppression circuit (Para. # 0023: sw 108 has multiple transistor, the switch 108 is an n-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (NMOSFET).
With respect to claim 3, the combined references of Densham and Tagaya disclose the cell balance switch circuit as described above, further Densham discloses a delay circuit connected between the conductive wire associated with the suppression circuit and a gate of the second transistor (Fig. 3, gate of transistors 312).
With respect to claims 4 and 10, the combined references of Densham and Tagaya disclose the cell balance switch circuit as described above, further Densham discloses wherein the suppression circuit further comprises: a resistor, connected between a gate of the second transistor and the conductive wire; and a capacitor, connected between the gate and the drain of the second transistor (Para. # 0016/0019: a resistor 114, is coupled in series to the primary winding 104, such that a voltage V.sub.114 across the resistor 114; further the switch circuit and contains multiple resisters across the balancing circuit to control the voltages).
With respect to claim 5, the combined references of Densham and Tagaya disclose the cell balance switch circuit as described above, further Densham discloses wherein the cell balance switch further comprises a diode connected in a reverse direction between the bias wire and the conductive wire (Para. # 0017: he diode 112 is reverse biased (cut off), and the secondary winding 106).
With respect to claim 6, the combined references of Densham and Tagaya disclose the cell balance switch circuit as described above, further Densham discloses wherein a conductivity type of the second transistor is same as a conductivity type of the first transistor of the cell balance switch (Fig. 3, transistors of 312_1 to 312_N).
With respect to claim 7, the combined references of Densham and Tagaya disclose the cell balance switch circuit as described above, further Densham discloses wherein at least some of the first transistors of the cell balance switches have a p-channel type (Para. # 0024: a switch (not shown in FIG. 1A) that is a p-channel MOSFET (PMOSFET)).
With respect to claim 8, the combined references of Densham and Tagaya disclose the cell balance switch circuit as described above, further Densham discloses wherein at least some of the first transistors of the cell balance switches have an n-channel type (Para. # 0023: SW 108 is an n-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (NMOSFET).
Contact Information
/YALKEW FANTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859