DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the at least one first and the second angled surface extend from the at least one mirror base” should read “at least one first angled surface and the at least one second angled surface extend from the at least one mirror base body” for clarity in view of the disclosures and drawings. Please consider revising and clarifying.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scifres (US 4022520) in view of Branham (US PUB 2009/0261226).
Scifres and Branham disclose exterior vehicle mirror assembly. Therefore, they are analogous art.
Regarding claim 1, Scifres teaches an exterior side view mirror system (a rear view mirror assembly, as shown in FIGS. 1-2) comprising: at least one mirror base (mounting arm 5 and rotating and fixed disk 3 and 4); at least one mirror base affixed to at least one spacer plate (gasket 8) (see column 2, lines 37-42 and as shown in FIG. 2 above); wherein the at least one mirror base further comprises; at least one first angled surface; at least one second angled surface; wherein the at least one first angled surface and the at least one second angled surface extend from the at least one mirror base (as shown in FIG. 2 above); wherein the at least one first angled surface and the at least one second angled surface are opposite to one another (as shown in FIG. 2 above); at least one mirror support neck (mounting arm portion as shown in FIG. 2 above); wherein the at least one mirror support neck is configured to be enclosed by the at least one first angled surface and the at least one second angled surface (as shown in FIG. 2 above); at least one mirror affixment structure (fixed disk 4); wherein the at least one mirror affixment structure is configured to connect to the at least one mirror base by at least one mirror affixment structure connection (i.e., tighten the retaining bolt or similar type fastener so that rotating disc 3 will hold fast against fixed disc 4, column 2, lines 32-34 and as shown in FIG. 2 above); at least one mirror head (mirrors 1 and 2); wherein the at least one mirror head is configured to attach to the at least one mirror base by at least one threaded ball stud (i.e., Mirrors 1 and 2 are independent of each other and can be adjusted to any angle as required. The adjustments, or positioning, are accomplished through the use of ball joint assemblies 12 and 22 (e.g., threaded ball stud), column 2, lines 23-26); at least one mirror head mounting bracket (rotating disk 3); and wherein the at least one mirror head mounting bracket is configured to keep the at least one mirror head stable by at least two mirror head mounting screws (i.e., secure position of disc 3 against disc 4 a tongue and groove or similar type locking system (e.g., mounting screws) can be employed, column 2, lines 34-36, also see column 2, lines 23-42).
Scifres fails to teach at least one mirror base mounting bracket affixed between the at least one spacer plate and the at least one mirror base.
However, in a related field of endeavor Branham teaches mounting bracket 20 may include a base plate 26 adapted for mounting directly to vehicle exterior 14. A base arm 28 which extends generally laterally outward from base plate 26 for carrying support arm 16, para. [0030], FIG. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Scifres such that a mounting bracket affixed between a base plate and a base arm carrying a support arm as taught by Branham for the purpose of improving a detent joint for exterior mirror assemblies that maintains a proper detent connection.
Regarding claim 2, Scifres according to claim 1 further teaches the at least one mirror base defines at least one mirror base screw opening (as shown in FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 3, Scifres fails to teach the at least one mirror base screw opening is configured as a threaded hole.
However, in a related field of endeavor Branham teaches spring member 58 is disposed in and biased against base arm 28 and securing member 56 to pull support arm 16 towards base arm 28. Distal end 55 of securing member 56 may be threaded for receiving a washer 57 and nut 59 to secure distal end 55 against support arm 16, para. [0035], FIGS. 2, 4 and 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Scifres such that a securing member may be threaded for receiving a nut 59 (with a threaded hole, shown in FIG. 2) as taught by Branham, for the purpose of improving a detent joint for exterior mirror assemblies that maintains a proper detent connection.
Regarding claim 4, Scifres fails to teach the at least one mirror affixment structure defines at least one threaded ball stud opening.
However, in a related field of endeavor Branham teaches spring member 58 is disposed in and biased against base arm 28 and securing member 56 to pull support arm 16 towards base arm 28. Distal end 55 of securing member 56 may be threaded for receiving a washer 57 and nut 59 to secure distal end 55 against support arm 16, para. [0035], FIGS. 2, 4 and 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Scifres such that a securing member may be threaded for receiving a nut 59 (ball stud) (with a threaded opening, shown in FIG. 2) as taught by Branham, for the purpose of improving a detent joint for exterior mirror assemblies that maintains a proper detent connection.
Regarding claim 5, Scifres fails to teach the at least one threaded ball stud opening is configured as a threaded hole.
However, in a related field of endeavor Branham teaches spring member 58 is disposed in and biased against base arm 28 and securing member 56 to pull support arm 16 towards base arm 28. Distal end 55 of securing member 56 may be threaded for receiving a washer 57 and nut 59 to secure distal end 55 against support arm 16, para. [0035], FIGS. 2, 4 and 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Scifres such that a securing member may be threaded for receiving a nut (ball stud) (with a threaded hole, shown in FIG. 2) as taught by Branham, for the purpose of improving a detent joint for exterior mirror assemblies that maintains a proper detent connection.
Regarding claim 6, Scifres according to claim 1 further teaches the at least one mirror affixment structure (fixed disk 4) is shaped as a column, polygon, or hollow rectangle shape (as shown in FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 7, Scifres according to claim 1 further teaches the at least one mirror affixment structure, the at least one mirror support neck, and the at least one mirror base body are configured to form a center line and are configured with an angle ranging from 0 degrees to 60 degrees (as shown in FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 9, Scifres according to claim 1 further teaches the at least one mirror head mounting bracket (30 is configured to connect the at least one mirror head (1) to the at least one mirror base (5) (as shown in FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 10, Scifres fails to teach the at least one mirror base mounting bracket is configured to connect the at least one mirror base to the at least one spacer plate.
However, in a related field of endeavor Branham teaches mounting bracket 20 may include a base plate 26 adapted for mounting directly to vehicle exterior 14. A base arm 28 which extends generally laterally outward from base plate 26 for carrying support arm 16, para. [0030], FIG. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Scifres such that mounting bracket affixed between a base plate and a base arm carrying a support arm as taught by Branham, for the purpose of improving a detent joint for exterior mirror assemblies that maintains a proper detent connection.
Regarding claim 11, Scifres teaches a method for making an exterior side view mirror system (method of making of a rear view mirror assembly, as shown in FIGS. 1-2) comprising: forming at least one spacer plate (gasket 8) (see column 2, lines 37-42 and as shown in FIG. 2 above); forming at least one mirror base (mounting arm 5 and rotating and fixed disk 3 and 4) affixed to at least one spacer plate (as shown in FIG. 2 above); wherein the at least one mirror base is configured to comprise; at least one first angled surface; at least one second angled surface; wherein the at least one first angled surface and the at least one second angled surface are configured to extend from the at least one mirror base (as shown in FIG. 2 above); wherein the at least one first angled surface and the at least one second angled surface are configured opposite one another (as shown in FIG. 2 above); at least one mirror support neck (mounting arm portion as shown in FIG. 2 above); wherein the at least one mirror support neck is configured to be enclosed by the at least one first angled surface and the at least one second angled surface (as shown in FIG. 2 above); at least one mirror affixment structure (fixed disk 4); wherein the at least one mirror affixment structure is configured to connect to the at least one mirror base by at least one mirror affixment structure connection (i.e., tighten the retaining bolt or similar type fastener so that rotating disc 3 will hold fast against fixed disc 4, column 2, lines 32-34 and as shown in FIG. 2 above); forming at least one mirror head (mirrors 1 and 2); forming at least one threaded ball stud (ball joint 12); wherein the at least one threaded ball stud is configured to attach to the at least one mirror head to the at least one mirror base (i.e., Mirrors 1 and 2 are independent of each other and can be adjusted to any angle as required. The adjustments, or positioning, are accomplished through the use of ball joint assemblies 12 and 22 (e.g., threaded ball stud), column 2, lines 23-26); forming at least one mirror head mounting bracket (rotating disk 3); and wherein the at least one mirror head mounting bracket is configured to keep the at least one mirror head stable by at least two mirror head mounting screws (i.e., secure position of disc 3 against disc 4 a tongue and groove or similar type locking system (e.g., mounting screws) can be employed, column 2, lines 34-36, also see column 2, lines 23-42).
Scifres fails to teach forming a mirror base mounting bracket affixed between the at least one spacer plate and the at least one mirror base.
However, in a related field of endeavor Branham teaches mounting bracket 20 may include a base plate 26 adapted for mounting directly to vehicle exterior 14. A base arm 28 which extends generally laterally outward from base plate 26 for carrying support arm 16, para. [0030], FIG. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Scifres such that a mounting bracket affixed between a base plate and a base arm carrying a support arm as taught by Branham for the purpose of improving a detent joint for exterior mirror assemblies that maintains a proper detent connection.
Furthermore, the method of forming the device/system is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 12, Scifres according to claim 1 further teaches forming the at least one mirror base defines at least one mirror base screw opening (as shown in FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 13, Scifres fails to teach forming the at least one mirror base screw opening is configured as a threaded hole.
However, in a related field of endeavor Branham teaches spring member 58 is disposed in and biased against base arm 28 and securing member 56 to pull support arm 16 towards base arm 28. Distal end 55 of securing member 56 may be threaded for receiving a washer 57 and nut 59 to secure distal end 55 against support arm 16, para. [0035], FIGS. 2, 4 and 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Scifres such that a securing member may be threaded for receiving a nut 59 (with a threaded hole, shown in FIG. 2) as taught by Branham, for the purpose of improving a detent joint for exterior mirror assemblies that maintains a proper detent connection.
Regarding claim 14, Scifres fails to teach forming the at least one mirror affixment structure defines at least one threaded ball stud opening.
However, in a related field of endeavor Branham teaches spring member 58 is disposed in and biased against base arm 28 and securing member 56 to pull support arm 16 towards base arm 28. Distal end 55 of securing member 56 may be threaded for receiving a washer 57 and nut 59 to secure distal end 55 against support arm 16, para. [0035], FIGS. 2, 4 and 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Scifres such that a securing member may be threaded for receiving a nut 59 (ball stud) (with a threaded opening, shown in FIG. 2) as taught by Branham, for the purpose of improving a detent joint for exterior mirror assemblies that maintains a proper detent connection.
Regarding claim 15, Scifres fails to teach forming the at least one threaded ball stud opening is configured as a threaded hole.
However, in a related field of endeavor Branham teaches spring member 58 is disposed in and biased against base arm 28 and securing member 56 to pull support arm 16 towards base arm 28. Distal end 55 of securing member 56 may be threaded for receiving a washer 57 and nut 59 to secure distal end 55 against support arm 16, para. [0035], FIGS. 2, 4 and 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Scifres such that a securing member may be threaded for receiving a nut (ball stud) (with a threaded hole, shown in FIG. 2) as taught by Branham, for the purpose of improving a detent joint for exterior mirror assemblies that maintains a proper detent connection.
Regarding claim 16, Scifres according to claim 1 further teaches forming the at least one mirror affixment structure (fixed disk 4) is shaped as a column, polygon, or hollow rectangle shape (as shown in FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 17, Scifres according to claim 1 further teaches forming the at least one mirror affixment structure, the at least one mirror support neck, and the at least one mirror base body are configured to form a center line and are configured with an angle ranging from 0 degrees to 60 degrees (as shown in FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 19, Scifres according to claim 1 further teaches forming the at least one mirror head mounting bracket (30 is configured to connect the at least one mirror head (1) to the at least one mirror base (5) (as shown in FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 20, Scifres fails to teach forming the at least one mirror base mounting bracket is configured to connect the at least one mirror base to the at least one spacer plate.
However, in a related field of endeavor Branham teaches mounting bracket 20 may include a base plate 26 adapted for mounting directly to vehicle exterior 14. A base arm 28 which extends generally laterally outward from base plate 26 for carrying support arm 16, para. [0030], FIG. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Scifres such that mounting bracket affixed between a base plate and a base arm carrying a support arm as taught by Branham, for the purpose of improving a detent joint for exterior mirror assemblies that maintains a proper detent connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not teach, or renders obvious, regarding the at least one spacer plate is configured to be tapered and is configured to be thicker on the proximal end of the at least one mirror base and thinner on the distal end of the at least one mirror base.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art does not teach, or renders obvious, regarding forming the at least one spacer plate is configured to be tapered and is configured to be thicker on the proximal end of the at least one mirror base and thinner on the distal end of the at least one mirror base.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pavao (US 7073914) teaches “a fixed mounting portion 16, which fixedly mounts mirror assembly 11 to a side panel of a vehicle.”, column 5, lines 51-55, FIG. 1.
/MUSTAK CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
March 12, 2026