Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ByteTrack: Multi-Object Tracking by Associating Every Detection Box to Zhang et al., hereinafter, “Zhang”.
Claim 1. A data processing system comprising: [Abstract] To put forwards the state-of-the art performance of MOT, we design a simple and strong tracker, named ByteTrack, Algorithm 1
a processor; [Abstract] For the first time, we achieve 80.3 MOTA, 77.3 IDF1 and 63.1 HOTA on the test set of MOT17 with 30 FPS running speed on a single V100 GPU.
[4.1. Setting – Implementation Details] The model is trained on 8 NVIDIA Tesla V100 GPU with batch size of 48.
and a memory storing executable instructions that, when executed, cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors to perform operations of: [Abstract] For the first time, we achieve 80.3 MOTA, 77.3 IDF1 and 63.1 HOTA on the test set of MOT17 with 30 FPS running speed on a single V100 GPU., Algorithm 1; inherently the GPU would require some type of memory to execute the instructions for carrying out the operation of the device)
obtaining a frame of video content at an object detection pipeline, [Figure 5] , [4.1. Setting] Datasets (pipeline)
the video content comprising a plurality of frames; Algorithm 1, Input: a video sequence
analyzing the frame of video content using an object detection model to detect a plurality of objects in the frame of video content, [BDDD100K] We utilize a simple ResNet-50 ImageNet classification model from UniTrack[68] to extract Re-ID features and compute appearance similarity.
the object detection model associating each object of the plurality of objects with a confidence score; [Figure 2] models prediction boxes with high and low scores
[BDDD100K] We utilize a simple ResNet-50 ImageNet classification model from UniTrack[68] to extract Re-ID features and compute appearance similarity.
performing a primary matching operation on high confidence detection objects to determine first object tracks of the high confidence detection objects by associating the high confidence detection objects with an object track of a plurality of object tracks
[Abstract] Most methods obtain identities by associating detection boxes whose scores are higher than a threshold...[introduction] We first match the high score detection boxes to the tracklets based on motion similarity or appearance similarity
the high confidence detection objects being objects from the plurality of objects associated with a confidence score that satisfies a confidence threshold, [Abstract] Most methods obtain identities by associating detection boxes whose scores are higher than a threshold
Algorithm 1, lines 3-13 [3. BYTE] For each frame in the video, we predict the detection boxes and scores using the detector Det. We separate all the detection boxes into two parts Dhigh and Dlow according to the detection score threshold τ. For the detection boxes whose scores are higher than τ ,we put them into the high score detection boxes Dhigh.
the first object tracks tracking the high confidence detection objects across the plurality of frames; Algorithm 1, Input: a video sequence, [3. BYTE] For each frame in the video
performing a secondary matching operation on low confidence detection objects to determine second object tracks of the low confidence detection objects by associating the low confidence detection objects with an object track of the plurality of object tracks, [Introduction] Then, we perform the second matching between the unmatched track lets, i.e. the tracklet in red box, and the low score detection boxes using the same motion similarity.
the low confidence detection objects being objects from the plurality of objects associated with a confidence score that does not satisfy the confidence threshold, Algorithm 1, lines 3-13 [3. BYTE] For each frame in the video, we predict the detection boxes and scores using the detector Det. We separate all the detection boxes into two parts Dhigh and Dlow according to the detection score threshold τ…For the detection boxes whose scores are lower than τ ,we put them into the low score detection boxes Dlow
the second object tracks tracking the low confidence detection objects across the plurality of frames; Zhang [3. BYTE] For each frame in the video
and outputting, from the object detection pipeline, the first object tracks and the second object tracks. [Abstract] To solve this problem, we present a simple, effective and generic association method, tracking by associating almost every detection box instead of only the high score ones.
Algorithm 1 Output: Tracks T of the video
[3. BYTE] The output of BYTE is the tracks T of the video and each track contains the bounding box and identity of the object in each frame.
Claim 2. Zhang further teaches wherein performing the primary matching operation on high confidence detection objects further comprises: Zhang [Abstract] Most methods obtain identities by associating detection boxes whose scores are higher than a threshold...[introduction] We first match the high score detection boxes to the tracklets based on motion similarity or appearance similarity
comparing attributes of a high confidence detection object with attributes of previously tracked objects from a previous frame of the video content to determine whether the high confidence detection objects correspond to the previously tracked objects, the previously tracked objects being associated with an object track; [Figure 2] Frames t1, t2, t3 (series of frames)
[Abstract] we utilize their similarities with tracklets to recover true objects
associating the high confidence detection object with the object track of a previously tracked object that corresponds with the high confidence detection object; Zhang [Abstract] Most methods obtain identities by associating detection boxes whose scores are higher than a threshold… Figure 2. (b) shows the tracklets obtained by previous methods which associates detection boxes whose scores are higher than a threshold, i.e. 0.5. The same box color represents the same identity.
and associating the high confidence detection object with a new object track responsive to the high confidence detection object not corresponding with any of the previously tracked objects. Algorithm 1, line 22, [3. BYTE] Finally, we initialize new tracks from the unmatched high score detection boxes Dremain after the first association.
Claim 3. Zhang further teaches wherein performing the secondary matching operation on low confidence detection objects further comprises: [Introduction] Then, we perform the second matching between the unmatched track lets, i.e. the tracklet in red box, and the low score detection boxes using the same motion similarity.
comparing attributes of a low confidence detection object with attributes of previously tracked objects from a previous frame of the video content to determine whether the low confidence detection objects correspond to the previously tracked objects, the previously tracked objects being associated with an object track; [Figure 2] Frames t1, t2, t3 (series of frames)
[Abstract] we utilize their similarities with tracklets to recover true objects
associating the low confidence detection object with the object track of a previously tracked object that corresponds with the low confidence detection object; [Introduction] As shown in Figure 2 (c), two low score detection boxes are matched to the track lets by the motion model’s predicted boxes, and thus the objects are correctly recovered.
and discarding the low confidence detection object responsive to the low confidence detection object not corresponding with any of the previously tracked objects.
[BYTE] After the association, the unmatched tracks will be deleted from the tracklets.
Claim 8. Zhang further teaches wherein the memory further includes instructions configured to cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors to perform operations of: performing a tuning operation to tune one or more hyperparameters of the object detection model to determine object-class specific hyperparameter values for the object detection model. [Robustness to detection score threshold] The detection score threshold high is a sensitive hyper-parameter and needs to be carefully tuned in the task of multi-object tracking…
Claim 10. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 1. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 11. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 2. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 12. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 3. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ByteTrack: Multi-Object Tracking by Associating Every Detection Box to Zhang et al., hereinafter, “Zhang” in view of US 10936902 B1 to Bagwell et al., hereinafter, “Bagwell”.
Claim 9. Zhang fails to explicitly teach to cause the application to perform one more actions based on the plurality of object tracks. Bagwell, in the field of using bounding box for object detection in image data, teaches further teaches wherein the memory further includes instructions configured to cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors to perform operations of: providing the plurality of object tracks to an application to cause the application to perform one more actions based on the plurality of object tracks. [col. 1, line 67- col. 2 line 2] The output bounding box may be used to track an object (e.g., update a state of an object tracker), generate a trajectory, or otherwise control the vehicle.
Zhang [3. BYTE] The output of each individual frame is the bounding boxes and identities of the tracks T in the current frame.
Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Bagwell [col. 2, line 4] to more accurately identify a bounding box to use for an object.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The innovation that makes claim 4 allowable is “determining that performing object detection on the frame would cause a frame rate of the object detection pipeline to fall below a threshold; and performing detection propagation to extrapolate object tracks for the plurality of objects from previously determined object tracks.
Claims 5-7 and 14-16 are allowed because they are dependents of claims 4 and 13, respectively.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The innovation that makes claim 17 allowable is “responsive to determining that performing the object detection would not cause the frame rate to fall below the threshold, performing object detection and tracking comprising: performing a primary matching operation on high confidence detection objects to determine first object tracks of the high confidence detection objects by associating the high confidence detection objects with an object track of a plurality of object tracks, the high confidence detection objects being objects from the plurality of objects associated with a confidence score that satisfies a confidence threshold, the first object tracks tracking the high confidence detection objects across the plurality of frames, and performing a secondary matching operation on low confidence detection objects to determine second object tracks of the low confidence detection objects by associating the low confidence detection objects with an object track of the plurality of object tracks, the low confidence detection objects being objects from the plurality of objects associated with a confidence score that does not satisfy the confidence threshold, the second object tracks tracking the low confidence detection objects across the plurality of frames; responsive to determining that performing the object detection would cause the frame rate to fall below the threshold, performing detection propagation to extrapolate object tracks for the plurality of objects from previously determined object tracks to extend the first object tracks and the second object tracks; and outputting, from the object detection pipeline, the first object tracks and the second object tracks.”
Likewise claims 18-20 are allowed because they are dependents of claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0312027 A1 to Patsekin et al.
/DELOMIA L GILLIARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661