POSITIVE ELECTRODE ACTIVE MATEIRAL AND LITHIUM-ION SECONDARY BATTERY
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/643,012 Art Unit: 1727 August 7, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on April 23, 2024 has been received. Claims 1-6 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “type” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “type” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what lithium-containing oxide particles read on the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner will construe any Li-containing oxide particles to read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (WO 2016/175597 A1; using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claims 1-3 and 6, Kwon discloses a battery, comprising a positive active material that comprises LiNi0.6Co0.15Mn0.25O2 particles which have an aspect ratio of 1-20 and an average particle diameter of 3-50 microns (paragraphs [35, 83, 148]). The aspect ratio overlaps with the claimed ratio. The courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), see MPEP 2144.05, I. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the active material particles of Kwon to read on the claimed range because Kwon teaches that the structural stability o the active material is improved and battery performance is improved (paragraph [36]).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (WO 2016/175597 A1; using machine translation for citation purposes) as applied to claims 1-3 and 6 above, and further in view of Yuasa et al. (US 2005/0142442 A1).
As to Claims 4-5, Kwon does not teach the claimed active material formula.
However, Yuasa teaches of a positive active material comprising Li1Ni0.33Mn0.34Co0.33O2 (pg. 6, Table 2). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the active material of Kwon to read on the claims because Yuasa teaches that an active material with improved ion conductivity is provided (paragraphs [0002 and 0023]).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727