DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims received on June 21st, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 2 and 13 have been amended and claim 12 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues, regarding amended claim 1, that the prior art reference of Kaml et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0107764 A1) fails to disclose, teach or suggest that "the tab bears against a radially inward surface of a corresponding one of the plurality of locking members in a camming relationship". Applicant argues that the bump or recess 148 (which has been mapped as the corresponding “tab”) does not extend radially outwardly from anything, but rather, extends axially outward. It should be noted that one skilled in the art understands the phrase “extending radially” as any object or element which moves or grows outward from the center along a radius. In this the bump or recess 148 is disposed radially outward from the center of the actuator 140. It should also be noted that because the bump or recess 148 is disposed on the actuator 140 and the actuator abuts the first locking member 130 (which corresponds to a member of the claimed first locking arrangement) as stated in page 2, paragraph 41 of the prior art and seen in an exploded view in Fig. 7, it is understood that the bump or recess 148 also abuts or “bears against” the inward surface of said first locking member 130. Furthermore, the applicant argues that the bump or recess 148 of Kaml engages depressions 118a, 118b to lock in place, but not in any way that forms a camming relationship. However, it should be understood that a camming movement refers to the action produced by an element, which is a rotating or sliding component that transforms rotary motion into linear motion. In this instance, page 2, paragraph 39 of the prior art discloses that the actuator 140 rotates between the lock and release positions and it is further understood that the indication of said lock and release positions is depicted by the protrusions or depressions 118 as further disclosed in page 3, paragraph 47 where it states that the protrusions or depressions 118a corresponds to the lock position and that the protrusions or depressions 118b corresponds to the release position.
Applicant also argues, regarding claim 2, that it is not clear that Kaml teaches a hollow cylindrical body have a plurality of windows. While it is understood that the cylindrical body of Kaml is broken into vertical posts, it is still considered a hollow cylindrical body when the reel is fully assembled as seen in figures 1 and 2. One skilled in the art may be an empty wooden wine barrel for reference, wherein the barrel is comprised of multiple vertical posts. The vertical posts do not correspond to the barrel individually, but rather, resembles said barrel when joined together. In the very same way the stave members 121 of Kaml act the same way wherein the combination of said stave members 121 form a cylinder, and more specifically, a hollow cylinder. Furthermore, any opening within the body of the stave members would be considered a window as a window is understood to one skilled in the art as any opening within an element.
Applicant further argues, regarding amended claim 13, that the structures 118a, 118b do not move from outside the windows (mapped as through-hole 126) into the window and for that the "tabs" 148 do not "move a plurality of locking members of the first flange from outside a respective one of a plurality of windows ... into the respective one of the plurality of windows," as previously claimed. As stated above, page 2, paragraph 39 of the prior art discloses that the actuator 140 rotates between the lock and release positions and it is further understood that the indication of said lock and release positions is depicted by the protrusions or depressions 118 as further disclosed in page 3, paragraph 47 where it states that the protrusions or depressions 118a corresponds to the lock position and that the protrusions or depressions 118b corresponds to the release position. Thus, the release and lock position indicate a connection of the windows and the locking arrangements which comprise locking member 130, along with arrangements provided on the core, flange, and collar, corresponding to a locking arrangement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaml et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0107764 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 13, Kaml et al. discloses a reel (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶33, spool 100) comprising a core (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶33, drum 110);
a first flange (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶33, flanges 114, 116);
a first collar (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶38, actuator 140 corresponding to a collar);
a first locking arrangement having a locked configuration in which a first end region of the core, the first flange, and the first collar are connected to one another (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶41, locking member 130, along with arrangements provided on the core, flange, and collar, corresponding to a locking arrangement), and an unlocked configuration in which the first end region of the core and the first flange, the first collar are disconnected from one another, the first locking arrangement being movable between the unlocked configuration and the locked configuration (Pg. 4, ¶63); and
wherein: the first locking arrangement further comprises a plurality of locking members of the first flange (Fig. 15-18; Pg. 3, ¶52, protrusion or depression 118a, 118b corresponding to a locking member), the locking arrangement further comprises a plurality of tabs of the first collar (Fig. 13-14; Pg. 3, ¶52, bump or recess 148 corresponding to a plurality of tabs), each of which extends radially outwardly such that the tab bears against a radially inward surface of a corresponding one of the plurality of locking members in a camming relationship (Fig. 7; Pg. 2-3, ¶¶41, 47), and wherein the core comprises a hollow cylindrical body (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶36), and first locking arrangement comprises a plurality of windows defined through the hollow cylindrical body in the first end region (Fig. 18; Pg. 2, ¶44, recess 126 corresponding to a plurality of windows).
Kaml et al. further discloses wherein: the first locking arrangement further comprises a plurality of locking members of the first flange (Fig. 15-18; Pg. 3, ¶52, protrusion or depression 118a, 118b corresponding to a locking member), the locking arrangement further comprises a plurality of tabs of the first collar (Fig. 13-14; Pg. 3, ¶52, bump or recess 148 corresponding to a plurality of tabs), each of which extends radially outwardly and engages a radially inward surface of a corresponding one of the plurality of locking members (Pg. 3, ¶52), in the locked configuration, each of the plurality of tabs engages and holds a corresponding one of the plurality of locking members is in a respective one of the plurality of windows so as to engage a surface that defines the one of the plurality of windows to disable axial movement of the core relative to the first flange, and in the unlocked configuration, each of the plurality of locking members is arranged outside the respective one of the plurality of windows (Fig. 18; Pg. 3, ¶52; Pg. 4, ¶¶61, 64).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kaml et al. discloses wherein each of the plurality of locking members comprises: a proximal end region from which the locking member is cantilevered (Fig. 18; Pg. 4, ¶63, lock fingers 136); and an opposite distal end region, each locking member being pivotable about an axis parallel to an axial direction of the core such that, in the locked configuration, at least a portion of the distal end region is arranged in the respective one of the plurality of windows, and, in the unlocked configuration, the distal end region is spaced apart from the respective one of the plurality of windows (Pg. 4, ¶¶60-63).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kaml et al. discloses wherein: each of the plurality of locking members has a greater radial width at the distal end region than at the proximal end region, and when moving from the unlocked configuration to the locked configuration (Fig. 15-18; Pg. 3, ¶¶56-58, locking arms 135), and wherein the first collar is rotated such that each tab of the plurality of tabs moves circumferentially along the radially inward surface so as to cause the corresponding one of the plurality of locking members to pivot about the proximal end region such that the distal end region of each of the plurality of locking members moves into the respective one of the plurality of windows (Pg. 4, ¶¶60-63).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Kaml et al. discloses wherein: the first collar comprises a disk-shaped region and a circular projection that projects from the disk-shaped region in an axial direction of the reel, and each of the plurality of tabs extends radially outwardly from the circular projection (Fig. 13-14; Pg. 3, ¶¶49, 52, body 141 corresponding to a disk-shaped region with a circular projection wherein the bump or recess 148 is located).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Kaml et al. discloses wherein: the locking arrangement further comprises: a plurality of pins of the first collar that project axially from the disk-shaped region, each pin of the plurality of pins including a pin proximal end region arranged at the disk-shaped region and a pin distal end region, the pin distal end region including a radial extension that projects in the radial direction (Fig. 13-14; Pg. 3, ¶54, entertainment members 143 corresponding to a plurality of pins having a radial extension indicated by latching hooks 144); and a plurality of slots defined axially through the first flange, and in the locked configuration, each of the plurality of pins passes through an associated one of the plurality of slots and the radial extension engages an axial surface of the first flange opposite the disk-shaped region so as to radially retain the first collar on the first flange (Fig. 12-18; Pg. 4, ¶60, latching hooks 144 being angled and catching in a slot depicted by catch surfaces 134).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Kaml et al. discloses wherein: each of the plurality of slots comprises an axial recess, and in the unlocked configuration, the first collar is configured such that the radial extension of the plurality of pins aligns with the axial recess of the associated one of the plurality of slots to enable axial movement of the first collar relative to the first flange (Fig. 12-18; Pg. 4, ¶60, latching hooks 144 being angled and catching onto catch surfaces 134).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Kaml et al. discloses wherein: a radial bump is arranged in each of the plurality of slots, and each of the plurality of axial pins and the radial bump in each of the plurality of slots is configured to elastically deform to enable the each of the plurality of axial pins to pass the radial bump of the associated one of the plurality of slots when moving from the unlocked configuration to the locked configuration and, in the locked configuration, the radial bump of the associated one of the plurality of slots resists movement of each of the plurality of axial pins so as to retain the locking arrangement in the locked configuration (Fig. 15-18; Pg. 3, ¶¶56-58, locking arms 135 corresponding to radial bumps).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the locking arrangement further comprise a first annular channel defined by a first annular wall of the first flange and a second annular wall of the first flange (Fig. 15-18; Pg. 3, ¶58, though hole 115 defining a first annular wall and peripheral edge 132 corresponding to a second annular wall), the first annular channel being radially aligned with the plurality of slots such that, in the locked configuration, the plurality of axial pins extend through the first annular channel (Fig. 15-18, Pg. 4, ¶¶60-61).
Regarding claim 21, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the first collar is rotatable from a first rotational position wherein the first locking arrangement is in the unlocked configuration, to a second rotational position wherein the first locking arrangement is in the locked configuration (Pg. 2, ¶39).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654