DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0084173 A1) hereinafter “Sun” in view of IANEV et al. (US 2022/0070963 A1) hereinafter “Ianev”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 9,
Sun discloses a network device [see fig(s). 7 & 11, pg. 16, ¶278 lines 1-5, a policy control function (PCF) network element (i.e. V-PCF/H-PCF) “1100”] comprising:
a processor [see fig(s). 7 & 11, pg. 16, ¶278 lines 1-5, a processor “1101”], wherein the processor is configured to [see fig(s). 7 & 11, pg. 16, ¶278 lines 1-5, the processor “1101” implemented to]:
receive [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, receiving], from a second network device [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, from a network data analytics function (NWDAF)], network information [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, an analytics information request response that is fed back to the V-PCF/H-PCF], generated by the second network device that pertains to an end device [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, based on a request that is for the time in which the UE enters the connected mode and that is sent by the V-PCF/H-PCF, the time (timeline) in which the UE enters the connected mode];
generate [see fig. 7: Step “740”, pg. 14, ¶236 lines 1-2; ¶239 lines 1-6, the V-PCF/H-PCF makes], based on the network information [see fig. 7: Step “740”, pg. 14, ¶236 lines 1-2; ¶239 lines 1-6, in the time period in which the terminal apparatus is in the connected mode], updated parameters pertaining to the end device that differ from the parameters [see fig. 7: Step “740”, pg. 14, ¶236 lines 1-2; ¶239 lines 1-6, a policy decision to deliver a UE policy rule to the terminal apparatus]; and
transmit [see fig. 7: Step “750”, pg. 14, ¶237 lines 1-3, the V-PCF/H-PCF sends], to a first network device [see fig. 7: Step “750”, pg. 14, ¶237 lines 1-3, to an access and mobility management function (AMF)], the updated parameters [see fig. 7: Step “750”, pg. 14, ¶237 lines 1-3, a policy control update request response (AM policy control update response)].
Although Sun discloses transmit, to the first network device, the updated parameters, Sun does not explicitly teach transmit “extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameters pertaining to an end device, to a first network device”.
However Ianev discloses transmitting [see fig. 4: Step “4”, pg. 5, ¶85 lines 1-7, notifying], by a network device [see fig. 4: Step “4”, pg. 5, ¶85 lines 1-7, by a policy control function (PCF) “740”], extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameters pertaining to an end device [see fig. 4: Step “4”, pg. 5, ¶85 lines 1-7, with the updated version of the User Equipment Analytics Reporting Policy (UEARP) parameter for UE “3”], to a first network device [see fig. 4: Step “4”, pg. 5, ¶85 lines 1-7, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) “710”];
receiving [see fig. 4: Step “7”, pg. 5, ¶92 lines 1-6; ¶93 lines 1-5, receiving], by the network device from a second network device [see fig. 4: Step “7”, pg. 5, ¶92 lines 1-6; ¶93 lines 1-5, by the PCF “740” from the NWDAF “720”], network information [see fig. 4: Step “7”, pg. 5, ¶92 lines 1-6; ¶93 lines 1-5, the UEARP analytics or with a proposal for the UEARP], generated by the second network device that pertains to the end device [see fig. 4: Step “7”, pg. 5, ¶92 lines 1-6; ¶93 lines 1-5, invoked by a “Nnwdaf_AnalyticInfo_Response” procedure … including the parameter(s) of: UE identity (UE ID), UEARP, etc. … for which the analytics information is provided by the NWDAF “720” in the “Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Response” message];
generating [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, updating], by the network device based on the network information [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, by the PCF “740” based on the NWDAF proposed analytics result about the UEARP (or an UEARP proposal), UE subscription information and any available relevant operator policies], updated eDRX parameters pertaining to the end device that differ from the eDRX parameters [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, the UE's UEARP]; and
transmitting [see fig. 4: Step “9”, pg. 5, ¶96 lines 1-5, responding, by sending], by the network device to the first network device [see fig. 4: Step “9”, pg. 5, ¶96 lines 1-5, by the PCF “740” to the AMF “710”], the updated eDRX parameters [see fig. 4: Step “9”, pg. 5, ¶96 lines 1-5, the updated (if any) UEARP].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit “extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameters pertaining to an end device, to a first network device” as taught by Ianev in the system of Sun to improve and optimize mobility and connection management of a UE by providing the UE with: Per UE customized DRX/eDRX and PSM [see Ianev, pg. 6, ¶106 lines 1-4; ¶107 line 1].
Regarding Claims 2 and 10,
The combined system of Sun and Ianev discloses the network device of claim 9.
Sun further discloses wherein the network information pertains to congestion of a radio access network device to which the end device is connected [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, the analytics information request response carries a timeline (analytics Info response (timeline))].
Regarding Claims 3 and 11,
The combined system of Sun and Ianev discloses the network device of claim 9.
Sun further discloses wherein the second network device includes a network data analytics function (NWDAF) [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, the NWDAF feeds back an analytics information request response to the V-PCF/H-PCF].
Regarding Claims 4 and 12,
The combined system of Sun and Ianev discloses the network device of claim 9.
Sun further discloses wherein the network information pertains to data usage associated with the end device [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, the NWDAF sends to the V-PCF/H-PCF based on a request that is for the time in which the UE enters the connected mode and that is sent by the V-PCF/H-PCF, the time (timeline) in which the UE enters the connected mode].
Regarding Claims 5 and 13,
Sun discloses the network device of claim 9.
Sun does not explicitly teach “the second network device includes a charging function”.
However Ianev discloses the second network device includes a charging function [see fig. 4, pg. 5, ¶85 lines 1-7, a policy (charging) control function (PCF) “740”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the second network device includes a charging function” as taught by Ianev in the system of Sun for the same motivation as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding Claims 6 and 14,
Sun discloses the network device of claim 9.
Sun does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to: “obtain subscription information that includes the eDRX parameters”.
However Ianev discloses obtain subscription information that includes the eDRX parameters [see fig. 4: Step “4”, pg. 5, ¶83 lines 1-7, the PCF “740” subscribes for analytical results information from the NWDAF “720” and uses a UEARP parameter to set up the types of analytics it is subscribing to].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “obtain subscription information that includes the eDRX parameters” as taught by Ianev in the system of Sun for the same motivation as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding Claims 7 and 15,
Sun discloses the network device of claim 9.
Sun does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to: “generate, based on the network information and rules for calculating the updated eDRX parameters, the updated eDRX parameters”.
However Ianev discloses generate [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, updating], based on the network information and rules for calculating the updated eDRX parameters [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, by the PCF “740” based on the NWDAF proposed analytics result about the UEARP (or an UEARP proposal), UE subscription information and any available relevant operator policies], the updated eDRX parameters [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, the UE's UEARP].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “generate, based on the network information and rules for calculating the updated eDRX parameters, the updated eDRX parameters” as taught by Ianev in the system of Sun for the same motivation as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding Claims 8 and 16,
The combined system of Sun and Ianev discloses the network device of claim 9.
Sun further discloses wherein the network device comprises a policy control function (PCF) [see fig(s). 7 & 11, pg. 16, ¶278 lines 1-5, a policy control function (PCF) network element (i.e. V-PCF/H-PCF) “1100”].
Regarding Claim 17,
Sun discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions executable by a processor of a network device [see fig(s). 7 & 11, pg. 16, ¶278 lines 1-5, a memory “1104” configured to store program code and data to be implemented by a processor “1101” of a network device “1100”], wherein the instructions are configured to [see fig(s). 7 & 11, pg. 16, ¶278 lines 1-5, the stored program code implemented to]:
receive [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, receiving], from a second network device [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, from a network data analytics function (NWDAF)], network information [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, an analytics information request response that is fed back to the V-PCF/H-PCF], generated by the second network device that pertains to an end device [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, based on a request that is for the time in which the UE enters the connected mode and that is sent by the V-PCF/H-PCF, the time (timeline) in which the UE enters the connected mode];
generate [see fig. 7: Step “740”, pg. 14, ¶236 lines 1-2; ¶239 lines 1-6, the V-PCF/H-PCF makes], based on the network information [see fig. 7: Step “740”, pg. 14, ¶236 lines 1-2; ¶239 lines 1-6, in the time period in which the terminal apparatus is in the connected mode], updated parameters pertaining to the end device that differ from the parameters [see fig. 7: Step “740”, pg. 14, ¶236 lines 1-2; ¶239 lines 1-6, a policy decision to deliver a UE policy rule to the terminal apparatus]; and
transmit [see fig. 7: Step “750”, pg. 14, ¶237 lines 1-3, the V-PCF/H-PCF sends], to a first network device [see fig. 7: Step “750”, pg. 14, ¶237 lines 1-3, to an access and mobility management function (AMF)], the updated parameters [see fig. 7: Step “750”, pg. 14, ¶237 lines 1-3, a policy control update request response (AM policy control update response)].
Although Sun discloses transmit, to the first network device, the updated parameters, Sun does not explicitly teach transmit “extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameters pertaining to an end device, to a first network device”.
However Ianev discloses transmitting [see fig. 4: Step “4”, pg. 5, ¶85 lines 1-7, notifying], by a network device [see fig. 4: Step “4”, pg. 5, ¶85 lines 1-7, by a policy control function (PCF) “740”], extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameters pertaining to an end device [see fig. 4: Step “4”, pg. 5, ¶85 lines 1-7, with the updated version of the User Equipment Analytics Reporting Policy (UEARP) parameter for UE “3”], to a first network device [see fig. 4: Step “4”, pg. 5, ¶85 lines 1-7, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) “710”];
receiving [see fig. 4: Step “7”, pg. 5, ¶92 lines 1-6; ¶93 lines 1-5, receiving], by the network device from a second network device [see fig. 4: Step “7”, pg. 5, ¶92 lines 1-6; ¶93 lines 1-5, by the PCF “740” from the NWDAF “720”], network information [see fig. 4: Step “7”, pg. 5, ¶92 lines 1-6; ¶93 lines 1-5, the UEARP analytics or with a proposal for the UEARP], generated by the second network device that pertains to the end device [see fig. 4: Step “7”, pg. 5, ¶92 lines 1-6; ¶93 lines 1-5, invoked by a “Nnwdaf_AnalyticInfo_Response” procedure … including the parameter(s) of: UE identity (UE ID), UEARP, etc.. for which the analytics information is provided by the NWDAF “720” in the “Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Response” message …];
generating [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, updating], by the network device based on the network information [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, by the PCF “740” based on the NWDAF proposed analytics result about the UEARP (or an UEARP proposal), UE subscription information and any available relevant operator policies], updated eDRX parameters pertaining to the end device that differ from the eDRX parameters [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, the UE's UEARP]; and
transmitting [see fig. 4: Step “9”, pg. 5, ¶96 lines 1-5, responding, by sending], by the network device to the first network device [see fig. 4: Step “9”, pg. 5, ¶96 lines 1-5, by the PCF “740” to the AMF “710”], the updated eDRX parameters [see fig. 4: Step “9”, pg. 5, ¶96 lines 1-5, the updated (if any) UEARP].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit “extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameters pertaining to an end device, to a first network device” as taught by Ianev in the system of Sun to improve and optimize mobility and connection management of a UE by providing the UE with: Per UE customized DRX/eDRX and PSM [see Ianev, pg. 6, ¶106 lines 1-4; ¶107 line 1].
Regarding Claim 18,
The combined system of Sun and Ianev discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17.
Sun further discloses wherein the network information pertains to congestion of a radio access network device to which the end device is connected [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, the analytics information request response carries a timeline (analytics Info response (timeline))].
Regarding Claim 19,
Sun discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17.
Sun does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are further configured to: “generate, based on the network information and rules for calculating the updated eDRX parameters, the updated eDRX parameters”.
However Ianev discloses generate [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, updating], based on the network information and rules for calculating the updated eDRX parameters [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, by the PCF “740” based on the NWDAF proposed analytics result about the UEARP (or an UEARP proposal), UE subscription information and any available relevant operator policies], the updated eDRX parameters [see fig. 4: Step “8”, pg. 5, ¶95 lines 1-10, the UE's UEARP].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “generate, based on the network information and rules for calculating the updated eDRX parameters, the updated eDRX parameters” as taught by Ianev in the system of Sun for the same motivation as set forth in claim 17.
Regarding Claim 20,
The combined system of Sun and Ianev discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17.
Sun further discloses wherein the network information pertains to data usage associated with the end device [see fig. 7: Step “730”, pg. 14, ¶234 lines 1-4; ¶235 lines 1-5, the NWDAF sends to the V-PCF/H-PCF based on a request that is for the time in which the UE enters the connected mode and that is sent by the V-PCF/H-PCF, the time (timeline) in which the UE enters the connected mode].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Pan et al. (US 2024/0314696 A1); see fig. 2, pgs. 6-8, ¶88-¶138.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469