DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-5 and 20) in the reply filed on 9/25/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zheng (US 2022/0320495).
As to claim 1, Zheng discloses negative electrode active material (abstract, anode material for lithium-ion batteries; discussed throughout), comprising amorphous nano-sized Si particles ([0020] amorphous nano-silicon particles; [0008] and discussed throughout).
As to claim 4, Zheng does not specifically state wherein, the negative electrode active material has a full-width at half maximum of about 10 or more at 2θ of about 250 to about 300 in an X-ray diffraction analysis using a CuKα ray. However, the instant specification attributes the x ray diffraction results to the silicon being amorphous ([0125], using the PGPUB US 2025/0029049 for citation). Given that Zheng discloses the same material within the same location i.e. amorphous nano-sized Si particles ([0020], [0008] and discussed throughout) the materials would have the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 5, Zheng discloses wherein, the negative electrode active material further comprises a carbon layer on a surface of each of the Si particles (figure 1 and [0005], discussed throughout).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (US 2022/0320495) as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claims 2 and 3, Zheng discloses wherein each of the Si particles is about 1 nm to about 20 nm (claim 2) and about 1 nm to about 10 nm (claim 3) ([0008], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2020/0388846).
As to claim 20, Zheng discloses wherein the anode material for lithium-ion batteries (abstract and throughout). However, Zheng does not disclose the structure of the lithium-ion batteries. Kim discloses wherein a lithium-ion battery composing a negative electrode with a negative electrode active material, a positive electrode and an electrolyte ([0004], Kim and throughout). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the battery structure from Kim within Zheng as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724