DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed December 30, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 5-7, 11-17 and 19-20 are amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al., U.S. Patent 10,851,941 in view of Veilleux, Jr., U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0302903.
As per claim 1, Wilson et al. disclose a lubrication maintenance system for a gearbox assembly of a turbine engine (col. 1, lines 24-32) (col. 5, lines 19-27), the lubrication maintenance system comprising:
a reservoir (110) [lubricant feed tank] configured to store a lubricant;
a lubricant supply circuit (fig. 2) fluidly coupled to the reservoir (110), the lubricant supply circuit configured to supply the lubricant to the gearbox assembly;
a lubrication pump (201) fluidly coupled to the reservoir (110), the lubrication pump configured to circulate the lubricant through the lubricant supply circuit (fig. 2);
a heat exchanger (col. 5, lines 43-52) fluidly coupled to the lubrication pump (201) and the gearbox assembly of the turbine engine; and
a plurality of sumps (116) fluidly coupled to the heat exchanger,
wherein the lubrication pump (201) is further fluidly coupled to the gearbox assembly and each of the plurality of sumps (116), such that the lubrication pump is configured to scavenge circulated lubricant from the gearbox assembly and each of the plurality of sumps and recycle the circulated lubricant to the reservoir (110) (col. 5, lines 27-62) (fig. 2).
Wilson et al. do not disclose the heat exchanger located downstream of the lubrication pump and upstream of the gearbox assembly. However, Veilleux, Jr. in his Lubrication Driven Gas Turbine Engine Actuation System invention teaches the use of a heat exchanger (32) associated with a lubrication system of a gas turbine engine (fig. 1). Lubricant flows from a lubricant tank (40) to a lubricant pump (42), followed by the heat exchanger (32) before the lubricant distribution system (54) which includes components (56) such as bearings (paras 0012, 0014]) (fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wilson et al. with a heat exchanger located downstream of the lubrication pump and upstream of engine components to be lubricated, as taught by Veilleux, Jr., for the purpose of optimizing lower lubricant oil temperatures for minimal heat transfer to the engine components to be lubricated.
As per claim 4, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, disclose the claimed invention except for a leak back valve disposed between and fluidly coupled to the heat exchanger (col. 5, lines 43-52) and the lubrication pump (201), the leak back valve being configured to prevent reverse flow of the lubricant. Examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known in the lubrication art to place a leak back valve, commonly known as a check valve, in a lubricant line where only one way flow is desired to ensure optimal system performance by structurally creating only one way flow is only possible.
As per claim 5, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, Wilson et al. disclose a plurality of scavenge drains (below scavenge pumps 106) (fig. 2) positioned between the plurality of sumps (116) and the lubrication pump (201), the plurality of scavenge drains being configured to drain the circulated lubricant from each of the plurality of sumps (116) to remove the circulated lubricant from the lubrication maintenance system.
As per claim 6, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, Wilson et al. disclose at least one of the plurality of scavenge drains (below scavenge pumps 106) is positioned between the gearbox assembly (col. 1, lines 24-32) and the lubrication pump (201), the at least one of the plurality of scavenge drains (below scavenge pumps 106) being configured to drain the circulated lubricant from the gearbox assembly ) to remove the circulated lubricant from the lubrication maintenance system.
As per claim 7, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, Wilson et al. disclose a common scavenge drain (near 120) (fig. 6) positioned between the lubrication pump (201) and the reservoir (110), the common scavenge drain configured to drain the circulated lubricant scavenged by the lubrication pump (201) from the lubrication maintenance system ) to remove the circulated lubricant from the lubrication maintenance system.
.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al., U.S. Patent 10,851,941 in view of Veilleux, Jr., U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0302903, further in view of Mouton, U.S. Patent 5,320,196.
As per claim 2, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, do not disclose the reservoir further includes a vent configured to equalize a reservoir pressure within the reservoir as the lubrication pump circulates the lubricant through the lubrication maintenance system. However, Mouton in his Pressure System for Detecting Malfunctions of a Fuel/Oil Heat Exchanger invention teach the use of a vent (10) located in an oil lubricating circuit including an oil reservoir (1), heat exchanger 6 and a lubricating enclosure (7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a vent to the system of Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr., as taught by Mouton, for the purpose of venting the lubrication circuit to atmosphere to prevent excess pressure buildup (col. 2, lines 49-60).
As per claim 3, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, Wilson et al. disclose a lubricant filter (5) configured to remove contaminants from the circulated lubricant recycled to the reservoir (110). Wilson et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the filter is located at the vent. It would have been obvious matter of design to place the filter with the vent so both are easily accessible for maintenance, since applicant has not disclosed that lubricant filter placement solves any stated problems or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well removing lubricant oil particulates.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al., U.S. Patent 10,851,941 in view of Veilleux, Jr., U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0302903, further in view of Batrice, U.S. Patent 4,977,978.
As per claim 8, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, do not disclose the reservoir further includes a reservoir valve positioned between the reservoir and the lubrication pump, the reservoir valve configured to drain the lubricant from the reservoir. However, Batrice in his Automotive Oil Change Apparatus invention teaches the use of a discharge valve (46) fluidly connected to conduit (10) to drain lubricant oil from reservoir (22) [oil pan].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. with a reservoir valve, as taught by Batrice, for the purpose of enabling a quick and efficient way to replace lubricant in the reservoir.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al., U.S. Patent 10,851,941 in view of Veilleux, Jr., U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0302903, further in view of Flynn, U.S. Patent Publication 2004/0020720.
As per claim 9, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, do not disclose a lubrication cart that is fluidly couplable to the reservoir, such that the lubrication cart is configured to supply a clean lubricant to the reservoir. However, Flynn in his Engine Oil Cleaning System invention teaches the use of a lubrication cart (fig. 1) couplable to a reservoir and supplies clean lubricant to the reservoir (para [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. by coupling it with a cart to supply clean lubricant, as taught by Flynn, for the purpose of removing dirty engine lubricant and replacing it with clean lubricant for optimal system performance.
As per claim 10, Wilson et al., Veilleux, Jr. and Flynn as set forth above, Wilson et al. as modified, disclose the lubrication cart (figs. 1-4) is fluidly couplable to the gearbox assembly, such that the lubrication cart is configured to supply the clean lubricant directly to the gearbox assembly (para [0025]) (fig. 4). Flynn discloses clean lubricant from oil tank (48) being pumped via pump (25) from line (46) to line (45) and then follows the path into the engine (shown in fig. 2). Fig. 2 representing the lubrication circuit of the engine. Flynn’s drawings refer to an automotive engine but one of ordinary skill would know the equivalent lubrication circuit in a turbine engine would include the lubrication circuit to supply lubricant directly to a gearbox assembly.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wilson, U.S. Patent 11,566,563 in view of Veilleux, Jr., U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0302903.
As per claim 14, Wilson discloses a turbine engine (1) (fig. 1) comprising:
a fan section including a fan (13);
a fan shaft (near 13) coupled to the fan (13), the fan shaft configured to rotate the fan;
a turbine section (near 114) including a high pressure shaft (near 17) and a low pressure shaft (near 19);
a gearbox assembly (25) mechanically coupled to the turbine section (near 114); and
a lubrication maintenance system (fig. 2) comprising:
a reservoir (21) configured to store a lubricant;
a lubricant supply circuit (fig. 2) fluidly coupled to the reservoir (21), the lubricant supply circuit configured to supply the lubricant to the gearbox assembly;
a lubrication pump (col. 4, lines 35-41) (213) fluidly coupled to the reservoir (21), the lubrication pump being configured to circulate the lubricant through the lubricant supply circuit (fig. 2);
a heat exchanger (28) fluidly coupled to the lubrication pump (213) and the gearbox assembly (25) of the turbine engine (1); and
a plurality of sumps (col. 9, line 65 to col. 10, line 18) fluidly coupled to the heat exchanger (28);
wherein the lubrication pump (col. 4, lines 35-41) (213) is further fluidly coupled to the gearbox assembly (25) and each of the plurality of sumps (col. 9, line 65 to col. 10, line 18), such that the lubrication pump (213) is configured to scavenge circulated lubricant from the gearbox assembly (25) and each of the plurality of sumps and recycle the circulated lubricant to the reservoir (21) (figs. 2, 6, 7).
Wilson et al. are not specific if the heat exchanger is located downstream of the lubrication pump and upstream of the gearbox assembly. However, Veilleux, Jr. in his Lubrication Driven Gas Turbine Engine Actuation System invention teaches the use of a heat exchanger (32) associated with a lubrication system of a gas turbine engine (fig. 1). Lubricant flows from a lubricant tank (40) to a lubricant pump (42), followed by the heat exchanger (32) ) before the lubricant distribution system (54) which includes components (56) such as bearings (paras 0012, 0014]) (fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wilson et al. with a heat exchanger located downstream of the lubrication pump and upstream of engine components to be lubricated, as taught by Veilleux, Jr., for the purpose of optimizing lower lubricant oil temperatures for minimal heat transfer to the engine components to be lubricated.
As per claim 15, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, Wilson et al. disclose a plurality of scavenge drains (65-68) (fig. 6) positioned between the plurality of sumps (col. 9, line 65 to col. 10, line 18) and the lubrication pump (col. 4, lines 35-41), the plurality of scavenge drains (65-67) being configured to drain the circulated lubricant from each of the plurality of sumps to remove the circulated lubricant from the lubrication maintenance system.
As per claim 16, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, Wilson et al. disclose a plurality of scavenge drains (65-68), where at least one of the plurality of scavenge drains (68) is positioned between the gearbox assembly (25) and the lubrication pump (col. 4, lines 35-41), the at least one of the plurality of scavenge drains (68) being configured to drain the circulated lubricant from the gearbox assembly (25) (col. 9, line 65 to col. 10, line 18) to remove the circulated lubricant from the lubrication maintenance system.
As per claim 17, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, Wilson et al. disclose a common scavenge drain (218) positioned between the lubrication pump (col. 4, lines 35-41) and the reservoir (21), the common scavenge drain (218) being configured to drain the circulated lubricant that has been scavenged by the lubrication pump from the lubrication maintenance system to remove the circulated lubricant from the lubrication maintenance system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, U.S. Patent 11,566,563 in view of Veilleux, Jr., U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0302903, further in view of Batrice, U.S. Patent 4,977,978.
As per claim 18, Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. as set forth above, do not disclose the reservoir further includes a reservoir valve positioned between the reservoir and the lubrication pump, the reservoir valve being configured to drain the lubricant from the reservoir. However, Batrice in his Automotive Oil Change Apparatus invention teaches the use of a discharge valve (46) fluidly connected to conduit (10) to drain lubricant oil from reservoir (22) [oil pan].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wilson et al. and Veilleux, Jr. with a reservoir valve, as taught by Batrice, for the purpose of enabling a quick and efficient way to replace the lubricant in the reservoir.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a lubrication maintenance system for a gearbox assembly of a turbine engine, the lubrication maintenance system comprising: a reservoir configured to store a lubricant; a lubricant supply circuit fluidly coupled to the reservoir, the lubricant supply circuit configured to supply the lubricant to the gearbox assembly; a lubrication pump fluidly coupled to the reservoir, the lubrication pump configured to circulate the lubricant through the lubricant supply circuit; a heat exchanger fluidly coupled to the lubrication pump and the gearbox assembly of the turbine engine, the heat exchanger located downstream of the lubrication pump and upstream of the gearbox assembly; and a plurality of sumps fluidly coupled to the heat exchanger, wherein the lubrication pump is further fluidly coupled to the gearbox assembly and each of the plurality of sumps, such that the lubrication pump is configured to scavenge circulated lubricant from the gearbox assembly and each of the plurality of sumps and recycle the circulated lubricant to the reservoir; further comprising a lubrication cart that is fluidly couplable to the reservoir, such that the lubrication cart is configured to supply a clean lubricant to the reservoir; wherein the lubrication cart is further configured to provide a flushing fluid to the reservoir when the circulated lubricant is fully removed from the lubrication maintenance system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.K.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654