DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1, 2 and 21-32, in the reply filed on 4/16/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., “Controlling Polyethylene Molecular Weights and Distributions Using Chromium Complexes Supported by SNN-Tridentate Ligands,” Macromolecules 2022, 55, 2433–2443.
Wang teaches SNN-tridentate ligands L1–L6 and chromium complexes Cr1–Cr6 having a quinoline-imine ligand framework containing a sulfur donor substituent attached to the quinoline-containing core (Scheme 1, pp. 2434–2435). Wang teaches a heteroatomic ligand compound comprising a quinoline-imine scaffold wherein sulfur is present as a thioether substituent corresponding to X = S and y = 1, and wherein the ligand contains substituents corresponding to R1–R11, including hydrogen, alkyl, aryl, substituted aryl, and halogenated aryl substituents (Scheme 1; section “Synthesis of Ligands L1–L6,” pp. 2434–2435). Wang further teaches hydrocarbyl sulfur substituents including iPr and 2,6-dimethylphenyl attached through sulfur to the quinoline core, corresponding to (R12)y X where X = S and y = 1 (Scheme 1; ligands L1–L6). Wang additionally teaches methyl substituents and hydrogen substituents on the aromatic rings and teaches alkyl-, aryl-, and substituted aryl-containing embodiments overlapping the recited substituent scope of claim 2, including methyl, phenyl, substituted phenyl, and trifluoromethyl-substituted phenyl groups (pp. 2435–2436; Table 1).
Wang does not expressly teach the exact substituent selections recited in claims 1, 2, and 21 in every possible combination. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the disclosed substituent variations and hydrogen substitution patterns in the Wang ligands because Wang expressly teaches tuning steric and electronic properties of the quinoline-imine sulfur-containing ligands through routine substituent modification for catalyst optimization (section 2.2.1, pp. 2435–2436).
Claims 1 and 22–32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., “Phosphine-Iminoquinoline Iron Complexes for Ethylene Polymerization and Copolymerization,” Organometallics 2017, 36, 3758–3764.
Zhang teaches phosphine-iminoquinoline PNN ligands and corresponding iron complexes having a quinoline-imine ligand framework bearing phosphine substituents (Abstract; Scheme 1, pp. 3758–3759). Zhang expressly teaches phosphine-iminoquinoline ligands generated by coupling iminoquinolines with secondary diaryl- and dialkylphosphines R′2PH, thereby teaching phosphorus-containing substituents corresponding to (R12)2P, i.e., X = P and y = 2 (Scheme 1; section “Results and Discussion,” p. 3758). Zhang further teaches substituent variation including hydrogen, methyl, isopropyl, tert-butyl, phenyl, methoxy-substituted phenyl, trifluoromethyl-substituted phenyl, and related hydrocarbyl substituents on both the quinoline-imine framework and phosphine substituents (Table 1; ligand syntheses 6a–6j, pp. 3760–3762).
Zhang does not expressly teach every specific positional arrangement and substituent combination recited in claims 22–32, including the exact recited hydrogen-placement limitations and every enumerated R12 species. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the recited substituent selections because Zhang expressly teaches modification of phosphine and aryl substituents to tune steric and electronic properties of phosphine-iminoquinoline ligands for catalyst performance optimization (pp. 3759–3761).
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771