DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumari (US 2023/0358853).
Claim 1: Kumari discloses A method of joint communication and sensing of a target obstacle, comprising:
deploying a joint communication and sensing transceiver, comprising a transmitter (TX) having at least two transmitting antennas and a receiver (RX) having at least one receiving antenna (para 0049, 0050, 0059-0062, 0065, 0069)
transmitting at least two radio frequency (RF) signals carrying data to a communication receiver by the at least two transmitting antennas (para 0080-0085, 0096-0099); and
receiving at least one reflected radio frequency (RF) signal reflected by
the target obstacle by the at least one receiving antenna (para 0080-0085, 0096-0099);
wherein the at least two RF signals transmitted by the at least two transmitting antennas are applied with cyclic shift diversity (para 0065, 0071, 0072, 0080-0085); and
wherein the at least two RF signals transmitted by the at least two transmitting antennas contain TX-varying phase rotations (para 0065, 0071, 0072, 0080-0085, 0117)
Claim 2: Kumari discloses the at least two RF signals are cyclic shifted in time domain (para 0065, 0071, 0072, 0080-0085)
Claim 3: Kumari discloses a virtual receiving array is generated by the at least two transmitting antennas and the at least one receiving antenna (fig 3, para 0065, 0080, 0081, 0148, 0159)
Claim 4: Kumari discloses the at least two transmitting antennas form at least one transmitting array (fig 3, para 0065, 0080, 0081)
Claim 5: Kumari discloses wherein the at least two radio frequency (RF) signals are orthogonal frequency domain multiplexing (OFDM) signals (para 0071, 0072, 0080, 0081)
Claim 6: Kumari discloses wherein the at least two radio frequency (RF) signals form virtually orthogonal transmitter (TX) ports that are distinguishable at each of the at least one receiving antenna of the joint communication and sensing transceiver (para 0065, 0071, 0072, 0080, 0081, 0148, 0159)
Claim 7: Kumari discloses the TX-varying phase rotations are determined based on spatial domain information of the communication receiver (para 0071, 0072, 0080, 0081)
Claim 8: Kumari discloses the spatial domain information is a transmit precoder matrix indicator (TPMI) adopted by the communication receiver and sent from the communication receiver (para 0071, 0072, 0078, 0080, 0081)
Claim 9: Kumari discloses the at least two transmitting antennas form at least one transmitting array and wherein the cyclic shift diversity and the TX-varying phase rotation for each of the at least two transmitting antennas are chosen for the at least one transmitting array to generate a beam pattern of an Angle of Departure (AoD) whose angular frequency-domain flatness mainlobe direction aligns with that of a phase vector of the TPMI (para 0065, 0071, 0072, 0078, 0080, 0081, 0148, 0159)
Claim 10: Kumari discloses A method of joint communication and sensing a target obstacle, comprising:
deploying a joint communication and sensing transceiver, comprising a transmitter (TX) having at least two transmitting antennas and a receiver (RX) having at least one receiving antenna (para 0049, 0050, 0059-0062, 0065, 0069)
transmitting at least two radio frequency (RF) signals carrying data to a communication receiver by the at least two transmitting antennas (para 0080-0085, 0096-0099); and
receiving at least one reflected radio frequency (RF) signal reflected by the target obstacle by the at least one receiving antenna (para 0080-0085, 0096-0099);
wherein the at least two RF signals transmitted by the at least two transmitting antennas are applied with cyclic shift diversity (para 0065, 0071, 0072, 0080-0085, 0117)
Claim 11: Kumari discloses the at least two RF signals are cyclic shifted in time domain (para 0065, 0071, 0072, 0080-0085)
Claim 12: Kumari discloses a virtual receiving array is generated by the at least two transmitting antennas and the at least one receiving antenna (fig 3, para 0065, 0080, 0081, 0148, 0159)
Claim 13: Kumari discloses the at least two transmitting antennas form at least one transmitting array (fig 3, para 0065, 0080, 0081)
Claim 14: Kumari discloses the at least two radio frequency (RF) signals are orthogonal frequency domain multiplexing (OFDM) signals (para 0071, 0072, 0080, 0081)
.
Claim 15: Kumari discloses the at least two radio frequency (RF) signals form virtually orthogonal transmitter (TX) ports that are distinguishable at each of the at least one receiving antenna of the joint communication and sensing transceiver (para 0065, 0071, 0072, 0080, 0081, 0148, 0159)
Claim 16: Kumari discloses an azimuth angle and an elevation angle of the target obstacle is obtained (para 0090, 0093)
Claim 17: Kumari discloses a device capable of joint communication and sensing of a target obstacle, comprising:
a joint communication and sensing transceiver, comprising a transmitter (TX) having at least two transmitting antennas and a receiver (RX) having at least one receiving antenna (para 0049, 0050, 0059-0062, 0065, 0069)
wherein the at least two transmitting antennas transmit data on at least two cyclic shifted radio frequency (RF) signals to a communication receiver (para 0080-0085, 0096-0099); and
wherein the at least one receiving antenna receives at least one reflected cyclic shifted radio frequency (RF) signal reflected by the target obstacle (para 0080-0085, 0096-0099); and
wherein at least two cyclic shifted radio frequency (RF) signals contain TX-varying phase rotations (para 0065, 0071, 0072, 0080-0085, 0117)
Claim 18: Kumari discloses the at least two cyclic shifted radio frequency (RF) signals form virtually orthogonal transmitter (TX) ports that are distinguishable at each of the at least one receiving antenna of the joint communication and sensing transceiver (para 0065, 0071, 0072, 0080, 0081, 0148, 0159)
Claim 19: Kumari discloses the TX-varying phase rotations are determined based on spatial domain information of the communication receiver (para 0071, 0072, 0080, 0081)
Claim 20: Kumari discloses the spatial domain information is a transmit precoder matrix indicator (TPMI) adopted by the communication receiver and sent from the communication receiver (para 0071, 0072, 0078, 0080, 0081)
Conclusion
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648