DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantial length” in claims 1, 11, 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantial length” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “substantial length” is indefinite as it does not define what “length of the body” entails. For the purposes of examination, the Office is interpreting the “substantial length” to be the length seen in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9-10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by She (US 8297674 B2).
Re Claim 1, She discloses: An assist handle assembly for a vehicle (Summary), the assist handle assembly comprising:
a body (Fig. 7: 62) configured to be connected to a structural support (Fig. 7: 16) on the vehicle; and
a removable cover (Fig. 7: 74 & 76) configured to engage and cover the body, the removable cover overlaying the body and extending along a substantial length of the body (see annotated Fig. 7; as mentioned in the 112(b) rejection above, the term “substantial length” does not specify what portion of the body is considered as “substantial length”), wherein the removable cover is configured to be removed from the body and replaced with another removable cover (a damaged cover can be replaced by an identical replacement cover due to the cover being removable).
Re Claim 4, She discloses:
the body comprises a locator pin (see annotated Fig. 7 below) configured to engage the structural support in the vehicle and at least one fastener (Fig. 7: 72) to fasten the body onto the support structure.
Re Claim 9, She discloses:
the assist handle assembly is configured to be installed in a passenger compartment of the vehicle (Col. 2, lns. 45-49).
Re Claim 10, She discloses:
the assist handle assembly is configured to be installed onto a support pillar (Fig. 7: 16) in the interior of the vehicle (Col. 2, lns. 45-54).
Re Claim 20, She discloses:
A vehicle comprising:
an interior cabin (Col. 2, lns. 45-46);
a support structure within the interior cabin (Col. 2, lns. 45-49); and
an assist handle assembly installed in the interior cabin of the vehicle, the assist handle assembly comprising (Col. 2, lns. 45-49):
a rigid body (Fig. 7: 62) configured to be connected to a structural support (Fig. 7: 16) on the vehicle; and
a removable cover (Fig. 7: 74 & 76) configured to engage and cover the rigid body, the removable cover overlaying the body and extending along a substantial length of the body (see annotated Fig. 7; and as mentioned in the 112(b) rejection above, the term “substantial length” does not specify what portion of the body is considered as “substantial length”), wherein the removable cover is configured to be removed from the rigid body and replaced with another removable cover (a damaged cover can be replaced by an identical replacement cover due to the cover being removable).
Figure 7 of She (US 8297674 B2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over She (US 8297674 B2) in view of Ottaway et al. (WO 2023048947 A1).
Re Claims 2-3, She discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as applied above, except for the body comprising a honeycomb structure and the honeycomb structure comprising a transversal honeycomb structure.
Ottaway et al. discloses that the body comprises a transversal honeycomb structure (Para 0028; also see annotated Fig. 3 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a body of an assist handle assembly, as disclosed by She, to comprise a honeycomb structure, as taught by Ottaway et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide energy absorption capabilities in response to an inadvertent contact of a passenger's body. Having the geometry of a honeycomb structure would allow a force imparted to the handle to distribute the force through the transversal gaps such that it would break or deform, thereby absorbing the energy associated with the force.
Figure 3 from Ottaway et al. (WO 2023048947 A1)
Claims 5, 11, 14, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over She (US 8297674 B2) in view of Forrest (US 8108956 B2).
Re Claim 5, She discloses all the limitations of the claim as applied above, except that the cover is retained on the body with one or more fasteners. She discloses that the cover is removable but not the method of retaining the cover on the body.
Forrest, however, discloses one or more fasteners to retain the cover on the body (see annotated Fig. 2 and 3A below). The cover is retained on the body using snap fits as seen in the figures below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cover of the assist handle, as disclosed by She, by using fasteners to retain the cover on the body, as taught by Forrest, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it would be easy to remove the cover to access the interior of the assist handle body.
Figure 2 of Forrest (US 8108956 B2)
Figure 3A of Forrest (US 8108956 B2)
Re Claim 11, She discloses all of the limitations of the claim (as seen in the 102 rejection of Claim 1), except the portion regarding the one or more removable fasteners configured to retain the cover on the body.
As seen above, Forrest discloses one or more removable fasteners (Fig. 2, 46; adding 46 makes the cover removable from the body) to retain the cover on the body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an assist handle assembly, as disclosed by She, by using removable fasteners to retain the cover on the body, as taught by Forrest, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it would hold the cover on the body firmly while also allowing the cover to be removed from the body.
Re Claim 14, She discloses most of the limitations of the independent claim 11 and Forrest discloses the rest of the limitations of the claim, as applied above. She further discloses the body comprises a locator pin configured to engage the structural support in the motor vehicle (see annotated Fig. 7).
Re Claim 18, She and Forrest disclose all the limitations of the independent claim 11, as applied above, and She further discloses the assist handle assembly is configured to be installed in a passenger compartment of the motor vehicle (She: Col. 2, Ins 45-49).
Re Claim 19, She and Forrest disclose all the limitations of the independent claim 11, as applied above, and She further discloses the assist handle assembly is configured to be installed onto a support pillar in the interior of the motor vehicle (She: Col. 2, Ins 45-54).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over She (US 8297674 B2) in view of Ripley et al. (US 2009/0195035 A1).
Re Claim 6, She discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as applied above, except the cover comprising rubber. Ripley et al. discloses the cover of the handle comprised of rubber (Para [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cover of the assist handle, as disclosed by She, to utilize a softer material such as rubber, as taught by Ripley et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide comfort to the user gripping the assist handle (Para [0041]).
Re Claim 7, She discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except the cover further comprising a rigid inner polymeric material.
Ripley et al. discloses the cover of a handle (Fig.7: 44) comprised of suitable structural material such as plastic (which may be a rigid polymeric material) (Para [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cover of the assist handle, as disclosed by She, to utilize a rigid inner polymeric material such as plastic, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the plastic material would provide a suitable structure to the handle.
Re Claim 8, She discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except the rubber may be over molded onto the rigid inner polymeric material.
Ripley et al. discloses that a softer material such as rubber may be over molded onto the plastic (rigid polymeric material) (Para [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cover of the assist handle, as disclosed by She, to be formed out of rigid inner polymer material such as plastic and over molded by rubber, as taught by Ripley et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide comfort to the user gripping the assist handle while also allowing limited movement of the handle in response to an impact.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over She (US 8297674 B2) and Forrest (US 8108956 B2) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ottaway et al. (WO 2023048947 A1).
Re Claim 12-13, She discloses all the limitations of Claim 11 (as seen in the previous paragraphs), while Forrest discloses the removable fasteners configured to retain the cover on the body, but neither She nor Forrest discloses regarding the body comprising a transversal honeycomb structure.
Ottaway et al. (as seen in the above paragraphs) discloses that the body comprises a transversal honeycomb structure (Para [0028], also see Figure 3 from Ottaway et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a body of an assist handle assembly, as disclosed by She and Forrest, to comprise a honeycomb structure, as taught by Ottaway et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide energy absorption capabilities in response to an inadvertent contact of a passenger's body. Having the geometry of a honeycomb structure would allow a force imparted to the handle to distribute the force through the transversal gaps such that it would break or deform, thereby absorbing the energy associated with the force.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over She (US 8297674 B2) and Forrest (US 8108956 B2) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ripley et al. (US 2009/0195035 A1).
Re Claim 15, She and Forrest disclose all the limitations of claim 11, as applied above, except the cover comprising rubber.
Ripley et al. discloses the cover of the handle comprised of rubber (Para [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cover of the assist handle, as disclosed by She and Forrest, to utilize a softer material such as rubber, as taught by Ripley et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide comfort to the user gripping the assist handle (Para [0041]).
Re Claim 16, She and Forrest disclose all the limitations of claim 11, as applied above, except the cover further comprising a rigid inner polymeric material.
Ripley et al. discloses the cover of the handle comprised of suitable structural material such as plastic (which may be a rigid polymeric material) (Para [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cover of the assist handle, as disclosed by She, to utilize a rigid inner polymeric material such as plastic, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the plastic material would provide a suitable structure to the handle.
Re Claim 17, She and Forrest disclose all the limitations of claim 11, as applied above, except the rubber may be over molded onto the rigid inner polymeric material.
Ripley et al. discloses that a softer material such as rubber may be over molded onto the plastic (rigid polymeric material) (Para [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cover of the assist handle, as disclosed by She, to be formed out of rigid inner polymer material such as plastic and over molded by rubber, as taught by Ripley et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide comfort to the user gripping the assist handle while also allowing limited movement of the handle in response to an impact.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments which constituted the amendment to the claim language were considered but was not persuasive enough to reverse the rejection. The claims that were amended were Claims 1, 11, and 20. The claim language “the removable cover overlaying the body and extending along a substantial length of the body” was determined to be indefinite as it does not specify or indicate the length being referred to. The definition of substantial provided in the specification does not indicate the length of the cover or the body and therefore cannot be used to determine the scope of the claim language. Thus, the primary reference, She, still reads on the amended independent claims in combination with the other references, Ottaway, Forrest, and Ripley, also teach the original dependent claims which depend on the said independent claims.
With regards to the Applicant’s arguments towards the reasoning that a damaged cover can be replaced by an identical replacement cover being speculative and unsupported by any disclosure in She, the examiner respectfully disagrees. While She does not disclose the reasoning exactly, the parts 74 and 76 are removable (as disclosed by She in Para 0026), and thus, can be removed when needed.
By way of the above response, the Examiner submits that the claims, as amended, are not fully persuasive and the rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and 103 still stands.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose an assist handle assembly:
Dry et al. (US 20050079336 A1) discloses a grab handle that has a structural core along with a hard or soft plastic shell or skin which can be fixed onto pillars or door panels.
Morozini De Lira (US 10737637 B2) discloses a door handle with a cover.
Mizuta (US 6523879 B2) discloses a detachable assist handle that has a rubberized coating on a metal body and can be configured to be installed to the front frame member within the cabin frame of the vehicle.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASMINE JAMES THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3612 September 22, 2026
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612