DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 2, the claim states “in a state in which a first die is closed with a straight-pipe-shaped material being disposed in the cavity of the first die” and further states “while pressurizing the material with the liquid supplied to an inside thereof”, this renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if these limitations are intended to further define the forming an arm precursor member step set forth in claim 1 or if the limitations are intending to set forth an additional step of forming the pipe member prior to the forming of the arm precursor member. It is noted that should it be intending to further define the forming an arm precursor member step of claim 1 it is unclear if the first die is in addition to the die previously recited or if the die of claim 1 is being further defined as a first die. Additionally, if it is intending to set forth an additional step of forming the pipe member prior to forming the precursor member than it is unclear how the same liquid is to be supplied to the die and the first die since these would be two separate elements. Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claim 3, the claim states “wherein the flange portion is formed by bending an entire circumference of an end of the arm precursor member…” it is unclear if this limitation is intending to further define the machining that forms the flange portion or if the limitation is intending to set forth a forming step of bending in addition to the machining step of claim 1. Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claim 5, there appears to be insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the bent end” found in line 3. Specifically it is unclear if this is intending to refer to the flange portion which is formed by bending a circumference of the end of the arm precursor member or is it intending to refer to an end of the precursor member that is bent that is not the flange portion. Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claim 7, the claim states “a work opening is formed by cutting off a portion of a wall of the arm precursor member” it is unclear if this is intending to set forth an additional step to the step set forth in claim 1 for forming a second work opening or if this is intending to refer to the same work opening formed in claim 1, in which case it is not further defining the step recited in claim 1.
With regards to claim 10, there appears to be insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the bent end” found in line 10. Specifically it is unclear if this is intending to refer to the flange portion which is formed by bending a circumference of the end of the arm precursor member or is it intending to refer to an end of the precursor member that is bent that is not the flange portion. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasshi et al (US 5,662,349).
In reference to claim 1, Hasshi et al discloses a method of producing an arm structure (A) comprising
forming an arm precursor member having an external shape of the arm structure by, in a state in which a die (14, 15) is closed with a metal pipe member (P) being disposed in a cavity thereof, pressurizing the pipe member with liquid (oil) supplied to an inside thereof to cause an external surface of the pipe member to be pressed against an inner surface of the cavity [see figure 7B; col. 3 lines 50-62];
machining at least an end of the formed arm precursor member to form a flange portion to be attached to a driven body [see col. 4 lines 32-38; figures 8B & 8D], and
forming a work opening by cutting off a portion of a wall of the arm precursor member, thereby producing the arm structure [see col. 4 lines 7-10; portions of the wall of the precursor are cut off to form the plate-like portions which results in an opening within the member].
In reference to claim 2, the pipe member is formed by, in a state in which a first die (20) [see figure 7C], is closed with a straight-pipe-shaped material being disposed in the cavity of the first die (20), changing a shape of the cavity of the first die so that both ends of the material are bent in a same direction, while pressurizing the material with the liquid supplied to an inside thereof [see col. 3 line 64- col. 4 line 7; see figure 7C].
In reference to claim 3, the flange portion is formed by bending an entire circumference of an end of the arm precursor member at least ones in a radial direction into a ring shape having a center hole [see figures 8A-8B; col. 4 lines 32-38].
In reference to claim 4, Hasshi et al further discloses the flange portion is formed by bending the end of the arm precursor member radially inward, as seen in figure 8B.
In reference to claim 5, Hasshi et al further discloses joining a separate ring-shaped reinforcing member (10) to the bent end of the arm precursor member [see figure 8F, col. 4 lines 40-42].
In reference to claim 6, Hasshi et al further discloses forming a reinforcing rib (portion of material surrounding holes 23] is formed so as to extend between a rear side of an attachment surface of the flange portion and an inner wall surface of the arm precursor member, as seen in figure 8B.
In reference to claim 7, wherein a working opening is formed by cutting off a portion of a wall of the arm precursor member [see col. 4 lines 7-10].
In reference to claim 10, Hasshi et al discloses a method of producing an arm structure (A) comprising
forming an arm precursor member having an external shape of the arm structure by, in a state in which a die (14, 15) is closed with a metal pipe member (P) being disposed in a cavity thereof, pressurizing the pipe member with liquid (oil) supplied to an inside thereof to cause an external surface of the pipe member to be pressed against an inner surface of the cavity [see figure 7B; col. 3 lines 50-62];
forming a ring-shaped flange portion having a center hole by bending an entire circumference of at least one end of the formed arm precursor member at least once in a radial direction [see figures 8A-8B; col. 4 lines 32-38], and
joining a separate ring-shaped reinforcing member (10) to the bent end of the arm precursor member, thereby producing the arm structure [see figure 8F, col. 4 lines 40-42].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasshi et al.
In reference to claims 8 and 9, Hasshi et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a heat treatment is performed.
However, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the time the invention was made to perform heat treatment processes on a workpiece for the purpose of strengthening the workpiece to a desired strength, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art that heat treatments are performed for increase the strength of a material when desired.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hasshi et al to include a heat treatment, since it is well known in the art to perform heat treatment to achieve a desired strength of the workpiece.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that “Hasshi does not disclose or suggest forming a work opening by cutting off a portion of a wall of the arm precursor member” and further argues an opening or a cutout does not immediately amount to a disclosure of the “work opening” of the claimed invention.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While not shown in the figures Hasshi discloses in col. 4 lines 7-10 that the plate-like portions 21, 21, 21, 21, are formed by cutting-out the opposite ends of the pipe material, therefore Hasshi does in fact disclose cutting off a portion of a wall of the arm precursor member. Additionally, the removal of these portions results in a work opening since there is now an opening present at each end of the member. As far as Applicant’s argument that an opening or cutout is not a work opening, absent any defining characteristics in the claim to define a work opening the Examiner takes the position that the opening of Hasshi is considered to be a work opening since it is later formed further to allow for a connection to another member. It is noted that Applicant fails to provide a special definition for “work opening” in the specification thus the broadest reasonable interpretation is being applied to the term.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725