DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old appears to be illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on April 28, 2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 6-14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 have been withdrawn from further consideration, and claims 1-5, 15 and 18 are examined as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okita (US 2009/0073407) in view of Toyoda (US 2011/0299055).
Regarding claim 1, Okita discloses an exposure method (Figs. 1-23) comprising:
focusing linearly polarized light (EL) with an optical member (70, Figs. 8-11) and exposing a film (P) including a compound having a photo-aligned group (para. [0058]),
wherein while rotating a polarization direction of the linearly polarized light (Fig. 20; para. [0180]),
the film (P) and the optical member (70) are relatively moved in a direction tilted with respect to an optical axis of the optical member (Figs. 8-11; paras. [0119-0126]).
Okita fails to explicitly disclose focusing the linearly polarized light in a ring shape.
However, Toyoda discloses an exposure method (Figs. 1-23) comprising focusing linearly polarized light in a ring shape (Figs. 2, 4, 5; paras. [0071, 0075-0076]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate focusing the linearly polarized light in a ring shape, as in Toyoda, into the exposure method of Okita to pattern the shape around an optical axis, useful in a lens application.
Regarding claim 2, Okita discloses wherein while maintaining an angle between a normal line of the film (P) and the optical axis of the optical member (70), the film and the optical member are relatively moved in the direction tilted with respect to the optical axis of the optical member (Figs. 8-11; paras. [0119-0126]).
Regarding claim 3, Okita discloses wherein while maintaining a normal line of the film (P) and the optical axis of the optical member (70) in parallel, the film and the optical member are relatively moved in the direction tilted with respect to the optical axis of the optical member (Figs. 8-11; paras. [0119-0126]).
Regarding claim 4, Okita fails to explicitly disclose wherein the optical member includes an axicon lens or an axicon mirror.
However, Toyoda discloses wherein the optical member includes an axicon lens or an axicon mirror (8, Figs. 1, 3; para. [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the optical member includes an axicon lens or an axicon mirror, as in Toyoda, into the exposure method of Okita in order to form the ring shape as desired.
Regarding claim 15, Okita discloses wherein in the relative movement of the film (P) and the optical member (70), a movement speed is continuously changed (paras. [0091-0092, 0123]).
Regarding claim 18, Okita discloses wherein in the rotation in the polarization direction of the linearly polarized light, a rotation speed is continuously changed (paras. [0186, 0188]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, Okita in view of Toyoda, along with the other prior art of record, fails to explicitly disclose wherein in a case where an angle between a bottom surface and a generatrix of a cone configuring the axicon lens or the axicon mirror is represented by θ and a refractive index of a material for forming the axicon lens is represented by n,
an angle α between the relative movement direction of the film and the optical member and an optical axis of the axicon lens satisfies
α < sin-1(n ∙ sinθ) - θ
or
an angle α between the relative movement direction of the film and the optical member and an optical axis of the axicon mirror satisfies
α < 2θ, along with the other limitations of claims 1 and 4.
Therefore, claim 5 would be allowable.
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871